Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Catherine Nevin has Died

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

bob50 wrote:
    As a lot of other prisoners were also on courses in Maynooth

Who cares this thread is not about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Who cares this thread is not about them.

Its just to point out its no big deal for her to be on a course in Maynooth as other posters seem suprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,798 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

[QUOTE=bob50;106209287

Most people who get a "life sentence" for murder, the term is usually 7 years here in Ireland.

[/QUOTE]

Thats just not true, life sentence means no fixed release date, 7 years is the absoloute minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

She bears a strange resemblance to Bitch of Buchenwald Ilse Koch.
    I guess the lesson is watch out for women that look like this.

442342.png

442345.jpg

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=442342&stc=1&d=1519169667
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=442345&stc=1&d=1519169898

bob50 wrote:
    Its just to point out its no big deal for her to be on a course in Maynooth as other posters seem suprised

I wasn't surprised so curious as to why you responded to me?

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    If she didn't hire the killers to carry out the deed her husband would not have been killed. He lost his most precious possession his life, she just lost her freedom.

Still comes back to she served 18 years when as i said most only get 7 years for murder

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 739 ✭✭✭Dev84

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    She bears a strange resemblance to Bitch of Buchenwald Ilse Koch.
    I guess the lesson is watch out for women that look like this.

442342.png

442345.jpg

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=442342&stc=1&d=1519169667
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=442345&stc=1&d=1519169898

Colin hendry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

bob50 wrote: »
    Dont forget she didnt kill him herself.

That doesn't matter. She was convicted of murder and rightfully so. It doesn't matter that she contracted it out to someone else, she premeditated it.

Is it okay that the person or persons who actually pulled the trigger and killed Tom Nevin walk away scot free ?

bob50 wrote:
    Still comes back to she served 18 years when as i said most only get 7 years for murder

Linda served 15.

when as i said most only get 7 years for murder

Can you supply some facts on this as its just not true

bob50 wrote:
    Is it okay that the person or persons who actually pulled the trigger and killed Tom Nevin walk away scot free ?

It's not, pity Nevin couldn't see it in herself to say who they were. At least one less scumbag that was involved in her husband's murder.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Of course not. Ideally they also would be behind bars. In cases like this, both the hitman and the one who hired them are convicted. They just don't know who carried out the hit. Catherine Nevin could have told them who the hitman was but of course, she was intent on getting off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I know, right? It was a high profile case, my mother recognised her. Such is life. Maybe if she, ya know, hadn’t arranged to have her husband killed, people wouldn’t be noticing her.

This is what I don’t get about the justice system, the criminals are taken care of better than the victims and the families of victims. They were talking about shaming people by putting up a list on a gov.ie website of non compliant tv license payers. Yet they go above and beyond to protect, relocate and defend rapists, Murders and serious white collar rip off con artists. It’s absolutely sick.

It's like how they used to tell you that buying pirate tapes or cds you were supporting international terrorism.
    If there were no scheming black widows then there would be no professional hit men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Average time served for a Life sentence in Ireland is 22 years. Are you sure you're not mixing up murder with a lighter offence such as manslaughter. Ordering a murder is treated the same as pulling the trigger.

Depending on the case The State also has the right to hold the convicted person forever. Parole is not a guarantee .

Something tells me a lot of influential people who were aquainted with Mrs Nevin at the time of all this. Will sleep easier knowing she has passed and brought her secrets with her

Average time served for a Life sentence in Ireland is 22 years. Are you sure you're not mixing up murder with a lighter offence such as manslaughter. Ordering a murder is treated the same as pulling the trigger.

Depending on the case The State also has the right to hold the convicted person forever. Parole is not a guarantee .

Graham o dwyer will never be released imo.

Dev84 wrote: »
    Graham o dwyer will never be released imo.

Hard to say If his legal team gets the cell phone evidence thrown out He mght get a retrial

bob50 wrote:
    Something tells me a lot of influential people who were aquainted with Mrs Nevin at the time of all this. Will sleep easier knowing she has passed and brought her secrets with her

BS she had years to divulge her "secrets" she wouldn't even give up the names of the people she hired to kill her husband.

Hard to say If his legal team gets the cell phone evidence thrown out He mght get a retrial

Even in that hypothetical - it's hard to imagine any jury in this country acquitting him in a retrial. The Judge will warn them to disregard their previous knowledge of the case etc but Juries decide based on their feelings and opinions, not legal points.

No i am not mixing this with manslaughter if you are a model prisoner you get points etc to get you to parole at minimum you will get TR

But you said most get 7 years and thats just not true, 7 years is the absoloute minimum you can serve before getting a chance at parole most get much longer its at the discretion of minister of justice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

She had a mad hatred of ''the English'' according to an IT article, what did they ever do to her? It's a bit like the way some English go on about ''the French'' whom they've hardly ever met or interacted with.

dd972 wrote: »
    She had a mad hatred of ''the English'' according to an IT article, what did they ever do to her? It's a bit like the way some English go on about ''the French'' whom they've hardly ever met or interacted with.

800 years of rape and murder and repression.

Dev84 wrote:

She could identify with the murder part at least...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Dev84 wrote: »

Oh right, if you see Geoff from Dewsbury on his stag do in Temple Bar give him a dig then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Oh no that’s awful
    Who’s mammy scissors sisters going to talk about now to get her on the front of the star

the star

Is that stiil being made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,460 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Tom Nevin was originally from around where I live, it's sad that he was a decent man who worked hard and made a good life for himself and ended up like he did married to that yoke who only wanted his money.