Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo lad out fighting with the Kurds

• Registered Users Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Do the Kurdish lads do any of the naughty things ISIS do? How are the Kurdish on human rights? What happens to the inhabitants of an area when he Kurdish forces arrive?
    By no means perfect, but by far the best of the groups in Syria at the minute. When they arrive, they set up councils made up of locals to run the villages themselves, even going as far as training them in the basics on how to run stuff and educating them on stuff like womens rights. One criticism of them is they do have conscription and have historic links with the PKK.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,038 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Ipso wrote:
    They have carried out attacks in Turkey, but then again Turkey hasn't been the kindest toward them. As the saying goes "if you agree with them they're freedom fighter, if you don't they're terrorists and if you don't know what they're fighting about then they're guerillas".

I struggle to find good lads among the ME factions. I'm just surprised to see such effusive support for one group over the other. You could easily support the Kurds as underdogs as you would support the Jews in acquiring Israel.

The telling factor is in how they actually behave and few people are fans of Israel on the basis of their behaviour. I don't know anything about how the Kurds actually behave in reality. I thought the people who enthusiastically support the Kurds would have something to say about how they behave.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It has been a while since I read the article but their stories all suggest very troubled pasts. Former drug addicts, deleting parts of their history, big trouble with maintaining relationships etc. There is something troubling them all.

Same with the lads going over to fight for ISIS too. And yes, the Spanish Civil War.

It all sounds romantic but delve into each one of them individually and you'll find there is something behind their cause.

Could say the same for alot of people that enter western armies also.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Mayo lads are fierce stingy. I'd imagine it won't be long before the Kurds tell him to sod off back to Ballina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I hope he doesn't join a local sports team.

As with the Rolling Stone article, you'll find that there isn't any westerners fighting with the Communist Kurds that do not have mental health issues and chequered past's. Everybody is running away from something.

'Communist Kurds' me h*le. If they (the Turks, pro-Assad Syrians etc) don't recognise the Kurds deserve respect in SE Turkey and elsewhere, they deserve to be resisted by the armed wing of the Kurdish people, be they the KDP, YDP etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Wasn't it Lee Keegan who started the whole Syrian conflict?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

'Communist Kurds' me h*le. If they (the Turks, pro-Assad Syrians etc) don't recognise the Kurds deserve respect in SE Turkey and elsewhere, they deserve to be resisted by the armed wing of the Kurdish people, be they the KDP, YDP etc.

What? What does that have to do with the fact they are communists?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Collie D wrote: »

No but if he was there he'd have finished it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,317 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I recall listening to a podcast from The Marian Finucane radio show where she interviewed an Irish solider who voluntarily went out to Syria to fight Isis. This is all I can find on it, I think the postcast is no longer available. https://www.irishcentral.com/news/irishman-fighting-isis-in-syria-describes-savage-enemy

Anyway the tale he recounted was quite chilling. He was talking about how if they were overran by the enemy that he knew to had to kill himself rather than be tortured by them. So since this Mayo lad isn't even a soilder then I thing he might be more foolhardry than brave.

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

There is a saying that the Irish have found on both sides of every major war.

This makes it even more true.

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭terenc

Why do we want Turkey into the THE FREE WORLD when they slaughter people and children in the name of GOD. The Kurds are a Brave people and more western then a lot of the cultures (ask the Americans)in the Arab World and I use this in the term of how the Turkish tanks supplied by Germany to kill the innocent.
    So Lets TAKE A BOW (WESTERN WORLD)Has we allow a Nation to be exterminated, if and when they lose (they can only fight for a so long weeks , months ,years) then we will have another HOLOCAUST.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Is that the guy after the All Ireland game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

He'll be in quinns on All Ireland day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Collie D wrote: »

That was the Hutch Kinahan feud.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

They be better be Yogic Flyers and create regional peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

So you are mental and went and killed people who disagreed with your mental version of the world.

Well done now go back because you belong over there, because they are fighting for the same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

As with the Rolling Stone article, you'll find that there isn't any westerners fighting with the Communist Kurds that do not have mental health issues and chequered past's. Everybody is running away from something.
    I get the impression that in your mind any socialist is someone with mental health issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

...__... wrote: »
    Hi guys,
    Forgive me for the late entry into this I'm back in Tallaght now over a year having spent 3 months In Syria fighting ISIS
    the reason I went was because I really believed that the west was under threat, If you don't see that you need to get a map of the world paint every arab nation in red and every western nation in green.
    then lok at whats happening in the Middle East Imaging if Israel falls then all the aggression against the west has already passed Turkey.
    Then its a domino effect across Europe Austria Germany France fall England puts up a fight but as your already seeing its a la 1940.

Whatever your politics its hard to deny Israel is a buffer zone against radical Islam.
    They want us dead no ifs or buts we are there enemy.
    There is no peace talks or sanctions that can stop it I'm sorry I wish it was another way.

There is really only 2 ways to stop this one is the "peace" way of facebook groups videos of burning houses and bombed out villages people are expected to dig deep in their pockets and fill the coffers of the charities who all send aid.
    Have a small think about this in years to come you will still have the same charities piling on the guilt ads on tv with the starving kids ask your self how much you donate actually gets there.
    Its nothing cents on the dollar even the "ngo's" are as corrupt Troicarie sponsor back door terrorism through misguided funds in Hamas camps where does it stop?

