Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coronation Street [News, Spoilers and Discussion] contd

fin12 wrote: »
    She’s a complete nag and really insecure and jealous. David would be a lot better getting rid of her.

How insecure do you have to be, to be jealous of a friendship between your boyfriend and another bloke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Hi Folks.
    I haven't been watching Corrie for long, but don't we normally have two episodes on Friday evening? My SKY guide is showing the next episode is on Monday? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jikashi

Hi Folks.
    I haven't been watching Corrie for long, but don't we normally have two episodes on Friday evening? My SKY guide is showing the next episode is on Monday? :(

Some big charity event on in the timeslot in the UK I believe, that's why we got an episode on Thursday instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭bubbles o hara

Jikashi wrote: »
    Some big charity event on in the timeslot in the UK I believe, that's why we got an episode on Thursday instead.
    Makes a change from a football match.

Thank you! :)

It’s Sport Relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭cathy427

Sport relief is on the beeb.

No Corrie as to paraphrase Mrs. Doyle "load a men chasing a" ball on ITV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

Icsics wrote:
    They’ve turned Shauna into an awful nag. ’
    Well I must be a nag too because I understand her being well pissed off...up to the incident he was out all the time lately drinking with his new bezzie mate leaving her minding his kids and listening to Gail. ..like wtf?!Not even checking with her first that it's ok?? I think she's a lovely girl but a bit slow on the uptake..I'm not an egghead or anything but I'd defo know something happened that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

It took me a minute to realise you meant Robert and not her brother Rob!
    It was a couple of years ago, maybe Christmas? She met him at the casino, she was engaged to Nick at the time and I think Robert had just split up with Tracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

After what happened with Kylie, I still can't understand why David is with Shauna..No matter how good they 'click' I still can't accept their relationship, it's ****ed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭bobbyss

David always seems like a snarly young teen. He looks so young and underdeveloped somehow. Shona seems too mature for him. (Actually, the exact same could be said for Gary and Phelan's daughter, what's her name again? Now she is very poised.)

The writers are consistently poor and lazy. Who comes home and says 'We're off to New Zealand either you are coming or you are not'.
    Who says to their mother 'It's not my problem where you live'.

Has David researched the demand for hairdressers in Auckland or Christchurch? Schools, Health Insurance? And so on.

This Ali chap. Really! Again what poor standards in the Producer's office. As alluded to above, he does not have the bearing of a professional person. The shiftiness. Nose touching. He would have been ideal as Billy's brother. And again, how often over the last ten years has Michelle mentioned him?

But I thought he and Carla just kissed? Nothing more.

A pastime to get through boring storylines is to wonder (when there are three, four characters in one scene at the same time) who has slept with who. It is nigh impossible to have a scene without these permutations.

This is especially true when Tracy is in a scene. And Carla. But also Peter. Forgot about the rarely seen Maria. Steve too. Not forgetting Leeanne (of course). An honourable mention for Gemma now. Adam? Then there's Robert. Daniel is thereabouts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭Kauto0709

Was it on last night?

Kauto0709 wrote: »
    Was it on last night?

No. A few lads were kicking a ball around. Very entertaining.

Is that the type of thing ye are into now, young lads in shorts chasing a ball! 😂

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Is that the type of thing ye are into now, young lads in shorts chasing a ball! 😂

I would be ha ha ha

Hate football messing up my soaps

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Is that the type of thing ye are into now, young lads in shorts chasing a ball! ��

A gal can dream.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Why does every kiss on Coronation Street always lead to going all the way?
    Starts put on the couch with the gal having one leg curled under her and lo and behold they run up the stairs two taking two at a time.

To thine own self be true

bobbyss wrote:
    David always seems like a snarly young teen. He looks so young and underdeveloped somehow. Shona seems too mature for him. (Actually, the exact same could be said for Gary and Phelan's daughter, what's her name again? Now she is very poised.)

Yeah I thought that too when they got together first.. then I sort of forgot about it. He'd suit a small framed girl, with pixie type features. Shona is tall and looks like an adult whereas despite his facial hair he looks like a teenager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭bobbyss

Starts put on the couch with the gal having one leg curled under her and lo and behold they run up the stairs two taking two at a time.

Did they though? Did we see them going upstairs? Carla's guilty looks were just for the fruity kiss I thought. Where were they anyway? In Roy's?

Imagine if she got pregnant? Michelle would be her mother-in-law. Am I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

bobbyss wrote: »
    Did they though? Did we see them going upstairs? Carla's guilty looks were just for the fruity kiss I thought. Where were they anyway? In Roy's?

He called around to Carla after work for some wine.

Next scene he's in the Cafe with his shirt open and they're serving breakfast.

So I reckon he got his hole.

And always after drinking red wine. Maybe if they switched to white?

bobbyss wrote:

Only if she married him but as good as..
    I often wondered this myself...why people always go the whole 9 yards. From kiss on the sofa to the bed upstairs. Like Tyrone and Gemma..they regretted it so much yet they went upstairs and also stopped mid goose, to use a condom. Hardly mindless, overwhelming, uncontrollable passion..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Jikashi

bobbyss wrote: »
    David always seems like a snarly young teen. He looks so young and underdeveloped somehow. Shona seems too mature for him.

I think all these comments about David's appearance comes from a few connected facts. Firstly JPS is relatively short (not helped by the tall and slender Shona) and of slim build and while not bad looking by any means he's not tall dark and magazine-cover handsome like others in his age bracket like Adam, Daniel, Luke, Zeedan or Andy for example.
    Now consider that unlike those other young male characters on the show he's been played by the same actor since he was a small child. With men who were introduced as adults, or characters who returned with new faces, the showrunners have more ability to choose a bit of eye candy. With kids who stay actor-constant into adulthood you have less control of that. Along with David you could also include Chesney, Craig, Tyrone or Steve as characters who grew up on the show since they were kids or young teens without changing actors and may not be the first choice as sexy soap actors being introduced if they were new on the scene. (Again no offence is intended to these actors)
    The opposite creates its own issues when they hire an actor they choose to play a kid who would be very unlikely to age into them e.g. Ryan, Alex, Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

There was zero chemistry between Carla and Ali (who the fook abbreviates Alex to Ali??)

I want to clear something up. Just for my own peace of mind. I know I said I call my son Alex 'Ali' sometimes but I mean sometimes. As a nickname /pet name kinda thing. In the house. I don't introduce him as 'my son Ali'.

I'm trying to imagine him running around in the park and me shouting after him "Get back here Ali!" No.

I want to clear something up. Just for my own peace of mind. I know I said I call my son Alex 'Ali' sometimes but I mean sometimes. As a nickname /pet name kinda thing. In the house. I don't introduce him as 'my son Ali'.

I'm trying to imagine him running around in the park and me shouting after him "Get back here Ali!" No.

I imagine that he’s changed to Ali because Alex was the name his “mother” gave him and he wants to distance himself from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

He could go by 'Al'. Or, if Alex is short for Alexander, he could call himself 'Xander '.

Dr. Xander will see you now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Lol at Roy “ambushing” the psychic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Did nobody recognise Henry? Or did they twig it was him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

would have liked to see Martin catching up with Kev as he said he was going to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Did nobody recognise Henry? Or did they twig it was him?

He's brewery royalty. They have to overlook his treatment of Gemma and bow to his highness.

To thine own self be true