Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

limnam wrote: »
    \o/

I'm always amazed at what some people who have never entered Tallaght think it's like

It did have some similarities to Iraq last night though :o

Wait do you mean you don't need an armoured car, stab proof vest, bullet proof vest, Kevlar morphsuit, AK47, RPG, multiple grenades, a few flashbangs, a swiss army knife and a hardhat to go through tallaght?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

nostro wrote: »
    Actually its not. Fairly conclusively proven now that the introduction of legalised abortion in the States led directly to a significant reduction on crime rates 20 years later.

Actually it is. He said he can’t wait for abortion to be legal to stem the breed of scumbags. Then said that disadvantaged areas have more support for pro life because they can’t resist the mickey money??

It’s dumb and doesn’t make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,751 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I was thinking about it alright but probably won't now. I'd be half afraid anyway so a bit silly to myself in harms way.

Go ahead. You are just displaying the human trait of curiosity. Belfast and Derry have made a tourism industry from the interest some outsiders have in seeing the locations where trouble happened. West Dublin might be able to do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

hurler32 wrote: »
    There is no prison space so what can the judges do??

Until there are 2 or 3 prisons built criminals can pretty much do as they please...

A tender should be put out to other countries willing to take prisoners - I reckon it could be a good business opportunity for some countries that don't treat career criminals as naughty infants.

I would suggest we approach countries such as Thailand Mexico Russia or any where else who will be willing to keep convicted scumbags locked up for a few years ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Paul Murphy is a complete ballbag. Going on about ‘classism’ earlier.

Completely agree plus I can't see in his tweet where he is actually condemning the actions of those scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

gozunda wrote: »
    A tender should be put out to other countries willing to take prisoners - I reckon it could be a good business opportunity for some countries that don't treat career criminals as naughty infants.

I would suggest we approach countries such as Thailand Mexico Russia or any where else who will be willing to keep convicted scumbags locked up for a few years ...

It could be like an exchange program.

We give them 50 scumbags, we take 50 skilled people in return.
    We pay them x per year per prisoner, which will probably be less than housing them here. We outsource pretty much anything, so why not prisoners?

The worse offender will be shipped off to Thailand or Russia. Will put manners on them very very fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Have the surnames of the JCB gang been released?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,948 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Actually its not. Fairly conclusively proven now that the introduction of legalised abortion in the States led directly to a significant reduction on crime rates 20 years later.

That worked in a country with a poor welfare system. Ireland has a very good one so it may be a lot different here. Calling for castration/ sterilisation of the criminals involved is a bit too late I reckon. With the ages ranging from 24 to 47 there's a pretty good chance they've already spawned the next generation already.

If facilities and amenities are supposedly the problem causing rioting and looting, why don't the rural communities without playgrounds, pools, infrastructure, transport links, colleges etc have marauding gangs of people smashing up the place? That argument is bullsh!t.

Besides, this isn't bored youths. This was adults. Which is nice because they can't be let off for being a youth. They can get a proper sentence. And in order to not have other scrotes getting similar ideas the next time there's a weather warning, these lot will have to have harsh sentences as a deterrent. If CAB and DSP took a good nosy into their household incomes that would be nice too.

I'd like to suggest that part of their sentence should entail carrying bags and bags of shopping for the elderly and disabled from the next-nearest Lidl on foot every Saturday and Sunday for a few years, a good 8hr shift each day. Maybe then they'll be too knackered from an honest days work to be arsed organising a gang meet in the evenings to terrorise neighbourhoods. I'm sure some hand-wringer will tell me it's an infringement of their human rights to deploy them in forced labour, but I'm not sure I care all that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭nostro

So abortion is going to be forced on them to cut back on government spending?

This is the dumbest post I’ve read in this thread. That’s some achievement.

That fairly conclusively proves absolutely zero in this instance.

