Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

whelan2 wrote: »
    What bulls are ye planning on using this year?

Westcoast perisus, westcoast Neptune and westcoast Yamasaka are the new additions to the flask and have boldi admiration/armour, jabir, lavaman, mainstream manifold in the flask from last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Off tonight to E. Europe on my quarterly reminder of the fragility of W. European family farms...

I was in poland before visiting a dairy farm with 50 cows, so we wee invited into the house, and 2 of the sons appear hungover in their late 40s single, our translate r told me they prefer the drink than milking. Father was nearly seventy doing most of the work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Fr2298
    Fr2239
    Fr2314
    Fr4513
    Fr4532
    Fr4510
    Fr4337
    Fr4482
    Lwr

No Jersey or Scandinavian reds. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

mf240 wrote: »
    No Jersey or Scandinavian reds. ?

Thinking of a few shorthorns .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

Listening to the rain battering my window tells me girls won't be out for a walk tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,623 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

visatorro wrote: »
    Listening to the rain battering my window tells me girls won't be out for a walk tomorrow!

Fair drop hitting the roof here too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Hate this number bull identifier...just can't remember them and they give me no sence of identity like the 3 letter code, and could always link that code in my mind to a bull name...

Absolutely lost now, but part of me thinks that that may have been a little bit of the purpose of the change..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

kevthegaff wrote: »
    I was in poland before visiting a dairy farm with 50 cows, so we wee invited into the house, and 2 of the sons appear hungover in their late 40s single, our translate r told me they prefer the drink than milking. Father was nearly seventy doing most of the work!

Yep. Bunch of drunkards Kev. What a shame.Useless drunkard fcukwits..,
    We’re so lucky that we’ve our Sh1t together...

Are you content with that spiel?? Really?

I’m going further east.
    Hippy, hoppy, happy, families. All’s good and dandy! :):)

Sigh!
    6000ha Farm. Imagine if it changed direction..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

alps wrote: »
    Hate this number bull identifier...just can't remember them and they give me no sence of identity like the 3 letter code, and could always link that code in my mind to a bull name...

Absolutely lost now, but part of me thinks that that may have been a little bit of the purpose of the change..

I could never remember the 3 letter bull codes never mind the 6 character ones now, I always used the end of the name, (Hugo/Dano).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Fair play to pg with the top 6 dairy bulls in the country.

We use a good bit of their stuff, very happy with their crossbred and Jersey bulls particularly the stuff from CRV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Finally finished hanging the gates in the shed today and the first evening I've been inside before 8pm since it started. All the gates are now hanging and the welder even put up a gate for the end of the crush that's been hanging around now for two years.

It's a nice feeling to have gates that hang and open easily rather than be tied to a H-iron with rope:rolleyes:

Just 40 cubicles left to go down in a months time and a backing gate for the collecting yard and scraper for the cubicles.

Yeah, I'm getting lazy in my old age:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

yewtree wrote: »
    We use a good bit of their stuff, very happy with their crossbred and Jersey bulls particularly the stuff from CRV

What Jersey bulls would lads use as a first cross? May try a few this spring,

Mooooo wrote: »

Have some lovey vj link cross heifer calves here, don't know if he's still available though

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Have some lovey vj link cross heifer calves here, don't know if he's still available though

Are the Jersey all new bulls as well?. Is there any proven ones still available that would have daughters milking or would lads have crosses of them here milking with a few years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I’m going further east. Hippy, hoppy, happy, families. All’s good and dandy!

Are you content with that spiel?? Really?

Reliable source ;-), are you not a little weary investing further East.. great land but bandit country parts

Fr2298
    Fr2239
    Fr2314
    Fr4513
    Fr4532
    Fr4510
    Fr4337
    Fr4482
    Lwr

You are going seriously hard with Oman there Mahoney......including several of them with Oman on both the Sire and Dams side....would you be concerned at all about that?

I refused to breed cows here to suggested bulls that were really closely related, mainly were Oman and Dano...

We used a lot of okm, pka and lxk as frist cross, probably used to much okm.
    Have some nice npy and hkk heifers and 2nd lactation cows now.
    At this stage we are using a lot of b+w bulls on the jex cows
    Will use triplestar as a pure Jersey this year

Do you find the udder holds up as number of lactation increases? Would there be many to avoid on that front?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Got triplestar here too to put in the pure Breds. Have all of 4 pb je heifers to breed. Most we've ever had in the one batch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

You are going seriously hard with Oman there Mahoney......including several of them with Oman on both the Sire and Dams side....would you be concerned at all about that?

I refused to breed cows here to suggested bulls that were really closely related, mainly were Oman and Dano...

Not one bit tbh ,inbreeding check on sire advice covers it and I’m happy to go with it ,Oman and most of his offspring are breeding seriously good stock

Can't argue with a master Mahoney, especially with the figures you are achieving, but the fact that line breeding is the inverse of hybrid vigour, are we now not far away from the point of most of our top gene pool being related?

