Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Correct Humber, and I notice the females on R1 in my opinion, ‘hardening up’ on this’ Me too’ stuff.

I notice Mary Wilson and Àine Lalor in particular getting very ‘bolshy’ on these subjects.

Seem the seem to be very anxious to go to bat when the subject comes.

Now don’t bother replying to abuse me, I’m fully for women’s rights and fair treatment but these two in particular seem to have kinda ‘elected themselves’ as the ‘attack dogs’ on this stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

neris wrote: »
    oh great just what we need, another mcaleese in public office to speak down to us little plebs
    I was going to text in the following: "Are ye going to give every other potential local/general election candidate the same amount of free airtime on the National Airwaves?", but kept holding off becuase I thought to myself - he'll surely finish up with this waffler now.

But no, he didn't. He kept going with the softly softly interview with a person with political aspirations.

Terrible carry-on.

Sons of/daughters of/grandchildren of definitely get treated differently.

And then they wonder why people are pissed off about inequality? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Irelands one and only MEP Bluffer Hayes getting airtime again

so mary mcaleese is coming up monday live in studio with sean. wonder did the conversation for booking her go something along the lines of

"id be delighted to go on seans show next monday but you wouldnt do me a favour 1st would ya? "

"and what would that be mary?"

"the young fellas trying to get into politics so you wouldnt give him an easy interview just to boost his profile ye know ai"

"we have a slot free on Thursday hes more then welcome to come in and fill"

"grand thing i,ll send him for thursday, just remember dont let sean go to hard on him"

"No problem Mary we,ll see you next Monday so"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Jesus, Ruby only broke his leg. You'd think he was after being killed the way they're going on.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Jesus, Ruby only broke his leg. You'd think he was after being killed the way they're going on.

turned out when i heard moany hole coppinger then turned back into to hear a beard representing the "Wurkers" so turned off for the day but the whole Ruby thing is been done to death across all the media so no surprise that rte are making it out like a death & national loss

I'm sure Ruby and Ted are nice lads,but both are a bit 'gobby' for this poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Those jockeys are fair tough in fairness .... compared with say acting perfarmances of football prima donnas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Callan57 wrote: »
    Those jockeys are fair tough in fairness .... compared with say acting perfarmances of football prima donnas

Don't like either of them personality-wise, and I've no interest in horse racing but it boils down to two things for me.

1. I have huge respect for Ruby Walsh for what he's achieved and how brave he is.
    2. I have no respect for Ted Walsh after the carry on with Foxrock and the horseshoes. The fact that he got away with this proves that the sport is as corrupt as everybody suspects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Can't stand those weekly gatherings. They seem to be a common exercise in groupthink. It seems to be an environment in which guests of normally differing opinions sink to the lowest common denominator of sanctimosity. No one wants to say anything controversial. Makes them very pointless as the initial discussion brief is soon forgotten and they all agree (normally with the leftie) in order to sound more caring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

You should hear the daughter.

God love the poor girl but there's not much activity between the lugs.

Must have rode "work" without a helmet a few times I suspect..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

padd b1975 wrote: »
    You should hear the daughter.

God love the poor girl but there's not much activity between the lugs.

Must have rode "work" without a helmet a few times I suspect..

I don't know the Walsh's personally and would not claim to be their biggest fan, but with the greatest respect, you don't have a clue what you are talking about. She has a very slight speech impediment, that is all, and what you are suggesting is way way wide of the mark.

It's what she says that's important, not how she says it.

But feel free to get offended on her behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

It's what she says that's important, not how she says it.

But feel free to get offended on her behalf.

