Ulster Team Talk Thread III: Les Miserables SEE MOD WARNING POST #1924 + #2755

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

bilston wrote: »
    Wondered that myself. Is there not a public gallery at rape trials in the Republic?

Nope.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/district-court/how-rape-trials-in-republic-differ-from-those-in-north-1.3443644

But realistically, someone as high profile as Jackson and Olding, it's going to be widely known who's involved. Case in point; Tom Humphries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,636 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

How much publicity do you think it would have gotten in ROI? And at what point?

I actually don't know. I agree it is likely to have leaked in some form. Sure even in the PJ SO case we weren't supposed to find out they were under investigation. But I don't think we would have got any details at all really, and given how inaccurate the rumours from this case were (for example incorrect women being outed as the complainant, a whole host of evidence we would supposedly hear that never came up etc etc etc), whatever accurate information we did hear would be lost in a sea of lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Is there anything to be said for one of those government enquiry things “tribunal”. You know the ones that take about 10 years, cost about the GDP of a smallish country like the Netherlands, and produce a report that no-one reads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,730 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Is there anything to be said for one of those government enquiry things “tribunal”. You know the ones that take about 10 years, cost about the GDP of a smallish country like the Netherlands, and produce a report that no-one reads.

We had one of those and it concluded, not guilty. But the great unwashed decided they needed a hanging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,405 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

We had one of those and it concluded, not guilty. But the great unwashed decided they needed a hanging.
    Some of whom apparently are members of the URSC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭$ausage$

I am hearing Andy Friend is in players told. But then a player told me they have not been told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

molloyjh wrote: »
    Do you have to twist everything?

Let's make this simple shall we. If the IRFU find out about particular behaviour they should be acting on it. If they don't find out they should not. End of story. It doesn't matter how they find out or who else knows.

The point I'm trying to make is that players should not be monitored. But if behaviour comes to light it should be acted on.

The fact that the messages were private should still be a mitigating factor. The lads were not abusuve to women in twitter or guilty of misogyny caught on a camera phone in a bar. They were private messages. It doesn't mean they didn't happen but it also is not an irrelevant feature. If a players phone is stolen or hacked and a load of inappropriate messages go viral in any context they'll need to be severely punished going forward.

A lot of people who completely condem the behaviour are uneasy about the punishment. There was no difference in sanction from a rugby point of view between being guilty and not guilty of rape. Once the threesome and messages came out half way through the trial they were sacked and banished from rugby on the island forever. Most people happy with the sacking don't believe they're innocent. It's a kind of half way house punishment which is danegorius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,091 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

So it's looking like the challenge cup next year? Any hopes for a nice city/town to watch us get beaten in?

mfceiling wrote: »
    So it's looking like the challenge cup next year? Any hopes for a nice city/town to watch us get beaten in?
    Clermont, Stade or Bordeaux would be nice.

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Clermont, Stade or Bordeaux would be nice.

Yeah but they'll all be in the ERCC no? I was thinking more of a Newcastle or some back arse town in France!!

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,241 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I hear clermont-Ferrand is nice this time of year 😀

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Ulster will win on Saturday and secure the home play off against Ospreys, which they will also win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Yeah but they'll all be in the ERCC no? I was thinking more of a Newcastle or some back arse town in France!!
    No. Clermont, Stade and Bordeaux are all going to be in Challenge not Champions cup next season. All well off qualification for champions cup

They're all currently mired in the bottom half of the T14, so looks like Challenge Cup for them too.

Ulster will win on Saturday and secure the home play off against Ospreys, which they will also win.

Ah here this is the ulster thread....get out of here with your positivity!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭launish116

Andrew Friend would link in with the other rumour Brumbies and potentially knowing lealifano ?

Ah here this is the ulster thread....get out of here with your positivity!!
    Bookies giving it -3 to Ulster. But sure what would they know? ;)

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Bookies giving it -3 to Ulster. But sure what would they know? ;)

They'd know that leinster should be beating Treviso at home!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Scythica

Justin Harrison sure

They'd know that leinster should be beating Treviso at home!!!!
    Yeah, but not Benetton. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Glasgow may not go full strength. Could be an opportunity here. I don't see them risking key men for a dead rubber tilt. They have secured the #1 seed. Ulster to win by 6.
    Big showdown with Munster upcoming.

• Administrators Posts: 55,733 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

WeeP has announced he's retiring at the end of the season. Could never fault his commitment.

awec wrote: »
    WeeP has announced he's retiring at the end of the season. Could never fault his commitment.
    Last home game for him, Bowe & Piutau.
    Been a very hard year for him and his family!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Ulstermen to the absolute core. On his day could be brillant.

I just hope that everything else going on for him works out for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Ulstermen to the absolute core. On his day could be brillant.

I just hope that everything else going on for him works out for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I was never a fan of his as a player. But that in no way should diminish the level of dedication and effort he brought to Ulster Rugby. Few people in their lives have to go through what he has endured in this past season and his courage and professionalism is a credit to himself and his family.

I hope he has a great retirement and goes on to success in whatever path he chooses.

Best of luck to him.

Was talk Shanahan was getting shown the door also, combine that with Marshall's retirement. Looking bare at a scrum half next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Wow, Ulster are losing so many players... and a bunch of coaches...

Just going to leave this here...

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/tickets/season-tickets/

You know... It's an hour and a bit down the M1...