Another Sinn Fein blunder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,602 ✭✭✭bmc58

There was someone else (a councillor) suspended for 6 months. Can't recall her name.

But it's ok...there's no problems in SF and they will be in government next time.....just saving the shinners from posting :D

Forgot to say.... we're all SF haters ;)

Hold on a sec!What's this "we are all SF haters"? Speak for yourself if you wish.But you don't speak for me on this site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭cycle4fun

blanch152 wrote: »
    The only party that appears to attract blind adhesion and loyalty to the point of insanity is Sinn Fein. Every single time a thread is put up criticising SF, there are plenty working night and day to defend them to the hilt no matter how wrong they were.

Correct. Parnell Sq. would expect no less from certain posters , most of whom say they have never voted SF but who may do so in the future. It is scary to see how brainwashed and indoctrinated they are too.

mynamejeff wrote: »
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

Ye shinners are some kinda special arent ye ?
    twist and manipulate until you can try and turn a lose into a win

Reminds me of chemical Ali proclaiming victory as the bombs fall in the background
    Its actually worth it for the hilarity

LOL. Interesting analogy...a few of the posters do bear a resemblance to Chemical Ali all right. They defend the actions of terrorists going for government and civilian targets in the UK in the past, just as the likes of Chemical Ali would have had a soft spot for the 9/11 terrorists, 2 of whose targets were also government (the Pentagon and the White House, which is where United Airlines Flight 93, the plane that crashed down in a field in rural Pennsylvania, was headed to).

BTW, it was Comical Ali, not Chemical Ali who was proclaiming victory as the US tanks were circling in the background.
    Chemical Ali was a nasty piece of work who's actions led to the deaths of thousands, while Comical Ali just stretched the propaganda beyond the funny zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Just popping in to see if the usual crowd of anti-Republican obsessives were giving out about what Alex Maskey said?

Nothing?

Carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Just popping in to see if the usual crowd of anti-Republican obsessives were giving out about what Alex Maskey said?

Nothing?

Carry on.

Eh, cheers for the update i suppose.... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,068 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nothing?

Carry on.

Maskey V Cycle4fun

Would MCD or Aitken promotions be interested? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,844 ✭✭✭✭maccored

I would go so far as to say you're actually obsessed.

totally agree. Blanche, his older account (I can guess who it was) and a few others on here really seem to keep the SF light shining, by pretending to hate them. Subterfuge I tells you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭piplip87

Lads, your getting this story all wrong.

The Clamp was placed because he is a Catholic, an undercover British Army member sold him bolt cutters, he honestly tried to phone the clamping company but all the pay phones where vandalised.

Its the Clampers fault, its the fault of the British Army for selling him bolt cutters but most important of all its the fault of the vandals.

piplip87 wrote: »
    Lads, your getting this story all wrong.

The Clamp was placed because he is a Catholic, an undercover British Army member sold him bolt cutters, he honestly tried to phone the clamping company but all the pay phones where vandalised.

Its the Clampers fault, its the fault of the British Army for selling him bolt cutters but most important of all its the fault of the vandals.

Quite right, and he did not park his car in the paid car parking next door because such car parks are symbols of the oppressive statelet and the signage was not "as Gaelige". He had a right to park on yellow lines, the land rightfully belongs to the people of Ireland anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

blanch152 wrote: »
    So you are now reduced to whataboutery to defend Gerry.

Every time a reference to DUP misdeeds or the British Army or the unionists or Fine Gael or some other unrelated whataboutery is raised by a defender of the Republic(ans), I say the same thing.

Start a thread about it, we will all troop in and say it was also wrong, but the difference is, nobody will spend pages and pages and posts after posts defending the indefensible.

The only party that appears to attract blind adhesion and loyalty to the point of insanity is Sinn Fein. Every single time a thread is put up criticising SF, there are plenty working night and day to defend them to the hilt no matter how wrong they were.

Who exactly was the genius who came up with the term "whataboutery"? I've seen "whatiffery" bandied about as well.

Is it the defence mechanism term when hypocrisy is exposed and is otherwise indefensible?

Does it liken to the "oh so mature" bleat of "tinfoilery" when governmental procedure is questioned, whatever the circumstance?

