Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Sea of Thieves

• Registered Users Posts: 848 ✭✭✭erkifino

I didn't want to be to critical as it wasn't the full game. It is a different kind of game not a lot of shooting or blowing stuff up. All the online games seem to have the same modes and with a defined time on matches.

I think it's trying to be a more social game, talk to your friends about life and other stuff. You get to be online with friends in other games but with adrenaline pumping and trying to strategise to 'win' it's not really that 'social'.

I can't see much rage quitting happening. For some it mightn't have the dopamine hit that PUBG has when you kill someone or finish 2nd.

I'm not liking what I've seen so far. It's okay. Most of my friends don't game so I do my socialising more traditionally. But when your friends are scattered across the globe it's grand to have a slow paced game ye can play together.

I'm finally playing through Black Flag and enjoying it but I do game on my own mostly. Billy no mates :pac:

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Achievements are out: https://www.seaofthieves.com/news/sea-of-thieves-achievements

The commendation ones look ridiculously grindy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭maximoose

Haha, like that they are all in riddles and there's some nice achievement art in there too.

1000 chests/skulls/etc can feck off though

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Max Mafioso

Apparently if you set your country to New Zealand, you can download it since its technically the 20th there.
    I've a few friends who have done this now, I'm in no rush myself

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭amadablam

Apparently if you set your country to New Zealand, you can download it since its technically the 20th there.
    I've a few friends who have done this now, I'm in no rush myself

Yeah if you have games pass, you can Download it from the NZ region free to play today under your subscription

• Registered Users Posts: 27,319 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I still don't really know what this game is, or if I should bother with it as someone who will be playing alone for the most part.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

Anyone gonna be playing on PC?

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Logic

Anyone gonna be playing on PC?

Yeah just downloaded it courtesy of the Gamepass

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

So did people here played it? Any good?

Is it viable as solo game? Is there some sort of matchmaking?

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

So did people here played it? Any good?

Is it viable as solo game? Is there some sort of matchmaking?

Going by the beta there is matchmaking and you can play solo if you want, though you are more prone to getting robbed by other players then!

You have game pass don't you? You can play it for free straight away you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Mr_Man2121

I still don't really know what this game is, or if I should bother with it as someone who will be playing alone for the most part.

I played both during the beta (alone and with friends) and I enjoyed them both equally.

Looking forward to playing when I get home but a bit concerned from reddit that the beta was essentially the full game.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,196 ✭✭✭maximoose

Same, looking forward to giving it a go tonight but the concerns about the content don't seem to have gone away.

Servers are struggling a bit too it seems.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Going by the beta there is matchmaking and you can play solo if you want, though you are more prone to getting robbed by other players then!

You have game pass don't you? You can play it for free straight away you know.

I dont have pass yet, but I would sub to it. Not something I was looking to play, but for a tenner its grand to try.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭amadablam

maximoose wrote: »
    Same, looking forward to giving it a go tonight but the concerns about the content don't seem to have gone away.

Servers are struggling a bit too it seems.

Match making is taking an age at times and you get kicked for inactivity pretty fast (pop to the fridge for a sprite) which isn't a problem but when you have to wait for match making each time, it's tiresome.

Also, even with the voice chat selected to headphones only, it's a bit of a pain listening to people talking ****e all the time. Anyone know how to stop this?

I'd say it would be great fun with your own crew and chatting then.

Should we set up a match making group.?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,774 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I dont have pass yet, but I would sub to it. Not something I was looking to play, but for a tenner its grand to try.

You only got a One recently didn't you? Was there not a 30 day trial in the box with your One S?

• Registered Users Posts: 22,225 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Sea of thieves is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later (kiwibeard)

Akrasia wrote: »

Same.

They've suspended allowing new players to join the game (according to their twitter)

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭Buttros

Akrasia wrote: »

Same but from Laverderbeard 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 12,480 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Buttros wrote: »
    Same but from Laverderbeard ��

Got that, had to quit out as all my weapons and equipment disappeared and got the error when trying to log back in.

Had a cargo of chickens too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,287 ✭✭✭dunworth1

standard launch day issues

but I thought the stress tests were supposed to give them an idea so that it'd be ready for launch capacity

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

dunworth1 wrote: »
    standard launch day issues

but I thought the stress tests were supposed to give them an idea so that it'd be ready for launch capacity

You can run all the tests you want, but nothing really prepares you fully, unfortunately.

CatInABox wrote: »
    You can run all the tests you want, but nothing really prepares you fully, unfortunately.

Especially with the free games pass. Lots of people saved their 14 day trial for this game

CatInABox wrote: »

They could have had an open beta test weekend though. Probably wishing they did now. A lot of pre-order gamers on both PC and Xbox will be very very cross

They did have an open beta a couple of weeks ago, I've never seen a game have so many alphas/betas so I wasn't expecting issues this bad on launch.

TitianGerm wrote: »
    You only got a One recently didn't you? Was there not a 30 day trial in the box with your One S?

I got my one x in January. I think I still got the code. Paying for is not an issue. Issue is if I can enjoy it as a gamer, who does not have friends playing on xbox. Would teaming up with randomers works well etc.

• Back up for me on PC. Is this cross platform?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,774 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

I got my one x in January. I think I still got the code. Paying for is not an issue. Issue is if I can enjoy it as a gamer, who does not have friends playing on xbox. Would teaming up with randomers works well etc.

Can you add people from Boards? I think there's a GamerTag thread in the Xbox Forum.