Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Porn is f*cked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

BoatMad wrote: »
    sorry , since you arnt looking over my shoulder, I can tell you I did , I certainly read all of yours

what you are clearly intimating is that these videos are influencing people, " appeal to peoples' paedophilia fantasies," , yet you advance no statistics or evidence that what you say is nothing more then your own simple opinion.

TV in general "appeals " to people fantasy as does porn, thats the whole point , ask yourself why we have crime series that deal with incest , child abuse , horrific violence etc , the answer is ........

answer is , its fantasy , thats the answer , its when you conflate that with reality that you stray into the area of moral panic, which is why I raised the comparison

Nobody gets sexual gratification from an episode of f*cking Law and Order SVU. It's totally, totally, totally different.

I'm NOT saying incest porn is influencing anybody. Did I say lads are going to start trying to ride their sisters? No. I said the video I watched - a more extreme version of your average incest porn I hope - clearly appeals to a certain twisted fantasy, which it does because of the language used.

Your interpretation of the point is soooooo far askew here.

There is a category at the AVN awards - porn's equivalent of the Oscars - called 'Best Taboo Relations'. That category was only introduced in 2015. Is this not enough evidence? What about the fact - and it is a fact - that 'mom' was the sixth most popular search term on Porn Hub in 2017? There's your stats. What you choose to do with them is up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Nobody gets sexual gratification from an episode of f*cking Law and Order SVU. It's totally, totally, totally different.

I'm NOT saying incest porn is influencing anybody. Did I say lads are going to start trying to ride their sisters? No. I said the video I watched - a more extreme version of your average incest porn I hope - clearly appeals to a certain twisted fantasy, which it does because of the language used.

There is a category at the AVN awards - porn's equivalent of the Oscars - called 'Best Taboo Relations'. That category was only introduced in 2015. Is this not enough evidence? What about the fact - and it is a fact - that 'mom' was the sixth most popular search term on Porn Hub in 2017? There's your stats. What you choose to do with them is up to you.

porn is primarily about fantasy , just like most forms of TV " entertainment ". it typically describes a situation generally unattainable to the viewer. ( because otherwise the viewer would just " attain " it in real life ).

Do people get " gratification " from true crime series , from detective series , etc , many of which are very close to the bone these days . Well they must get some form of " gratification " or they wouldn't bother viewing it again obviously

If , as you suggest , " Mom" is a common search term in porn , then clearly there are ( many ) viewers that derive some form of " gratification " in watching a fantasy involving a women " pretending " to be a " mom " engaging in sexual activity

This is not far removed from TV series that depict women as mums engaging in illicit activity etc ( Bell de Jour springs to mind )

In fact , what concerns me more , is that people will watch quite shocking fictional violence on TV without a blip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,876 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

So whats your dissertation going to be called? :pac::D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Riding with Mommy :D

Did.... did I go too far? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

I'm not sure you're grasping what is a pretty basic point. I'm well aware that it wasn't her real son. I'm well aware that they are merely porn actors. But in spite of the fact it wasn't real, it doesn't make the undercurrent of paedophilia any less disturbing.

Sex between blood relations is already pretty out there, but when the dialogue clearly suggests that it's sex between a mother and young child then that's another level of weird. If you disagree fair enough, but I'll be bumping this thread in a few years when fantasy porn involving necraphilia hits the mainstream. "It's grand, it's not really her son and he's not really dead."
    You get what you search for.
    I'd be on xvideos 3 times on a good day, and haven't watched any incest porn as it doesn't float my boat.

No point you looking it up then coming in here with **** remorse.

If , as you suggest , " Mom" is a common search term in porn , then clearly there are ( many ) viewers that derive some form of " gratification " in watching a fantasy involving a women " pretending " to be a " mom " engaging in sexual activity

Yeah, engaging in sexual activity with their biological son, with blatant suggestions that the biological son in question is a little boy. But to you that's no more disturbing than a beheading on Game of Thrones because it all falls under the umbrella term of 'fantasy'.

