Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looting in Lidl?(mod warning in op-read it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,968 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Crazy how bright it is at 1.46AM because of the snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I feel sorry for all the folks in Tallaght who have done so much to change the reputation of the place - the IT, Shamrock Rovers, good secondary schools, the GAA clubs etc. Of all the planned estates in Dublin, it was going well.

There'll be nothing good said about the area tomorrow on the news. Which is a real shame. The proper working class will be left in the lurch again.

Yes, the section of crowds going to the Shamrock Rovers matches starting fights are lovely. They even travel to cause trouble at away games.

There are more than a few scumbags in Tallaght. I do feel sorry for the decent people but there does seem to be a higher percentage that don’t give a **** about anyone else than most other areas.

Tallaght is a massive place. I'd go so far as to say that the majority of the trouble is in West Tallaght/West Dublin. It's a confluence of a couple of different areas, not all that could be regarded as Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Loot
    Loot?
    Don't do it,
    We can find another way through it,
    I know your excavator has a bucket,
    Got to pay for stuff but so fvck it,
    Tallaght is a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

John Connors has his say on twitter saying it’s lads stealing “loafs of bread from a big corporation”

Apparently, lidl are “c*nts” who “steal from us every day”.

Good man, John.

He should stick to acting in $hit films:P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I have to say, I have never heard of this John Connors person before today (I thought he was a Terminator character?). If nothing else, at least it's publicity.

As for the shooting looters thing... I don't think so.

Sure, back in my neck of the woods, Mayor Smitz proclaimed
    "The Federal Troops, the members of the Regular Police Force and all Special Police Officers have been authorized by me to KILL any and all persons found engaged in Looting or in the Commission of Any Other Crime."

And it worked.

But that was in a total breakdown of the city. This isn't a breakdown, it was an opportunistic one-off by idiots who filmed themselves. I would think the Gardai are going to have a few clues to work with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭Clickbait

Watching various videos, they robbed the shop from one side and then smashed it on the other side? Wtf were they doing with the digger? The shop was open to rob but it wasn't good enough for them. Pure rotten scumbags. I thought the weather might keep them in but guess nobody wants to watch the late late show on a Friday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Clickbait wrote: »
    Watching various videos, they robbed the shop from one side and then smashed it on the other side? Wtf were they doing with the digger? The shop was open to rob but it wasn't good enough for them. Pure rotten scumbags. I thought the weather might keep them in but guess nobody wants to watch the late late show on a Friday night.

I think the digger was used to get at the safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Anyone know if they are looting any more places?

Must be seriously worrying for the decent residents in the area if they decide to attack houses. All you could do is run. Not even a good would help as you would be overwhelmed by the numbers.

It does show that having a few slightly hard core right wing politicians and leaders would be no harm for situations like this. I'm thinking of some of the long deceased old FG gang like former Justice Minister Patrick Concrete Cooney and former General Richard Mulcahy.

Instead politicians like Paul Murphy will look to excuse this behaviour as being just and a case of rage against the machine while the Government will play down the issue that law and order has been slowly breaking down in parts of Dublin for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Reports on SkyNews now.

Fcking scumbags and lowlifes - each and everyone supported by the state so no-one goes hungry or in dire need and this is the type of sh1te they get up to for a bit of crack- just because they know guards etc will be slow to respond.

Personally I would like to see Spike island or similar reopened and anyone found to be a serious risk to society and law and order like this - be placed on mandatory sentence for life.

Could you imagine what these lowlifes would get up to if the country was in a genuine state of emergency?

As to the scote driving the teleporter/ digger - I wonder which government funded scheme he learned his machine operater skills on? And yet rather than being a productive part of society - they are out destroying local shops and robbing :mad:

Anyone caught looting or robbing or destroying peoples property like this deserves locked up and sent away for a very long time.

#nofeckinexcuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Maybe the access to whatever room the safe was in was very secure.

Looking at the videos, I'm just wondering if the jcb was brought in to knock the fcuk out of the building, so that they could pick the safe out of the rubble,after having failed to get access through the initial break-in.

It looks like there were two different levels of criminality going on . One lot with a definite target,and another lot of passer-bys/ kids who were tempted into a bit of opportunistic free shopping.

Lucy8080 wrote: »
    Maybe the access to whatever room the safe was in was very secure.

Looking at the videos, I'm just wondering if the jcb was brought in to knock the fcuk out of the building, so that they could pick the safe out of the rubble,after having failed to get access through the initial break-in.

It looks like there were two different levels of criminality going on . One lot with a definite target,and another lot of passer-bys/ kids who were tempted into a bit of opportunistic free shopping.

Their dole money isn't enough?

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I think the digger was used to get at the safe.

Did they get it open? It was so easy to smash the shop in but wasn't so easy smashing the safe. Guess the building wasn't knacker-proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Dublinlady1513

It was separate gangs of people.
    The ones in a digger had robbed a dump truck early on in the day and were joyriding around the place while drinking bottles of vodka.
    Then someone broke into lidl and lot of people were looting.
    Then the digger lads got word that the lidl was now a free for all and out of their head on drink and drugs thought Cmon we wreck the place lads. Fcuk lidl. So went took a digger and headed up to lidl during the destruction found the safe, a lot of people gathered Now to see what going on, gards trying to get in were attacked and chased away. Someone said they could open the safe with the digger dragged it into an estate and all the scobies stood around saying "pull it up smash it down now do it again"
    In come the gardai and the army.
    Nothing but opportunistic scumbags driven by drink and drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Years of champagne socialists telling these people, its not your fault, its not your fault, like a scene from goodwill hunting is now coming back to bite society.

