Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAW Superthread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭nazmoalex

Can see the Broken/Wyatt being on the pre-show or play it out like Piper and Goldust, a series of shortish clips played through the night with them ending up in the ring for the finish. Looking forward to it now the compound has been brought into play. Expectations are low, so won't be too disappointed if they balls it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I thought the Ronda segment was good. With regards complaints about Ronda getting her hands on Stephanie now, no doubt if they held off on it for weeks and let Steph get the upper hand then the complaint would be that Steph is putting herself over at Ronda's expense and they don't know how to book, yadda, yadda, yadda. Damned if you do, damned if you don't. (Not to mention the fact that part of the storyline is that they want revenge on Ronda for what she did to them at the Mania a few years back, so technically she has put her hands on Steph already).

When Austin and Vince had their rivalry - and this is obviously a reworking of that - it's not like Austin had to wait weeks and weeks before finally getting his revenge. In fact Austin got the upper hand most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,076 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Hopefully the Ultimate Deletion will turn out better than Orton/Wyatt.
    Maybe I missed it but did they say when it would be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Hopefully the Ultimate Deletion will turn out better than Orton/Wyatt.
    Maybe I missed it but did they say when it would be?

Didnt say a date but prob at mania

that house of horrors match was the biggest load of ****e ever. Possibly this match could be on par with it. Could we see Jeff Hardy return in it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,351 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

That's exactly why I feared for Finn in a feud with Miz.

He eviscerated him on the mic.

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Didnt say a date but prob at mania

that house of horrors match was the biggest load of ****e ever. Possibly this match could be on par with it. Could we see Jeff Hardy return in it ??

I thought Mania at first but I can't see fans being too happy having to watch a pre recorded fight on a screen after paying a lot of money for a ticket.
    (sidenote: googled ticket prices and I see there are still some left. :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Jaysus Heuman looking tango'd like a fat bird in Legg's at half 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Have to agree and disagree about Ronda. The problem was with Steph smacking her and she did nothing so this week Ronda had to do something.

This was correct booking as a result of last week. It also gave Ronda experience of doing something small live on Raw.

They seem to be just booking it week to week as this was a result of last week. I would agree that they should have waited overall until Mania. Just have Steph slightly on top until then. The slap was too much and I'd say they realised it so they tried to fix it this week.

This should have been mapped out better.Still, its not too bad. I would have had stooges for her to beat up until Mania to get her hands on Steph but its still good. Next week, steph needs to come out a bit on top but not by totally dominating Ronda.

Ronda looks better every week. Settling in nicely.I would think she smiles too much but for casuals she needs to do this or people will think she is a heel.Smiling is just short hand for I'm a good guy! Still can't wait for her to use an armbar so I would think I am not the only one!

In no world though should we have Stephanie McMahon dominate Ronda without a litany of stooges behind her like her oul lad had back in the day.

Not sure if anyone listened to Taz's rant about her debut but the jist of it hit the nail on the head; having Stephanie square up to Ronda without fear is absolutely ridiculous and not believable in any way.

By all means let Stephanie get the upper hand but there are smarter ways to do it than how they did it on the first two nights. Monday was a slight step in the right direction with Stephanie displaying a more chicken sh1t demeanour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,672 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I
    When Austin and Vince had their rivalry - and this is obviously a reworking of that - it's not like Austin had to wait weeks and weeks before finally getting his revenge. In fact Austin got the upper hand most of the time.

There was still a build to when the feud properly started. There was still a build before they got physical.

WWE give the fans too much too soon all the time.

And no, I wouldn't have moaned that Steph was getting herself over at Ronda's expense. I'll moan if Ronda beats her at Mania, and then Steph puts herself over for another year, never getting any comeuppance, and just brow beating the talent every single week. My issue with Steph is all to do with her slapping talent, telling them what to do, telling them they're lucky to have a job and not looking the slightest bit worried about any of them. She treats most of the 'stars' like losers.

