Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Severe Winter Weather: ESSENTIAL PREPARATIONS, TRAVEL ADVICE, DRIVING TIPS & CLOSURES

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

sdanseo wrote: »
    If they're closed, employees will be paid - generally speaking. As above the notice requirements get a little complex but for civil and public servants at least the backlash would not be worth it.

Us unionless private sector goons will have to fight our corner!

A company is liable for an employee getting injured going into or coming home and would need to show the risk assessment was done to call people in in the face of an emergency situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 wolf tonedeaf

Had to relocate myself from home in D24 to a hotel in Blanchardstown to be near work. With all this talk of "Day after tomorrow snow" on the way Thursday night, should I ask to be moved from the 1st floor to the 5th floor in the hotel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Patww79 wrote: »

The only part of that I'd be concerned about from an insurance point of view:
    While you are insured to drive

Use due care and attention and don't drive like a twat and you're fine.

Unfortunately that rules out 90% of the population in this weather, but that's a different conversation :rolleyes::pac:

Bottom line is while tomorrow's red is in place everyone should be at home in front of the fire, and nowhere near the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Lads, I have tickets for Everything Everything in the Olympia. MCD saying the gig is going ahead regardless. I'm 5km from the venue and wouldn't even be considering it bar the fact I'm on a DART line and apparently they're running until later. Am I mad to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,766 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

anthonymcg wrote: »
    Lads, I have tickets for Everything Everything in the Olympia. MCD saying the gig is going ahead regardless. I'm 5km from the venue and wouldn't even be considering it bar the fact I'm on a DART line and apparently they're running until later. Am I mad to go?

No I don't think so. Darts are still running and it's tomorrow that is to be bad not tonight. I would go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Dublin City Centre is fine apparently. What's the worst that happen? Even if you've to walk home it's 5k, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭HugoMyBoss

pilly wrote: »
    Dublin City Centre is fine apparently. What's the worst that happen? Even if you've to walk home it's 5k, be grand.

You wont even notice the cold with all the booze in ye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

HugoMyBoss wrote: »
    You wont even notice the cold with all the booze in ye.

"Sure ye've the price of a bag of coal in ya me" as me Ma used to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Due to fly out today with Ryanair bit flight was cancelled and rebooked for tomorrow. That flight was just cancelled...and next available flight is not until Saturday!

Anyone know if I'm definitely entitled to accommodation compensation? It'll be 3 nights in a hotel. It's hard to get a straight answer from Ryanair chat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Pacifico wrote: »
    Due to fly out today with Ryanair bit flight was cancelled and rebooked for tomorrow. That flight was just cancelled...and next available flight is not until Saturday!

Anyone know if I'm definitely entitled to accommodation compensation? It'll be 3 nights in a hotel. It's hard to get a straight answer from Ryanair chat!

Not from Ryanair as it’s weather related afaik. But they have to give you board and food

https://www.aviationreg.ie/air-passenger-rights/delay.210.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Just been cancelled by MCD. Grand so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Just bought the last two packets of cigarette filters in my local shop, still cigarette papers left, can't believe I nearly forgot to stock up on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭peadar76

In current conditions which is the safest route from Kilkenny to Enniscorthy?
    M9 to carlow and onto N80 or
    M9 to waterford and onto N25 and onto N30

peadar76 wrote: »
    In current conditions which is the safest route from Kilkenny to Enniscorthy?
    M9 to carlow and onto N80 or
    M9 to waterford and onto N25 and onto N30

Once you stick to National routes they should be well gritted. Grit runs seem to be around 7/8pm around here, not sure about around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 mini homer

Ok feel embarrassed now over the typo. Anyways made it to east cork in the end. It wasn’t as bad as I expected.
    cnocbui wrote: »
    I would re-evaluate the meaning of 'have', if I were you.

I 'have' to crash my car today.

I 'have' to get stuck in a blizzard, abandon my car and try and work out what to do now.

These are from a couple of minutes ago (rural Tipp):

20180228_111257b.jpg
    20180228_111232b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,019 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Pray for cork. And we've more to come tomorrow and Friday ? It's whiteout here on the north side of cork city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

sdanseo wrote: »

Bottom line is while tomorrow's red is in place everyone should be at home in front of the fire, and nowhere near the car.

One of the contrasts with 2010 is that our employers just said, early in the week, "work from home if you are worried about commuting".

That takes a massive pressure off people. Plus, thanks to this site, I warned family to stay home and fill the fridge.

Now, the cabin fever is dementing...

Just been told we will be paid for today but tomorrow we will need to take leave as they will be open. But no pressure on us to be in beyond that.

Have told them I'm gone till Monday. Nodding and smiling for now but will be having strong words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

its really bad here now in galway

gally74 wrote:
    its really bad here now in galway

Galway city is fine, cold as hell but no snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭theredletter

Hi all

please take this a bit seriously.

I am at home and I see from this article that things will be getting really bad... If the electricity goes I will not be able to contact vulnerable family members - if electricity goes doens't the phone lines? Will 4G work on my phone as well? I know it's only a couple of hours.

This article has freaked me out big time

http://www.thejournal.ie/snow-warning-storm-emma-beast-east-3877352-Feb2018/

Ross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭CptMackey

OmegaGene wrote: »
    No sign of snow this way in east cork
    Small fella is bored waiting

Come west of the city and there is plenty

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Your mobile phone will work if the electricity goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

spurious wrote: »
    Your mobile phone will work if the electricity goes.

Until the battery runs out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭theredletter

I'll keep it plugged in and can charge it off against laptop.
    Phone lines will work though I am guessing
    I am freaking out a bit... does anyway think I could make it from Trim Co Meath to Clondalkin for Friday - driving not public transport. Need to check on said family member and taking shifts.

Hi all

please take this a bit seriously.

I am at home and I see from this article that things will be getting really bad... If the electricity goes I will not be able to contact vulnerable family members - if electricity goes doens't the phone lines? Will 4G work on my phone as well? I know it's only a couple of hours.

This article has freaked me out big time

http://www.thejournal.ie/snow-warning-storm-emma-beast-east-3877352-Feb2018/

Ross

Do you have a corded phone that plugs directly into the phone socket? If so that should work if the power goes.

If not generally mobile will still be fine.
    I'll keep it plugged in and can charge it off against laptop.
    Phone lines will work though I am guessing
    I am freaking out a bit... does anyway think I could make it from Trim Co Meath to Clondalkin for Friday - driving not public transport. Need to check on said family member and taking shifts.

Trim to the M3 will and the estates will be the dodgy bits.

M50 CL are doing a fantastic job keeping the road spotless by all accounts.

and the bread freezes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Cliff's of Moher and Bunratty Castle closed from 1pm tomorrow inclusive of Friday

I was at the Cliff's today got some amazing snaps