Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can a Christian vote for unlimited abortion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,615 ✭✭✭✭J C

Are population numbers suddenly dwindling?
    The Irish fertility rate is 1.97 children per woman ... which is significantly below the 2.1 children per woman required to replace a population.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/fields/2127.html
    If they are so wealthy they can travel to get an abortion! Its the ones who are impoverished and struggling who need access to abortion facilities along with better education and access to contraceptive products.
    Like I have, said poorer women have full access to contraception with the Medical Card ... and an english abortion is only a €10 flight away.
    It obviously is the situation that poor women are behaving more ethically than their wealthier cousins.
    Because they cannot affird to have an abirtion, NOT because they want to have another mouth to feed!
    It obviously is the situation that poor women are behaving more ethically than their wealthier cousins, when they have unplanned pregnancies.

Jaysus you must have led a very sheltered life JC, people have been having 1 night stands many many years this isnt a new thing you know!

Something makes me think that you see sex as a dirty act and only to be used for procreation.
    I have lived a very full life ... and I don't think of sex as dirty. Within the proper context of a committed marital relationship sex is life affirming and safe.
    ... but sex can be very dangerous to your health if you catch a serious disease on a one night stand with somebody you normally wouldn't talk to ... and it can seriously impact on your lifestyle, if an unplanned pregnancy occurs.

... and I don't think we should allow the children resulting from irresponsible one-night stands, or any other pregnancy for that matter, to be killed.

• Moderators Posts: 52,035 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

J C wrote: »
    The main reason ... possibly the only reason, actually, that contraceptives fail, is because the sex is being conducted under less than ideal circumstances ... with participants drunk, for example ... they won't know or possibly care what they are doing.
    Sex with a randomer is much more likely to result in condom breakage ... and a 'pump and dump' result for the woman involved ... or possibly the man ... but, at least, he isn't also running the risk of becoming pregnant. This grossly irresponsible carry-on isn't at all rare.

Having drunken sex with randomers, for example ... is most likely to end in disaster ... and its quite common out there, with 30% of 'twenty something' women admitting that they had sex with a stranger, while drunk ... this is the % of women who admit to this behaviour ... so the actual percentage is likely to be significantly higher.
    77% of women regret a one night stand ... which means that the figure is much higher for the total percentage who have had one-night stands (when you include the women who don't regret the practice.
    ... and then they expect people to vote to allow them abort their irresponsibly conceived children.

Quote:-.
    "72% said they regret at least one person they dated while 77% wished they'd never had a one-night stand
    30% said they were ashamed to admit they'd slept with a stranger when drunk."

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2273255/Drunken-sex-strangers-flaky-friends-savings-The-regrets-20-women-laid-bare.html

These are English figures ... but there is no reason to believe that Irish 'comely maidens' and their sex partners, don't match or even exceed these figures.

None of that contradicts what I said, i.e. contraceptive failing means it was irresponsible sex.

If the brakes on my brand new car fail due to mechanical failure, that doesn't mean it was irresponsible driving.

Your quoted text also doesn't address why a married couple are having irresponsible sex if the woman has an abortion but not if they decide to be parents?

Anyone who has sex and accepts the consequences, to me, are not having irresponsible sex. That applies equally to those who have the child or decide to have an abortion. Also, I would presume that rape falls under "irresponsible sex" so you would oppose the woman having an abortion? That something which I couldn't support, overriding the consent of a woman who was impregnated without consent.

If you can read this, you're too close!

pilly wrote: »
    Continue on JC, you're doing a great job at convincing people to repeal.

The hatred for women is just dripping off your posts.
    Where is the hatred?
    I'm apportioning blame to both women and their partners who engage in irresponsible sex ... and then expect everyone to allow them kill their unborn children when these result from their irresponsiblity.

In other posts I'm contrasting the ethical behaviour of poorer women and their partners with the high rates of selfiish behaviour among wealthier womwn and their partners.
    Your misandry is shown by your outrageous and unfounded statement about me above.

You still haven't given your opinion.

And by the way..I was the one who asked the question...but you didn't read that bit.
    What would you suggest be done? Lock up all women of child bearing age in case they are pregnant and want to abort their child in another country!
    We are responsible for what we can do not for what we can't.
    As for abortion not being the killing of an unborn human being..what is it? The killing of an orange?

