Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Belfast rape trial - all 4 found not guilty Mod Note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

PJ 's lawyer is not the best at PR.

The heat went off SO after apologising

It intensifed on PJ after it was announced that he was going to sue.

Watch this space. Poor little paddy will eventually do it too because when you're wrong, you're wrong and you have to say sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Its all getting quite humiliating for the men now, they are being treated like transition year students.

This is going to backfire badly.

The rugby people should now show some backbone or the feminists will wipe their stilletoes on them.

Craigs message was sent as a private message, it wasnt part of the whatsapp group or so he says, people do have the right to free association and the right to have private conversations with their friends.

tretorn wrote: »
    Its all getting quite humiliating for the men now, they are being treated like transition year students.

This is going to backfire badly.

The rugby people should now show some backbone or the feminists will wipe their stilletoes on them.

Craigs message was sent as a private message, it wasnt part of the whatsapp group or so he says, people do have the right to free association and the right to have private conversations with their friends.

Oh dear this must be so galling for you having to see him apologise for showing who he really is behind all the polished veneer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,820 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Oh dear this must be so galling for you having to see him apologise for showing who he really is behind all the polished veneer.

Will it stop people from sending the same type of messages tough in my experiences no. They'll just make sure to cover their tracks better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Had to be done and PJ is a fool not to do it too.

What's he actually have to apologise for? Believing he was having consensual sexual contact? Agreeing with a WhatsApp comment describing something he believes happened?

How does he apologise without burying himself?

He really didnt have any choice.

Most people are getting very uncomfortable now about the witch hunt, its all very childish really, making scapegoats out of poor devils for using the word slut.

Its laughable really because the woman who made the rape allegations used the word slut too and no one is making her apologise to the women who were at the party with her.

Jesus, men of Ireland, get some friggin backbone and stand up for yourselves.

Will it stop people from sending the same type of messages tough in my experiences no. They'll just make sure to cover their tracks better.

It'll make him watch himself from now on. I'm sure there are plenty other immature yokes like him out there stupidly bigging themselves up by disrespecting women but their messages haven't assaulted my eyes and ears for the last couple months.

tretorn wrote: »
    He really didnt have any choice.

Most people are getting very uncomfortable now about the witch hunt, its all very childish really, making scapegoats out of poor devils for using the word slut.

Its laughable really because the woman who made the rape allegations used the word slut too and no one is making her apologise to the women who were at the party with her.

Jesus, men of Ireland, get some friggin backbone and stand up for yourselves.

It's a little like in school when the teacher makes you write a note to somebody you upset/offend. You'll probably do it again as will other people in your class. You'll just make sure you don't get caught the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

this is getting stupid now. i dont even follow rugby but what exactly did craig d do. he sent a message to others in private that some deem derogatory..and he wasnt selected and had to release a statement

fcuk me pink..just stop the fcukn world now..i wanna get off

hynesie08 wrote: »
    What's he actually have to apologise for? Believing he was having consensual sexual contact? Agreeing with a WhatsApp comment describing something he believes happened?

How does he apologise without burying himself?

You know he should have a little glance at his pals apologies & that might give him a little hint.

Specialun wrote: »
    this is getting stupid now. i dont even follow rugby but what exactly did craig d do. he sent a message to others in private that some deem derogatory..and he wasnt selected and had to release a statement

fcuk me pink..just stop the fcukn world now..i wanna get off

Basically he sent a message with an offensive word!
    If they analysed every celebrities phones they'd be a lot more apologies. I say there's a lot of deleting of chats going on with the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

You got kids? A son perhaps?

You think a text message or a comment defines who he is as a person?

If your son made a distasteful joke and it gets plastered all over twitter would that change your opinion of him?

black comedy is to make fun of all sorts of f##ked up ****. People do it all the time.

Take every comment you have ever made, in jest or even if you are some closet racist, let's hypothetically say I have access do every distasteful thing you have ever said..... Is your life going to be perfect?

You know he should have a little glance at his pals apologies & that might give him a little hint.

Why don't you give us a hint? What should the wording of his apology be? He was found not guilty, he had to admit to being unable to get it up, he didn't send any controversial messages. ( Yeah, there was spitroasting is not offensive)

So, apologize for what??

Basically he sent a message with an offensive word!
    If they analysed every celebrities phones they'd be a lot more apologies. I say there's a lot of deleting of chats going on with the last few days.

its gone all pete tong. how was the guy to know that the messages will perceive to a rape trial. this is madness

#ibelievecraig

It would be great if we could get our hands on the whatsapp groups the lady rugby players chat in, we would probably be shockified too.

Seriously though, who let the tyrannical nutjobs have the keys to the madhouse.

Best is next in line, the feminists are hopping mad with him and they wont be happy until his head is on the plate.

Let she who is without sin cast the first stone and all that.........................

Some of ye are out of step with the world in 2018. As he said himself it was "totally inappropriate". Get with the programme boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Some of ye are out of step with the world in 2018. As he said himself it was "totally inappropriate". Get with the programme boys.

were her comments towards the other women totally apropriate

someone wrote the apology note for him and he recited it off.

He wanted to get off the naughty chair and teacher told him he would have to sit with the girls if he didnt do it.

Poor Craig.

do you think that its you that could be out of step

were her comments towards the other women totally apropriate

Women can use that word about each other apparently......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

I won't be getting with any programme other than my own thanks. Lads or ladies of that age group will always and have always used coarse language, load of balls that people are upset about this gilroy chap.

By the way, who is "in step" with the world in 2018 seems you know the type that is out of step? Americans, Muslims, UK Labour Party supporters etc if you could make a list it would be much appreciated.

The coaches will be next in line, they didnt tuck the lads up in bed at night so really they are partly to blame.

If we have no coaches and half the boys cant play because they used bad words how can we field a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭TallyRand

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Women can use that word about each other apparently......

Was just going to add that to my post, I'd say the majority of times I've heard the word slut to describe a girl was by another girl. I'm sure mrsmum has said it and thought it plenty of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,514 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Can't believe that people can't see an issue with a player of his stature referring to women as "sluts". If that's not offensive, what term could he possibly use about them that is offensive? It seems the phrase 'sexism' no longer even exists on Boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭hill16bhoy

Nermal wrote: »
    It gets slightly longer each time he posts it. As if the more examples his soy-addled mind can come up with, the more convincing he thinks it will be.
    Rape culture has many elements. I added more to the list because I remembered more.

And not one poster has been able to deal with a single one of them and dispute how hey are not part of rape culture, least of all you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

Strazdas wrote: »
    Can't believe that people can't see an issue with a player of his stature referring to women as "sluts". If that's not offensive, what term could he possibly use about them that is offensive? It seems the phrase 'sexism' no longer even exists on Boards.

the whole point is that its not sexist. both genders use that and lots of horrible word to discribe eash other.
    its not nice but its reality

ah here. stop talking rubbish. the word is said daily by women and men..plus he said it in a private conversation...freedom of speech is skowely been eroded by pc brigade and feminists

People want to watch this guy play rugby and really they couldnt care less what he talks to his friends about.

Welcome to the real world, you can only be offended if you want to be offended.

I think I will call my next dog Slut, Slut, slut, come home, your bone is on the table.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 262 ✭✭emeraldwinter

hill16bhoy wrote: »
    Rape culture has many elements. I added more to the list because I remembered more.

And not one poster has been able to deal with a single one of them and dispute how hey are not part of rape culture, least of all you.

What per reviewed article is it from exactly ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭hill16bhoy

Another culture that exists here is the culture of denying reality.

That's a culture beloved of reactionary misogynists.

Rape culture and the culture of denying reality are synonymous.