The end of the line for the Northern White Rhino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

SuperS54 wrote: »
    There's stuff they could take for that, I hear the Chinese do a good line in powdered horns...for the horn

And perhaps a little ivory trinket for the mantel piece. Chinese great bunch of lads. Love a bit of pointless extinction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

backspin. wrote: »
    Stupid Chinese and their silly potions. And they aren't done yet. Elephant tusks, lion and tiger bones. Pretty much any of the majestic animals are under threat. So sad and so pointless.

If you ever want to have the crack with US customs officials use one of the border crossing into Alaska.
    Once upon a time I got brought into a US border post on the Alaskan border and I got to play a guessing game with the some of the confiscated stuff that has been sent to them from the major airports and ports of the lower 48.
    I was shown what I thought was an elephant tusk that some eejit tried to smuggle through San Fran airport in a suitcase but it turned out to be a Walrus tusk.
    Another thing that looked like a snake skin turned out to be a leopard penis.

It was an eye opener as to how much stuff they do find and that is probably just a tiny portion of it.
    Apparently the main reason they were chosen by the WWF as their symbol was to save on printing costs as they were black and white.

I thought it was because they looked cute.
    Although they never show the males rubbing their ar**es up on bamboo trees to mark their territory.

A bit like they never showed the "cute" young elephant male trying to ride a poor rhino calf because he was so horny.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

Has feminism gone too far?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Its a very sad story about the Rhino, and probably not the last we will hear about it

Has feminism gone too far?

For the white rhino. Id say you are right..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I heard Michael Flatley is devastated, he needed one more to complete the set of horns in his gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I'm unclear on why anyone cares. Animals go extinct every day. Its how evolution works. The weak who fail to reproduce perish, the strong who do inherit the earth. The world is still turning without the white rhino.

Sand wrote: »
    I'm unclear on why anyone cares. Animals go extinct every day. Its how evolution works. The weak who fail to reproduce perish, the strong who do inherit the earth. The world is still turning without the white rhino.

We are making the extinction rates abnormal. We are going to lose some majestic animals because we seem to think 10, 15, 20 billion people is sustainable. We need to cop the f**k on and protect some of the planets beauty. Or maybe it's more important to have 5 billion Chinese and 3 billion Africans and 4 billion Indians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭manonboard

The rate of the extinctions in the last few decades, is extremely high. It's nothing like a 'natural' rate as seen in all of our previous history bar major extinction events.

Many people love animals being alive in the world. That is why we care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Sand

manonboard wrote: »
    The rate of the extinctions in the last few decades, is extremely high. It's nothing like a 'natural' rate as seen in all of our previous history bar major extinction events.

Many people love animals being alive in the world. That is why we care.

There will be other animals alive in the world, they just wont be the white rhino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Firblog

Recently stopped donating money to Concern, redirected it to a wildlife charity.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

vicwatson wrote: »
    Don’t think rhinos are forest dwelling creatures
    Mokèlé-mbèmbé is a rhino.

Elephants live in jungles so smaller animals would have it easier. Also the Congo forest , like the Sahara, expands and contracts with the climate specifically the rains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

The world will still turn when the last bacteria disappears off this planet

It’s also not the strong who inherit the earth.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

backspin. wrote: »
    Stupid Chinese and their silly potions. And they aren't done yet. Elephant tusks, lion and tiger bones. Pretty much any of the majestic animals are under threat. So sad and so pointless.
    Pangolins :(