You will have to search extremely hard to find any bulls not related to Oman, Hugo, Dano and Keet, and am concerned that inbreeding is being overlooked to an extent in the pursuit of the genomic figure..

However, when we see the achievements of the likes of yourself, following this route to the letter, it's probably foolish of the rest of us not to have more confidence in it.

I do suspect that you do a lot of research on the bulls you end up choosing and this may take out the random risk of just using the top bulls.

I have been on farm's where the operator have felt they were doing the right thing by blanket using the top bulls year after year without being targeted, and without aimimg for any real animal type.

I've seen some poor results from this type of usage, with huge variation in animal size, type and production, and would be suggesting that many of these operators would see better whole herd gain if they used proven bulls.

It's stunning to see the amount of guys that do not know what kind of cow they want, what she may look like, and how to go about breeding to get her..

I can't understand using "bull of the day"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

alps wrote:
    Can't argue with a master Mahoney, especially with the figures you are achieving, but the fact that line breeding is the inverse of hybrid vigour, are we now not far away from the point of most of our top gene pool being related?

I love when people talk about hybrid vigour. I was in a meeting in West Cork when a farmer who was crossing with Jerseys stood up and said he had Jersey milk and holstein solids.. :) doesn't always work. They're plenty of outcrosses out there but you'll have to use foreign bulls more as they have a bigger selection but lower ebi. Then again how many people would bite your hand off to get Lord Lilly or Hairybreeze straws? And they were all foreign bulls with low ebi.

You will have to search extremely hard to find any bulls not related to Oman, Hugo, Dano and Keet, and am concerned that inbreeding is being overlooked to an extent in the pursuit of the genomic figure..

However, when we see the achievements of the likes of yourself, following this route to the letter, it's probably foolish of the rest of us not to have more confidence in it.

I do suspect that you do a lot of research on the bulls you end up choosing and this may take out the random risk of just using the top bulls.

I have been on farm's where the operator have felt they were doing the right thing by blanket using the top bulls year after year without being targeted, and without aimimg for any real animal type.

I've seen some poor results from this type of usage, with huge variation in animal size, type and production, and would be suggesting that many of these operators would see better whole herd gain if they used proven bulls.

It's stunning to see the amount of guys that do not know what kind of cow they want, what she may look like, and how to go about breeding to get her..

I can't understand using "bull of the day"

Westcoast Yamasaka looks like a great outcross, got a great deal on him from ai rep, still see he's over 40 a pop on website though, a lot of this years heifers here are outcrosses and it's unbelievable how much stronger and tougher they seem to the Oman/shottle sons I had through the previous few years heifers

Do you find the udder holds up as number of lactation increases? Would there be many to avoid on that front?

I haven't had any issues with udders, I found some of the Danish je bulls a bit lighter boned and ended up a bit too light as mature cows.
    If you decide to crossbred a few probably won't go to far wrong with okm and triplestar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Last 3 cows happily calved outside here, all them sitting in the sun happy out with their calves all day, no need for me to interfer with anything, you can talk all you like about 6wk calving targets, 1 2 3 rule etc etc, but hard to beat letting mother nature get on with itself when it allows!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Last 3 cows happily calved outside here, all them sitting in the sun happy out with their calves all day, no need for me to interfer with anything, you can talk all you like about 6wk calving targets, 1 2 3 rule etc etc, but hard to beat letting mother nature get on with itself when it allows!

All's good when it goes to plan. Just be careful if weather changes.

blackdog1 wrote: »
    I love when people talk about hybrid vigour. I was in a meeting in West Cork when a farmer who was crossing with Jerseys stood up and said he had Jersey milk and holstein solids.. :) doesn't always work. They're plenty of outcrosses out there but you'll have to use foreign bulls more as they have a bigger selection but lower ebi. Then again how many people would bite your hand off to get Lord Lilly or Hairybreeze straws? And they were all foreign bulls with low ebi.

I wonder did lads go in with jerseys on cows that perhaps should have stuck with hol/fr? Cows that may have been low milk to begin with etc. Plan here is any young heifer once bulling may get one as rolling over stock will be gone as switching to spring, more to get heifer calved easier and up and running as opposed to getting replacements, and then as I need to keep numbers any high yielders that have rolled over in the past may get one as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

All's good when it goes to plan. Just be careful if weather changes.

Yeh I thought about putting all the drys on the maize stubble and draw silage to them, but too far away and fair bit of effort if the weather changed, instead the springers are in a paddock beside the shed and can pull the pin quick if needed.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yeh I thought about putting all the drys on the maize stubble and draw silage to them, but too far away and fair bit of effort if the weather changed, instead the springers are in a paddock beside the shed and can pull the pin quick if needed.

Lost a couple last spring when the weather changed. How long are you leaving the calves on the cows?