Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

seligehgit wrote: »
    It was lunacy I thought he'd get a red card.Presume he won't as it's been dealt with unless Maurice Deegan mentions it in his report.

Deegan seemed to accept his apology/handshake as he was walking off.

Lost the head for a split second....it can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

Hence my worries earlier about a 12 week ban which were dismissed by everyone
    I thought I must have been seeing things !
    The fact deegan issued a black card for dissent may well mean he escapes . And our season will still be alive
    He is that important imo
    Irreplaceable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Jesus lads ye were ripped apart today. Could Andy Moran get a lengthty ban for touching Deegan?

No, he doesn't deserve a ban for that. Black card is sufficient.
    Anyway those type of bans are reserved for Diarmuid Connelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I think Andy was extremely lucky to get a black card instead of Red.

He was aggressive and made contact with an official. With it being dealt with on the field he should get away without a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    I think Andy was extremely lucky to get a black card instead of Red.

He was aggressive and made contact with an official. With it being dealt with on the field he should get away without a ban.

The CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC are not precluded from looking at incidents outside the refs report, especially those involving players and officials.

Not much is being made of it by the Spillane Inquisition tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Have not seen it back,recording it as I watch Rory win the golf.:D

Thought it was definite red when I saw it.

I think Corny has got it spot on.Momentary meltdown in the context of a realisation of a possible Mayo implosion,totally out of character.

Very gracious of Maurice Deegan to accept his apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

He did get in his face, but did he actually push him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

corny wrote: »
    Deegan seemed to accept his apology/handshake as he was walking off.

Lost the head for a split second....it can happen.

Nothing to do with Deegan shaking his hand. As you say he lost his head for a split second. He could be well rested.
    STB. wrote: »
    The CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC are not precluded from looking at incidents outside the refs report, especially those involving players and officials.

Not much is being made of it by the Spillane Inquisition tonight.
    Nothing made it by Spillane and Lyster yet he focus in on Jason Sherlock zooms in on Sherlock who would have done no harm to pull lads apart but he seemed to push or elbow the Galway player in doing so. So we wait for media outcry to begin....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Some of those Tyrone scores were laughably easy

I wonder is Lee Brennan the 'marquee' forward they're crying out for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

jr86 wrote: »

He is super but I think they had too many inexperienced young lads last year. Tyrone have huge amount of talented players and it took Harte time to bring them on.

That said they wont do that to Mayo in 6 or 8 weeks time.

muddle84 wrote: »
    He did get in his face, but did he actually push him?

No
    Chested him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

Aravo wrote: »
    Shocking challenge on Lee Keegan.

It was Similar to Colm Boyles first yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

km79 wrote:
    No Chested him !

He bounced into him. He didn't use his hands, they were by his side, but the ref was pushed back. The commentator used the word barged, it described it well.
    Also the handshake was more of a grabbing of the refs hand and shaking it.

I don't think it needs any more attention for Andy either but how it's handled or not will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Just listened to that Higgins interview on GAA Hour. He seems to be really enjoying his hurling and was very non-committal about the footballers. I thought he would definitely come back to the footballers but not so sure now after listening to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

LeoB wrote: »
    I think training had a lot to play in Mayo performance today.

It certainly did, it has been a while since I've seen Mayo opt for long aimless runs on a beach but they were doing that for 80 odd minutes today.

Just listened to that Higgins interview on GAA Hour. He seems to be really enjoying his hurling and was very non-committal about the footballers. I thought he would definitely come back to the footballers but not so sure now after listening to that.

I just took it that he didn't want to be too presumptuous about walking back into the squad.

jr86 wrote: »

I think it's more a case of all their marquee forwards crying out for more than 1 forward to be played inside, maybe 2 if Mickey goes wild.

There has never been a shortage of forwards that can score up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭miocicmma

A Win, Draw or 1 point loss to Donegal would be enough to stay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

miocicmma wrote: »
    A Win, Draw or 1 point loss to Donegal would be enough to stay up.

I don't think so. Is it not head to head rather than points difference when level on points so if they beat us by anything, they go ahead of us?

Win or draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

Win or draw! It only goes to points difference if 3 or more teams are on the same points. Head to head if there’s only 2.

