Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

I remember his first show on the licensed Nova, he was on after Peter Devlin's Saturday Setlist. I requested him a Nirvana song but he mistakenly played a Metallica one but then admitted he was only new and would do his best in future!

Here he is on Heart FM London back in March 1996!
    http://aircheckdownloads.com/Heart_LiamQuigley_26Mar96.mp3

Whatever you might say about his music, there's no denying his smooth voice and he always gives a professional radio performance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭radonicus

I might tune back in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

Has to be an improvement......now whats next? What about the afternoon show with the really unfunny Pat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

newspower wrote: »
    Has to be an improvement......now whats next? What about the afternoon show with the really unfunny Pat

I'd like to hear Peter Devlin in there....
    Liam in the morning's
    Greg
    I don't mind Dee, if she just stops talking about babies/kids
    Peter in the afternoons...
    Sorted...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

I'd like to hear Peter Devlin in there....
    Liam in the morning's
    Greg
    I don't mind Dee, if she just stops talking about babies/kids
    Peter in the afternoons...
    Sorted...
    So Dee is basically the Alison Curtis of Nova?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Kyle More

I'd be happy to see Quigley as the new MG presenter (or whatever they're going to name the show that supersedes it). But I can't shake the feeling that this is going to be a temporary measure. As Max alluded to earlier, I sense a re-brand is lurking around the corner. Once it's been rolled out, my money is on Ruth Scott to be unveiled as the new morning jock.

Kyle More wrote: »
    I'd be happy to see Quigley as the new MG presenter (or whatever they're going to name the show that supersedes it). But I can't shake the feeling that this is going to be a temporary measure. As Max alluded to earlier, I sense a re-brand is lurking around the corner. Once it's been rolled out, my money is on Ruth Scott to be unveiled as the new morning jock.

Sadly its just wishful thinking on my part..but with Hayes at the helm he'll be looking after his "buddies" me thinks....
    They'll probably go down the duo (yawn) route for the morning...why this format is so common is beyond me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'm actually sad to see Marty & Conor go. I know Marty tries too hard but his heart is in the right place. Conor is an excellent presenter IMO. On the other hand I find Quigley and his little anecdotes very trying.

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I'm actually sad to see Marty & Conor go. I know Marty tries too hard but his heart is in the right place. Conor is an excellent presenter IMO. On the other hand I find Quigley and his little anecdotes very trying.

Dont ya mean Courtenay..."..theres been a coo-allition of the unwilling".."..the leader of the opposition".".over and under".....etc....what is he , 12...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭guile4582

Big Nasty wrote: »

Sure they're naturals at TV too, only bigger and better things for these lads :eek:

Dublin City TV eat your heart out

i actually returned to Nova this week, it's night and day quality wise. the two boys are not cut out for the gig I'm afraid

Dee mentioning babies and baby brain AGAIN today....I'm starting to change my mind on her now...when's she due...?

Sadly its just wishful thinking on my part..but with Hayes at the helm he'll be looking after his "buddies" me thinks....
    They'll probably go down the duo (yawn) route for the morning...why this format is so common is beyond me...

I'd say you're right. Scott plus one (Courtenay perhaps?)
    :-P

Don't think Pats an early riser tbh...;)......maybe Hayes will join her....yikes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Dunno when I've heard Paul Brady on Nova last but hearing Busted Loose was very nice! One of the country's unsung greats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭jucko

liams doing a great job! fair play.

It looks like it's official now, folks. Morning Glory is well and truly no more. They've taken down Conor and Marty's profile from Nova.ie. Its show listings now reads 'Breakfast on Radio Nova' with no presenter(s) mentioned. This reinforces my belief that Quigley is only keeping the seat warm for the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

It looks like it's official now, folks. Morning Glory is well and truly no more. They've taken down Conor and Marty's profile from Nova.ie. Its show listings now reads 'Breakfast on Radio Nova' with no presenter(s) mentioned. This reinforces my belief that Quigley is only keeping the seat warm for the moment.
    No presenter listed for "Saturday Nights" either. Kieran McGuinness from Delorentos does the show most weeks.

He should lock himself in...do us all a favour....:)

John Clarke teased last Sunday that he may be in line for it

guile4582 wrote: »

For the breakfast slot?

guile4582 wrote: »

For the breakfast slot?

John Clarke's massive breakfast roll.........:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭jimmymack

As a fan of JC's Sunday show, I really hope he doesn't move, the frivolous nonsense that seems to happen on most breakfast shows would seriously detract from what he's good at; playing really good music. I just can't see it happening though, I reckon he was only having a laugh on Sunday, there's probably a bit of speculation going about based on what I've seen here. Given Ruth Scott has filled in before, and that she's a high profile name (are Nova still trying to go national?), I'd say she'll be given the gig. And good luck to her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

JC ain't going to the breakfast show. It was a totally tongue in cheek comment on Sunday. Think he is happy where he is playing exactly what he wants......which wouldn't be welcome on the breakfast show.

The whole breakfast show thing annoys me..why do stations feel the need to bombard listeners with so called "comedy" acts....I just want decent music, traffic reports and news...simple really...when the feck..fcuk off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Marty starting his new gig at 10am tomorrow.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

Don't think Pats an early riser tbh...;)......maybe Hayes will join her....yikes...

Pat used to host the morning show way back when..

Wonder will we be hearing another LRC settlement in another two years time...

https://twitter.com/MartyMtweets/status/981959904960352257?s=20

So basically Morty is taking over Greg's slot.. where is Greg going? I'd rather have him on then Morty

?

It looks like Miller is taking over Greg Gaughran's slot. He confirmed it on Twitter this evening. I didn't see that one coming. Gaughran has been hosting that show since Nova's inception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭prunudo

It looks like Miller is taking over Greg Gaughran's slot. He confirmed it on Twitter this evening. I didn't see that one coming. Gaughran has been hosting that show since Nova's inception.

Shame, i thought Greg was their best day time presenter.