But I will try to clarify this for you, my friend, because you have completely missed the fucking point.

I am not barking about the DUP and defending Sinn Fein or the "RA" or anyone else,

Capisce?

I am responding to someone who, when made aware of Kelly's wheel clamp episode, stated that "criminality (in as many words) was not unexpected of Sinn Fein.

In my response I proffered as to whether or not another petty transgression such as driving a vehicle without the required documentation, as was done by a member of the DUP, would have that OP deliver the same judgement against all members of said party.

So if you think that i am engaging in, what was it again?...."whataboutery" then I would be delighted if you would tell me when this new-fangled word applies and when it doesn't.

Of course I would imagine there is a dictionary definition of whataboutery but I have never encountered the word until very recently and it always seemed to have been deployed as an argument deflector.

I may be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Nothing?

Carry on.

Anti-SF does not mean someone is anti-republican.

And, btw, Maskey was correct......it is a putrid place (just look at everything that goes on especially around the 12th) - which is why we're better off not uniting with that kind of toxicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Jawgap wrote: »

And, btw, Massey was correct......it is a putrid place (just look at everything that goes on especially around the 12th) - which is why we're better off not uniting with that kind of toxicity.

Good jaysus......

Odhinn wrote: »
    Good jaysus......
    But nowadays the distinction between “republican” and “nationalist” is spurious. Not only that, but we are all “republicans” now and the distinctive and exclusive use of the term by any political party (including Fianna Fáil!) is meaningless if not hypocritical. Every citizen in the South lives in a republic, we subscribe to a non-monarchial form of government, we are in favour of territorial unity by peaceful means (just like Sinn Féin) and we profess the principles of social equality and civil rights. In short, we satisfy all the criteria of being “republican”. So how can Sinn Féin constantly claim to be more republican than the rest of us?

.....and I'm all for a re-unifying the island, just not on an unconditional basis whereby we bankrupt and wreck ourselves in the process.

Yes, post 372 really leaves me with that impression allright.

Odhinn wrote: »
    Yes, post 372 really leaves me with that impression allright.

Well, there you go......at least I made an impression.......you must be very easily impressed :D

Like Charlie Murphys forehead

You want unification the way my son currently 'wants' to go to school. He knows it is the right thing but he will put every block in the way of doing it, including ridiculously feigning illness.

P.S. Will there be wigs on the green because youse don't have a live 'controversy thread' about SF for the 'coronation'?
    Somebody in for the high jump? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭piplip87

Only one way reunification could work IMO.

Split the Country up into regions.
    Have regional Assembly's
    Give them power to deal with local issues.
    Have national Parliament for national issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Well firstly, if it is ever to come to fruition, it's not going to be like flicking a switch and suddenly the island is united again, it would probably have to be a phased in process, prob over a decade or so (maybe several), and secondly it will not be at a cost borne only by the Irish state alone Britain will have its part to play. Perhaps on going.

Thanks to the GFA and the possible repercussions involved with Brexit, it's a good thing that you're all for it. Because I reckon it's a certainty - definitely within my lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

And, btw, Maskey was correct......it is a putrid place (just look at everything that goes on especially around the 12th) - which is why we're better off not uniting with that kind of toxicity.

agree there Jaw ,disfunctional place for sure.

Would want nothing to do with the place as it is at the moment, and I don't anticipate any change anytime soon.

They remember stuff for a long time, back to 1690 most of them

Nah mate

Would want nothing to do with the place as it is at the moment, and I don't anticipate any change anytime soon.

Nah mate

Lol.

Chrongen wrote: »

Of course I would imagine there is a dictionary definition of whataboutery but I have never encountered the word until very recently

Sheltered life you have led if you never heard the term. One dictionary def. is "The technique or practice of responding to an accusation or difficult question by making a counter-accusation or raising a different issue. 'all too often, well-intentioned debate descends into whataboutery' Also called whataboutism."

Oh, and about the wheel clamp episode, I do not buy the story that the gym lent the massive industrial size pair of boltcutters to someone to go outside the building to the side of the road where cars were parked without knowing or asking "what for".

Even if the borrower had shot a prison officer in the head (he probably deserved it anyway) or even if the borrower had printed and distributed thousands of sectarian leaflets.

