Mickey Harte getting involved in referendum in the Republic

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

splinter65 wrote: »
    Posters are complaining about him voicing his opinion. That’s what this thread is about.
    The vast majority on this thread have no issue with Mickey Harte expressing his opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Well it’s not a secret. If you google Mickey Harte you’ll see it. I don’t think he’s pretending he didn’t.

The fact that he's been wheeled out suggests that people aren't widely aware of it. Either that or the No side are confident that their target voters won't be too bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

What's his stance or reason for voting against Repeal?

If it involves more than screaming "murderers" and blatant falsehoods, he's more than welcome to join the discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I had to Google him.
    His face looks familiar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,385 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

jimd2 wrote: »
    Does anyone else find it a bit disconcerting that northerner Mickey Harte who never gives interviews to RTE is now starting a campaign of GAA sports stars to get a NO vote in the republic?

I have to say, and I am still undecided in the vote, that I am not really impressed with him getting involved and pulling together sports stars to encourage a NO vote. He may influence quite a number in border counties.

I found all the marches we had down here over a case in Northern Ireland where the defendants were found not guilty more disconcerting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Interestingly there were 5 GAA personalities involved in the event, only 2 of whom are actually entitled to vote in the referendum. Not condoning shutting down free speech but having people not entitled to vote for something actively campaigning on it doesn't sit well with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

diomed wrote: »
    I had to Google him.
    His face looks familiar.

If you had to google him, I'd say it's a safe bet you're not the audience he is seeking to speak to.

P_1 wrote: »
    Interestingly there were 5 GAA personalities involved in the event, only 2 of whom are actually entitled to vote in the referendum. Not condoning shutting down free speech but having people not entitled to vote for something actively campaigning on it doesn't sit well with me.

You do realise that huge amounts of funding for both campaigns will come from organisations outside of Ireland ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Cyrus wrote: »
    I found all the marches we had down here over a case in Northern Ireland where the defendants were found not guilty more disconcerting

I'd find it more disconcerting that he backs up rapists :

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/womans-fury-as-sex-attacker-given-reference-by-gaa-boss-harte-is-jailed-for-twoandahalf-years-29102469.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Cyrus wrote: »
    You do realise that huge amounts of funding for both campaigns will come from organisations outside of Ireland ?

I do and that also does't sit well with me. This is our democracy and frankly people from outside it (on both sides) should fcuk off and let us decide this ourselves.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

gctest50 wrote: »

That could be a good thing.
    One could argue that the No side is none too bothered to be associated with that sort of person and it could turn a lot of people off the No side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

I do and that also does't sit well with me. This is our democracy and frankly people from outside it (on both sides) should fcuk off and let us decide this ourselves.

Well look ultimately it will be our decision, and be it rightly or wrongly people from outside will always come in and try to influence people's opinions, that's just life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

That could be a good thing.
    One could argue that the No side is none too bothered to be associated with that sort of person and it could turn a lot of people off the No side.

The SAS and co. are sneaky b.....ds, they didn't murder him because he was worth more alive than dead

They must have had the feeling he would go on to try drag the place into dark ages

GAA hero Mickey Harte has given his support to a controversial campaign to ban contraception,

https://www.thefreelibrary.com/GAA%27S+HARTE+BACKS+CONDOM+BAN%3B+Hero+supports+controversial+book.-a0196914275

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

"They" won't admit it, but the only reason they think he should stay quiet is because they think he is on the wrong side. The issue isn't "Mickey Harte has an opinion", its "Mickey Harte has the wrong opinion".

Its easy to say that there would be the same concerns if he was campaigning for the "yes" side, its really easy to type that and claim it to be the case. Its bollocks though, if Harte came out in favour of the yes side then this thread would not have been started. Pretend otherwise all people want, I doubt anybody is fooled.

I wouldn't want someone who does not have a vote telling Irish voters to vote yes

its very disingenuous of the person to do so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,790 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

As well as ending the need for women from Ireland having to go abroad for abortions, repeal will also mean women from the North will be able to come to Ireland for abortions. So anyone living in the North who is against abortion would see that as something to try to prevent.

https://www.irishnews.com/news/northernirelandnews/2018/01/31/news/analysis-what-impact-will-referendum-have-on-abortion-debate-in-northern-ireland--1245699/

Pro-choice bodies were keen to stress that women in the north should not be forced to seek services in other jurisdictions, but admitted that journeys could soon become easier - potentially no more than 90 minutes away by car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

He's perfectly entitled to an opinion (granted most of his opinions on social matters have more in common with the regressive dinosaurs in the DUP than he'd admit).

But let people be aware of the mans other opinions as well and use them as a barometer of his judgement:

- Sexually assualt a woman and throw her out of a van?
    A judge took character references on board, including one provided by Tyrone GAA manager Mickey Harte, when deciding to jail a sex offender for just half the maximum sentence.

Commit fraud? :
    Mickey Harte came to my assistance. He gave me a character reference which helped my case.

Murder your father? Guess who's along with a character reference? :

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-gaa-footballer-sean-hackett-given-life-sentence-for-shooting-his-father-dead-30229031.html

"Tyrone GAA boss Mickey Harte has told the trial of a former minor football star accused of murdering his father he was “a very quiet, unassuming, lovely young gentleman”.

Recklessly gamble with your business, endangering the livelihood of thousands of employees? Well guess who's at your side?
    https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/sean-quinn-prominent-figures-who-rallied-to-support-bankrupt-tycoon-duck-for-cover-26881762.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭seenitall

^^ Haha, great! Never looked into this guy before, however as a pro-choicer, I welcome him campaigning against the repeal :)

What are the antis thinking?? He's toxic. They really are still living in the 1960's, it seems.

