Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Catherine Nevin has Died

1235»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Tom Nevin was originally from around where I live, it's sad that he was a decent man who worked hard and made a good life for himself and ended up like he did married to that yoke who only wanted his money.

Sadly, the more I read about that bloke the more it looks like he married again just for the social kudos and status attached to it, the marriage-or-death type. I bet the younger Catherine was a different yoke altogether fluttering her eyelashes and giggling whilst all the time having the long game in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

bob50 wrote: »
    Still comes back to she served 18 years when as i said most only get 7 years for murder

No they don't. The average time served for lifers here used to be about 14 years but that has increased in recent times, as another poster mentioned it has increased to about 22 years now, though actual time served will vary from one prisoner to another.

You're eligible for parole after 7 years but in reality if it's something like a murder conviction you have very little chance of being granted parole at that stage.

And even on release life still means life in that when you're released the sentence never goes away, you're permanently on parole (often with strict conditions attached) and the sentence can be re-imposed at any time if you break the terms of your parole or commit another serious crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

i am sorry to hear of her death RIP

I think people here are forgetting she was given a life sentence and she served 18 years in jail

Most people who get a "life sentence" for murder, the term is usually 7 years here in Ireland.

Dont forget she didnt kill him herself. and the person / s who did it were never brought to justice

Still at large because she wouldn’t give them up. She might not have pulled the trigger but she is the one who orchestrated it and spent most of their marriage making Tom Nevin’s life a misery. She deserves no sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

i am sorry to hear of her death RIP

I think people here are forgetting she was given a life sentence and she served 18 years in jail

Most people who get a "life sentence" for murder, the term is usually 7 years here in Ireland.

Dont forget she didnt kill him herself. and the person / s who did it were never brought to justice

What part of mandatory life sentence do you not understand? she wasn't paroled either, she got temporary release on account of the terminal brain tumour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

RIP :(

*just kidding, good riddance!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Will all be forgotten about in a few days, just like all the other murderers who have already been released by now. On license of course, but still released. Life does not mean life here.

Only a rare few are kept there ad infinitum. She was one of them, but was released on compassionate grounds on Temporary Release to get treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭chicorytip

_Dara_ wrote:
    Of course not. Ideally they also would be behind bars. In cases like this, both the hitman and the one who hired them are convicted. They just don't know who carried out the hit. Catherine Nevin could have told them who the hitman was but of course, she was intent on getting off.

The gardai suspected Patrick "Dutchy" Holland, long since deceased, of being the gunman. He was the man believed to have shot Veronica Guerin to death in 1996 - although this was never proven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,108 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Has she been cremated yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Not yet. Apparently there’s a chance she could end up being buried beside Tom, the husband she murdered, because she owns the plot and is legally entitled to be buried there.

Horrific if it was aloud to happen. As Tom didn’t suffer enough at her hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,108 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Not yet. Apparently there’s a chance she could end up being buried beside Tom, the husband she murdered, because she owns the plot and is legally entitled to be buried there.

Horrific if it was aloud to happen. As Tom didn’t suffer enough at her hands.

Surely her family know better?
    I certainly wouldn’t like her buried near any of my relatives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Patww79 wrote:

I'd imagine it would be more of an issue for Tom's family when visiting his grave to know that she is there aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    I'd imagine it would be more of an issue for Tom's family when visiting his grave to know that she is there aswell.

They'll have his remains moved to a new grave, no doubt, if this situation were to arise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Are Am Eye wrote:
    They'll have his remains moved to a new grave, no doubt, if this situation were to arise.

Even in death she may still be able to cause pain. Hope the cnut died roaring.