Porn is f*cked, which it is. It's heading down a very dark road for me. Gone are the days when we had to wait up for Eurotrash. We had to work for our nut, and even then you might have to settle for a fat 50-year-old Austrian woman who goes to the supermarket naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Porn is f*cked, which it is. It's heading down a very dark road for me. Gone are the days when we had to wait up for Eurotrash. We had to work for our nut, and even then you might have to settle for a fat 50-year-old Austrian woman who goes to the supermarket naked.

Eurotrash?? Jesus that brings back memories.

Yeah, engaging in sexual activity with their biological son, with blatant suggestions that the biological son in question is a little boy. But to you that's no more disturbing than a beheading on Game of Thrones because it all falls under the umbrella term of 'fantasy'.

I think you are now descending into " bait " debating

I have no idea what specific porn you refer to, so I can only surmise , clearly the law punishes very severely and quite rightly actual depictions of underage sexual activity and of course also even more severely actual cases of such activity

Thats not in question here

what I am arguing is you attempt at creating " moral panic ", based on no data , no evidence of real life being influenced by such visuals or anything other then your simple opinion , a form of " down with that sort of thing " attitude

Within the legal constraints , applicable at any time in a society , what is carried out by adults , even where they " depict " activities that are considered illegal, we allow other adults to watch. That because ( thankfully) legislators treat us as thinking adults that can discern reality from Fantasy

The alternative is a society where thought is a crime , a very chilling idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

You’re the one who wanked off to this. And you didn’t even last the 18 minutes. Nevertheless you watched enough to know the themes of the video.

Who the **** are you arguing against here? You certainly watched the video. Nobody else here did. If people like you stopped watching incest porn it might go away.

Far more insidious is the rough porn which dominates. That’s clearly affected modern sexual relations

Again , here is another unproven statement , How do you know it " dominates ", and how do you know what section of society and how many view this and allow that fantasy to influence their reality , the answer is you dont

another moral panic in the making

I have no idea what specific porn you refer to, so I can only surmise , clearly the law punishes very severely and quite rightly actual depictions of underage sexual activity and of course also even more severely actual cases of such activity

My bad. I'm talking about incest porn. I should've said.

And there's no law against using language and the woman's tone of voice that suggests it's a young boy and his mother going at it, is there? It's subtle enough to get away with but blatant enough that it gets the point across.

I clearly said I wasn't suggesting that anybody was influenced by incest porn, and thus I'm not creating "moral panic". Ironically you've no evidence of this. It's simply your intepretation and it's false.
    You’re the one who wanked off to this. And you didn’t even last the 18 minutes. Nevertheless you watched enough to know the themes of the video..

Except I didn't **** over it. Go back to writing about chore sex, or how to pick up girls in Temple Bar.

My bad. I'm talking about incest porn. I should've said.

And there's no law against using language and the woman's tone of voice that suggests it's a young boy and his mother going at it, is there? It's subtle enough to get away with but blatant enough that it gets the point across.

but whats your point then , its clearly fantasy , because actual underage sexual activity is heavily punished ,

That the content of mainstream pornography is getting very dark and very twisted, something you're playing down just because it isn't real, even though I've given you evidence that the masses are no longer satisfied with two people having sex with each other unless the fantasy indicates that they're brother and sister, or dad and daughter.

I mean, I think what you're really saying here is that porn can never, ever go too far as long as it stays in the realms of fantasy, which to me sounds terrifying because if that's the case then for you there is no line that can ever be crossed.

Except I didn't **** over it. Go back to writing about chore sex, or how to pick up girls in Temple Bar.

You definitely are the only one who clearly watched this porn. Ok we can’t prove you wanked but you clearly watched enough of it to work out what was the implication. Then you felt the need to lecture the rest of us.

Also Reported as an ad hominem since I’ve never posted about chore sex or temple bar. Not even sure what the former is and the latter I avoid like the plague. But that’s due to drink prices mostly.

So you reported me for making a false accusation, after you made a false accusation about me?

6d78ec0c8c8eaf31.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

I watched one video recently and the premise is this: some fella - whose face you can't see because it's POV - complains that he can't go to school because he has a headache. The 'mum' gives him a tablet but it turns out that she didn't give him a paracetemol, but a viagra. Naturally, he complains that "something weird is happening down there". She tells him to have a **** basically, but it turns out he doesn't know what that is, so she goes, 'Don't worry, sweetie. Mommy will take care of that for you'. Eighteen minutes later and he's popping on her belly. She's breathing heavily and repeating the phrase 'Good boy' in hushed tones.

