Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It's Lord:rolleyes: Trimble now.

So it is.

Lord or not, you'll struggle to hear a more curt 'good morning' anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Are we to believe that Willie John McBride and his rugger buggers haven't had similar conversations about their sexual exploits when they were drinking their He-Man pints after the games? I think the only thing about PJ and the lads is that their private conversations were made public. Interesting to hear that there is absolutely no comment on the fact that the complainant herself referred to the other girls at the party as "acting slutty". Seems like it's okay for other women to refer to women in such terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,178 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Height of respect for willie John but really he was out of his depth today. When he was asked about the WhatsApp messages he was bewildered. Then blamed alcohol for the whole episode. It played its part yes but lot of other factors. I got the feeling he was prevailed upon by the ulster supporters club to go on and defend them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Height of respect for willie John but really he was out of his depth today.

Think he was just calling for a bit of common sense. Who can cast the first stone etc

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Think he was just calling for a bit of common sense. Who can cast the first stone etc

That’s fair enough but when whatsapp messages were mentioned he hadn’t a notion about what was involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Irish politicians saying ‘west Minister ‘ ...morons .

That’s fair enough but when whatsapp messages were mentioned he hadn’t a notion about what was involved.

That too is fair enough, different generation. What Willie John and his mates might have said is gone with the wind. These particular chaps fell foul of the written word, what would have been quickly forgotten 'banter' in Willie John's day is now committed to text in this generation. But why is one worse than the other? He's a hero, they're zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Height of respect for willie John but really he was out of his depth today. When he was asked about the WhatsApp messages he was bewildered. Then blamed alcohol for the whole episode. It played its part yes but lot of other factors. I got the feeling he was prevailed upon by the ulster supporters club to go on and defend them.

What other factors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

what would have been quickly forgotten 'banter' in Willie John's day is now committed to text in this generation.
    Yep. Never put in writing what you wouldn't be happy repeating to ... (your granny/mother/OH/a full football stadium with a megaphone etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,156 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The GAA guy had a way with words there.

"Since the arrival of ladies teams...and that sort of thing... who are obviously ladies"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

bare knuckle boxing been rebranded, well maybe its part of their culture to rebrand stuff

God, that MLOD is a terrible spoofer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

God, that MLOD is a terrible spoofer.

Of the highest order!

Had to check the date in case it April 1st! Just heard Antrim county footballer Patrick Gallagher telling us in the Republic how to vote in upcoming referendum!! Leaving aside he's a young man who likely knows feck all about life, quite extraordinary that the likes of him and Mickey Harte of Tyrone are sticking their noses into our business. Just in case they don't realise, this is the Republic and they live in Northern Ireland :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

RTE allowing Sarah Carey on a panel is shameful. And after they facilitated Gerald Keane's defence of Martin Callinan, you would have thought they would have make new rules to prevent stooges from being allowed to bat for their masters on the national airwaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

after they facilitated Gerald Keane's defence of Martin Callinan
    In fairness, RTE couldn't have been aware of the extent of the briefing by Callinan which has only come to light in the last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,999 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Just listening back to Paddy O'Gorman segment. They need to start making attachment orders on fines for people who say they won't pay. Take it from their wages or social welfare, whichever.

dulpit wrote: »
    Just listening back to Paddy O'Gorman segment. They need to start making attachment orders on fines for people who say they won't pay. Take it from their wages or social welfare, whichever.

Dulpo, my friend......the lawyers...think about it....these homies appear again and again , month after month...now think free legal aid....cash cow...why cut off a nice cash cow for the legal eagles funded by those who pay for everything.

We don’t want to cut off our income stream do we.?

Surely not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

How many conflicts of interest can this program have before someone in RTE says hold on here for a minute. Now we have Sean O`Rourke`s wife Catherine Murphy who has just left RTE to work as press adviser to Charlie Flanagan Minister of Justice. Also we have his daughter Maeve O`Rourke herself a lawyer and now legal adviser to Justice for Magdalenes tweeting "Thanks Charlie Flanagan for doing the right thing" in relation to the redress scheme. Any interviews with Fine Gael politicians with a table spoon of salt in future.................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Drifter50 wrote: »
    How many conflicts of interest can this program have before someone in RTE says hold on here for a minute. Now we have Sean O`Rourke`s wife Catherine Murphy who has just left RTE to work as press adviser to Charlie Flanagan Minister of Justice. Also we have his daughter Maeve O`Rourke herself a lawyer and now legal adviser to Justice for Magdalenes tweeting "Thanks Charlie Flanagan for doing the right thing" in relation to the redress scheme. Any interviews with Fine Gael politicians with a table spoon of salt in future.................
    Caroline Murphy I presume you mean.

Last I heard, she was operating as some sort of shrink when not "reading the papers".

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Caroline Murphy I presume you mean.

Last I heard, she was operating as some sort of shrink when not "reading the papers".

Hmmm seems to be a lot of ‘shrinks ‘ emanating from those quarters.:confused:

Murphy the Newsman

Sadlier

Now Caroline Murphy.

Cannot get a handle on it,me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,156 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

If I had intended to vote NO Ganley would make me change my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

"Boys and girls" must be his phrase de jour

Them: "Declan Ganley vs Colm O'Gorman

Me: "No thank you, I am boiling my own head this morning instead of listening"

Them: "Declan Ganley vs Colm O'Gorman

Me: "No thank you, I am boiling my own head this morning instead of listening"

Heh heh heh..two lads adept at relieving J Q Taxpayer of his Eurons.

Nah buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

Agreed, Ganley came across very poorly today.

Drifter50 wrote: »
    Agreed, Ganley came across very poorly today.

Yep. I’m no fan of Colm o Gorman but ganley was his own worst enemy today. Came across as bullying and pedantic and smarmy.

Hmmm ...the bewer on SOR about sugar in food is getting on my wick.

Strawerberries....... bit of a weapon I would opine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Cripes that's woman is difficult to listen to ... Sean dragging every word out of her

Are RTE going to interview every person with a cancer diagnosis? It's getting ridiculous at this stage and people are being used as political footballs to be kicked about.