Al Porter Scandal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

No words

He has friends in the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

No words

Except those 2 words

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Please don't let the fool back on Irish Media, absolute parasite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Monumental hypocrisy.

Can't wait to see someone try to justify this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

JFC.

A picture if him beaming on the front page doesn't quite sell the huge remorse, but when you combine it with LESS (not off) booze, LESS (not off) cigs, and that big green tick the box for therapy, well I'm 100% sold!!!

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

I should do some sexual assaults before I cut down on the booze and fags, imagine the kudos I'd get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Every time I have a smoke I get this overwhelming urge to grab some lad by the flute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Can we get someone to photoshop Harvey Weinstein in there? Just to show how ridiculous this is.

He's a horrible human being who doesn't deserve a single bit of attention and now some idiot has plastered him all over the front page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Pathetic.
    Thankfully it's only The Star, a Dublin rag, but it wouldn't surprise me as the RTE and Irish meeja lovelies rallied around him originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Green ticks..... I'm in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

So are cigarettes being linked to groping, no connection to what he did.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

You know, I was starting to feel bad for the guy. I'd read about the McSavage appearance and thought, ok he's holding his hands up to what he did and wants to reform.

But to associate smoking and drinking with sexual harassment is beyond hideous.

He's doing himself no favors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

By summertime there will be a general all round agreement that Al is the REAL victim in all this and Ray Darcy will be sympathizing with him on the radio because “everyone deserves a second chance” and there are “no winners here”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

They should put the warning on cigarette boxes:

"May cause smokers to carry out sexual assaults"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

threein99 wrote: »
    They should put the warning on cigarette boxes:

"May cause smokers to carry out sexual assaults"

Joke as you will but remember what Bill Clinton did with a cigar. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Poor Al, I feel sorry for him. Born in the wrong era. If he'd been born 30/40 years earlier he'd have had a huge career in the BBC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

"Trying to rebuild his stalled career"...?

*arches eyebrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Why hasn't anybody pressed charges against him? I'm not a fan of trial or redemption by media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,832 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

razorblunt wrote: »
    Pathetic.
    Thankfully it's only The Star, a Dublin rag, but it wouldn't surprise me as the RTE and Irish meeja lovelies rallied around him originally.

You are right to be cynical, the Irish media have form in this regard. Case in point being Tim Allen of Ballymaloe and his conviction for having kiddie porn found on his computer. Tim just went away for a while and upon his return the Irish media did an amazing job of not asking questions as to why Darina was letting a paedo back into her house.

Al Poster is hoping for a similar reformation courtesy of an unquestioning and compliant Irish media.

recyclebin wrote: »
    Why hasn't anybody pressed charges against him? I'm not a fan of trial or redemption by media.

Chances are he has *cough* come to a legal agreement with the complainants copperfastened with an NDA. Otherwise he would not be running this attempt of redemption in fear they would pipe up.

Patient: Despite knowing that I shouldn't be doing such things, these urges come over me and next thing I know, the act is done. I don't want to be a serial groper, I don't want to be openly putting my hand down mens' pants at social outings. There has to be something which can help...

Therapist: Have you tried giving up the cigs? Or even, less cigs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Muahahaha wrote: »
    You are right to be cynical, the Irish media have form in this regard. Case in point being Tim Allen of Ballymaloe and his conviction for having kiddie porn found on his computer. Tim just went away for a while and upon his return the Irish media did an amazing job of not asking questions as to why Darina was letting a paedo back into her house.

Al Poster is hoping for a similar reformation courtesy of an unquestioning and compliant Irish media.

There's a lot of rumours around that case. Darina does seem to have taken a back seat, tv wise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

I suppose less cigarettes = sucking on fewer butts...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

We’re really dragging the arse out of this story

razorblunt wrote: »
    There's a lot of rumours around that case. Darina does seem to have taken a back seat, tv wise though.

Yeah every now and again you hear the rumour that Tim was really covering up for a different member of the family. I dont believe that rumour for one minute. And even if it were true it does not excuse a member of that family viewing kiddie porn. Also if the rumour were true then it also means that the course of justice has been perverted and there is an unconvicted paedo on the loose and Tim Allens conviction has tricked the Gardai & court system into thinking it was him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,401 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I don't think he'll really come back. It's hard to see him engaging in too much innuendo and blatant perving on lads, in light of what's come to light - and without those things he basically has no act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Arghus wrote: »
    I don't think he'll really come back. It's hard to see him engaging in too much innuendo and blatant perving on lads, in light of what's come to light - and without those things he basically has no act.

That’s true.
    He didn’t really have anything to offer apart from the constant stream of well rehearsed smut, as far as I can see.
    If he has he should show his hand (ooeerr matron!) fairly soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Otherwise he would not be running this attempt of redemption in fear they would pipe up.

Wasnt that what he was hoping for?

*ironic smutty double entendre in Al Porter thread
    ** gets coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,861 ✭✭✭✭Penn

At this stage it's up to the TV/Radio stations not to give him new shows etc. I imagine he'd likely be able to be a guest for hard-hitting interviewers like Tubridy and D'Arcy, but I can't see him getting any hosting/presenting gigs, and don't think he should be afforded that opportunity either.

I know no charges have been brought against him or anything, but a) he didn't deny many of the accusations (instead trying to pass them off as his "flamboyant character" or whatever such nonsense), and b) he's apparently been in therapy now for same, which means there is at least a not-insignificant amount of truth to the accusations which should discount him from stepping back into the spotlight.

Eponymous wrote: »
    I suppose less cigarettes = sucking on fewer butts...

Astonishing, isnt it? Like I am a smoker and after todays revelations from Al I am a bit concerned that soon I might go out groping other men. Luckily I only smoke Silk Cut so it will only be a bit of a weak grope.