You can't tell me that the subtext doesn't subtly hint that the video is actually a mother shagging her pre-pubescent son, a boy who doesn't even know what masturbation is or how it's achieved.

Find it fúcking hilarious that I know the video you're on about. Yer wan was something savage altogether if I recall correctly.

So you reported me for making a false accusation, after you made a false accusation about me?

6d78ec0c8c8eaf31.png

The only “false” (or rather unproven) accusation was that you wanked off to the porn you clearly watched. Since that’s the nature of porn watching it’s hardly a stretch. Or do you visit pornhub to gain some moral righteousness?

Seriously would you have this conversation in real life? At a family dinner table tell them about the time you watched incest porn and they all should be ashamed of themselves.

Who are you lecturing here?

The only “false” (or rather unproven) accusation was that you wanked off to the porn you clearly watched. Since that’s the nature of porn watching it’s hardly a stretch. Or do you visit pornhub to gain some moral righteousness?

Seriously would you have this conversation in real life? At a family dinner table tell them about the time you watched incest porn and they all should be ashamed of themselves.

Who are you lecturing here?

You asked me did I masturbate and I said no. Then you continued the accusation nevertheless, which means I could rightly accuse you of being that arsehole who writes about chore sex again, but I won't. Instead, you're that arsehole who goes out of your way to find something to argue about, hence why you average 500 posts a month, and I'm the type of arsehole who falls for the bait. I don't care if you report me again. It's worth the ban.
    Find it fúcking hilarious that I know the video you're on about. Yer wan was something savage altogether if I recall correctly.

That's why I clicked into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Porn nowadays??

Incest themed porn has always been popular. Taboo with Kay Parker in particular was huge in the early 80's. Written and produced by a woman too. The local video shop where I grew up had the whole series. You can watch a nudity free trailer on YouTube here. It even has an IMDB and Wiki page on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Porn nowadays[

Right that's it, you're all getting 30 minutes of mandatory male gay porn.

(That'll shut you up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,701 ✭✭✭AllForIt

My mother doesn't let me watch porn unsupervised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

That doesn't mean it isn't getting a lot more popular does it. It is an increasingly popular genre, which might reflect why it's plastered over home pages.

Home pages are using algorithms that use YOUR search history and browsing habits to present YOU with options the algorithm believes is most suitable to your tastes. If you and I sat on our PCs beside each other and opened the same porn site, we would likely not get the same front page.

So it would not be safe to use what you see on the opening pages of such a site as a citation for what is, or is not, popular. It just shows what the system thinks (rightly or wrongly) as being interesting to you. The fact you clicked on, and seemingly watched, an 18 minute video on the subject is likely to now skew other videos you are presented in future for awhile too.

As a test I just used google to find out what the more popular porn sites are, it game me Pornhub, XTube and XNXX. I opened all three just now and not one video suggested to me was incest themed. Not. A. Single. One.

Not being a porn user myself however the system does not know my preferences at all. So it seems to have fallen back on using my IP Address instead as it offers me quite a few videos on "German girls having sex in public" and German Housewives and so forth.

So, if you are subjectively concluding there is more and more incest in porn, then you might want to ask yourself what you HAVE been looking at that motivates the system into presenting you more of it.

All that said however, I do not think we get to complain about what FREE porn sites are presenting us. Pay for your porn.

Moving past the subjectivity of your own porn usage algorithms however, there has indeed been a seeming increase in the quantity of incest porn. I can vindicate you that much at least. But blaming porn for that is not a good approach. The porn that is produced and presented to us reflects what people actually want, not the other way around. Porn Houses do not invest money in porn themes just for the sake of it. They are acutely aware of trends in the market. So "porn is fked" is less likely to be accurate as "society is fked" and the porn we watch is merely a manifestation of that.