Putrid place, glad we will never be united with them.

piplip87 wrote: »
    Only one way reunification could work IMO.

Split the Country up into regions.
    Have regional Assembly's
    Give them power to deal with local issues.
    Have national Parliament for national issues.

I'd agree that some kind of federal solution would be the best way forward but that's going to add costs the already not-inconsiderable funds we'll have to come up with to fund the place. We probably need a larger more robust economy in the Republic and for NI to be less of an economic basketcase before the sums look a bit less insane than they do as things stand.

Nah mate

....there's more than a grain of truth in the apocryphal story of the pilot flying into Belfast who, on welcoming the passengers to NI, advised them to set their watches back 400 years!

I wouldn't be looking down my nose too much in fairness.
    We are still belting out the old dongs at 12 noon and 6 o'clock here and the nutjobs will be emerging from the woodwork shortly to dictate what a woman should be allowed to choose about what happens to her body.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭the sheriff is HERE

cycle4fun wrote: »

Oh, and about the wheel clamp episode, I do not buy the story that the gym lent the massive industrial size pair of boltcutters to someone to go outside the building to the side of the road where cars were parked without knowing or asking "what for".

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/sinn-féin-s-gerry-kelly-regrets-removing-clamp-from-car-1.3381303%3fmode=amp
    "North Belfast MLA says he borrowed bolt cutters from nearby gym to cut clamp off"

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/gerry-kelly-regrets-car-clamp-removal-i-dont-keep-bolt-cutters-in-the-boot-36568724.html

"Gerry Kelly 'regrets' car clamp removal: I don't keep bolt cutters in the boot"

I can get you more if they're not reliable enough links for you.

Admit it you dislike Gerry Kelly and Sinn Fein, but continue, this thread is great written tennis, it's now 15-love to Sinn Fein and Gerry Kelly.

Not the point. Gerry Kelly says the gym did not know what he wanted the bolt cutters for when he borrowed them. I do not buy that story. If someone asked you for a loan of bolt cutters (a large two handed too not unlike the size of a sledgehammer), wouldn'nt you ask them them were for? What if you lent it to someone and they ended up assaulting a clamper or someone else outside the door with it? Would'nt you be curious to know what the loan of the heavy tool was for...its not an everyday thing to borrow large boltcutters?

It has nothing to do with if the person in the gym "liked" Gerry Kelly or not : he or she may or may not have agreed with past acts like shooting a prison officer in the head or printing and distributing thousands of sectarian leaflets.

Not the point. Gerry Kelly says the gym did not know what he wanted the bolt cutters for when he borrowed them. I do not buy that story. If someone asked you for a loan of bolt cutters (a large two handed too not unlike the size of a sledgehammer), wouldn'nt you ask them them were for? What if you lent it to someone and they ended up assaulting a clamper or someone else outside the door with it? Would'nt you be curious to know what the loan of the heavy tool was for...its not an everyday thing to borrow large boltcutters?

It has nothing to do with if the person in the gym "liked" Gerry Kelly or not : he or she may or may not have agreed with past acts like shooting a prison officer in the head or printing and distributing thousands of sectarian leaflets.

If he wanted to assault someone he would have asked for the 'clamper assault tool'.

We have people locally who borrow ladders and step ladders from the business, I never ask them what they want them for. I presume they want to climb up on something.
    I have been doing it wrong all these years apparently! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭the sheriff is HERE

It's a bolt cutters it's in its name, he was hardly going to use it for cutting twigs.

It's very apparent you dislike Gerry for past events, (different times) he got sh!te for protecting a brit soldier, so its quite obvious he supports and still supports peace in the north for both sides.

Do you support peace in the North?
    I'm just curious btw.

Not the point. Gerry Kelly says the gym did not know what he wanted the bolt cutters for when he borrowed them.

The gym have a pair of bolt cutters because apparently people from time to time misplace keys or forget combination codes to the padlocks on lockers.

If a gym goers asks for bolt cutters - they probably assume that's what they're needed for.

Seriously. I have a set of jump leads in the boot of my car. If the neighbour asked to borrow them, how would I know if he didn't want them to strangle his wife with. :cool:

I don't buy that!

Nipple clamps. Deffo!