Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    Well deserved after all the free stuff he's done over the years. I hope the numbers hold up.

I don't always listen to Arseblog because its ALYWAYS misery but I've listened to countless hours over the years so I'll definitely be giving a fiver for a while anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

I see the title for the next pod has Neymar in it again. I haven't listened to it yet but I'm blue in the feckin face from hearing Ken cover Neymar. I haven't been listening to SC for as long as others in this thread, does he always get so utterly obsessed with people he doesn't like?

In the last year its been Mourinho, the lads have called him on it a few times, and now he seems to have gone to Neymar. I think he's covered some aspect of Neymar in every pod for the last 4 or 5 podcasts. Jaysus like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,027 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

dulux99 wrote: »
    I see the title for the next pod has Neymar in it again. I haven't listened to it yet but I'm blue in the feckin face from hearing Ken cover Neymar. I haven't been listening to SC for as long as others in this thread, does he always get so utterly obsessed with people he doesn't like?

In the last year its been Mourinho, the lads have called him on it a few times, and now he seems to have gone to Neymar. I think he's covered some aspect of Neymar in every pod for the last 4 or 5 podcasts. Jaysus like.

He did say today that it was probably the last Neymar news for good while considering he's injured until the World Cup and PSG are out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

SC has been getting a bit samey for me lately so been trying out a few different football pods. Nessun Dorma is quite good, but the audio quality is very, very hit and miss which will hopefully be sorted sooner rather than later. I'm a huge fan of 90's football so also tried a few eps of 'Quickly Kevin Will he Score?' and while they have some great guests and little segments and audio is top notch, it's all too blokeish, full of in-jokes and OTT annoying laughter at those jokes. One of the hosts also has a weirdly annoying smug voice, like Jez's mate Gog from Peep Show.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Brilliant interview with Tony O'Reilly, scary how someone with their head screwed on can get sucked into such madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

It was a good interview, but the fact that it was brushed over that he stole €1.75 million was a bit off. He stole that money, and the interview portrayed him as a victim throughout. I understand that gambling is a crippling disease, but he also did a crime. I know he's been in jail as a result, but it now feels like he's profiting on the back of it... I dunno, maybe I'm just being a bit cynical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

dulpit wrote: »
    It was a good interview, but the fact that it was brushed over that he stole €1.75 million was a bit off. He stole that money, and the interview portrayed him as a victim throughout. I understand that gambling is a crippling disease, but he also did a crime. I know he's been in jail as a result, but it now feels like he's profiting on the back of it... I dunno, maybe I'm just being a bit cynical?

totally agree with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭jones

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    totally agree with this.

Me too. These things never really sit right with me. It's like the whole emphasis becomes about the addiction and what made the person do it. That's fine but they still did the thing. In fairness this chap has turned things around and is trying to help others but its like everything that was previous done is just blamed on the addiction as if it was some third party forcing them to do it. As above maybe i'm too cynical ha

Agree with the lads above. The SC guys really have it in for the sports gambling I've noticed. The guy stole 1.75m - paddy power didn't hold a gun to his head and force him to do it. Like most things in life, the majority of us can enjoy vices without them becoming a problem. Just because people turn into alcoholics doesn't mean the majority of us can't enjoy a few pints on the weekend. It's a bit holier than thou of them I feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Well, to play Devil's advocate, in the medium of broadcasting the emphasis should be on the addiction, rather than the individual.

The point of the podcast, and Tony's story, was to highlight how badly an addiction to gambling can be, and SC have had pods in recent history which revolved around gambling addiction. To me, it's not to crucify the bookies, but to highlight that such an addiction is on the rise, rather than sweeping it under the rug. That approach never seems to help matters, especially in this country.

With regards to Tony, he committed the crime and obviously completed his sentence. He certainly sounded like he has to live with a lot more than just the completed prison sentence, the point made about him gambling his mother's €8k seemed to be something he'll always live with. So, it wasn't just a case of stroking €1.75m, losing it and coming out clean on the other side. There seems to be more residue to his story than that and he has used his experiences to assist others.

To me, this pod and the highlighting of gambling addiction, isn't to stop betting for people who like to throw hard earned money on at Cheltenham, but to openly discuss that gambling, particularly online, can have major repercussions when it's not done in moderation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Personally I’ve no sympathy for gambling addicts.

I like an odd bet myself but look around, how many people do you know have made a decent income from punting? Take the hint...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Islander13

Patww79 wrote: »

Amen to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Battery Kinzie

Seems a bit of empathy wouldn't go amiss in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think, as usual with most of these things, the truth is somewhere in the middle.

Yes, I'm a bit uneasy with the notion of things like gambling problems being wholly explained away using words like "disease" and "addiction", because I think there's a tendency there to minimise the role of personal responsibility and to lay them blame elsewhere.

But then again I've never walked in the shoes of someone who has had a gambling problem, so maybe it's very easy for me to judge without ever really knowing. But, having said that, I can never fully shake the notion that talking about it as a disease allows some people to use that as a bit of a crutch, at least in some circumstances.

