Visiting Soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Fly into Shannon and stay west, if you want to see the real Ireland. If you want over priced tourist tat then go to Dublin. I'll go against the grain here of messing around and invite you to pm me if you want proper info on Ireland.

Yep. Stay away from Dublin. Very bland provincial English city type vibe and indeed a very ugly city that was decimated decades ago in the name of progress! full of dangerous drug addicts and criminals who operate with near impunity in the city centre and who actively target tourists.

My advice is to travel around the west. The wild Atlantic way would be ideal for you to investigate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Ahh, ok. The "The tree just jumped out in front of me" excuse drunk drivers use to try and explain it away. I've never drank alcohol, and I plan on being asleep during that time frame.

Being a non-alcoholic will preclude you from having a lot of the crack here. Best to pretend and have a non-alcoholic beer in your hand while trying to integrate with the locals.

The affore mentioned crack ho's are on the prowl between 2-4 am and it's a pity you will miss them, you being asleep and all, they are the best crack of all for a young vibrant man looking to fully imesh himself in the local Irish way of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Oldtree wrote: »
    Being a non-alcoholic will preclude you from having a lot of the crack here. Best to pretend and have a non-alcoholic beer in your hand while trying to integrate with the locals.

The affore mentioned crack ho's are on the prowl between 2-4 am and it's a pity you will miss them, you being asleep and all, they are the best crack of all for a young vibrant man looking to fully imesh himself in the local Irish way of life.

Funnily enough most crackheads are institutionalized and go to bed when the warden says even while not serving time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Yep. Stay away from Dublin. Very bland provincial English city type vibe and indeed a very ugly city that was decimated decades ago in the name of progress! full of dangerous drug addicts and criminals who operate with near impunity in the city centre and who actively target tourists.

My advice is to travel around the west. The wild Atlantic way would be ideal for you to investigate.

You're from Cork, aren't you? No shame in that,but being panhandled by a Dubbalin junkie is an essential part of the Irish tourist experience. The Cork beggars just can't cut it, and in all likelihood the OP won't be able to understand that accent either. He can also see the Sam Maguire cup in Dubbalin, as it is kept here, and probably always will be.

Ajsoprano wrote: »
    Funnily enough most crackheads are institutionalized and go to bed when the warden says even while not serving time.

That's what the warden wants you to believe. He has been paid in kind ;) to let them out when no one but the warden would miss them, 2-4am.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

You've just been "after-houred." If you have particular interests , post them and I will try to give proper help. Avoid Tripadvisor, many so called "destination experts" on the Irish forum are actually trying to sell you stuff or are pretending to be Irish, when they are a full continent away and using google!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

That's what the warden wants you to believe. He has been paid in kind ;) to let them out when no one but the warden would miss them, 2-4am.

Are you looking for someone to tell you that you are funny? Its not going to happen im afraid, best stop with these posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Ajsoprano

Are you looking for someone to tell you that you are funny? Its not going to happen im afraid, best stop with these posts.

Cold.
    Hope it makes you feel better about yourself so atleast some positivity can come of this terrible occurrence.

Thanks for coming out of the woodwork to tell me that sinjin. How's that sex shop on the lucas track near St James working out for you? Seen any crack ho's hanging around :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Joe prim wrote: »
    You're from Cork, aren't you? No shame in that,but being panhandled by a Dubbalin junkie is an essential part of the Irish tourist experience. The Cork beggars just can't cut it, and in all likelihood the OP won't be able to understand that accent either. He can also see the Sam Maguire cup in Dubbalin, as it is kept here, and probably always will be.

Not from cork no. But cork is nowhere near as bad as Dublin is. and I couldn’t give a sh1te about the sam Maguire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭somefeen

You're very funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Well, another thing about me, I've never drink alcoholic beverages in all my 36 years. So that should save me a fortune to stay away from the pubs.

Just have one pint while yer here
    In company on a Saturday night in a daycent pub
    Just to say you did

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

If you don’t want to drink and drive then get the bus

I don't think anyone would let a novice near a sheep in that way.

Pre pay phones is what you are looking for. Three, Vodafone and Eir are the main networks - any other providers just piggyback off them.

If you want to trade some labour for a genuine experience put an ad up on DoneDeal offering to foot turf for a few weeks.

somefeen wrote: »
    You're very funny.

Thank you. As John Rambo would say "**** em'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Any chance you can paint my wall if you have some time, or are you on the fence about that kind of thing?