She was blatantly intimidated by Ronda, so it's not the same.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Ronda got Triple H and Steph already. Way too fast. They have a whole roster or people Ronda could be slamming. Where is the obstacle in her way?

Triple H and his non wrestling wife v Kurt Angle and Ronda is like a reward, not a punishment.

Should it not be a three on two, with Steph putting in another female so Ronda has to work to get to her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,886 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Ah there was a build, it started when Austin broke his neck and was trying to get back to compete, slowly he went through slaughter, lawlor, jim ross and it ended with us "finding out" that vince was the owner at MSG who wouldnt let him compete, then took his 1st stunner, that was where the feud really then took off.

There has been no build to this, iv'e already seen Kurt and Ronda beat down Triple H and Steph and mania is still a month away, why should i care to see it again.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

DM_7 wrote: »
    Should it not be a three on two, with Steph putting in another female so Ronda has to work to get to her?

The entire point of putting Steph in is so that Ronda doesn't have to fight someone competent. She's still going to be super green as a wrestler, and putting her in the ring with a genuine wrestler will expose her at the moment.

The feud, this way, gives her an extra few months of training, while not being expected to do **** all on Raw. Which, again, is part of the frustration with them blowing their load. The strength of a Ronda/Steph feud is that they only need Ronda to hit two or three moves at the end of the story in order to have a payoff. The match at Mania should be mostly HHH/Kurt, with Steph running away scared, until Steph has no choice but to step into the ring with Ronda, Ronda locks in the armbar and makes Steph tap.

They basically had a perfectly fine segment on Raw that went too long. They easily could have kept Steph and Ronda apart for 6 more weeks but as per usual, WWE have ADHD and gave away the attack, the revenge for the slap. They didn't need other bodys in the way of the two, because with 6 weeks, it's not that hard to keep them apart.

NOW we're going to have to get Steph getting the upperhand on Ronda at some point. We're going to have to get Steph humiliating Ronda even worse than at EC, to reignite the reason why Ronda wants revenge. They've written themselves into a corner already, which is super impressive because this feud practically wrote itself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Ronda got Triple H and Steph already. Way too fast. They have a whole roster or people Ronda could be slamming. Where is the obstacle in her way?

Triple H and his non wrestling wife v Kurt Angle and Ronda is like a reward, not a punishment.

Nia Jax would fit the bill nicely there.

It is not hard to have another female work with Ronda. She is not an actress or gymnast. She could easily have a part of a bout like Shayna does on NXT. Hit a Judo throw on some cocky heel and then work a body part.

In fact, introducing a female now could be what they need so Steph can get the upper hand over the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,321 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

when will we get the segment where Triple H/Steph successfully attack Kurt/Ronda and stand tall ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

honestly nia would be perfect for that role but looks like her and alexa will be at mania.

absolution could do it as well play up sonya as a mma fighter were they constantly get in rondas way of getting steph and the numbers getting too much

SlickRic wrote: »
    There was still a build to when the feud properly started. There was still a build before they got physical.

WWE give the fans too much too soon all the time.

And no, I wouldn't have moaned that Steph was getting herself over at Ronda's expense. I'll moan if Ronda beats her at Mania, and then Steph puts herself over for another year, never getting any comeuppance, and just brow beating the talent every single week. My issue with Steph is all to do with her slapping talent, telling them what to do, telling them they're lucky to have a job and not looking the slightest bit worried about any of them. She treats most of the 'stars' like losers.

She was blatantly intimidated by Ronda, so it's not the same.

When do the fans see Stephanie given her comeuppance? She is the most unpopular heel on the roster and rarely if ever gets taken down a peg. You said yourself how Stephanie makes a mockery of the roster most of the time. And if Stephanie were to get the upper hand every week in this feud then it would just lead fans to assume that it's more of the same. A new face, but the same old problem.