Countries have laws that outlaw travelling to another country to have sex with a minor. So it's to quite possible to legislate for crimes citizens commit in other countries.

Addressing what points exactly Bob?

That people have one night stands? Absolutely nothing to do with the 8th unless you're purpose is to stop people having joyful sex?
    There is nothing joyful ... and a hell of a lot of danger for women in engaging in one night stands with randomers ... and then shouting 'me too' when they get 'pumped and dumped' or have contracted an incurable STD, that the randomer 'forgot' to tell them about.
    That richer women have abortions? Newsflash, also nothing to do with the 8th because they will continue to do so regardless. Unless the purpose of retaining the 8th is to stop the poor?
    This is a very important point, given that the prime movers, in the pro-abortion debate are wealthy women and their partners ... who are using the image of 'poor' women to achieve abortion on demand ... when the wealthy women themselves have four time the rate of abortion of their poorer sisters.
    Let them be honest, and just say that they (and their partners) want abortion on demand for themselves because going through with a pregnancy, often conceived by gross irresponsibility, in the first place, would impact on their cherished lifestyle ... because they are 'too posh to be pregnant' ... and they selfishly leave producing the next generation, largely to their poorer sisters, anyway.

Delirium wrote: »
    Countries have laws that outlaw travelling to another country to have sex with a minor. So it's to quite possible to legislate for crimes citizens commit in other countries.
    It is legally difficult to prosecute crimes that occur in other countries ... but, assisting third countries with punishing perverts who travel to those countries to commit crimes in those countries, is legally permissable.
    In the case of abortion it isn't a crime in the other country (England, for example), thereby making it practically impossible to prosecute.
    Please stop dragging in 'red herrings' that have been perviously shown to be irrelevant (and unfounded, in the first place).

This is a very important point, given that the prime movers, in the pro-abortion debate are wealthy women and their partners ... who are using the image of 'poor' women to achieve abortion on demand ... when the wealthy women themselves have four time the rate of abortion of their poorer sisters.
    Any evidence for this claim? Any of the organisations I'm aware of are very much a grass-roots movement.
    Let them be honest, and just say that they (and their partners) want abortion on demand for themselves because going through with a pregnancy, often conceived by gross irresponsibility, in the first place, would impact on their cherished lifestyle ... because they are 'too posh to be pregnant' ... and they selfishly leave producing the next generation, largely to their poorer sisters, anyway.
    "Let them be honest", followed by a caricature of women being sexually irresponsible and that having children is something for poor people to take care of:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭NuMarvel

You still haven't given your opinion.

And by the way..I was the one who asked the question...but you didn't read that bit.
    What would you suggest be done? Lock up all women of child bearing age in case they are pregnant and want to abort their child in another country!
    We are responsible for what we can do not for what we can't.
    As for abortion not being the killing of an unborn human being..what is it? The killing of an orange?

I gave my opinion. You're being deliberately provocative, and abortion isn't the killing of another human being. Those are my opinions.

As for being responsible for only what we can do, I'd remind you that we have stopped a girl from having an abortion overseas, so clearly we can, or at least could at one point. The issue for anti-repealers isn't that they can't, but that they don't want to in the first place.

It is legally difficult to prosecute crimes that occur in other countries ... but, assisting third countries with punishing perverts who travel to those countries to commit crimes in those countries, is legally permissable.
    In the case of abortion it isn't a crime in the other country (England, for example), thereby making it practically impossible to prosecute.
    Please stop dragging in 'red herrings' that have been perviously shown to be irrelevant (and unfounded, in the first place).
    Not a red herring. It shows that laws can be enacted for crimes committed abroad. A question was asked about what could be done about abortions carried out in foreign countries, I responded.

Ireland has a law like that; the Sexual Offences (Jurisdiction) Act, 1996, so there is precedence in our own legislation too.

None of that contradicts what I said, i.e. contraceptive failing means it was irresponsible sex.