Well it doesn't stop on the other side either for Israel thousands are employed by making weapons under licence by the usa in a form of "aid" its the same rich war as the Palestinians profit from look at abbas this week he bought a private jet for a tiny nation under siege!

so back to Syria now you have a small idea whats really behind the war religion vs religion vs modernisation
    Religion will never win as we are a modern society but modernization will never win as those involved in the fighting are too religious.
    the other religious are moderate who like the kurds are fighting for a few things Independence is one but they are used to being used so they know the aid they got of the US will be thrown aside and forgotten about while they get slaughtered from Turkey over there fears.

Imagine a world in 5 years Is are defeated Syria is rebuilding in the hands of a new leader Turkey will never let Kurdistan have a home so they will possibly invade Syria and Iraq to wipe the Kurds out.

We used the Kurds to wipe IS out.

Where does this leave the west and where does it leave the Kurds?
    Hating the west and a whole new cycle of bull**** starting for another 30 years all over again with just the lines on the maps changing slightly/

From Syria to Talla!
    I reckon you got it easier in Raqqa.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

biko wrote: »
    With Syria failing fast the Kurds are probably going to go in and grab some territory.
    Fair play to them, I hope it happens. They have been fighting every day when everyone else have been twiddling their fat thumbs and made **** promises.

Also YPG use women as front combatants which scares IS ****less as they won't get to heaven if they're killed by a woman :D

asia-ramazan-story,-facebook_6+47_090816025002_1473497020_725x725.jpg

There is a lot of western and Kurdish propagandising that promotes that narrative (to feed into western value judgements about who the good guys and bad guys are, Free Syrian Army anybody? Yeah, they didn't turn out to be an IS offshoot) and ignores the fact that in Turkey, the highest rate of honour killings in the country occurs in the Kurdish communities. There's a disconnect there that suggests the sold narrative is a pup in service of who we feel best about selling arms to in our own interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Hi guys,
    Forgive me for the late entry into this I'm back in Tallaght now over a year having spent 3 months In Syria fighting ISIS
    the reason I went was because I really believed that the west was under threat, If you don't see that you need to get a map of the world paint every arab nation in red and every western nation in green.
    then lok at whats happening in the Middle East Imaging if Israel falls then all the aggression against the west has already passed Turkey.
    Then its a domino effect across Europe Austria Germany France fall England puts up a fight but as your already seeing its a la 1940.

Whatever your politics its hard to deny Israel is a buffer zone against radical Islam.
    They want us dead no ifs or buts we are there enemy.
    There is no peace talks or sanctions that can stop it I'm sorry I wish it was another way.

There is really only 2 ways to stop this one is the "peace" way of facebook groups videos of burning houses and bombed out villages people are expected to dig deep in their pockets and fill the coffers of the charities who all send aid.
    Have a small think about this in years to come you will still have the same charities piling on the guilt ads on tv with the starving kids ask your self how much you donate actually gets there.
    Its nothing cents on the dollar even the "ngo's" are as corrupt Troicarie sponsor back door terrorism through misguided funds in Hamas camps where does it stop?

Well it doesn't stop on the other side either for Israel thousands are employed by making weapons under licence by the usa in a form of "aid" its the same rich war as the Palestinians profit from look at abbas this week he bought a private jet for a tiny nation under siege!

so back to Syria now you have a small idea whats really behind the war religion vs religion vs modernisation
    Religion will never win as we are a modern society but modernization will never win as those involved in the fighting are too religious.
    the other religious are moderate who like the kurds are fighting for a few things Independence is one but they are used to being used so they know the aid they got of the US will be thrown aside and forgotten about while they get slaughtered from Turkey over there fears.

Imagine a world in 5 years Is are defeated Syria is rebuilding in the hands of a new leader Turkey will never let Kurdistan have a home so they will possibly invade Syria and Iraq to wipe the Kurds out.

We used the Kurds to wipe IS out.

Where does this leave the west and where does it leave the Kurds?
    Hating the west and a whole new cycle of bull**** starting for another 30 years all over again with just the lines on the maps changing slightly/

Israel is a buffer zone between the West Bank and the sea.

Turkey is the buffer zone between the Middle East and Europe, which was pretty obvious when they opened their borders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

For someone who was fighting ISIS you’ve a fairly regular posting history here.

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭...__...

Forgive me guys tonight I'm half cut on cheap Aldi whiskey
    I can see the way this thread is going to try to go to attack me for my beliefs
    sorry I wasn't in the sunday world trying to be a model
    if anyone wants to have a beer in the kingswood lodge give me a msg
    (used to be the clock tower :) )

Sorry guys I decided to delete my posts I really don't want to start some crap with the leftie army I thinkl its just better if I look for a car on the motoring thread and see if personal issues can solve my problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Fake News

Fair play to him

• Registered Users Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Sorry guys I decided to delete my posts I really don't want to start some crap with the leftie army I thinkl its just better if I look for a car on the motoring thread and see if personal issues can solve my problems

wha.....?

Odhinn wrote: »
    wha.....?

sorry Nodin you don't get your pro IRA republican thread Israel and the world are wrong thread
    Your the reason why I posted in the feedback thread along with a lot of other people,
    as a message from the west go f yourself and your terrorist friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭Odhinn

sorry Nodin you don't get your pro IRA republican thread Israel and the world are wrong thread
    Your the reason why I posted in the feedback thread along with a lot of other people,

I've genuinely no idea wtf you're on about. Feedback is no more, afaik.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Always interesting to see someone go batsh1t insane on a Friday night. Tell your handlers to get a more convincing story next time

• Registered Users Posts: 7,890 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Always interesting to see someone go batsh1t insane on a Friday night. Tell your handlers to get a more convincing story next time

Getting totally out of it on Aldi whiskey seems convincing enough to me