Does anyone actually bother with niteclubs anymore?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by cartman
    azezil,,
    its alot easier for gays to get off with gays coz theres not much competition...

as in hetro's theres millions of guys, girls so u gotta sweet talk them first..

but iv got my girl and need nothing else..

cartman :)

I don't agree, it’s less to with competition and more to do with “hetro's” been less open and the differences between men and woman (And probably lots of other silly complex things).

Edit: On the whole nightclub thing – the new licensing laws (its right name I don’t know) should see more people on Thursday night been pushed into nightclubs, crammed into late bars or going home early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Either way, it spells more fights on the streets.

Nightclubs have a horrible tendency to encourage this. In Galway, everyone in clubs along Eyre square crams in to supermacs when the clubs close. A fight always, always breaks out.

When my self and my friends were younger the sole reason for going to Supermacs was to see if there were any fights :) The every weekend fighting stopped after a local judge got tough on any one found doing so.

Any how, on what I’ve read there’s a few stupit things about the new law for example anyone 18 – 20 has to carry ID to prove you’re over 18, a slight problem - how do you prove you’re 20+? This kind of law is wide open to abuse, that’s why the publicans had no problems with the new laws.

As I said above it pushes people into nightclubs or late bars both of which are normally a lot larger then your average pub. Did the same government not have a so called disliking of large pubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 sticklebrick777

you know, knacker drinking is an underrated pasttime.
    especially with a good camp fire going.
    ah good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

The problem I find with most late bars is that the music is just as loud as a nightclub, so you end up trying to shout at everybody anyway.

Yes, and it seems to me that some pubs are putting the volume up earlier and earlier. It's really annoying when you go out with a group - you can only talk to the ppl just next to you, it's difficult to get to know new ppl and everyone ends up drinking more to compensate for not being able to talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

janey haven't been in a night club in years.
    Most of the time we'll go drinking in our local and at closing time, either go to someone's gaff and continue on the craic and head home for some lovin.
    They charge you to get in so they can over charge you with drink, and watered down drink at that too. I feel old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

I hate night clubs. the last time i went to one was for my GF's Birthday and at that she had to get me Really drunk befor i'd agree to go. the pub is just more fun... you can talk, laugh, groove all with the music remaining at a reasonable level. I always say this but : I'll never go to a night club again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

If you're into dance music then some night clubs are the place to go. You can't really dance in a pub. Apart from that I don't see any point in going to a night club - you can just stay in a late bar or head to a house party to continue the night without paying cover-charges and inflated drinks prices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 The Preacher

Whelans is the only one I'd go to. The music there at weekends is cool. Thomas Reids / The Oak in Dame Street has a great DJ downstairs on Friday / Saturday nights as well, all indie / alternative rock type stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

i see someone i like i dance up behind / in foront of them... flirty dance for a bit then snog

this one got my monitor and keyboard covered in coffee.... clasic....

I just got this vision of (my mental image of) Azezil going up to some innocent culchie, on a weekend in Dub or where ever... bumping and grinding away, and trying to snog the poor b4stard....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Originally posted by monument
    Any how, on what I’ve read there’s a few stupit things about the new law for example anyone 18 – 20 has to carry ID to prove you’re over 18, a slight problem - how do you prove you’re 20+? This kind of law is wide open to abuse, that’s why the publicans had no problems with the new laws.

Passport, drivers licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Originally posted by Beëlzebooze
    this one got my monitor and keyboard covered in coffee.... clasic....

I just got this vision of (my mental image of) Azezil going up to some innocent culchie, on a weekend in Dub or where ever... bumping and grinding away, and trying to snog the poor b4stard....
    imagin no more for here i am ... anyhow i only do that in a gay bar :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

i dont really club anymore. Having said that i'm only feckin 23!!
    a year ago i would nhave gone fairly regularly purely to score. Generally i cant stand the music which ahas already been discussedn in previous threads. ...my g/f lives with two gay blokes who do the whole gay scene in dublin. i've gone to a few gay bars now and tbbh its great craic. More often than not i'm twisted and only go with the burd of course, but its not a bad nite out..specailly if ya dabble in dem poppers...
    proves for very good hetro sex :)
    anyway, i've derailed my train of thought.
    for a totally score orientated nite out, tomangoes in portmarnock is a good spot...
    rather sit on the the boardwalk in town and drink dutch gold and smoke a few when i'm with my college m8s. We sure do pontificate some

