Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland to consider expelling Russian diplomats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

backspin. wrote: »
    Does anyone think the British would do us a favour if Putin killed someone in Dublin?

Well they are already intercepting Russian bombers when they enter our airspace

https://www.irishcentral.com/news/raf-forced-to-intercept-as-russian-bomber-planes-enter-irish-airspace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Mumha

bebeman wrote: »
    We are supposed to be Neutral, stay out of this nonsense until we get a few answers to simple questions.
    1, Whats the condition of Sergei and Yulia Skripal,are they dead or back to normal?
    2,Why does the UK government refuse the Russian request to share the evidence?
    3,How can you defend against an accusation if you are refused access to evidence that apparently points to your guilt?
    4, Whats the story with the presumption of innocence and of due process?
    No end of questions to ask when you take a few minutes to think about what we have been told, all smells a bit fishy.
    Leo and Simon are thinking of a nice job in the EU and not whats in Irelands best interests, stay out of this until proof is presented.

Clearly the information provided to Varadkar was so concerning that it required immediate action. As an Irish citizen, I would expect that, wouldn't you ?

1. There was a report of an interview with a scientist involved in this nerve agent who said that there is no cure, and are probably only being kept alive artificially.

2, 3 and 4. Feck Putin and his gang. They're doing the usual bull**** deflection. They've even put up a facebook poll asking which American consulate they should close.

• Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭Jacko753

Here's this argument again

"Oh well the British did this then, why didn't we do something then"

Maybe have a chat with the Irish leaders and ask them why?

New leader knew regime really. However this is more of a statement from the west to Russia.

Putin doesn't care, he knew Russia would be identified and did it intentionally, he's testing the waters on what he can get away with. The uk leaving the EU is exactly what they want

We know why because UVF/Mi5 would bomb and shoot the **** out of anyone who did

Jacko753 wrote: »

Have we time warped back 20 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Well, 8 million people, that's a THIRD of the population of Yemen face starvation as a result of a land, sea and air blockade imposed by Saudi Arabia. On top of that HRW has documented Saudi indiscriminate bombing of civilians. These bombers are refuelled by US, UK and French facilities both ground based and airborne.

The entire blockade of Yemen whereby food, medicines, and other humanitarian assistance imposed by Saudi Arabia and tolerated, if not encouraged, by NATO is a crime against humanity.Of course to say such a thing makes you sound like a hysterical Western hating hippy, regardless of the facts.

Will Varadkar be expelling any of the lads from the Saudi Embassy in Merrion Square or is an attempted poisoning with no substantiation more serious than and effective genocide?

You see, people only see what they want to see. They rarely go looking for things that are disturbing and their news media are happy with that and rarely show it. When you bring to light something that isn't front and centre, albeit it disturbing, you get a backlash from those who don't actually want to be independent from the sources of their information.

Everyday there are a thousand stories that would not sit well with the popular narrative OR those who have married themselves to it. Mention one of these episodes and the mental shutters come slamming down for fear of that dreaded cognitive dissonance.

I'm kind of hoping that a new breed of thinkers is emerging who don't lap up what they're fed. Only old assholes believe that Russia is about to invade Europe. Only old assholes think that North Korea is going to nuke the world. Only old assholes believe that gun control will result in gulags from Boston to Bel Air. Only old thick assholes believe this crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Chrongen wrote: »
    Only old assholes believe that Russia is about to invade Europe.

Remind us about the invasion of Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭mulbot

Remind us about the invasion of Ukraine.

Did this not start with the injection of huge finances into neo nazi groups by the US to help overthrow a democratically elected government?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

mulbot wrote: »
    Did this not start with the injection of huge finances into neo nazi groups by the US to help overthrow a democratically elected government?
    Yeah there was definitely interference of some nature. The Ukraine government at the time was a bit too Moscow friendly. Just the two sides using Ukraine as a chessboard as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭circadian

Jacko753 wrote: »

You know what? I find this deflection in particular pretty offensive.

I grew up during the height of the troubles, have had family members killed during it and seen things a child shouldn't see.

What happened 30 years ago has absolutely no relevance to this topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

mulbot wrote: »

Russia invaded and partitioned the country. First time that had happened since WW2 in Europe.

If people think Russia is an innocent party and not the thug nation it has always been intimidating and harassing it's neighbors then I would tell those people to go live in Poland, Latvia, Ukraine and see just how different the outlook on the world is there compared to Dublin.

Thanks to NATO it's contained for now. But this sinking country with it's economy now smaller than Italy's is going through a phase kind of like a middle age crisis.

Putin can not save Russia. It is a dying country lashing out.

Thank god for America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

gandalf wrote: »
    Well they can't even test the urine of their athletes properly so why would we trust them with anything more substantial ;)

*cough* Mo Farah *cough*

Mumha wrote: »
    Clearly the information provided to Varadkar was so concerning that it required immediate action. As an Irish citizen, I would expect that, wouldn't you ?

1. There was a report of an interview with a scientist involved in this nerve agent who said that there is no cure, and are probably only being kept alive artificially.

2, 3 and 4. Feck Putin and his gang. They're doing the usual bull**** deflection. They've even put up a facebook poll asking which American consulate they should close.

And yet the cop who was became unwell after contact with it is fine now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭circadian

And yet the cop who was became unwell after contact with it is fine now.

