Mickey Harte getting involved in referendum in the Republic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Only a few weeks back all and sundry south of the border were only more than happy to get involved in social issues in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

JMNolan wrote: »
    Would you feel the same if he was campaigning for the yes side?

No they’d be delighted and hoping that he influences a lot of people in the border counties.
    Lots of Repeal people exist in a bubble where everyone is on the same page as them. Mostly because the main purveyors of information in Ireland , the Indo and RTÉ , are clearly on the Repeal side.
    It’s shocking and disturbing for them to hear a well known public figure clearly holding a contrary view.
    Instant reaction is “there should be a law against this”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Lot of ppl in the gaa respect Harte and I’d say they will take notice of his stance. Could boost the no vote by a small degree overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Patww79 wrote: »

So true. Must be something in the brain that hears like minded messages as truth and unlike messages as false/lies ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I would bet my cotton socks that Harte isn't a "UK citizen' so you can rest easy on that one chief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

George Soros - good
    Mickey Harte - bad

Don't know George Soros, but I certainly wouldn't be a fan of Mickey Harte!

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Regarding bolded quote, i'd have no doubt MH sees himself as Irish as BC any day of the week whereas BC obviously would not see himself as British so why would he involve himself in Northern Ireland issues which are under British jurisdiction.

Anyone should be allowed to have an opinion on anything that’s happening anywhere in the world. It doesn’t matter who you are. Please tell me why you disagree.

jimd2 wrote: »
    Yes, I think he should stay out of it.

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I would bet my cotton socks that Harte isn't a "UK citizen' so you can rest easy on that one chief.

He’s a UK citizen wether he likes it or not. He’s also an Irish citizen.

Born and reared in it. I don't agree with our weak concession to hand them free passports.

They pay for their passports the same as everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

splinter65 wrote: »
    He’s a UK citizen wether he likes it or not. He’s also an Irish citizen.

Irish citizenship isn't enough to vote. He would also need to be ordinarily resident in ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jimd2

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Regarding bolded quote, i'd have no doubt MH sees himself as Irish as BC any day of the week whereas BC obviously would not see himself as British so why would he involve himself in Northern Ireland issues which are under British jurisdiction.

I am sure he does and I have no problem with that. I am personally uneasy with it.

_Dara_ wrote: »
    Irish citizenship isn't enough to vote. He would also need to be ordinarily resident in ROI.

He’s not looking to vote. He knows he can’t vote. I’m waiting for someone to tell me why he shouldn’t have an opinion.

There is no reason, he's fully entitled to his opinion and to campaign.

Ps, I don't think either side should be allow to campaign under the Gaa banner though, but that's a matter for the Gaa to address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

This thread isn't exactly hopping so I'd say most people are fine with him having an opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He scored a goal and 2 points for Wexford in the 1976 All Ireland Hurling finally which they ultimately lost to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

AllForIt wrote: »
    It's not the voicing his opinion that's the problem which he's perfectly entitled to do...it's the starting a campaign with other GAA sports stars part, as if to create the impression that collectively the entire GAA says no.

Then your real problem is with the morons who would take that impression.

He scored a goal and 2 points for Wexford in the 1976 All Ireland Hurling finally which they ultimately lost to Cork.

Jaysus judging by Google he's done well for himself since :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I appreciate Mickey is a religious person

And that he understands the feeling of loss more than most

However, he should really keep his opinions to himself.

It's not the passport I was referring to, did you hear about the whole self determination thing up there, and for by that, the passports aren't free - same cost to them as they are to you or me P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

This is more than an opinion, he's established a campaigning group...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,222 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Almost didn't recognise the name without (((these yokes.)))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

pitifulgod wrote: »

And

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Fair play to you Mickey, having the ba**s to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Anyone should be allowed to have an opinion on anything that’s happening anywhere in the world. It doesn’t matter who you are. Please tell me why you disagree.

Well obviously I don't disagree with people having an opinion on anything. I was responding to the point where someone said MH has no more right to be speaking about something that is happening in the South of Ireland than BC would have in interfering up North. I just don't think that comparison holds up. BC is of course free to speak on anything he wishes, have no problem with that but in a general way wouldn't be likely to be as invested in Northern issues as MH would be in all things Irish.

pitifulgod wrote: »

Which people can ignore as they see fit.

Anyone that votes by just blindingly following a group of sports people, or any other public figures rather than by their own conscience/ informed opinion is a numbskull anyway.

Almost didn't recognise the name without (((these yokes.)))

I don't know who the hell he is at all, never heard of George Soros until today, sure everyday is a learning day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Fair play to you Mickey, having the ba**s to do it.

Suddenly he's not shy about talking to RTE

Born and reared in it. I don't agree with our weak concession to hand them free passports.

So were all my grandparents born in "the UK", if that's the euphemism you want to use for British-occupied Ireland. Like Mickey Harte in the small remainder of Britain's Irish colony today, it did not make them "British" no more than the Algerians under French colonial occupation were "French" just because the coloniser decreed it so.

If the people in Tír Eoghain are not Irish today, then the people in Dublin, Cork and Galway were not Irish before the UK decolonised from this part of Ireland on 6 December 1922. The Irish people must not have existed before that date, by that logic.