I dont do offence at stuff written on the internet. Just saying you are very grievously wrong in what you said, that is all. Nothing more to add here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

quintana76 wrote: »
    Can't stand those weekly gatherings.
    I enjoy the weekly gatherings myself, but this mornings one was not good between Damien losing control (resulting in people speaking over each other) and (at least one) non-practicising Catholic getting very het up on what's going on (or not going on) in the Catholic Church - numbers attending mass on a regular basis tell you all you need to know about what people think of what's going on in the Church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,356 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I think the weekly gatherings can throw up some gems of unscripted comment. Often these are precipitated by the hurly burly of a robust debate. There are risks in such debates and they can get away from the chair on occasion. On the whole I feel they are risks worth taking especially in these PR infected times when so many seek to sanitise and contain discussion.

Very surprised this week to hear that the Sean O'Rourke show were using that clip of Mary McAleese (revealing that her brother had been physically abused) to promote the show. I thought it was a bit trite and disrespectful to do this. Which is especially surprising given that Sean gave her the softest interview ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Valerie Cox grand as a reporter but there's a time for everyone to move on and give someone else a chance at the gig.

If people want to work after 65, let them be self employed as she is now.

Make space for younger people in salaried jobs and stop complaining about it.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Valerie Cox grand as a reporter but there's a time for everyone to move on and give someone else a chance at the gig.

If people want to work after 65, let them be self employed as she is now.

Make space for younger people in salaried jobs and stop complaining about it.

That’s common sense, otherwise all you will have is a clutch of ‘lifers’ hanging on for dear life to their terms and conditions, costing a fcuking fortune, while the people coming after wither on the vine.

Go out and apply to be a reporter in some other outlet, and see if they will match your terms and conditions in the ‘mother ship’,will they fcukk!!!!!

Let’s get real here peeps.

The sense of entitlement from Valerie Cox. She is a contractor so RTE should have been entitled to get rid of her whenever they wanted, like any other job. These RTE heads want it every way. They want all the benefits of being a sole operator AND to have a permanent job.

If I ever find her outside rooting through my bins, I will tell her exactly what I think of her.

The sense of entitlement from Valerie Cox. She is a contractor so RTE should have been entitled to get rid of her whenever they wanted, like any other job. These RTE heads want it every way. They want all the benefits of being a sole operator AND to have a permanent job.

If I ever find her outside rooting through my bins, I will tell her exactly what I think of her.

She was a staffer, not a contractor..

What does she want, get carried out of there on a gurney.

She was a staffer, not a contractor..

What does she want, get carried out of there on a gurney.

Im slightly amazed by her arrangement, being both a staffer AND a contractor?
    https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0321/949154-valerie-cox/

"Ms Cox had two separate contracts of employment with RTÉ, with two separate sets of terms and conditions.

The first, dating from August 2004, was a full-time contract of direct employment, which involved work as a radio reporter on progammes including Today with Sean O'Rourke.

That contract terminated on 8 March 2016 when she reached the age of 65.

The second contract, which commenced in August 2003, was a casual or irregular contract to do "It Says in the Papers" for which she was paid a daily rate."

Im confused by why someone is given a full time job as a reporter is let keep a casual position too? Would this not have rolled into the full time position when she began that?

It looks like a nice litle sweetener on top of the full time job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

What did she do that was so important? All I ever heard of her was on Pat Kenny, and in in more recent times, Sean O Rourke. Mostly stuff about littering and forestry.

Her gripe was losing the "What it says in the papers" gig. I've never heard it but I'm sure any apprentice journalist could have done it. She won't starve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,356 ✭✭✭✭elperello

She was a good competent on the ground reporter and sent in many well researched and interesting pieces to Pat Kenny and others over the years.

Any chance we could expel a few waffler Irish politicians whilst we are it?

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Any chance we could expel a few waffler Irish politicians whilst we are it?

Brid Smith and Boyd-Barrett would be a good start.

Good call Barry.

Sounds like Sean doesn't really agree with the outcome of the Belfast trial. He's been told that there was no surprise in the case failing and yet still seems to be searching for some angle to muddy the defendants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,710 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

This John Spillane Day sounds brilliant!

Might have to head over to Cark next week :D

David Trimble still as warm as I remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Huexotzingo

David Trimble still as warm as I remember.

It's Lord:rolleyes: Trimble now.