If the brakes on my brand new car fail due to mechanical failure, that doesn't mean it was irresponsible driving.
    ... the chance of the brakes failiing under such circumstances would be negligible to the point of non-existent ...
    ... but if you pick up some drunken randomer 'bad boy' ... and let him drive your car ... then that would be grossly irresponsible, on your part as well as his.
    Your quoted text also doesn't address why a married couple are having irresponsible sex if the woman has an abortion but not if they decide to be parents?
    If they are both drunk at the time ... or couldn't be bothered to use contaception properly ... then this would be irresponsible whether they are married or not.
    Anyone who has sex and accepts the consequences, to me, are not having irresponsible sex. That applies equally to those who have the child or decide to have an abortion.
    If they accept the consequences, like you say, then that will include accepting any pregnancy that may result ... and not kiling their mistakes.
    Also, I would presume that rape falls under "irresponsible sex" so you would oppose the woman having an abortion? That something which I couldn't support, overriding the consent of a woman who was impregnated without consent.
    Rape doesn't obviously fall under 'irresposible sex' given that the woman involved didn't consent, in the first place ... and therefore bears no responsiblity for what happened.
    Routine medical treatment for rape victims, includes the 'morning after pill' ... which eliminates the need for abortion after rape ... so, yet another 'red herring' ... using the undobted pain and distress of rape victims to bring in abortion on demand ... which isn't required for rape victims, who have received proper medical treatment, when the rape occurs.

NuMarvel wrote: »
    Ireland has a law like that; the Sexual Offences (Jurisdiction) Act, 1996, so there is precedence in our own legislation too.
    The Sexual Offences (Jurisdiction) Act, 1996 sets no precedent for prosecuting women who have abortions outside the state.

Here is the critical section of the Act:-

"2.—(1) Where a person, being a citizen of the State or being ordinarily resident in the State, does an act, in a place other than the State (“the place”), against or involving a child which—

(a) constitutes an offence under the law of the place, and

(b) if done within the State, would constitute an offence under, or referred to in, an enactment specified in the Schedule to this Act,"

Like I have previously said, the act needs to be illegal in both juristictions.
    This is the case with perverts preying on children ... but it isn't the case with abortion (because it is only illegal in Ireland).

Very intersting that you cite a law preventing harm to children ... as justification for legalising abortion ... which kills children.
    The hypocracy is mind numbing !!!

... the chance of the brakes failiing under such circumstances would be negligible to the point of non-existent ...
    ... but if you pick up some drunken randomer 'bad boy' ... and let him drive your car ... then that would be gross irresponsiblity on your part as well as his.
    Which means that becoming pregnant because contraceptives failed isn't irresponsible.
    If they are both drunk at the time ... or couldn't be bothered to use contaception properly ... then this would be irresponsible whether they are married or not.

If they accept the consequences, like you say, then that will include accepting any pregnancy that may result ... and not kiling their mistakes.
    So close, JC. again, and read it slowly this time. Just because you don't agree with a persons choice doesn't mean they're irresponsible.
    Rape doesn't obviously fall under 'irresposible sex' given that the woman involved didn't consent, in the first place ... and therfore bears no responsiblity for what happened. Routine medical treatment for rape victims, includes the 'morning after pill' ... which eliminates the need for abortion after rape.
    Nope. Recently a woman was refused the morning after pill when the pharmacist said she was lying about being raped. She subsequently had to travel to the UK to have an abortion.

Which means that becoming pregnant because contraceptives failed isn't irresponsible.
    Like I have said using contraception properly will result in negligible risk of becoming pregnant to the point of non-existence. Myself and my wife have used contraception for over twenty years without any unplanned pregnancy resulting.
    ... and our fertility was such that a planned pregnancy resulted within a month of not using contraception, every time.
    Nope. Recently a woman was refused the morning after pill when the pharmacist said she was lying about being raped. She subsequently had to travel to the UK to have an abortion.
    ... why did she go to some random chemist ? ... did she not seek medical treatment from a doctor?

... and did she not go to the Gardai ... who would have arrange a full forensic medical as well full medical treatment for her?

This story has all the hallmarks of an 'urban legend' ... or an 'old wives tale'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Bob_Marley wrote:
    - And re-claiming, despite it being refuted, that an unborn child is just of lump of cells (because we all are if you wan't to go down that route) or that a fetus is not a very distinct and vulnerable human life (because biologically in the human life cycle it certainty is ), or that only preferred human lives should have any rights, are not arguments.