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by azezil
    imagin no more for here i am ... anyhow i only do that in a gay bar :P

My god, that is such a gay pose :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

I still go to clubs alright,

It can be really good craic if you go wit a big crowd. I've stopped drinking which is a godsend as drinks are so damn expensive in any club you go to in dublin these days and the cover charge in is astronomical. All that said its still good fun goin out spotting talent. Normally i dont go out looking for a shag its WAY to much effort espically in clubs as they just usually just lead to one night stands and thats the sort of Sh*t you used to do when you were in school now that im (allegadly) all grown up i'd like to think that you just go out for the hell of it just to have a good times, i just go out for de laff! a john travlota wanna be.... thats me!! :D

i cant sing i cant dance i have no rythem but that doesnt stop me from trying to shake ma stuff on the dancefloor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Originally posted by Sposs

Sposs is it not illegal now to carry your passport around now when your out on the Razz? I herd people talking about it as its far too dangerous you carrying your passport around with you on a night out as its too easy to get stolen/lost

i thought clubs will only ask for a drivers licence or one of those gardai age card things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

Originally posted by uRb@N

for a totally score orientated nite out, tomangoes in portmarnock is a good spot...

emmm,
    Are you serious?
    tomangos is a hole, it smells of puke and they replay christina and britney over and over again....
    Avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Don't bother much except a) for late drinks if the group is desperate and b) if I'm single and have nothing better to do.

Drink quite often at mates houses instead of pubs.

Don't be bloody stupid, who ever said it was illegal to carry your passport? It's your right to bring that wherever you want.

Originally posted by Sposs

Well yes, but then the law might as well say everyone must carry ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I'm not a big fan of everyone having to carry ID...

--

The law in the US is pretty good in the age area - (limit is 21) if the customer appears to be under 25 then the server *must* ask for ID. This stops the server saying "well, I thought he was 21". If he looks over 25 and is under 21, well, he's gonna get away with it. But that's rare enough.

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by Trojan

--

The law in the US is pretty good in the age area - (limit is 21) if the customer appears to be under 25 then the server *must* ask for ID. This stops the server saying "well, I thought he was 21". If he looks over 25 and is under 21, well, he's gonna get away with it. But that's rare enough.

Al.
    what about the 27/28 year old whose appearance would put them in the 21 - 25 bracket, at what stage do they stop carrying ID?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 screwvy

Jesus there's only 1 or 2 people here who actually like dancing! I completely agree that any place with a dancefloor will up the price but that's immaterial to the fact that you can dance your little feet off! I prefer clubs on the continant though cos nobody ever seems to mind ya wearing what ya want & dancing like a fool. Also completely agree that house parties etc are the best but ya always have to ask people to ask new people or ya get bored stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

I prefer late bars and I love dancing, ! I have two left feet but with a bit o Justin , well thats another story ;)

Originally posted by Trojan

--

Al.

I'm with you about carrying ID

I don't think it's like that in CA (LA or San Fran), *everyone* (minus the regulars and really old people) are asked, I was told the state is currently very strict about this.

But maybe it is only people who appear to be under 25, as I was in a pub at the time and yes I’m at the legal age to drink (err, but just not over there).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by screwvy
    I prefer clubs on the continant though cos nobody ever seems to mind ya wearing what ya want & dancing like a fool.
    I totally agree - everything is more laid back and it makes for a much better night club. Never had a problem getting in drunk or wearing dirty, falling apart runners or both.

Never actually saw fights in night clubs on the continent either. Generally they are open until at least six and you can come and go as you please. This means that it isn't just a place to get late drinks (which was the main reason in Ireland to go before the introduction of late bars) which are consumed at a furious rate until closing. Also because everyone isn't getting kicked out of all the clubs at the same time it means that everyone is not arriving at abra ka stabra at the same team, leading to big drunken crowds and more fights.