What is happening with Ronda is they are establishing that she isn't going to be pushed around like the other talent who as you touched on are, unfortunately, presented like geeks before Stephanie. At least this is something fans hardly ever see, which is why it is getting very good feedback.

I've no doubt if Stephanie got the upper hand every week this forum would be filled with stuff like, "WWE can't make babyfaces. They're just so obsessed with keeping Stephanie strong that they can't see Ronda should be the one pushed. They're such idiots." And so on.

Nowadays the priority is improving the ratings to help land a better contract in the upcoming TV negotiations. That's what makes Ronda a great asset right now. I can't fathom how people can think the biggest star they've signed in many a year should come in and have to struggle to get her hands on Stephanie McMahon - especially when the key part of the storyline is them wanting revenge on her for putting her hands on them already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Only noticed the Megadeth references that were dropped on RAW.

Braun
    I know you’re sweating bullets, because tonight, you find out about my symphony of destruction, Tonight starts the countdown to your extinction

Then Corey ran with it..
    Strowman wants to settle the score, but… peace sells, but who’s buying?
    This could be reckoning day for Elias at the hands of Braun Strowman.
    Like a runaway train… A train of consequences.”
    I think we’re about to witness Elias rust in peace.
    Pain is Braun’s business and business is good in Milwaukee.

When do the fans see Stephanie given her comeuppance? She is the most unpopular heel on the roster and rarely if ever gets taken down a peg. You said yourself how Stephanie makes a mockery of the roster most of the time. And if Stephanie were to get the upper hand every week in this feud then it would just lead fans to assume that it's more of the same. A new face, but the same old problem.

What is happening with Ronda is they are establishing that she isn't going to be pushed around like the other talent who as you touched on are, unfortunately, presented like geeks before Stephanie. At least this is something fans hardly ever see, which is why it is getting very good feedback.

I've no doubt if Stephanie got the upper hand every week this forum would be filled with stuff like, "WWE can't make babyfaces. They're just so obsessed with keeping Stephanie strong that they can't see Ronda should be the one pushed. They're such idiots." And so on.

Nowadays the priority is improving the ratings to help land a better contract in the upcoming TV negotiations. That's what makes Ronda a great asset right now. I can't fathom how people can think the biggest star they've signed in many a year should come in and have to struggle to get her hands on Stephanie McMahon - especially when the key part of the storyline is them wanting revenge on her for putting her hands on them already.

The story is not about Ronda getting to Steph.

It is supposed to be about the Mc's getting revenge. So far Triple H went through a table and Steph was dropped this week. They have also given Ronda a match with Olympic Gold medalist Kurt Angle as her partner. Wow, what great plans for revenge from the heels.

The revenge story is fine as a start but it should be much smarter with Steph trying to get revenge while hiding behind her roster, putting obstacles in Ronda's way, building anticipation for Steph ending up one on one with Ronda again. But this time in a match, this time where she does more than just throw Steph from the ring. While we all know Ronda can batter Steph it makes no sense for Steph to put herself in a bad position when she has so many other options.

The story is not about Ronda getting to Steph.

It is supposed to be about the Mc's getting revenge. So far Triple H went through a table and Steph was dropped this week. They have also given Ronda a match with Olympic Gold medalist Kurt Angle as her partner. Wow, what great plans for revenge from the heels.

The revenge story is fine as a start but it should be much smarter with Steph trying to get revenge while hiding behind her roster, putting obstacles in Ronda's way, building anticipation for Steph ending up one on one with Ronda again. But this time in a match, this time where she does more than just throw Steph from the ring. While we all know Ronda can batter Steph it makes no sense for Steph to put herself in a bad position when she has so many other options.

Ronda is the star. The goal is to get Ronda over, not the McMahons. You expect the debut of one of the biggest stars they've signed to not be impactful and explosive? Steph hiding behind her roster, i.e. having Ronda beat a bunch of the regular talent, comes with a big risk: Ronda is the outsider and so when you put her in there with the regulars then the fans could turn on her. Steph is one of the few that the fans won't side with over her.