Anything that dilutes the monotone from the ridiculously in-bred clique that constitute the pseudo-profession of journalism and "commentators" (somebody should do a family tree on them!) in our oligarchic media would be good for democracy in Ireland. Of that, I have little doubt.

Or am I the only one noticing the same shítehawks appearing on all the programmes and the same agendas and the same views in the media with, now and again, a token dissenting voice to give the pretence that we are in a democracy where every group has its voice equally heard? This is just as inclusive of dissent as 1950s Ireland was: it's just a different set of intolerances that's on the inside now.

The "free press" in Ireland is an exceedingly controlled and restricted group, as it has been all my life. It's an elitist agenda-driven you-scratch-my-back-and-I'll-scratch-yours economically rightwing West Brit echo chamber by any standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

He's perfectly entitled to an opinion (granted most of his opinions on social matters have more in common with the regressive dinosaurs in the DUP than he'd admit).

But let people be aware of the mans other opinions as well and use them as a barometer of his judgement:

- Sexually assualt a woman and throw her out of a moving van?
    A judge took character references on board, including one provided by Tyrone GAA manager Mickey Harte, when deciding to jail a sex offender for just half the maximum sentence.

Commit fraud? :
    Mickey Harte came to my assistance. He gave me a character reference which helped my case.

Murder your father? Guess who's along with a character reference? :

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/tyrone-gaa-footballer-sean-hackett-given-life-sentence-for-shooting-his-father-dead-30229031.html

"Tyrone GAA boss Mickey Harte has told the trial of a former minor football star accused of murdering his father he was “a very quiet, unassuming, lovely young gentleman”.

Recklessly gamble with your business, endangering the livelihood of thousands of employees? Well guess who's at your side?
    https://www.independent.ie/business/irish/sean-quinn-prominent-figures-who-rallied-to-support-bankrupt-tycoon-duck-for-cover-26881762.html

Mickey Harte has a very strong reputation as a good man and a religious man and his opinion carries weight. He has done a lot of work with young people primarily through the GAA.

Character references are part and parcel of the legal system. Even a convicted rapist is entitled to that.

What your suggesting is that he abandons someone and shuns them for commiting crimes. And while I agree that rape in particular is a terrible crime it doesn't mean that he shouldn't be entitled to the same legal defence as everyone else.
    Mickey harte was not defending the actions of any of those accused/guilty.
    He was speaking factually of his interactions with them - that doesn't make him a scumbag as someone earlier claimed.

Personally I don't like the idea of someone using their position in the GAA community to influence voters.

But I'm equally uncomfortable with the Taoiseach and ministers making cases for either side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

If I needed to listen to others opinions Mickey Harte would be the last person on earth I would be interested to hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

The fact that he's been wheeled out suggests that people aren't widely aware of it. Either that or the No side are confident that their target voters won't be too bothered.

Why do you say “wheeled out”? He’s not retired/disabled/aged/feeble. He’s the current coach of a senior Gaelic football team expecting to be in the business end of the Championship.
    I doubt very much he’s been “leaned on” by anyone or coerced in any way. He doesn’t strike me as someone who would tolerate that.
    Why can’t you just accept that he’s entitled to voice his opinion just like yourself?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I wouldn't want someone who does not have a vote telling Irish voters to vote yes

its very disingenuous of the person to do so

The entire world and his wife had an opinion on the last US presidential election.
    What did you make of that?

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    If I needed to listen to others opinions Mickey Harte would be the last person on earth I would be interested to hear

Absolutely. But that doesn’t mean that he’s not allowed to speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

The GAA have released a statement on it, rightly pointing out that the organisation is non-political, and members should not do anything under the guise of the GAA to promote either side. And it looks like Ballyfermot GAA was not aware this launch was going to happen yesterday, it was done under the guise of a training camp for children.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/284079

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The GAA have released a statement on it, rightly pointing out that the organisation is non-political, and members should not do anything under the guise of the GAA to promote either side. And it looks like Ballyfermot GAA was not aware this launch was going to happen yesterday, it was done under the guise of a training camp for children.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Article/Index/284079

Would ye look at that, Save the 8th being light on the truth.

Colour me surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Absolutely. But that doesn’t mean that he’s not allowed to speak.

No . I haven't said he is not entitled to his opinion . It just doesn't interest me in the slightest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

How is it being hypocritical? Everybody and their dog knows that Harte is hugely devout as a christian, I would imagine it would be more hypocritical for him to stay quiet on an issue he feels strongly about.

I don't agree with him, but at least I can respect that his opinions on this are consistent with his beliefs.

Can he not just concentrate on oppressing women and gay people in his own country and stay out of our affairs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I appreciate Mickey is a religious person

And that he understands the feeling of loss more than most

However, he should really keep his opinions to himself.

that's not how democracy works, thankfully.
    Maybe if he actually had a vote, but he doesn't

I don't go up the north telling them how to vote

that is irrelevant tbh.
    dav3 wrote: »
    It's not that surprising. He pulled the same stunt during the same sex marriage referendum. The no side must be getting desperate if they're giving Mickey Harte a platform. He swayed a lot of undecided to vote yes that time and I'm sure the same will happen again. I say let him talk along with his friends the bishops and priests, give them as much airtime as they want.

One thing Irish people love is being lectured on how to live their lives by religious fanatics.

how do you kno he swayed a lot of undecided to vote yes to same sex marriage?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.