Otherwise I'd recommend a trip to Howth., easy enough to get to from Dublin City Centre by hopping on the DART, the green muccus metal thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

This thread is hilarious. Thanks for brightening up my day folks. :D

OP do what most people here are saying, do the west coast. Cycling it sounds nice but no guarantee that you won't get sh1te weather so better off in a car. If you've enough time you could go the whole way up the west coast and around the north coast through Northern Ireland. Things will cost more than you expect so try to be prepared.

(nice to see Roscrea get a mention - lovely town to visit :cool:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

If you want to trade some labour for a genuine experience put an ad up on DoneDeal offering to foot turf for a few weeks.

Jesus the poor lad will be ate raw by the midgies!

Don't forget that he won't have the years of built-up midgie immunity that seasoned turf-mongers do. :eek:

(And anyway, he'll be coming over with his American tan, he'll have no need of the sun exposure that we all know is half the reason for going to the bog in the first place.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I don't think anyone would let a novice near a sheep in that way.

Pre pay phones is what you are looking for. Three, Vodafone and Eir are the main networks - any other providers just piggyback off them.

The Backwards Man might sort him out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I see , no mention of Leitrim at all

OP , it's where the film Deliverance was based on.
    There's no traffic lights and the gene pool is so shallow , it's a mist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Look up 'woofing' or woof volunteering, not sure how it works with American visas and stuff but I think it's very much what you are looking for
    Woofing is more commonly called dogging nowadays. There are plenty of websites that can get you setup. However, don't bother searching until you get here. Just walk up to anybody and ask them if they know any good dogging sites.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Have you a proper licence to drive real cars? I don't know if they'll let you hire a car with a Mickey Mouse American licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 huckfinn1982

Yes I have a license. All I need is an US State issued drivers license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Have you a proper licence to drive real cars? I don't know if they'll let you hire a car with a Mickey Mouse American licence.

They have tonnes of rental automatics in car hire companies here for American tourists.
    Re Virgin media phone: yes we have Virgin media but I am not sure they have their own sim cards; i think they use one of the other main providers here.
    Try and filter out the After Hours jokes on here as some people are giving advice and other are just pulling your leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭baylah17

No visit to the northside of Dublin is complete without wearing your "I love the Monk" T-shirt. Once youre wearing that T-shirt you'll get all the craic you can handle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I just made the personal decision when I was a kid and it was reaffirmed after a couple friends way back in school that I had just seen was killed by a drunk driver a few hours later. Then every year that went by I just felt like I didn't need it before, I don't need any now.

Unfortunately Irish culture has a real problem relationship with alcohol.

Outside the main cities, the main social outlet is the pub. For example, you mentioned learning some songs, playing some music. In Ireland, traditional music sessions mostly take place in pubs.

However, the non-drinker is accepted. So while you will have to visit pubs to get a sense of the real Ireland, you won't need to consume loads of alcohol while doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Anybody who visits Ireland should make an effort to visit a branch of an Argos store they are a good few around the country.
    They are perfect for picking up little gifts and they even have a book with their stock for you to take home!

Yes. There is nothing as quintessentially Irish as leafing through the laminated book of dreams of a wet Saturday afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

blanch152 wrote: »
    Unfortunately Irish culture has a real problem relationship with alcohol.

Outside the main cities, the main social outlet is the pub. For example, you mentioned learning some songs, playing some music. In Ireland, traditional music sessions mostly take place in pubs.

However, the non-drinker is accepted. So while you will have to visit pubs to get a sense of the real Ireland, you won't need to consume loads of alcohol while doing so.

We're a nation of alcoholics.

A few years ago I did the ancestry.com thing and come to find out, my biological dads last name "Faulkner" traced back at some point to Dublin, from my understanding they were Falcon Trainers

Hi Huck, your dad's first name wasn't by any chance "Hugh" was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

What is it about Americans that think they are somehow exploring their roots when they go to Ireland ?
    Genetically you may have had distant ancestors in Ireland but you are culturally - 0% Irish.

I have a Scottish surname, no doubt if I go far back enough have some Swedish in me somewhere, I've never been to Scotland and
    when I went to Sweden didn't think I was exploring my roots somehow.

I was in Iceland and this American guy was having a fit at the tourist office because the girl working there (Icelandic) said she could trace back her ancestors to Viking - the guy was about 30 and was screaming OH MY GOOOD !! THAT IS SO COOL!!! YOU ARE RELATED TO ACTUAL VIKINGS.....

I felt like saying to him, look mate if you trace your roots far back enough I'm sure you'll find some Viking connection too.

Listen, come to Ireland go to the West ... have a blast, it's an amazing place (my best holidays have been in the west of Ireland)
    But leave out this sh1te about finding roots and learning about falconcry - Jaysus christ like !!!

You are American. Get used to it.