I believe Mayo will do enough to stay up. This is a not a great Donegal team and I feel Mayo can rise to the challenge

miocicmma wrote: »
    I believe Mayo will do enough to stay up. This is a not a great Donegal team and I feel Mayo can rise to the challenge

If Donegal have mcbrearty, they are a very decent team. If they are missing him though, they struggle to get scores. I certainly wouldn't be underestimating them.

Mayo will find a way. The league is clearly not a priority for Mayo but they won't want to go down. Playing against the likes of Louth, Meath and Clare is not ideal preparation to face the likes of Galway and Roscommon in the Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

I think Paddy McBrearty is out for the league,huge loss.

Donegal have played very well in patches during the league,are virtually unbeatable in Ballybofey.

I've no idea what kind of a patched up team we'll field come Sunday.

Does Conor Loftus start for his freetaking?Paddy slots back in for Lee Keegan,Seamie has to come in for Stephen Coen.I would'nt be surprised to see Keith Higgins slot right back in.At least Boyler will start,yikes he was blessed to escape a straight red for his initial yellow.

Do Donegal throw Michael Murphy in on top of Ger Cafferkey?I would!

Since time eternal it's head to head when two teams are involved.

seligehgit wrote: »
    I think Paddy McBrearty is out for the league,huge loss.

Donegal have played very well in patches during the league,are virtually unbeatable in Ballybofey.

I've no idea what kind of a patched up team we'll field come Sunday.

Does Conor Loftus start for his freetaking?Paddy slots back in for Lee Keegan,Seamie has to come in for Stephen Coen.I would'nt be surprised to see Keith Higgins slot right back in.At least Boyler will start,yikes he was blessed to escape a straight red for his initial yellow.

Do Donegal throw Michael Murphy in on top of Ger Cafferkey?I would!

Since time eternal it's head to head when two teams are involved.

If he's out, then that should tip balance in favour of Mayo. He was in brilliant form recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

If the Moran incident is not even investigated by the disciplinary committee it will cast the GAA in a terrible light, the precident was set last year when they banned Connolly for 12 weeks for a similar innocent and it will also show that the Sunday Game dictates who and who not they decide to punish
    btw if Moran did get banned for the same length of time it could do him and Mayo good as he would come back fresh, thats if they arent out of the All Ireland race already

kilns wrote: »
    If the Moran incident is not even investigated by the disciplinary committee it will cast the GAA in a terrible light, the precident was set last year when they banned Connolly for 12 weeks for a similar innocent and it will also show that the Sunday Game dictates who and who not they decide to punish
    btw if Moran did get banned for the same length of time it could do him and Mayo good as he would come back fresh, thats if they arent out of the All Ireland race already

There is one massive difference
    Connolly was not sanctioned by the officials on the day
    Andy Moran was
    So now it all depends on the refs report
    That’s the way the process goes
    It cant be changed for one incident or that would indeed be setting a precedent!!!

For what it’s worth the incident happened right in front of me yday and Moran could have had no complaints if a red and 12 week ban followed
    But the red took a different view . So now we wait for his report . And that will decide it one way or another
    By all accounts he was black carded for dissent so that is most likely the end of it and Moran can count himself a VERY lucky boy

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Stoner wrote: »
    He bounced into him. He didn't use his hands, they were by his side, but the ref was pushed back. The commentator used the word barged, it described it well.
    Also the handshake was more of a grabbing of the refs hand and shaking it.

I don't think it needs any more attention for Andy either but how it's handled or not will be interesting.

I was sitting in line with it and initial viewing it looked like he jumped up and chested him. So that is a long ban. But looking at the incident on TV it seems less. That said you can't do it. Don't care what team you are it can't be done and if he gets done he can only blame himself.
    If it was Connolly who did it, chest, bump, barge momentum or what ever word is been used then we'd all be calling for a ban.
    Whats good for the gooses and gander and all that.

Performance wise I have never seen us so bad. You can say the injuries and cards knocked us back, but I don't even think those players would have reacted any better.
    Its head scratching and the usual lines are been touted out now. Will hold reservations until I leave Ballybofey next Sunday but if you Carlsberg do bad days for Mayo that has to be one of the worst.

As for the bloody pitch!!! Talking to the tyrone lads in front of me after the game they are thinking that lad broke his leg was down to the pitch as well. How many lads pulled up with twisted ankles! Its not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭tanko

Did a player break his leg in the Mayo v Tyrone game yesterday?