Bad Employees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Bradley in Texas

I worked with a lady in an office who clearly hated her job. She would call in "sick" on almost every Friday or Monday if it was going to be a sunny/warm day. She went through all of her leave/vacation time and was taking days off and NOT getting paid for those days she took off. There was nothing physically wrong with this woman. She just hated her job and her life in general.
    To make matters worse, she was a mean spirited, vicious, rude, obnoxious person who would scream/yell if you dared call her on the fact that she always called in on the warm/sunny Fridays or Mondays. I was her boss, so I didn't care if she got mad. Eventually we were able to fire her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

I worked with a lady in an office who clearly hated her job. She would call in "sick" on almost every Friday or Monday if it was going to be a sunny/warm day. She went through all of her leave/vacation time and was taking days off and NOT getting paid for those days she took off. There was nothing physically wrong with this woman. She just hated her job and her life in general.
    To make matters worse, she was a mean spirited, vicious, rude, obnoxious person who would scream/yell if you dared call her on the fact that she always called in on the warm/sunny Fridays or Mondays. I was her boss, so I didn't care if she got mad. Eventually we were able to fire her.

Sounds like you had the hots for her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Bradley in Texas

I worked with a lady in an office who clearly hated her job. She would call in "sick" on almost every Friday or Monday if it was going to be a sunny/warm day. She went through all of her leave/vacation time and was taking days off and NOT getting paid for those days she took off. There was nothing physically wrong with this woman. She just hated her job and her life in general.

Sounds like you had the hots for her!
    Yeah, she was a real "lady".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,860 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I moved to a small town in Donegal for work 8 years ago....

Where was this? A town/village name would suffice, i think ive heard about this woman secondhand from someone else too...complete space cadet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,796 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

i think every job has that employee that does sweet feck all but somehow always looks busy when the top brass is around.
    i worked with one guy like that. he spent all day talking to lads about hurling, soccer, tv, films etc . you couldnt get him to help you . you would have to go looking for him anytime you needed a lift with something.
    as soon as the boss was passing he would be up a ladder holding something .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

dasdenny wrote: »
    My bad, of course I should. Where to start :D

I worked with one guy who spent ALL day of facebook and youtube etc - he didn't even try to hide it, the rest of the office had to pull up the slack for him, fixing his mistakes or just doing his job for him in the first place. The problem was he was a really nice guy, and others constantly accused us of having an issue with him personally which we didn't, just professionally.

Which HSE or local Government department was that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

There was this girl at work, slightly older than me and she was a complete demon. Her prey was guys who were nervous with women. And soon after I started working there, she started on me! Bending over wearin a short dress when she knew I was in eye shot, coming over to me and sitting on my lap sliding her hands in between my legs, pressing her chest against my face...

Wait a minute... ok that may have been a dream, sorry folks!

On a serious note though, I did used to work with this utter cow who was the laziest b*tch I have ever in my life met. She'd expect you to do everything for her, practically grovel at her feet. Anytime someone would ask for her help she'd actually be offended. She was the daughter of the owner so no one could say anything. Fortunately I wasn't there long. I mean she was literally that stereotypical type you'd see on the telly of some 'wan just standing around doing nothing, polishing her nails, disgusted whenever anyone would dare invade her personal space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

retalivity wrote: »
    Where was this? A town/village name would suffice, i think ive heard about this woman secondhand from someone else too...complete space cadet.

It was on the Inishowen peninsula....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,006 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The worst one I ever worked with was actually an incredibly sad story. He was a consultant in the same niche of IT as I was at the time and he was hired about a month after me. **** hot resumé, interviewed well and a known name in the business yet it was taking him a day or two to do what I (as someone with less than half his experience) could turn around inside an hour. He barely lasted a week before being let go. I heard later from a former colleague that he'd apparently been in a riding accident that left him with a brain injury. He still had all the knowledge of the system etc just couldn't problem solve or figure things out at a normal pace any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Sleepy wrote: »
    The worst one I ever worked with was actually an incredibly sad story. He was a consultant in the same niche of IT as I was at the time and he was hired about a month after me. **** hot resumé, interviewed well and a known name in the business yet it was taking him a day or two to do what I (as someone with less than half his experience) could turn around inside an hour. He barely lasted a week before being let go. I heard later from a former colleague that he'd apparently been in a riding accident that left him with a brain injury. He still had all the knowledge of the system etc just couldn't problem solve or figure things out at a normal pace any more.