Paul murphy telling people hes elected to break the law and encourage civil disobedience.

Constant anti government dribble propaganda everyday about how leo wants everyone to die while he rips up 50 euro notes.

It's all coming back now and will get worst before it gets better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Some backlash against that Muppet John Connors for his comments that the mob were justified stealing "a few loafs (sic) of bread" etc

https://mobile.twitter.com/johnconnors1990/status/969693993926873088?ref_src=twcamp%5Eshare%7Ctwsrc%5Eios%7Ctwgr%5Eother%7Ctwcon%5E7100%7Ctwterm%5E0

His comment regarding robbing Lidl / corporations ystday...
    These cnuts are robbing all of us everyday

Who should he be referring to there? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

drillyeye wrote: »
    No, ignorance is embarrassing though.

Heres how it goes. More and more "coloured" people will appear in areas of poverty, at first through the government dumping them there, and eventually through "breeding" with the locals.

As the poor areas become "darker", they also become more prominently associated with every negative you can think of......thugs, criminals, disadvantaged......coloured = bad.

What you seem appalled to realise is simply some people already latching onto the change. Just wait till it grows and grows.

You simply defending coloured people blindly "I know good ones!" is just ignoring the growing reality on the ground. You think its going to sway peoples opinions (read: eyeballs), but it wont.

I'm not blaming immigrants, but I am pointing out the obvious, that the racial element of this will grow exponentially. We have a problem with poverty amongst irish people, rather than do anything to solve it, we are, inadvertently, turning it onto a an issue of "racism" for down the road (rather than the issue of poverty it actually is).

Ala America........hence my point about America.

That's a tad racist no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭mikemac2

John Connors threatening to sue all around him

He’s not going to get an agent like this

Good point by the breadman. Sometimes the big corporation don’t own the bread, it’s owned the small time self employed breadman. He has to deal with the stale returns and anything not sold. Thieving from a local worker up at 5am or earlier, not a suit in a German boardroom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

TJ Mackie wrote: »

I hate when supermarkets rob me by forcing me to give them money in exchange for the food I've brought to the checkout. Then when I demolish the supermarket with a bulldozer I'M the criminal?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

I hate when supermarkets rob me by forcing me to give them money in exchange for the food I've brought to the checkout.

And it's LIDL. The prices are rock bottom. How much cheaper should they be? Really is an insight into his mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

lawred2 wrote: »
    That's a tad racist no?

Nothing like a bit if racism on a Saturday morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

If I won the lotto I'd buy land and set up an American style boot camp for teenagers who break the law. No physical violence but my god they wouldn't want to come back!

You know you could apply for funding for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭joey1111

I hate when supermarkets rob me by forcing me to give them money in exchange for the food I've brought to the checkout. Then when I demolish the supermarket with a bulldozer I'M the criminal?!

Not a fan of Lidl or Aldi but they've taken the monopoly out of the market with their low prices. They're about as low as they can go.

These same lads wont get a cheaper 6 pack of cans than in those places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,968 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Constant refrains of "this is not tallaght" on social media from the law breaking lefties but everyone knows when the gardai call around asking for people to give names every door will be shut in thwir face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭MeTheMan

I think the cnuts comment was aimed at the guards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭joey1111

MeTheMan wrote: »
    I think the cnuts comment was aimed at the guards

Nah, I think its the ''corporation'', the machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

gozunda wrote: »
    Some backlash against that Muppet John Connors for his comments that the mob were justified stealing "a few loafs (sic) of bread" etc

https://mobile.twitter.com/johnconnors1990/status/969693993926873088?ref_src=twcamp%5Eshare%7Ctwsrc%5Eios%7Ctwgr%5Eother%7Ctwcon%5E7100%7Ctwterm%5E0

His comment regarding robbing Lidl / corporations ystday...

Who should he be referring to there? :rolleyes:

Well at least he's reinforcing stereotypes there, a case of "you can take the man out of the bog but you can't take the bog out of the man"

I've asked him on Twitter if the rural robberies being targeted by Operation Thor are just people looking for bread too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Our welfare and asylum systems are producing a class of self entitled scumbags with their own twisted standard of ethics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Plague Maiden

gozunda wrote: »
    Reports on SkyNews now.

Fcking scumbags and lowlifes - each and everyone supported by the state so no-one goes hungry or in dire need and this is the type of sh1te they get up to for a bit of crack- just because they know guards etc will be slow to respond.

Personally I would like to see Spike island or similar reopened and anyone found to be a serious risk to society and law and order like this - be placed on mandatory sentence for life.

Could you imagine what these lowlifes would get up to if the country was in a genuine state of emergency?

As to the scote driving the teleporter/ digger - I wonder which government funded scheme he learned his machine operater skills on? And yet rather than being a productive part of society - they are out destroying local shops and robbing :mad:

Anyone caught looting or robbing or destroying peoples property like this deserves locked up and sent away for a very long time.

#nofeckinexcuses

A mandatory life sentence for looting a supermarket?

We need tougher sentencing in this country, including mandatory terms for specific categories of crimes. But locking up those lads for a quarter of a century for what they done last night? Don't be ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭50HX

john Connors

who gives a sh1t about this guy

we all know what he is......

don't give him anymore air time