You might find this article illuminating and interesting in that regard. And as an article it might put your mind at rest on the topic a little.
    If you disagree fair enough, but I'll be bumping this thread in a few years when fantasy porn involving necraphilia hits the mainstream. "It's grand, it's not really her son and he's not really dead."

I just tried a few search terms on that subject and there is quite a few videos of that nature there. I then closed all my browsers, opened the sites again, and the front page offered me yet more videos of that type on the front page.

Rationally I know that is because there is an algorithm there. Using YOUR "thinking" however, there has been a massive increase in the quantity of such porn. All in the last 5 minutes.
    But to you that's no more disturbing than a beheading on Game of Thrones because it all falls under the umbrella term of 'fantasy'.

But what exactly is your concern with fantasy of this nature?

I think the borders between fantasy and reality are a little more secure than your fears seem to suggest. I am not a porn user myself at all. It has never been interesting to me. Nor, for whatever reason, have cookery shows. My desire to eat, or have sex, has never seemingly led me to want to watch other people do either. Perhaps I am the weird one here, who knows.

However if I was a user, I would myself be interested in black mail themed porn. Where people of either sex are compelled by the other to have sex against their will through black mail or coercion, rather than outright rape.

The level of interest I have in ACTUALLY blackmailing someone into sex, or being black mailed, or seeing someone actually blackmailed into it however is less than nothing. I would in fact go out well out of my way to prevent such a thing ever happening to me or anyone else.

Without understanding your actual concerns I can only guess that you are worried about some cross over from fantasy to reality. I just do not think that is likely. Or do you have concerns you have not yet made explicit here? Or is there some genuine concerns about the depths of human fantasy and imagination that concern you? Calling things "fked" does not really shine a light on any actual concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

I’d say there’s a lot of lads who can’t get a boner in real life cause of all the nasty porn they are watchin’.
    No statistics. Just can’t imagine looking at that misogynistic gonzo porn on a regular basis is good for a fella. Might give impressionable sorts the wrong idea about what ridin’ Is all about. Which is having great fun with a partner, and not treating them like a piece of cheap meat.

This sounds like a lot of the unsubstantiated nonsense the NoFap movement were pedalling for awhile. I am not sure there is all that much out there to support any of it.

I also do not think that porn gives us a "wrong idea" about sex either. I have more confidence in the ability of the populace to separate fantasy from reality. It sounds a bit like the moral panic people try to sell about Violent computer games, or Hollywood movies too. Yet generally, people do not seem to be deranged in any significant numbers by them either.

As for declaring what sex is "all about", I am not sure you are the authority on that one either. For many people sex is not "all about" any one thing. But is situational and contextual. And many of us in relationships do intimate love making one day, and hot animal rutting the next. We move back and forth along a continuum (ooo matron) about how intimate we are at one end, and how much we are using each other as meat at the other. If you think sex is "all about" one thing, you or your partner are going to get bored with it a lot sooner than you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Incest porn has always been around. I'm talking actors pretending to be related. Not necessarily a real brother or sister. Maybe it's more popular now than 30 years ago. Maybe be you watched one incest video porn hub keeps throwing more & more at you?

In the interest of science I will research this and report back later. Assuming the blisters on my hand let's me type. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭gingergirl

Incest porn???? this is really ****ed up alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

After rigourous hands on research, I can concur that porn is indeed ****ed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭daheff

Sex between blood relations is already pretty out there, but when the dialogue clearly suggests"

Ah theres your problem...”dialogue”

You want dialogue go watch a fancy film, you want sex you watch a porno....dialogue is an after thought. You can complain if the sex isnt up to scratch, but not if the dialogue is crap

Moving past the subjectivity of your own porn usage algorithms however, there has indeed been a seeming increase in the quantity of incest porn. I can vindicate you that much at least.

Right, so it's not just about algorithms, or a case of the website(s) recommending the videos to me based on a preference or something. Forget I said home page. It was a throwaway comment and the stuff that appears on my home page of these sites wasn't at all the basis for the OP.

Instead, the basis is actually in the 'top rated' and 'most viewed' sections of these websites - tabs that I click into before the home page has barely loaded. I'm guessing these sub-sections take algorithms out of the equation and actually just display the most popular content, which ought to back up what I'm saying