Maybe not conclusively but it is a reasonable supposition.

http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=1843646&page=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Maybe not conclusively but it is a reasonable supposition.

http://abcnews.go.com/2020/story?id=1843646&page=1

You don’t seem to grasp the contadiction in the other posters posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,343 ✭✭✭limnam

You can leave it there all you like

Look at the type of payments.

It looks like she has 1 or more children with mental and or physical disabilities.

There not "standard" SW payments.

What's the plan, try to have kids and hope for a dash of autism ?

Don't get me wrong, the SW system is a mess. You'll get no arguments from me on that.

But as a get rich scheme from having kids it is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,680 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Have the surnames of the JCB gang been released?

Dumb and Dumber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,142 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Someone else posted else posted about the efforts their local centra made to open and provide for the community in Bray.

Our local centra guy in the next villlage drove through absolute treacherous conditions to open the local centra as well yesterday. Locals were chuffed as we were cut off from everything else and some walked 2.5 hours to the Centra.

He has a couple of Centras.

Disgusted to see one of his other centras is the one in Jobstown that was wrecked.

Nice way to repay a small business doing its best for the community.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Completely agree plus I can't see in his tweet where he is actually condemning the actions of those scumbags

From his tweet he says
    This tiny minority obviously don't represent Jobstown

I don't agree with this. If they are from Jobstown then they represent Jobstown. It's a responsibility that everyone has no matter where you're from.

If a group of Irish people go abroad and wreck the place they are representing Ireland and will put a smear on our reputation with those who witness something like that.

Of course we all know that not everyone in Jobstown is likely to get a digger and destroy a Lidl but that's what everyone will think of now for a few months whenever they hear the name Jobstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod- A few posts from a rereg troll and the replies removed. has to be done. Please don't reply to the very obvious trolls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I wouldn't know tallaght at all, I'm one of these people who just knows O Connell st basically..
    Anyway my knowledge of Tallaght is Shamrock Rovers fc are based there, and when they come to play 'us' well the cavalry is out, Gardaí mounted on horseback, riot units etc etc.
    Is it such a bad place, I've heard of 20,30,40 even 50yr old supporters trying to fight with 16 - 20 yr old football supporters from here!?
    Anyway I feel really sorry for that area especially today,....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,680 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

UPDATE:
    8 men ranging in age from 24 to 47 years have been charged with various offences including theft, burglary and trespassing and will appear before the CC

Not kids , not teens but hardened scum of the earth . Lock them up now and get this feral scum off our streets please

Nokotan wrote: »
    From his tweet he says

I don't agree with this. If they are from Jobstown then they represent Jobstown. It's a responsibility that everyone has no matter where you're from.

If a group of Irish people go abroad and wreck the place they are representing Ireland and will put a smear on our reputation with those who witness something like that.

Of course we all know that not everyone in Jobstown is likely to get a digger and destroy a Lidl but that's what everyone will think of now for a few months whenever they hear the name Jobstown.

So Larry Murphy represents Glenealy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I wouldn't know tallaght at all, I'm one of these people who just knows O Connell st basically..
    Anyway my knowledge of Tallaght is Shamrock Rovers fc are based there, and when they come to play 'us' well the cavalry is out, Gardaí mounted on horseback, riot units etc etc.
    Is it such a bad place, I've heard of 20,30,40 even 50yr old supporters trying to fight with 16 - 20 yr old football supporters from here!?
    Anyway I feel really sorry for that area especially today,....

Tallaght is as big as Limerick .A huge diversity of very ordinary people and a some scum bags . Its like asking is Limerick such a bad place.The vast majority are just trying to live a life in peace and fun and enjoyment .Mainly we manage it until a gang of scum of the earth drag us all back down into defending ourselves against generalizations

Conspectus wrote: »
    Mod- A few posts from a rereg troll and the replies removed. has to be done. Please don't reply to the very obvious trolls.