Ten years ago, I worked in an IT company where one of the developers was an ex-Paratrooper, a rough and ready English guy but with an incredible CV having vast experience in a range of technologies. The project we were working on was a large one, no expense spared and so contractors were being hired quickly in order to meet fast deadlines so with the pressure of the project niceties and pleasantries were not exactly top of the agenda, it was a get the head down, do the work and deliver kind of atmosphere. Nobody thus got to know the guy.

He was hired as a contractor on some very nice money about €500 a day. The thing was he was always late or at a minimum down to the wire with deliverable code for testing and for agile driven production releases. It wasn't onerous or complex development work either which was suspicious. It took a couple of months to figure out that what he was actually doing was farming out the work to India, paying them a cut of his daily rate and copying and pasting the code, usually at the last minute. Anyway, he made a bit of money while that lasted and in all probability didn't give a care in the world and moved onto another temporary gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Working in construction you'd get all sorts,a Polish fella who couldn't use a shovel. His cousin used to say every day "why oh why did I bring you to Ireland, you bring shame to me".

Had another guy who didn't like getting his clothes dirty despite spending a lot of our time in the Wicklow mountains,he wouldn't get out of the van one day as "it was too windy". He lost a JCB twice as he couldn't remember where he parked it.

'IT' sounds like the wild west, always a hustle and full of individuals who haven't the foggiest notion of what they are doing, if AH is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I worked at a garage in my teens. Two colleagues there had a petrol scam going for months, they'd pocket small amounts of fuel sales instead of running them through the till and fuel computer. I never copped it.

It would't affect the book at the end of shift because the sale was never recorded as happening. Owner finally got suspicious, and installed a secret till cam. The margins are so tight in petrol that it eventually becomes obvious that something is going on.

He just fired the two of them, didn't even try and press charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Not particularly bad employees but I've worked with a few who were just difficult for the sake of it.

One woman i worked with was annoying. I remember a lad from the workshop came into the office and asked her to type him out some letter that he needed for his landlord and he was clear that he needed it quick. It would take her about 5 minutes if even that and she had the time. She dragged it out for about 2 weeks. He came in several times asking her to do the letter. I said to her to just tell me what to type and I'd do it if she was too busy but no, she wouldn't. Just being an awkward computer says no type :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭alroley

Worked with a woman who would randomly leave her desk and go to the kitchen/outside/anywhere multiple times per hour and took very long lunches. She was at the desk next to me, but in a different department so not 100% sure but I'd say her productivity was very low. It got to the point where the boss and another employee were taking note of how much time she actually spent at her desk throughout the day and within a few weeks she was let go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

my boss- co employee of the company we work for I suppose, plays some game on his personal phone at least 6 hours a day, every day. When he does get a bit of work to do every one has to know about it- knob end...I found out today that two lads at the same level as him are going to be put sitting beside him soon. I guess that next level in Candy Crush will have to wait

Birneybau wrote: »
    Share YOUR story

This nonsense right here is probably the biggest downfall of After Hours. Why does OP need a story or opinion before he asks a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I've experienced a few bad employees in my day but the 2 funniest were relating to complete booze hounds.

