Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snowmagedagain

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You’re missing the point. Maybe deliberately. I will cut you some slack. If the govt are making it their business to declare nation wide curfews then 1-it better be appropriate to extend it nationwide and 2-it better be extreme weather.

The time of 4pm seems to have been far too early as the storm is only just arriving now

I'll take all the slack going. But I'm not missing the overall point. The state have limited resources and tools to deal with what's happening. And we are much better minimising the potential risk and stretching of emergency resources by asking people to keep in unless urgent.

There's people all over acting on decisions that don't really make much sense to anyone other than themselves.

I haven't seen much of anything like this before when I could reflect on it critically and there's a few things I'm taking from it. We can't be expectant that the state or local authorities hold responsibility for dealing with the outcomes of this weather. And when it comes to it, we should be able to pick up our own shovel and help ourselves. (I don't currently have a shovel but up for bringing some levity to the situation going out with a bucket and spade)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭00sully

Friends house today after the inevitable! I'd say worth it to play it safe 🀔

443882.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I'm sitting in front of a lovely fire, having a brandy, watching TV and reading the rubbish people are posting while they complain about a weather warning and using every opportunity they can to blame it on Leo Varadkar.

I havent seen anyone blaming Leo, sure he doesnt make the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

murpho999 wrote: »
    They never said it would snow at 4pm.

Yet they demanded we all were to shelter indoors as if it was nuclear fallout.

What a shower of plonkers they are. Egged on by the drama queens of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Ursummupet

Why are u including me in that? I said my neighbour told me he was going swimming to give two fingers to authority. I said fair play mate. That was the height of my involvement.

Did you not caress his balls to get the blood flow going?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Leo said if you are not indoors by 4, you'll probably die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭storker

Lots of family time today. Some TV with Mrs Storker this evening, then re-fighting the Battle of Elchingen on the PC. And some wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭nostro

No it's worth saving the life of some kid out in the snow that gets run over by some dickhead in an ill prepared car going out to buy some fags.
    Your reasoning could be used to curtail many activities that are now considered normal on the basis that they could potentially cause a risk of injury somewhere. It is why children are no longer allowed to walk to school or play in playgrounds. Risk is a part of life and if you spend your days afraid of everything you are not living fully in my opinion..
    You sir are a snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I'm sitting in front of a lovely fire, having a brandy, watching TV and reading the rubbish people are posting while they complain about a weather warning and using every opportunity they can to blame it on Leo Varadkar.

Having a cigar in your smoking jacket too, no doubt. You Hugh Hefner looking fecker ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Why are u including me in that? I said my neighbour told me he was going swimming to give two fingers to authority. I said fair play mate. That was the height of my involvement.

If your neighbour went out for a walk in the Serengeti in a suit made from rashers and sausages to give two fingers up to the authority would you say "fair play mate"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,775 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Yet they demanded we all were to shelter indoors as if it was nuclear fallout.

What a shower of plonkers they are. Egged on by the drama queens of Ireland.

Advised, and rightly so too.

What would you advise, stay out as long as you want and have people driving on the roads putting rescue services at risk?

I'll stick to the official advice thank you rather than your keyboard warrior nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

nostro wrote: »
    Your reasoning could be used to curtail many activities that are now considered normal on the basis that they could potentially cause a risk of injury somewhere. It is why children are no longer allowed to walk to school or play in playgrounds. Risk is a part of life and if you spend your days afraid of everything you are not living fully in my opinion..
    You sir are a snowflake

Slippery slope argument eh?

Did you just assume my gender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,773 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The biggest danger is people going home from the pub who might fall asleep. They would never wake up.

doylefe wrote: »
    Leo said if you are not indoors by 4, you'll probably die.

No he didn't.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    If your neighbour went out for a walk in the Serengeti in a suit made from rashers and sausages to give two fingers up to the authority would you say "fair play mate"?

I prob would. His own business. I salute all the outdoor swimmers today who enjoyed the conditions regardless of whatever “advice” varadkar tried to peddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

RTE have been an embarrassment over this. Have the feeling if this wasn't effecting Dublin we'd be hearing pretty much nothing.

nostro wrote: »
    You sir are a snowflake

Really? My kids cycle to school and peg around the yard at lunch time. Where do you live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I havent seen anyone blaming Leo, sure he doesnt make the weather.

You're hilarious. :rolleyes:

I hadn't said 'the weather'. Have another read.

going a bit stir crazy here

I prob would. His own business. I salute all the outdoor swimmers today who enjoyed the conditions regardless of whatever “advice” varadkar tried to peddle

hmmm... Have you swam in a river in February in Ireland and enjoyed the conditions? I'm beginning to think you're just making stuff up now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Having a cigar in your smoking jacket too, no doubt. You Hugh Hefner looking fecker ya.

No, haven't had a cigar in years. Just cigarettes these days, but I don't smoke in the house. Damned cold outside though.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    hmmm... Have you swam in a river in February in Ireland and enjoyed the conditions? I'm beginning to think you're just making stuff up now.

When did I say that I swam in it? I said I salute people who choose to exercise their rights to do as THEY FCUCKIN WELL LIKED regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Banning any LCD Soundsystem tonight!!

Just kidding of course 😛

More bullsh1ttery from Murph on RTÉ now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

No, haven't had a cigar in years. Just cigarettes these days, but I don't smoke in the house. Damned cold outside though.

‘tis surely. You’d wanna be a diehard to go out puffing in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Where was the ‘live’ report from Dundalk actually from?I suspect outside the studios in montrose.

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    RTE have been an embarrassment over this. Have the feeling if this wasn't effecting Dublin we'd be hearing pretty much nothing.

No they haven't. 1 meter of snow on the way. How is that not worth reporting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

When did I say that I swam in it? I said I salute people who choose to exercise their rights to do as THEY FCUCKIN WELL LIKED regardless

Regardless of the volunteers that may have to rescue them is it?who gives a **** about them right?eh eh?

You said you're neighbour swam in a river today and enjoyed the conditions.

I don't believe your neighbour swam in the river.

If he/she did, I doubt they enjoyed the conditions unless your neighbour is an otter or a mink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭nostro

Did you just assume my gender?

Assumed on the basis that your username is Samuel. Don't know too many females of that name.