So you want people to make an argument but not one you disagree with?

Tell me exactly what is the point of that?

FWIW my point of view is very simple and straight forward. Fully grown human women and their existing children are MORE important than an embryo. Now you can disagree with that all you like but you can't demand that I don't make that argument.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Bob_Marley wrote:
    - And re-claiming, despite it being refuted, that an unborn child is just of lump of cells (because we all are if you wan't to go down that route) or that a fetus is not a very distinct and vulnerable human life (because biologically in the human life cycle it certainty is ), or that only preferred human lives should have any rights, are not arguments.

FWIW my point of view is very simple and straight forward. Fully grown human women and their existing children are MORE important than an embryo. Now you can disagree with that all you like but you can't demand that I don't make that argument.

... why did she go to some random chemist ? ... did she not seek medical treatment from a doctor?

... and did she not go to the Gardai ... who would have arrange a full forensic medical as well full medical treatment for her?

This story has all the hallmarks of an 'urban legend' ... or an 'old wives tale'.
    here you go:
    A Cork woman was denied the morning-after pill after being accused of lying about being raped by a high street pharmacy.

The 24-year-old was asked a series of invasive questions following the incident before being denied the emergency contraception.

In harrowing turn of events, the young woman discovered that she was pregnant with his child and she was forced to travel to the UK to abort the baby.
    Source

I don't question why the woman who was raped didn't do X. She's probably traumatised by it.

The point is that a series of awful events led to the abortion. I don't see how it was made better by forcing her to travel for the abortion. It would be better for her to be able to have it here.

That's like saying that full grown women are more imprtant that a newborn baby ... just because a Human Being is smaller and more vulnerable than you doesn't make them less important than you ... or give you the moral authority to kill them.
    Women are the recipients of legal protection when they are the victims of violence from bigger, more powerful men ... to the point where the man is (correctly) always wrong if he hits a woman ... yet, when women are the ones who are bigger and stronger than their unborn child they want to be allowed to legally kill it with impunity.

Total hypocracy, ageism and inequality ... from the very femininsts who have spent a lifetime fighting for these very principles ... yet now don't want them extended to other women ... if they happen to be unborn, at the time.

Hypocracy and double standards doesn't even begin to describe it !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

JC are you forgetting or unaware that a large number of abortion statistics are marrried women having consensual ‘joyful’ sex and presumably safely within the confines of marriage, who have children and simply don’t want anymore?

You’re portraying women who become pregnant out of one night stands in the worst light possible. That is totally hateful of women. All women. You think married women didn’t have one night stands before they were married?

here you go:

Source

I don't question why the woman who was raped didn't do X. She's probably traumatised by it.

The point is that a series of awful events led to the abortion. I don't see how it was made better by forcing her to travel for the abortion. It would be better for her to be able to have it here.
    My point still remains ... why didn't she go to a doctor and/or the Gardai, if she was raped. They would have treated her for the rape (including the MAP) ... and would have prosecuted the (alleged) rapist.

Do you know how many rapes and sexual assaults go unreported annually? Isn’t it more that go unreported than are reported?
    Do you have any understanding why women wouldn’t report it?

david75 wrote: »
    JC are you forgetting or unaware that a large number of abortion statistics are marrried women having consensual ‘joyful’ and presumably safely within the confines of marriage, who have children and simply don’t want anymore?
    ... and they and their husbands are amongst the most selfish of them all ... killling your unborn child because you don't want any more children !!
    They have the resources and the stability to offer this child a lovely home ... and instead they choose to kill it. If they feel they have enough children, then they always have the option of sterilisation, if they haven't the discipline or the inclination to use contraception properly.
    You’re portraying women who become pregnant out of one night stands in the worst light possible. That is totally hateful of women. All women. You think married women didn’t have one night stands before they were married?
    ... some men and women may have one night stands after they are married as well.
    Either way there are two people clearly involved in a one night stand ... and both stand equally guilty of irresponsible behaviour.

As I already said she was probably traumatised.

... and they and their husbands are amongst the most selfish of them all ... killling your unborn child because you don't want any more children !!
    They have the resources and the stability to offer this child a lovely home ... and instead they choose to kill it. If they feel they have enough children, then they always have the option of sterilisation, if they haven't the discipline or the inclination to use contraception properly.