But I think the gambling industry is built around cynical enticement and promises of "fun" that are consciously designed to hook people in - apps on your phone, constant advertising - and keep them coming back for more and more and more again. I'm sure the number crunchers for the industry know exactly how much of their business is generated by appealing and relying on those who'll gamble until their very last penny is gone - and all the while the "fun" disembodied head of Ray Winstone will be there like some gargoyle of their doom. And, be sure of it, they'll milk them for all their worth, because the poor bastards haven't the will to save yourselves. If that's not ethically dubious, to say the least, I don't know what is.

I do have a bit of sympathy for him. But no matter what way they dress it up, the guy stole 1.75 million from a financial institution and has come out the other side of it and has a solid job. Sounds like he got off pretty easy to me. I somehow doubt if Anto from the flats stole that much money he'd have as happy a story to tell at the end of it.

In general I also do have some sympathy for any addict, but if the object of that podcast was to make me feel like paddy power was the big evil empire and your man was the poor aul divil who got swept up in their evil plans, they failed.

He was caught red handed, and was always going to be, and served his time. He also used that time inside to better himself and become an addiction counsellor and is currently doing his master's in that field. He admitted to the pain he caused his family and how it ruined the last few months he had with his terminally ill mother, whom he defrauded money from. I don't think I've heard an interview where somebody has more than paid the price for their crime. What more do people want?

He's certainly leagues above the nordie gaa player who had a book out a while back, who still seemed like he was lying to himself.

The betting companies get such an easy time from people, it's ridiculous. They definitely bear responsibility and need to be strongly regulated in my opinion. Very much akin to a pub who continue serving an intoxicated person, or knowingly let them drive pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭rufuseric82

He was caught red handed, and was always going to be, and served his time. He also used that time inside to better himself and become an addiction counsellor and is currently doing his master's in that field. He admitted to the pain he caused his family and how it ruined the last few months he had with his terminally ill mother, whom he defrauded money from. I don't think I've heard an interview where somebody has more than paid the price for their crime. What more do people want?

He's certainly leagues above the nordie gaa player who had a book out a while back, who still seemed like he was lying to himself.

The betting companies get such an easy time from people, it's ridiculous. They definitely bear responsibility and need to be strongly regulated in my opinion. Very much akin to a pub who continue serving an intoxicated person, or knowingly let them drive pissed.

Totally agree with this. Prison is supposed to be rehabilitative as well as punitive and he appears to have conquered his demons and is using his experiences to help others.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Murph wasn't wrong about Scotland anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 392 ✭✭Didactic Ninja

Murph wasn't wrong about Scotland anyway.

a rabble

If it's Oisin McConville you're talking about I don't feel he was lying to himself in any way and he's a counsellor now just like O'Neill.

In fact he generally seems to have just gambled his own money rather than other people's like O'Neill did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Your man tony said he pled completely guilty and never used addiction as an excuse for his crime. He served his time lads and is back living at home so he obviously lost everything.

I don't want a podcast turning into a trial. Surely eoin handled it exactly right as in delving into the how and why and not just judgement.

If it's Oisin McConville you're talking about I don't feel he was lying to himself in any way and he's a counsellor now just like O'Neill.

In fact he generally seems to have just gambled his own money rather than other people's like O'Neill did.

Twasn't McConville, was the lad who ended up doing gay porn in London. He was on SC around Christmas time 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

the football show really annoyed me yesterday, why have a guy in reviewing what sounded like a nonsense football book when there was a busy weekend of action just gone? Found it mildly entertaining but think it was badly timed
    Also, font know how Ken kept saying Utd were lucky when the Liverpool goal was so lucky for Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Also, font know how Ken kept saying Utd were lucky when the Liverpool goal was so lucky for Liverpool

His stance on United and Mourinho is caricature stuff now. He just seems to naturally go against Mourinho. In fairness to Eoin and Murph, they pulled him on it more this week and made some decent counterpoints some of which Ken ended up agreeing with.

They revealed some of the interviews that have coming up in the next few weeks.

Vincent Brown, Ken Loach, Paul Kimmage, Michael Cheika and Lynne Cox (swam the Bering Strait between the USA and Soviet Union).

They revealed some of the interviews that have coming up in the next few weeks.

Vincent Brown, Ken Loach, Paul Kimmage, Michael Cheika and Lynne Cox (swam the Bering Strait between the USA and Soviet Union).

I must say they when they announced they had some big interviews planned for their 5th birthday I was not expecting any of those. I literally have no interest in any of them. I was hoping they'd pull some strokes and get the likes of a Roy Keane or something but no... Vincent Browne! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

dulux99 wrote: »
    I must say they when they announced they had some big interviews planned for their 5th birthday I was not expecting any of those. I literally have no interest in any of them. I was hoping they'd pull some strokes and get the likes of a Roy Keane or something but no... Vincent Browne! :D

I dunno, the Kimmage one could be good. As long as Sadlier doesn't bring up the Dubs anyway.