Morrissey denounces Halal meat as "evil" attacks Theresa May and Sadiq Khan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,453 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I remember a thread on another site the last time he said something annoying. Loads of people saying they see him in their local caf regularly eating meat. Wouldn't surprise me if he just says all this stuff for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Morrissey turning into your racist BNP uncle is one of the funniest things of the last 10 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Hitler was not a socialist. The Nazi Party were not socialists. The name was a lie.
    Whoa whoa whoa, you mean to tell me that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is not a democracy!? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Billy86 wrote: »
    Whoa whoa whoa, you mean to tell me that the Democratic People's Republic of Korea is not a democracy!? :eek:

And therefore the German Democratic Republic was not a Democracy either!!

Ah lads, you aren’t really going to do the ‘Nazi’s were socialists’ thing are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

This extract of the interview wasn't quoted in the OP and despite any value in his other points it's all undermined by the below quote.
    Morrissey instead throws his weight behind For Britain, the far-right party set up by former Ukip member Anne Marie Waters, someone he namechecked in a recent concert on the BBC. He said he was supporting the party because “they have the best approach to animal welfare”.

Aidric wrote: »
    This extract of the interview wasn't quoted in the OP and despite any value in his other points it's all undermined by the below quote.

Nor was the fact that there’s a fairly large suspicion that Morrissey is interviewing himself in the actual interview, given how sycophantic it is and the fact that no-one has ever heard of the interviewer.

I heartily recommend browsing some Morrissey fan forums if you’re stuck for 10 minutes entertainment. It’d put the civil war here to shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

lawred2 wrote: »
    aren't all methods to kill an animal for mass consumption barbaric?

Is that a rhetorical question you are asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    This is what he said

Thanks. Doesn't quite seem as bad as people make it out to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,389 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I was actually thinking about Morrissey today, so many normal things we see and do are actually quite cruel, I was observing a camel ride today, so many people laughing and having fun, but if you step back for a second and look.. It's vile!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Sonics2k wrote: »
    I'm on mobile so I'm not going to go into the full details, but suffice to say, this has been cleared up an discussed dozens of times on After Hours alone.

Hitler was not a socialist. The Nazi Party were not socialists. The name was a lie.

Mao and Stalin claimed socialism, but were not in practice.

A key rule of socialism is income equality. None of the three believed in this.

Socialism is a flawed concept because humans are jerks.

But again, Hitler was not left wing. He believed in National Socialism, which is vastly different to Left Wing Socialism, eg Jeremy Corbin.

Again, on mobile so can only type so much. Apologies

I never said any of above were socialists. Again, you're just assuming left-wing and socialist are synonymous, they're not. Hitler can be left-wing economically and not be socialist in the same way that Netanyahu can be right-wing economically and not be a Christian Democrat.

Main overriding theme that left-wing and right-wing contain many subdivisions. Quite useless as specific labels these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Nermal

Morrissey turning into your racist BNP uncle is one of the funniest things of the last 10 years.

From the interview:

"But of course, we are all called racist now, and the word is actually meaningless. It’s just a way of changing the subject."

Nermal wrote: »
    From the interview:

"But of course, we are all called racist now, and the word is actually meaningless. It’s just a way of changing the subject."

Yeah Morrissey’s a genius alright. Say loads of racist stuff, support a racist political party, say that ISIS are behind Halal food and then shout ‘Pax! No backsies or returns! You can’t call me racist because I’m in den!’

Still, Everyday is Like Sunday was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Billy86 wrote: »

Not really a republic either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Zebra3 wrote: »

And it's in Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

lawred2 wrote: »
    aren't all methods to kill an animal for mass consumption barbaric?

I'd say most non-Muslim people would either not think about where their meat comes from or they would prefer it came from an animal that was killed as quickly as possible.

What's barbaric is the insistence on making animals suffer as much as possible. "I'm not eating that chicken because it didn't have it's throat slashed and its veins drained of blood" sounds like the belief of someone from the stone age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

You're included in the Halal merry-go-round, wether you're Muslim or not, most chicken in northern Europe is killed Halal. It is a situation the poultry industry doesn't really want to talk about..

There's a backlash in the Netherlands over this. The death is *not* instant. Bleed out an animal, fine, but shock it first.

I distinctly remember RTE doing a feature on the very last Jewish butchers, here in Dublin, the cattle were turned over on a large metal contraption to bleed it out. No thanks. Just use a bolt and get it over with, no kinky stuff please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

One of the last great poets

He can say anything he wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Zebra3 wrote: »

As for "Peoples"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

He's right about Teresa May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Morrissey can be an opinionated idiot at times but there is a lot of uncomfortable truth in his most recent statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

I agree with his halal meat comment. Barbarism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Summer In the City

I'd say most non-Muslim people would either not think about where their meat comes from or they would prefer it came from an animal that was killed as quickly as possible.

What's barbaric is the insistence on making animals suffer as much as possible. "I'm not eating that chicken because it didn't have it's throat slashed and its veins drained of blood" sounds like the belief of someone from the stone age.

I'm no expert but the animal is stunned first just like in Ireland so what's the difference?

As an aside the last time halal came up on boards a poster claimed it was barbaric because "they kill the cow when it's still alive". That's my favorite post on boards ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

I'm no expert but the animal is stunned first just like in Ireland so what's the difference?

But the animal isn't stunned, that's the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Its not often you hear celebs talking sense but fair play to Morrissey he understands what most people are actually thinking and how silly the PC culture has gotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

He's probably right about that Abbot lady, the chain around Corbyn's feet.
    If he dropped her, sure Labour could win the next Gen-election there easily enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,322 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Good ol Vegan Morrissey

morrissey-officialmoz-cow-are-friends-not-food-10-00-am-07-28942164.png

But the animal isn't stunned, that's the point.

They are. Lots of animals are killed halal in Ireland for export. The animal just has to be alive before the throat is slit. No problem stunning the animal first.

Good ol Vegan Morrissey

morrissey-officialmoz-cow-are-friends-not-food-10-00-am-07-28942164.png

"Robert Smith is a whingebag." says Morrissey. Black pots and black kettles.