And I'm still confused as to why we need to build anticipation to a physical altercation that we have already seen? I have seen Ronda get her hands on them already at a Mania. I'm not interested in 6 weeks of build to something I've already seen.

Furthermore kayfabe-wise, why would Ronda, who everyone knows is a big star outside WWE, willingly put up with getting thwarted every week anyway? You can try that type of thing with the Brie Bellas of the roster who are portrayed as being geeks that need WWE desperately. Ronda doesn't and everyone knows it, so it makes little sense for her to jump through The Authority hoops like the rest of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

My main issue with Stephanie is that one minute she's the lead of the women's revolution ( A baby face role) and the next minute she's decimating the roster.

There's no consistency to her character and it makes me feel completely disinterested in her.

Ronda is the star. The goal is to get Ronda over, not the McMahons. You expect the debut of one of the biggest stars they've signed to not be impactful and explosive? Steph hiding behind her roster, i.e. having Ronda beat a bunch of the regular talent, comes with a big risk: Ronda is the outsider and so when you put her in there with the regulars then the fans could turn on her. Steph is one of the few that the fans won't side with over her.

And I'm still confused as to why we need to build anticipation to a physical altercation that we have already seen? I have seen Ronda get her hands on them already at a Mania. I'm not interested in 6 weeks of build to something I've already seen.

Furthermore kayfabe-wise, why would Ronda, who everyone knows is a big star outside WWE, willingly put up with getting thwarted every week anyway? You can try that type of thing with the Brie Bellas of the roster who are portrayed as being geeks that need WWE desperately. Ronda doesn't and everyone knows it, so it makes little sense for her to jump through The Authority hoops like the rest of them.

What of the below, if anything, makes Ronda looks impressive? The reason I ask is I did not find her picking a non fighter to fight or taking no damage from a forearm (by a non fighter) or slamming a non fighter as impressive.

What, if anything, do I NEED to watch Mania to see? I have already seen Ronda beat up Steph, seen her slam Triple H through a table, got to see Kurt lock Triple H in an ankle lock to set up Ronda with the time to 'hurt' Steph.
    Before he can answer, Ronda Rousey comes out. She slaps hands with a bunch of fans on her way in and Steph points out she missed somebody, but Ronda tells whoever it is that she’ll get them. She says what they did to Kurt last week was very enlightening and she’s starting to realize that the people that got here aren’t who she thought they are.

But that’s fine, she’s dealt with bully bosses her whole career and she’ll take care of it her own way. McMahon says she gets it, lots of people don’t understand but they just have to take their orders and do what they’re told. She reminds Rousey that she signed a WWE contract and that makes her part of WWE, and part of a part that Stephanie oversees.

Steph lays it in thicker, saying they’re giving Ronda her dream, her WrestleMania moment, her debut match on the grandest stage of them all and it doesn’t get better than that. Rousey says she’s thankful for that and asks if her contract does say that she gets to pick her opponent. Steph confirms, with the caveats that it can’t be a champion and it has to be a member of the active roster.

Ronda gets ready to announce it but Steph cuts her off and asks for a drum roll, which leads to Ronda telling her she wants her at WrestleMania. McMahon tries to protest she’s not a member of the active roster--

(Behold the king!)

HHH comes down and says this isn’t happening and Angle has to stop pretending to be a tough guy and do his job. He says she’s an executive, the commissioner, and Kurt points out that Hunter wasn’t supposed to be here. Triple tries to play it off like a surprise and Angle admits he’s right, Stephanie is a WWE executive and she has a contract that says that...

But she also has a second contract, as a WWE Superstar, and he makes the matches, so Stephanie WILL be facing Ronda Rousey at WrestleMania! Kurt says that’s not it, he knows somebody else with a second contract, HHH. And he said after Survivor Series that he ever attacks him again, he’s coming for him, so if Ronda’s okay with it, he’s gonna make it a mixed tag, McMahon & HHH vs. Rousey... and himself!

