If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

F&F Chitchat a hocht, an feirmeoir bocht

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

The Rabbi wrote: »
    Haywire,it's a dirty old job,but somebody's gotta do it.
    You got your horn situation under control.
    Were you not satisfied with it?

I was very satisfied! He's good with the aul horn work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

I was very satisfied! He's good with the aul horn work :D

Ye here rambling about horn work and Pedigree running a thread about dock size.....

What the hell is in the Farming Board's water this evening??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Neddyusa wrote: »
    Ye here rambling about horn work and Pedigree running a thread about dock size.....

Who is zis Pedigree 6 everyone is referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Who is zis Pedigree 6 everyone is referring to?

Some tramp that was here before

Reggie. wrote: »
    Some tramp that was here before

Sounds an interesting chap.
    It's hard to keep pace with all the developments on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Looks like someone dropped a few kgs of Viagra into the tank

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

New thread started... Where does my meat go?

Whose going to be first to answer that one, given the current mood?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

Sounds like spring is in the air reading these posts.

greysides wrote: »
    New thread started... Where does my meat go?

Whose going to be first to answer that one, given the current mood?

*raises hand*

Please Sir!, Please Sir! I know!

peta-claims-eating-meat-will-hurt-your-sex-life-the-internet-disagrees-a8Y.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭The Rabbi

Looks like someone dropped a few kgs of Viagra into the tank

Throw in a few kgs of Valium so that if you don't get a fcuk you won't give a fcuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

And the recent where does my meat go thread ...

Spring must have sprung when we wern' t watching ... ;)

I see Dovea have a lovely calf in their book now :D:D Ribeye will be so proud!

PBJycrDl.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Some few days here. I won the parish lotto on Sunday night, OH just had a baby boy today and hopefully move into the house on Friday.

Congrats, a great week by the sound of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I see Dovea have a lovely calf in their book now :D:D Ribeye will be so proud!

PBJycrDl.jpg

Ah there she is. That's the Ecolo Culard you had I take it. Christ she's some bear

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Ah there she is. That's the Ecolo Culard you had I take it. Christ she's some bear

That's her! She didn't thrive on though, am putting her to grass for the summer and see if she can outgrow her gangly teenage phase. Cow is due on the 4th to same bull again so should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Some few days here. I won the parish lotto on Sunday night, OH just had a baby boy today and hopefully move into the house on Friday.

Fair play kk and congratulations to both of ye. Looks like everything's coming up roses in your house. What next? A load of bales will probably break down on the road outside your yard and the driver will ask you to take um at a massively reduced rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Burning Tires

Before i started on here, i had seen some posters talking about getting the service manual book for tractors and loaders. Is there a website that i can order a manual for a machine?
    I did a search and couldn't find the thread on boards

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Before i started on here, i had seen some posters talking about getting the service manual book for tractors and loaders. Is there a website that i can order a manual for a machine?
    I did a search and couldn't find the thread on boards

https://www.agrimanuals.com/ This could be it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Just driving on the road and passing a butcher/farmers place and 3 weanlings were coming out of the gateway onto to the road. I blew the horn to alert anyone in the yard.
    Then I said feck it I couldn't leave it at that and turned the car around and blocked the road with the car and put the flashers on. Got out and the cattle were going to head in the opposite direction.
    So I called them back and luckily they came back and I turned them into the entrance to the yard and closed the gate.
    Then I went up to the house and told the householder about the weanlings and a short thanks were exchanged.

So that's my good deed done for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Oh how times are changing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

This will come in for all marts now you'll see. l'm all for drovers only handling stock. It's very hairy looking at older farmers especially traversing the aisles and trying to gather stock they have bought.

But how are buyers going to be able to view stock in pens prior to sale? l dont think gantries will be the answer here. Nice to look at stock at eye level. Perhaps a seperate narrow pedestrian walkway where 2 pens are back to back now? it'll mean a bit of rejigging anyways

I'd be more in favour of signing a waiver agreeing that you're entering a premises where stock are unpredictable and responsibility rests solely on individual etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

TITANIUM. wrote: »

Fair play kk and congratulations to both of ye. Looks like everything's coming up roses in your house. What next? A load of bales will probably break down on the road outside your yard and the driver will ask you to take um at a massively reduced rate.

Funny you say that, landed into the shed and cow had calves a nice bull and he up sucking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,677 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Funny you say that, landed into the shed and cow had calves a nice bull and he up sucking.

Do the lotto quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 795 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

Muckit wrote: »
    This will come in for all marts now you'll see. l'm all for drovers only handling stock. It's very hairy looking at older farmers especially traversing the aisles and trying to gather stock they have bought.

But how are buyers going to be able to view stock in pens prior to sale? l dont think gantries will be the answer here. Nice to look at stock at eye level. Perhaps a seperate narrow pedestrian walkway where 2 pens are back to back now? it'll mean a bit of rejigging anyways

In a mart today and drover in the ring was on his mobile twice. At another point a another drover came through the ring to a lad at the railing
    Very surprised given recent events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Reggie. wrote: »

Do the lotto quick

Yeah, my first son and a bull calf on the one day. I was saying it to the midwife I’d be happy to land home with the last two cows calves. One will do. Collecting the Cheque on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

Guys would giving cows oats once a day be enough to stop grass tetany? Have cows heavy in calf that will be going out and some of the grass will be a bit stronger by the time they get to it. Dad says it has to be straw or hay or silage but couldn't explain why.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭Odelay

About time. And signing a waiver would hold no water with the HSA. It doesn't work that way. Their only intrest is stopping people getting hurt, don't care if someone signs a disclaimer.
    It'll be like whearing a seatbelt. People complained at first about the grief and hassle, now it's common practise.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

L1985 wrote: »
    Guys would giving cows oats once a day be enough to stop grass tetany? Have cows heavy in calf that will be going out and some of the grass will be a bit stronger by the time they get to it. Dad says it has to be straw or hay or silage but couldn't explain why.....

No. The theory behind the hay/straw is either the stalk is high in Mg or that the extra dry matter in the diet slows the digestive transit allowing better absorption of what Mg is in the diet.

I don't think you can rely on either theory. Magnesium buckets might help but are a bit hit-and-miss as individuals may not go near them. Bullets or chuck some calmag and molasses in with your oats would be a better bet IMO.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

greysides wrote: »
    No. The theory behind the hay/straw is either the stalk is high in Mg or that the extra dry matter in the diet slows the digestive transit allowing better absorption of what Mg is in the diet.

I don't think you can rely on either theory. Magnesium buckets might help but are a bit hit-and-miss as individuals may not go near them. Bullets or chuck some calmag and molasses in with your oats would be a better bet IMO.

Sorry for my ignorance -what is a bullet? We have never used magnesium here but I presume you can get it from the co-op? Dad swore by the hay and silage! Also would molasses be in normal beef nut mix? We usually mix a small bit through to get the cows to eat the oats as they are a bit on the spoilt side!!
    Thanks for the help-we lost one cow last year to it ☹️