Mickey Harte getting involved in referendum in the Republic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Omackeral wrote: »
    Why capitalise the MEN there?! I haven't noticed a gender divide on this, haven't noticed a class divide either and haven't really noticed a left vs right divide. I think this one is a very personal matter to people.

Stir the pot, nothing new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »
    The men v women thing in this is coming though. There's loads of people desperate for it to be that way, case in point being this dirty bad inclined tripe:

Call it when you see it, they don't hang around to soapbox long :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Daisy78

Daisy78 wrote: »
    The GAA should be apoliticol. It's totally inappropriate for a voluntary organisation, which supposedly has support from all quarters of soceity to canvass on behalf of one side of an referendum campaign. Have the GAA sanctioned this campaign?

ffs why dont you try and keep up, the GAA is not canvassing on either side :rolleyes:

But of an unnecessary reaction there, I merely asked the question.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭pleas advice

#Gaa4lyf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

As does Harte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭threescompany

She's Irish and lives in Ireland doesn't she?

She does I think.
    In fairness he is entitled to express his views as a citizen of the North of Ireland on Irish politics and law reform...... Similar situation to the government, the media and general public that felt it was ok to express views on the paddy Jackson case in Northern Ireland.....

Not really though. I know some of you find the idea romantic and all but you can't just change facts.

But can you reply to my point please..... is it ok for Irish citizens to get involved in Northern Ireland politics / affairs?? But not ok the other way around?

You've went from not giving a shti to now throwing out semantics.

Harte is Irish, and lives in one of the islands four provinces.

Now what was that about facts?

So the government should keep their nose out of the Brexit talks:confused:

Apologies I hadn't seen your initial post.

No it's not either way. We should have zero to do with affairs in the UK.

No problem. Did you comment on the Paddy Jackson affair as a matter of interest?? Did you have a problem with Irish government/ media commenting and getting involved before now. Just wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Now what was that about facts?

these do ?

He's perfectly entitled to an opinion (granted most of his opinions on social matters have more in common with the regressive dinosaurs in the DUP than he'd admit).

But let people be aware of the mans other opinions as well and use them as a barometer of his judgement:

- Sexually assualt a woman and throw her out of a van?
    A judge took character references on board, including one provided by Tyrone GAA manager Mickey Harte, when deciding to jail a sex offender for just half the maximum sentence.

Commit fraud? :
    Mickey Harte came to my assistance. He gave me a character reference which helped my case.

Murder your father? Guess who's along with a character reference? :

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-gaa-footballer-sean-hackett-given-life-sentence-for-shooting-his-father-dead-30229031.html

"Tyrone GAA boss Mickey Harte has told the trial of a former minor football star accused of murdering his father he was “a very quiet, unassuming, lovely young gentleman”.

Recklessly gamble with your business, endangering the livelihood of thousands of employees? Well guess who's at your side?
    https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/sean-quinn-prominent-figures-who-rallied-to-support-bankrupt-tycoon-duck-for-cover-26881762.html

Apologies I hadn't seen your initial post.

No it's not either way. We should have zero to do with affairs in the UK.

But should of course be allowed to express opinions on them, famous or not, I assume?

Am I to look through your posts and see no opinion on anything outside of the 26 counties of Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,997 ✭✭✭✭Water John

It is different. The group put themselves forward together as a group of GAA activists/personalities, urging a No vote in the Ref. I think RTE seemed to indicate that, a Yes group of GAA people, also existed.
    This is quite different from any individual, whether well known or not expressing an opinion, Derval being an example.
    Either GAA group, the No and the Yes, are wrong.
    The No Gaa group further compounded their error, by using a lot of children and a GAA premises for their launch.
    Derval did not gather a group of athletes affiliated to Athletics Ireland in making her point.

No problem. Did you comment on the Paddy Jackson affair as a matter of interest?? Did you have a problem with Irish government/ media commenting and getting involved before now. Just wondering.

I think some posters problems begin and end with mickey harte possibly having an opinion that is at odds with their own, or whatever political party they follow, simple as that.

I haven't 100% decided on how I'll vote yet actually, but one things for sure, I won't be influenced by a few lads like Harte, however, he's completely entitled to his views.

A few thoughts on it that were why our media were not covering it when it was happening in a different state (so you'd assume they could have freely), that neither man was Irish despite the many wrongly claiming them to be, and a worry about how easily someone can be ruined despite being proven innocent in a court of law (which definitely holds true in this country too judging by the reaction).

An opinion on something outside of the republic, jaysus. Can't be having that.

Just as you have a valid opinion on a trial in the north, MH has an opinion on a referendum in the south. Surely you see the irony in your position on this. I really hope so.

Water John wrote: »
    It is different. The group put themselves forward together as a group of GAA activists/personalities, urging a No vote in the Ref. I think RTE seemed to indicate that, a Yes group of GAA people, also existed.
    This is quite different from any individual, whether well known or not expressing an opinion, Derval being an example.
    Either GAA group, the No and the Yes, are wrong.
    The No Gaa group further compounded their error, by using a lot of children and a GAA premises for their launch.
    Derval did not gather a group of athletes affiliated to Athletics Ireland in making her point.[/quote

What do you mean, “by using a lot of children” ? Sorry just unclear what you’re referring to?

A few thoughts on it that were why our media were not covering it when it was happening in a different state (so you'd assume they could have freely), that neither man was Irish despite the many wrongly claiming them to be, and a worry about how easily someone can be ruined despite being proven innocent in a court of law (which definitely holds true in this country too judging by the reaction).

I get your point though on having an opinion on matters in other countries. It's not as though MH just made a remark though, he's actively campaigning in this country about something that has nothing to do with him.

Like the thousands that actively demonstrated in Dublin after the verdict - nothing to do with them rither!! People will always get involved. He’s entitled to his opinions & don’t think where he lives really should be an issue :-)

So, by this line of thought, no-one should ever travel to another jurisdiction to air their views on anything?

I wasn't going up to Belfast to launch campaigns on their issues though.

No, but you could have and many in the south launched a protest against the verdict.

I've no idea what MH is up to and I couldn't care less. I'll be voting to repeal the 8th but I've no issue with those of differing opinions, wherever they reside, whatever country.

Agree to disagree! Too tired to debate this to the death.

So you are opposed to any govt minister, or indeed the Taoiseach travelling north to take part in talks on issues up there?