... some men and women may have one night stands after they are married as well.
    Either way there are two people clearly involved in a one night stand ... and both stand equally guilty of irresponsible behaviour.

Wow.
    JC. It’s 2018. Not 1930.

The Sexual Offences (Jurisdiction) Act, 1996 sets no precedent for prosecuting women who have abortions outside the state.

Here is the critical section of the Act:-

"2.—(1) Where a person, being a citizen of the State or being ordinarily resident in the State, does an act, in a place other than the State (“the place”), against or involving a child which—

(a) constitutes an offence under the law of the place, and

(b) if done within the State, would constitute an offence under, or referred to in, an enactment specified in the Schedule to this Act,"

Like I have previously said, the act needs to be illegal in both juristictions.
    This is the case with perverts preying on children ... but it isn't the case with abortion (because it is only illegal in Ireland).

There is no legal requirement for laws to only apply to activities that are illegal in both jurisdiction. Especially if it's a law that would be supported by the 8th, which was used to prevent someone from having a legal abortion in another jurisdiction.

At the end of the day, you don't want a law like this. And neither do I, but at least I'm being honest about it being possible if we did want to.

Do you know how many rapes and sexual assaults go unreported annually? Isn’t it more that go unreported than are reported?
    Do you have any understanding why women wouldn’t report it?
    I don't know how many rapes aren't reported annually ... and neither does anybody else.

... but here is how the rapes that are reported, in the UK, are dealt with by the legal system:

"Out of the 41,150 reported rapes, only 5,190 went to court, and just 2,991 people were convicted - meaning that 42 per cent of prosecutions for rape were unsuccessful."

Anyway, if a woman for whatever reason, doesn't wish to report a rape, to the Gardai, then she should, at least, seek medical treatment from a doctor, who will routinely prescribe the MAP for her, thereby eliminating the risk of pregnancy resulting from the rape.
    If she is too traumatised to do this herself, then those who care about her, should ensure that she gets all necessary medical treatment, at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,861 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I don't know how many rapes aren't reported annually ... and neither does anybody else.

... but here is how the rapes that are reported, in the UK, are dealt with by the legal system:

"Out of the 41,150 reported rapes, only 5,190 went to court, and just 2,991 people were convicted - meaning that 42 per cent of prosecutions for rape were unsuccessful."

Anyway, if a woman for whatever reason, doesn't wish to report a rape, to the Gardai, then she should, at least, seek medical treatment from a doctor, who will routinely prescribe the MAP for her, thereby eliminating the risk of pregnancy resulting from the rape.
    If she is too traumatised to do this herself, then those who care about her, should ensure that she gets all necessary medical treatment, at the very least.

This may come as a shock to you JC but many women don't even report rape to their friends/family as they feel ashamed! My own cousin only admitted to being raped 8 years after it happened as she felt people would blame her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,531 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Are population numbers suddenly dwindling?

we are going to have a bit of a population crisis in the future yes
    If they are so wealthy they can travel to get an abortion! Its the ones who are impoverished and struggling who need access to abortion facilities along with better education and access to contraceptive products.

they only need access to abortion in medical circumstances. actual contraception and education i completely agree with you on, the education needs to be way way better and actual contraception should be low price or free. but abortion on demand isn't required in ireland.
    Because they cannot affird to have an abirtion, NOT because they want to have another mouth to feed!

they actually can afford an abortion, a greater majority of them then wealthier women don't want one however. they will get money for another mouth to feed.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

NuMarvel wrote: »
    There is no legal requirement for laws to only apply to activities that are illegal in both jurisdiction. Especially if it's a law that would be supported by the 8th, which was used to prevent someone from having a legal abortion in another jurisdiction.

At the end of the day, you don't want a law like this. And neither do I, but at least I'm being honest about it being possible if we did want to.
    Nobody can be legally prosecuted for doing something in another juristiction, that isn't a crime in that juristiction ... even if some male or female feminist has told you that it is possible.

... so women who have abortions legally in England, cannot be presecuted in Ireland for doing so.

In any event, they need loving care for having done, what they know in their heart is such a terrible thing.
    They have to live with what they have done ... killing their own child ... and that is punishment enough, IMO.