First guy used to come in hungover every Monday morning stinking of booze having obviously been on a bender the whole weekend. One Monday morning he called in and said that he had broken his leg over the weekend and wouldn't be in. Manager said fair enough, that sounds awful sure keep us posted on your progress.
    He was out for about 2 weeks and the manager had seen him standing outside the pub in a nearby town no sign of a cast or crutches. After a bit of enquiring around it became apparent that he hadn't broken his leg at all but had just called in while still on a bender and used the most stupid excuse in the world and was sitting it out instead of coming clean. The manager called him that evening and said I know your leg isn't broken will ya get back in to work ya fool!

A mate of mine, another booze hound, was out with me one Sunday night in the local nightclub. Music was blaring and he was so drunk he decided this would be a good time to call in sick for the morning. He left a voicemail with loud background music blaring and pub noises etc, telling his boss he was too sick to make it in to work.
    However he actually managed to get up the next morning, had completely forgotten about his phone call a few hours earlier and went in to work half cut. The boss called him in to his office straight away fuming and played his voicemail back to him! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

I work with a guy who just never never never stops talking up to the point that I've had to close my door to get peace and quiet and my office is so claustrophobic with the door closed.

I've turned on the radio this afternoon so I can't hear him and he's still talking to me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

jiltloop wrote: »
    I've experienced a few bad employees in my day but the 2 funniest were relating to complete booze hounds.

First guy used to come in hungover every Monday morning stinking of booze having obviously been on a bender the whole weekend. One Monday morning he called in and said that he had broken his leg over the weekend and wouldn't be in. Manager said fair enough, that sounds awful sure keep us posted on your progress.
    He was out for about 2 weeks and the manager had seen him standing outside the pub in a nearby town no sign of a cast or crutches. After a bit of enquiring around it became apparent that he hadn't broken his leg at all but had just called in while still on a bender and used the most stupid excuse in the world and was sitting it out instead of coming clean. The manager called him that evening and said I know your leg isn't broken will ya get back in to work ya fool!

A mate of mine, another booze hound, was out with me one Sunday night in the local nightclub. Music was blaring and he was so drunk he decided this would be a good time to call in sick for the morning. He left a voicemail with loud background music blaring and pub noises etc, telling his boss he was too sick to make it in to work.
    However he actually managed to get up the next morning, had completely forgotten about his phone call a few hours earlier and went in to work half cut. The boss called him in to his office straight away fuming and played his voicemail back to him! :pac:

Me and business partner got good contract. Took on a web designer to help out. Talented guy but again total drunk (I see it in people straight away having been there myself). He would turn up wired most days, held together with paracetamol and espresso's, have a totally different design to what the very detailed brief was and talk incessantly of wanting to go for a pint. This went on for days and he eventually turned up with nothing, stinking of drink.
    Didn't work out, great web designer just the design be so far removed from the commission as he would code it pissed and forget the original plan.

What's sad is people like that can be TOTALLY OBLIVIOUS to their addiction to drink while it's obvious to those around them. To the point where they stink of booze and are unaware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Cocobeans101

I worked with an Indian guy who went home to India every summer for 3 weeks holiday and would come back with a sick note from India and would have his holiday days re-imbursed. The type you cannot fire as they know every rule in the HR book.

Worked with one guy who got so drunk at the christmas party that he called the CEO's new girlfriend a slut and got sick on her. Never saw him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Working in Dunnes Stores years ago on flexi, s**t hours, s**t money and the managers were as clueless and headwrecking as the come.

Spent the two years carrying this lazy Latvian drunk who would doss off in the cleaning room any change he got, came into work reeking of drink too.

I remember one day, one of the managers wanted us to bring a couple of pallets from the goods inwards to the stock room and I was standing further away from him and could get the bang of drink off him and the manager doesn't say a word and she was right next to him. And I'm sure if I came in smelling like a brewery something would be said about it, I couldn't even get away with the most miniscule bit of facial hair in the place.

Don't know many times I got dragged off a checkout, back office and paged while I was on break! Or even having to come down the lift from the stockroom to do some job that I knew he was responsible for. Wouldn't work for them again if you gave me diamonds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Working in Dunnes Stores years ago on flexi, s**t hours, s**t money and the managers were as clueless and headwrecking as the come.