Steph looks shocked and starts jawing and pointing without even using the mic. She goes to slap Kurt but Ronda catches her hand and stares at her face! Hunter hops in the ring and breaks it up and begs off saying it doesn’t need to go down this way... HE ATTACKS ANGLE! ANGLE PUNCHES BACK AND TAKES HHH DOWN INTO THE ANKLE LOCK! Hunter kicks him into the turnbuckles... STEPHANIE ATTACKS ROUSEY FROM BEHIND WITH A FOREARM!

McMahon beats feat to get away as quickly as possible after her forearm strike did so little, and Ronda lets her run off into the crowd, turning to face Triple. Hunter goes for the kick to the gut on Angle and the Pedigree but he reverses into the ankle lock! Stephanie saves her husband... AND RONDA PULLS HER UP ONTO THE APRON AND IN THE RING!

McMahon begs off but Rousey drags her up, fireman’s carry...Samoan drop! Angle and Rousey head off together and stand tall on the stage as Triple H begins to collect himself and referees tend to Stephanie.

What of the below, if anything, makes Ronda looks impressive? The reason I ask is I did not find her picking a non fighter to fight or taking no damage from a forearm (by a non fighter) or slamming a non fighter as impressive.

What, if anything, do I NEED to watch Mania to see? I have already seen Ronda beat up Steph, seen her slam Triple H through a table, got to see Kurt lock Triple H in an ankle lock to set up Ronda with the time to 'hurt' Steph.

It's not about looking impressive just as Austin beating up Vince, or Rock beating up Shane, was not about them looking impressive. It's about getting to enjoy watching the woman who has made everyone's lives on the roster miserable finally getting her ass handed to her by a woman who she just can't get the better of.

I enjoyed it anyway!

It's not about looking impressive just as Austin beating up Vince, or Rock beating up Shane, was not about them looking impressive. It's about getting to enjoy watching the woman who has made everyone's lives on the roster miserable finally getting her ass handed to her by a woman who she just can't get the better of.

I enjoyed it anyway!

In isolation I see an appeal, I can't see a reason to tune in next week or Mania, unless I actually want to see the same thing again.

I should add I don't find Steph engaging so her losing out is not particularly satisfying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

If they are going for it I'm not seeing the Stephanie & Rousey chemistry so far. They messed up the big moment on Raw when Ronda said "You" due to misreading the audience most didn't hear her clearly. I'd partially blame that on Stephanie tho asking for the drumroll.
    Vince always was more than willing to let himself be gotten the better of too; plus Austin was over before that feud Ronda is still in an awkward phase where there is a feeling that the audience turn on her soon.
    Never had that for Austin above anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭showpony1

ERG89 wrote: »
    If they are going for it I'm not seeing the Stephanie & Rousey chemistry so far. They messed up the big moment on Raw when Ronda said "You" due to misreading the audience most didn't hear her clearly. I'd partially blame that on Stephanie tho asking for the drumroll.
    Vince always was more than willing to let himself be gotten the better of too; plus Austin was over before that feud Ronda is still in an awkward phase where there is a feeling that the audience turn on her soon.
    Never had that for Austin above anyone.

typical Stephanie improving thinking it shows how great she is on the mic when it just puts the other performer off their lines and makes segments awkward. I remember she kept doing this cutting off sting and good few others.

So after Fastlane, will they have a number 1 contender match for Alexa's title or will it just be Nia?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,077 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

CastorTroy wrote: »
    So after Fastlane, will they have a number 1 contender match for Alexa's title or will it just be Nia?

Either way it’s going to end up being Nia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,951 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Loughc wrote: »
    Either way it’s going to end up being Nia.

Could be a 4-way with Bayley and Sasha too.

Remember it starts an hour earlier tonight. So starts at 12.

Maybe Sasha and Bayley will be in the number 1 contender match/tournament and cause each other to lose allowing Nia to win