Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I do not know what that guy was thinking expecting to get 16K for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Still a bit saucey even at that is it? I could be wrong, I know Escorts have a huge following but that one looks like a bit of a pantomime horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,159 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Still a bit saucey even at that is it? I could be wrong, I know Escorts have a huge following but that one looks like a bit of a pantomime horse.

Oh no it doesn't :pac:

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

I do not know what that guy was thinking expecting to get 16K for that.

It's a girl selling it hilarious mental case.
    I messaged her about it and she claims it owes her over 16k as apparently she imported it from Australia.. I laughed at her told her she might get 16 € k for an rs turbo but no chance for a proxy 5dr ghia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Yeah I would say its still pretty pricey

For not a whole lot more you could have this; same engine, tiny miles and in seemingly much better condition.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1981-ford-escort-1-6-gl-5-door-only-23k-miles/17948232

NDhmNTYzNDcxZDE3MDA0NjkyZGYwNWM4NjAxNWE1YTHbCb8x9Ljg9qNcm57Qab9ZaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b185NDQ1OTAxMXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They’re a hateful car though, still remember them from childhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Always reminds me of the likes of road wars which is on repeat from the early 00s and you would see all these types of cars being chased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

Just new to forum couple of days old fella had mk3 escort was around 3 year old and rusted all over it remember him having to get it welded and it never ran right as well awful motor but like all fords from that time prices going up so silly money being asked for run of the mill cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

The japanese were so far ahead of them back then even.if they rusted to bits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Philb76

They were grandfather always bought datsuns Nissan and were very reliable compared to all european rubbish but yeah rusted badly as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They’re a hateful car though, still remember them from childhood.

Possibly a bit of a moot point in terms of what the car is worth now though... Nostalgia and all that.

I get what your saying though even by the standards back then the car was probably poor enough. Cousin had one back in the day. Granted he was a bit of a rough customer but it was fair unreliable. He often remarks that it was an "alcoholic on juice" and not much go to show for it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/96-toyota-landcruiser-prado-3-0td/17999697

Very clean, but looking for twice the top money for a 90 series.. silly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

TrailerBob wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/96-toyota-landcruiser-prado-3-0td/17999697

Ah, here - €12,750? Get up the yard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Boradriver

Gravelly wrote: »
    Ah, here - €12,750? Get up the yard.

Yeah that's madness right there. Wonder what a non-genuine action is as well?

Boradriver wrote: »
    Wonder what a non-genuine action is as well?

By the sounds of the ad, anything other than flinging large bags of money at him before you even get in the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭FUBO

TrailerBob wrote: »

What a COMPLETE TOOL id say something if it was a 90 / 110 Defender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

One thing I have learned is that once its got a Ford badge prices and logic no longer linked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

A great old yoke but not very collectable yet and sitting on English plates.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-carina-e-gl-td-88000-miles-from-new/17634562

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Impressive spec I have to say, knock 2k off of it and it will sell.

A great old yoke but not very collectable yet and sitting on English plates.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-carina-e-gl-td-88000-miles-from-new/17634562

Had one of them as a company car back when they were a current model - most boring car I've ever owned, and I've owned a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

bear1 wrote: »

That'll sell to a certain demographic in the country. English plates meam eff all to them

It will look great in a bog around Roscommon.

Had one of them as a company car back when they were a current model - most boring car I've ever owned, and I've owned a few.

I used to love my 1.6 petrol carina e non lean burn model.

It was one of those cars I didn't care about if someone crashed into it in car parks etc.. I lost the key one day so had to start it with a screw driver in the ignition barrel. Said screw driver was left in car with out locked doors at all times. It would have been robbed in seconds with the work already done to the barrel.

I used to love my 1.6 petrol carina e non lean burn model.

It was one of those cars I didn't care about if someone crashed into it in car parks etc.. I lost the key one day so had to start it with a screw driver in the ignition barrel. Said screw driver was left in car with out locked doors at all times. It would have been robbed in seconds with the work already done to the barrel.

The one I had was the 1.6 petrol as well! When you'd come to a hill you'd be tempted to stick your leg out the door to help it along. Overtaking was a matter of faith. It was replaced by a diesel Passat, which was like a rocket ship compared to it.

There must have been something wrong with your one. They weren't that bad power wise. No hot hatch or sports coupe but for a non performance 1.6 engine they were fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭selectamatic

bear1 wrote: »

Exporters will give 5-600 for one that's starting and driving. It could have nettles growing outta the boot it doesn't matter.

So that one above is a 1k car all day long imo. Maybe more.

The fella asking near 2 and a half grand is a bulling but lads reckoning it's only worth a few hundred are equally delusional.

Exporters will give 5-600 for one that's starting and driving. It could have nettles growing outta the boot it doesn't matter.

So that one above is a 1k car all day long imo.

The fella asking near 2 and a half grand is a bulling but lads reckoning it's only worth a few hundred are equally delusional.

Maybe, but a few things.
    It's 21 years old so insurance will not be either cheap nor easy to get.
    It needs to be registered so that is about 600e (checking the VRT calculator) and then straight away tax it and hope it passes the NCT.
    So off the bat that's at least 1k it needs just to have it road legal here - not even counting insurance.
    Personally, I think it's a joke price and even at 1k I would think that it's not worth it but I understand these types of cars have a following so it's hard for me to say from a different perspective.