Got any references for his clean bill of health? Despite being discharged from hospital there are probably permanent effects of being exposed.

circadian wrote: »
    Got any references for his clean bill of health? Despite being discharged from hospital there are probably permanent effects of being exposed.

Well considering the interview the day he was leaving, i'd imagine he is grand.

"DS Nick Bailey called his own experience “surreal” but added: “I want people to focus on the investigation – not the police officer who was unfortunate enough to be caught up in it.”

He continued: “I understand why there is attention on me, but all I have done is represent every police officer who goes out there every day and puts their life at risk.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭mulbot

Russia invaded and partitioned the country. First time that had happened since WW2 in Europe.

If people think Russia is an innocent party and not the thug nation it has always been intimidating and harassing it's neighbors then I would tell those people to go live in Poland, Latvia, Ukraine and see just how different the outlook on the world is there compared to Dublin.

Thanks to NATO it's contained for now. But this sinking country with it's economy now smaller than Italy's is going through a phase kind of like a middle age crisis.

Putin can not save Russia. It is a dying country lashing out.

Thank god for America.

Yet, NATO stood aside from the situation in Ukraine. Ironic to be call g one country a thug while lavishing praise on the American regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,098 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Hopefully that means shutting down that new Russian building, as well as kicking some of them out. It's important we stand with and for Democracy, and with our EU friends. Anyone supporting the rooskis, is supporting a totalitarian regime.

Yeh, and hopefully The West’s allies in the Persian Gulf will take a stand against this Russian dictatorship!!!!!!

*cough* Mo Farah *cough*

*cough* State backed Russian athletics doping (and the curlers !) *cough*

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Yeh, and hopefully The West’s allies in the Persian Gulf will take a stand against this Russian dictatorship!!!!!!

Ideally it should be a worldwide stand against Putin.

Hopefully that means shutting down that new Russian building, as well as kicking some of them out. It's important we stand with and for Democracy, and with our EU friends. Anyone supporting the rooskis, is supporting a totalitarian regime.

If what Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya, Syria et al got from US/EU is democracy, they can keep it.

So you're happier standing with Putin, a murderous dictator and career criminal, who is aiming to install similar totalitarian regimes in Western Europe and elsewhere ? Ok then....

Well turfed one out so I suppose that's a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

One Russian diplomat to be expelled from Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Well considering the interview the day he was leaving, i'd imagine he is grand.

"DS Nick Bailey called his own experience “surreal” but added: “I want people to focus on the investigation – not the police officer who was unfortunate enough to be caught up in it.”

He continued: “I understand why there is attention on me, but all I have done is represent every police officer who goes out there every day and puts their life at risk.”

That wasn't him who gave the statement, it was his supervisor. He is going to be affected by this contamination for the rest of his life. His lifespan has been halved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭goulders

We have made a stand, Putin will be livid when we send home the 70 year old Russian gardener.

Some lunatic was on Morning Ireland this morning saying that while Putin is undoubtedly a grade A superstar bastard in every respect [OK, my rough translation!] evidence for direct state complicity wasn't exactly very strong. Huh, evidence. In what century is that guy living?

PS: Remember the universal "respectable" consensus to justify the US invasion of Iraq in 2003, a consensus based upon a huge lie from the US and British governments? "There are weapons of mass destruction in Iraq".

Be wary of the spin from "respectable" media and political sources - always.

goulders wrote: »
    We have made a stand, Putin will be livid when we send home the 70 year old Russian gardener.

It is symbolic, but it indicates there is still something the Allies are agreed on, that probably concerns Putin more. Ideally a halt on the new Russian building would have been better. On an overall scale, increased sanctions and freezing of oligarch accounts would have been far better.

That wasn't him who gave the statement, it was his supervisor. He is going to be affected by this contamination for the rest of his life. His lifespan has been halved.

His supervisor is using I and me a lot for someone who wasn't affected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Some lunatic was on Morning Ireland this morning saying that while Putin is undoubtedly a grade A superstar bastard in every respect [OK, my rough translation!] evidence for direct state complicity wasn't exactly very strong. Huh, evidence. In what century is that guy living?

PS: Remember the universal "respectable" consensus to justify the US invasion of Iraq in 2003, a consensus based upon a huge lie from the US and British governments? "There are weapons of mass destruction in Iraq".

Be wary of the spin from "respectable" media and political sources - always.
    Are these academic "Russia experts" ever not on the radio?
    They pose as experts but are inevitably associated with some Russophobic Atlanticist "think-tank". You will seldom ever hear a real journalist on RTE when Russia is the subject.
    *cough* Mo Farah *cough*
    That reminded me of the Norwegian skiing team that took 5000 doses of asthma medication to the Winter Olympics.
    Norwegians nice, Russians bad.

So you're happier standing with Putin, a murderous dictator and career criminal, who is aiming to install similar totalitarian regimes in Western Europe and elsewhere ? Ok then....

Could you point out where I said that?? Or is this another post that is becoming more and more common on Boards, spouting nonsense, and claiming something that has never been said.

Yay for democracy. One person, one vote. Anyone know when the next European referendum is? And which way have we to vote so they don't make us vote a second time, again??

• Site Banned Posts: 69 ✭✭Jacko753

What makes Putin/Russia any worse than the US and EU? If you look at it from a statistical point of view the US and EU have caused far more death and destruction around the world than Russia has.

But the media portray it differently, sit down and read the facts from an outside point of view and you might have a different perception.