It was done before I think for the gay marriage thing but could ye stick the banned users in the OP? Might help mobile/touch users spot them when we dont see if its a new reg or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,343 ✭✭✭limnam

splinter65 wrote: »
    I don’t get paid any more wages either because I have a kid, nobody does really. If I got an extra 30 per week I maybe would have had more. Plus my mortgage is the same wether I have no kids or ten kids.
    That’s not the case when your on differential rent, is it?
    Plus I have to stay in my 3 bedroomed terrace, one kid or 10 kids.
    That’s not the case with social housing either , is it?

The problem with the SW is not so much the amount of the payments, especially when it comes to kids.

It's that it's designed in a way that you can pretty much stay on it for life.
    That's the real issue.

I'm looking at the payment from a point of view if I was out of work through some bad luck etc. The level that would be required to get me over that period.

The fact if I worked for 20 years and someone who never worked we get roughly the same ball park is nuts.

Trust me, I don't like paying for people who have never worked or have no intention of working as much as the next person.

I have lots of problem's with the system. But the payment added per child is not one of them and I definitely don't see it as a way to make a living.

I think if we were in the pub we'd see we probably have a very similar outlook on it. It's just one or two aspects of the system we'd differ on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,743 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Leo made no comment in his latest update!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

You can leave it there all you like

Look at the type of payments.

It looks like she has 1 or more children with mental and or physical disabilities.

There not "standard" SW payments.

What's the plan, try to have kids and hope for a dash of autism ?

Don't get me wrong, the SW system is a mess. You'll get no arguments from me on that.

But as a get rich scheme from having kids it is not.

Obviously the link above is an extreme case. But I know of countless people in free houses, getting plenty of support who have a tonne more disposable income than the "middle class". One more baby = bigger council house, more payments etc.

It's not a get rich scheme but it's the easiest way to live comfortably in Ireland at the minute, particularly in Dublin where the rest of us are struggling to keep up with rent.

A poster above spoke about being an 18 y/o single non working mother and having a pile of money, shopping in Dunnes etc. You can bury your head in the sand all you like, there's a pile of people playing the system & living better than us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭parishsavings

Suspects are to be brought before the court....suprised to see a discussion on here regarding an ongoing court case.
    But I suppose thise who looted Lidl aren't rugby players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭Infini

The army was there too I believe because it was so bad. Pity they didnt shoot the stupid feckers. Would've been less hassle and waste of time....

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    UPDATE:
    8 men ranging in age from 24 to 47 years have been charged with various offences including theft, burglary and trespassing and will appear before the CC

Not kids , not teens but hardened scum of the earth . Lock them up now and get this feral scum off our streets please

Sadly, children can be seen in the videos. Whether they took any part in the looting or not isn’t clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

I have lots of problem's with the system. But the payment added per child is not one of them and I definitely don't see it as a way to make a living.

I think if we were in the pub we'd see we probably have a very similar outlook on it. It's just one or two aspects of the system we'd differ on.

I was completely in agreement with that post until the payment added per child. If I lost my job, the fecking last thing I'd think I need is another child. If I want to raise a child I should & will make sure I've the means to support it, I shouldn't expect the taxpayer to fund my lifestyle.

Your original point re: dole being a permanent thing is part of the issue. They have no need to look for a job as every possible situation is catered for by the taxpayer. Want a bigger family? Sure, we'll give you a bigger council house & more money.

It's utterly disheartening to work your ass off, trying to rent in Dublin, scraping together a house deposit so I can provide for the family I've been delaying due to not having everything in place to have one. Paying 50+% tax to support those that don't even give it a second thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,751 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Leo made no comment in his latest update!

What do you want him to say? If he did say anything he would need to be very circumspect, given that legal proceedings may happen. The outcome of previous court cases from that part of the world did not turn out too well for the authorities.

In the overall scheme of things it is a minor event, just made to seem more important by the social media videos. In the UK £100 million was stolen from peoples bank accounts in 6 months by scammers. But because there are no videos, it doesn't get on the news.