If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Irish woman gang raped by 6 men in Czech hotel

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Look at all the rapes in Germany that the media ignore
    And all the rapes and grooming in the UK by Aisan gangs

I think in your head you see yourself as liberal and virtuous and a straight-shooting man of the people, but you end up posting pure drivel. I never thought I’d say it, but you might be better off sticking to those tiresome posts about bringing turf home from the bog, and listening to classic rock while scuttered drunk of a weekday evening.

When you get personal like that you lose all credibility. There's no need for personal insults, attack the post and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Have you absolutely no empathy for this poor woman? Jesus Christ, take a good long look at yourself.

It's already been well established from my years of posting on here that I'm not to arsed about the misfortunes of strangers.

I'm much more interested in the double standards between this incident and the case up north.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

bigpink wrote: »
    Look at all the rapes in Germany that the media ignore
    And all the rapes and grooming in the UK by Aisan gangs

its mostly pakistanis/bangladeshis, the media like to call them Asians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I seem to be hitting a nerve.

Ya, of any person with a hint of empathy for the poor woman. You just used it as a way of getting a dig in at people whose politics you don’t agree with. I personally think both ‘sides’ are full of losers and bellends. Instead of always having to fight the good fight, you should take some time out to examine why point scoring took precedence over sympathy for the victim of a brutal crime. You’re a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ya, of any person with a hint of empathy for the poor woman. You just used it as a way of getting a dig in at people whose politics you don’t agree with. I personally think both ‘sides’ are full of losers and bellends. Instead of always having to fight the good fight, you should take some time out to examine why point scoring took precedence over sympathy for the victim of a brutal crime. You’re a disgrace.

Using someone's horrific ordeal to further your pathetic agenda is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

This is a quandry for the resident racist mysoginists that infest this site.

Hahahaha. The fcuking irony. The quandary is yours my friend and I think you know that full well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

dav3 wrote: »
    A two for one.

You lads get to blame the woman and the dark skinned johnny foreigner.

Not blaming her one bit the fellas are clearly ****ing scum bags who shouldn't be allowed into Europe full stop.

I just don't understand why any man or woman would put themselves in a situation like that knowing what happens.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I sympathize with the woman, obviously not a nice thing to experience, but you take a gamble in these situations and she lost badly.

Like, you shouldn't need a bloody government to tell you the risks of going to a strangers place, anything can happen, surely people are aware of that?

Unfortunate event and hopefully they are dealt with accordingly.

Hahahaha. The fcuking irony. The quandary is yours my friend and I think you know that full well.

No quandry for me. I'm not a victim blaming bigot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

kaymin wrote: »
    Except one of the Algerian's admitted to the police she screamed no but proceeded anyway....

I don’t have an agenda. Genuinely. I’m a centrist and in favour of controlled immigration. You just had to get your piece in so you could look righteous to your virtual e-buddies. Unfortunately it just made you come across as callous, uncaring, and a bit of a knob to be honest.

There seems to be a variety of agendas here (not just his) being pushed by using her ordeal as a pedestal to stop high upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭enricoh

I seem to be hitting a nerve.

Not really, in the overall scheme of things it's not that important.
    Who knows in years to come maybe a life spent on boards.ie will be seen as a life well spent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I'm a bit racist at the best of times but blaming Algerians and muzzies here is futile. Rape happens everywhere. It's wrong everywhere but no point pretending it doesn't happen. The women going back to hotels with strange men, while exercising their right to do so under the sexual equality liberation they fought for, are potentially putting themselves at huge risk. That's an indisputable fact.

Reminds me of the scorpion and frog parable, why did you sting me scorpion, because it's in my nature!

It's in some men's nature too. Not many, but some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,743 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

But here's my advice to women going traveling in Europe in the future...dont go back to hotels with strange men. There's a chance you will be raped.

This is nothing new and it applies everywhere. Always has.

Travelling alone as a woman is fine, you just have to keep your wits about you.

thebull85 wrote: »
    Lets call a spade a spade, her behaviour was a huge contributor to what happened to her.

We know very little tbf but assuming all she did was go back to some guy's house, how the fcuk could that be considered to be contributing to her being raped?

People have to live ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

To try to deny that there is an issue in Europe regarding men from certain cultures originating in certain parts of the world engaging in gang rape is like trying to deny that the Catholic church has an issue with kiddie fiddlers.

Watch the below video about the Telford scandal. British Pakistani & Bangladeshi men make up about 2% of the British population but are responsible for 84% of type one sexual offences (gang grooming and rape of young girls).

This is not about colour or religion. It's about culture.

• Site Banned Posts: 406 ✭✭Pepefrogok

Gotta say I am disgusted by the usual crowd in this thread, especially you backwards man which is an incredibly apt name! I started this thread to highlight an attack on one of our own and to talk about what advise people think should be put forward to women travelling in modern Europe and the very first reply you trash it with your usual squeals of "racist" "misogynist" etc etc, you have to shoehorn your agenda into every thread, never sympathy, compassion or coherent replies just your usual nonsense.

Sure it's grand the lads weren't white.

What an utterly ridiculous post.

Are you really trying to suggest that those that were defending the men accused in the recent rape trial only did so because the players were white?? Are you for fcuking real? I can assure you, if any black Irish sports person, such as Chris Hughton, Phil Babb, Paul McGrath, Steven Reid, Adam Byrne etc etc, had found themselves caught up in a similar case, then not one iota of a difference would it have made to the views of the people you are suggesting it would.

Candie wrote: »
    When you get personal like that you lose all credibility. There's no need for personal insults, attack the post and all that.
    If he can dish out the insults he can absorbe them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Kudos to the Czech police for prompt action and I hope for proportionately harsh sentencing from the Czech courts.

Note that if this happened in Ireland the men could obtain a reduction in their sentences based on their ethnic background.

My deepest sympathies to the victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

I think it's abundantly obvious that there are certain cultures where women are seen as second class citizens or worse - to end up in a situation where you are alone with a man of that cultural background, a man who is a complete stranger, is foolish and naive in the extreme

I'm not saying she deserved what happened to her or that "she was asking for it" but people do need to have some common sense as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I think the same advice should apply as the advice given to women travelling to NI and socalising around rugby crowd.

I think it's abundantly obvious that there are certain cultures where women are seen as second class citizens or worse - to end up in a situation where you are alone with a man of that cultural background, a man who is a complete stranger, is foolish and naive in the extreme

I'm not saying she deserved what happened to her or that "she was asking for it" but people do need to have some common sense as well
    Careful there, George

Rape epidemic in Europe, the culprits are mainly muslim men...

But she goes back anyway.

Sweet Jesus, that's Brexiter-level disengagement with reality.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Sweet Jesus, that's Brexiter-level disengagement with reality.

Still watching BBC champ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

My sympathies to the poor woman. Horrendous ordeal for anyone to go through.

Rape epidemic in Europe, the culprits are mainly muslim men...

But she goes back anyway.

Don't get me wrong, I don't have an issue with women being advised not to go back alone with guys they don't know, especially when drunk, but a lot of it is about tone. Okay, she raised her risk of being attacked but if you were in Prague and walked alone down a lane and were jumped and beaten, I don't think you'd appreciate it if back home people were saying 'The fcuking fool walking down lanes on his own'.

If he can dish out the insults he can absorbe them too.

I treat them as compliments tbh.

What dosnt kill ye, eh?