I worked in Dunnes as well for a while and I didn't mind it. I wasn't a great employee there myself. I worked in the deli and sitting on the bus on the way home one night after closing, i thought to myself "****..I left the pannini cooker on." I thought the place was going to go on fire! I had no phone to ring anyone so i ran home from off the bus and then had to find the number of their security so they said they'd check it out.

I was ****ting myself going in the next day. The manager called me over and I thought I was in trouble but he was really nice and said "Well done. You did the right thing. Fair play to you." I was thinking phew :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I worked in Dunnes myself for a while when I was 19. Some of the floor managers, who were probably only early 20s themselves, were like mini Hitlers, serious power trippers. I think they were told as part of training to show the staff who was boss. One of them had a thing about facial hair. I got sent home to shave one morning. I wouldn't even call what I had a 5 O clock shadow. I was 19 ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭pat k

I worked in a 'local shop' and I hated it ,really was a crap paying job (before the minimum wage came in ) I stole like no tomorrow in it and would charge customers for some of their items but not them all (customers would think they were getting overcharged when they got the same items when I was off ) funny looking back at it .I managed to get a much better job after 3 years and took some items before I left ( small van load )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Kuva

I worked with an Indian guy who went home to India every summer for 3 weeks holiday and would come back with a sick note from India and would have his holiday days re-imbursed. The type you cannot fire as they know every rule in the HR book.

He was hardly paid was he?

3 weeks unpaid, take hols again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I work with a guy who has got the whole "I'm so difficult to deal with that people just let me do what I like" talent down to a tee. He basically is a lazy and egotistical a%% and this job was perfect for him because the managers are cowards and not only that, he plays golf with a few of the managers and of course he is liked because of that. Which means when he fcuks up or takes forever to do a task, its forgiven.

That attitude really annoys me even though I know that's life, but one day I was trying really hard to get a report done that he had started but was fobbed off to me. The boss was making sly digs about how long it would take so I said "Well if you had actually enforced this work on the original owner, it would probably be done by now, its not my fault he gets a free ride is it?". The weird thing is, it felt 100% right and natural to say that, there was none of the usual oh what did I just say resonance. But what ticked me off was he just rolled his eyes at me as if it were ME who was in the wrong. Weird weird places, are workplaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

I wish I hadn't found this thread.

It made me wonder if I was the worst employee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Anyone who brings in/cooks in the microwave, either eggs or fish.

You may be an outstanding employee....but you are a horribly inconsiderate human being.

(i like both eggs and fish, but there is a time and a place, office hours not being either of these)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

I worked in Dunnes myself for a while when I was 19. Some of the floor managers, who were probably only early 20s themselves, were like mini Hitlers, serious power trippers. I think they were told as part of training to show the staff who was boss. One of them had a thing about facial hair. I got sent home to shave one morning. I wouldn't even call what I had a 5 O clock shadow. I was 19 ffs.

Same thing happened me, same type of manager, young and had something to prove, I got sent home to shave on lunch break because they knew I lived nearby the store, this was my first day on the job too! The brand new store had just opened so everyone had to look spick and span, I was spotless on day one, clean, smelled well, and showered, skipped the shave being I didn't think it was a big deal. I was 19 too, so you could imagine how little of it a typical 19 year old would have.

I'm 29 now, my facial hair would be more coarse now so probably would have to shave every day or second day now if that rule was still in place, which would annoy me even still, I've always been a shave when I feel like it person.

I've heard since Dunnes Stores aren't as strict about facial hair now, saw an old co-worker of mine sporting a beard a few weeks ago, he still works there, very coarse grey beard he has now, asked him, "do you not get any grief over your beard?" He said "No, they've made some policy changes"

I'd understand that if you work in a deli or bakery in a supermarket that having a beard might be unhygienic, but the shop floor or a checkout would be grand in my book.