Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Australian police hunt for 'Irish tourists'

• 11-03-2018 8:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/australian-police-hunt-for-irish-tourists-suspected-of-carrying-out-scams-and-thefts-along-the-gold-coast-36693086.html

Australian police are appealing for information on nine tourists, believed to be from Ireland, who are suspected of being behind a series of scams and thefts.

Police are investigating 12 offences which have occurred between Brisbane and the Gold Coast since January involving nine people, all believed to be tourists from Ireland.

Police said that a group of men are offering discounted repairs on bitumen driveways and roofing whilst providing sub-standard services or failing to complete the work or to even turn up.

Detective Superintendent Tony Fleming, Brisbane Region said the groups are targeting small businesses and the elderly.

“They are good at creating diversions and distractions/disruptions to either steal goods or demand goods and services for free. They are aggressive and usually work in groups of two or more.

Well, well, well !!! Who'd have thought Irish tourists could behave that way:D

I'll leave it up to the After Hours posters to further develop this story:pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Cultural tourism;)

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Racists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Ah what great ambassadors they are for the Irish. We should be proud of their entrepreneurial skill set.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

It's their culture.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,510 ✭✭✭Wheety

Wonder if Pavee Point or John Connors will have anything to say about this. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Pity the gardai can't / won't publish images like this. It would prevent many vulnerable people getting scammed by this wonderful ethnic group that enda Kenny gave even more recognition to.

Tarmac yer drive there luv.....

Jet wash yer drive can do a great deal will do the gutters and slates on da roof.

See you need a new roof there.....

Thing I find hilarious is they actually let those yokes into their country....

Wish we had the political will to actually not let them back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Since they've been given ethnic status can't we just wash our hands of them. Maybe give them a bantustan in Rathkeale.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i know they "travel" around............but Australia???

thats just ridiculous

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Well, on the bright side....

Australian police will simply laugh at any claims that there was discrimination when that shower are picked up.

fryup wrote: »

thats just ridiculous

They want to work on their orange tans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Vladimir Poontang

It is a former prison colony....maybe they are tracing their roots

Can imagine the scene in the Aussie police station.

'Oi Bruce! Where'd these flamin' bogans come from, eh? Can't understand a ****in' word the ***** are sayin'.

They will sub title them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

Tourists?? I think they got the wrong idea when someone told them they were travelers! Great idea for a reality show though; Travellers Down Under :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Before anyone chimes in with accusations of racism.

It's not racism by the Aussies, it's ethnic criticism.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,381 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I wonder is Connors firing up his Twitter account to comment on this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

I wonder is Connors firing up his Twitter account to comment on this.

Think he is down under....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

The state of them.

hopefully there is no irish times or rte equivelent in australia to frame it as racist

They won't as they don't accept or tolerate any scum bags unless home grown.

Really sick of their carry on here and abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

The feral look gives them away every time.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Racists

Irish aren't a race

Ethnic minorities....

I've had many a traveling person shout you're a racist you're a racist....

Someone really needs to educate them that exactly what you said....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

fryup wrote: »

thats just ridiculous

Well they left Rathkeale 3 weeks ago so they must be there by now.....;)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I hoe they get away with it, might encourage more of their brethren to emigrate.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

Do these lads have new "ethnic minority" passports ?

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

These scumbags have brought shame to our nation across the world.

Best of luck to the Australian police in apprehending them.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭no.8

Doing themselves proud again. Seriously for such a small ' minority', they really do know how to make the headlines. This brazen carry on has to be stopped

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

These scumbags have brought shame to our nation across the world........

No they havn't , they just park here :

Travellers are now as genetically different from the settled Irish as are the Spanish, he said. And if the small Traveller population is taken into account, they are still as different from the Irish as are the Scots.

“Travellers cluster with the Irish but they are very definitely distinct from the Irish. There is a considerable genetic distance between them.”

https://tinyurl.com/ycjxfa8n

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Ok, we all know there's issues regarding the people discussed, however if you spent any length of time in the London overspill area where stuff like this is the norm your paranoia about them would be put into perspective. For every Traveller in Ireland there's about 50 of them over there.

Mind you, Hayes is such a s**thole, I'm surprised even they're there.