Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

France vs Ireland Buildup Thread [MOD WARNING IN OP]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Isabelle Ithurburu
    He might be shooting promotional material. There is no way he is training with Ulster this week unless he is definitely not involved at the weekend.

On closer inspection, he is wearing similar clothes but not Ulster ones. It's definitely "active wear" though so he seems like he'd be doing a little bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Isabelle Ithurburu
    sydthebeat wrote: »
    in fairness, we've never gone over there as third ranked in the world while they are ninth.

its time we started to accept and act on our favourites tag.

You did in 2007. Though they probably weren't as low as 9th. And that tournament was a disaster. ;)

I understand that it's a new experience for Irish fans to have their team as favourites but you really should embrace it. I find it funny how fans will be cocky and bullish about Leinster or Munster, hell even Connacht fans have been strutting in recent years (Ulster fans are always grumpy and negative :D) but when it comes to the national team, so many fans revert to the underdog mentality.

Ireland is a better team than France. The players are better and the coaches are better. Ireland should win this by 12 plus. However as a kiwi I understand your nervousness with it being France.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    You did in 2007. Though they probably weren't as low as 9th. And that tournament was a disaster. ;)

I understand that it's a new experience for Irish fans to have their team as favourites but you really should embrace it. I find it funny how fans will be cocky and bullish about Leinster or Munster, hell even Connacht fans have been strutting in recent years (Ulster fans are always grumpy and negative :D) but when it comes to the national team, so many fans revert to the underdog mentality.

Ireland is a better team than France. The players are better and the coaches are better. Ireland should win this by 12 plus. However as a kiwi I understand your nervousness with it being France.

That was in Croker :(

I'm pretty convinced that Ireland are a better team now than even then though.

Isabelle Ithurburu
    We're going to absolutely thump the sense out of these lads.

Ireland 36 France 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Paul K*mmage
    awec wrote: »
    Henderson and Best were in Belfast today.

I'd say they all head home for the day off.

Looks like they might have gone home for an important meeting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Ireland absolutely should win this on paper. And I’d be fairly surprised if we don’t. France almost certainly won’t put a performance in that will be good enough to beat us. But, as we’ve seen before from France, they can put those performances in even when you least expect it.

The great thing about the 6Ns is that every game is knock-out rugby. And on any given day etc etc. 9 times out of 10 though we win this.

Paul K*mmage
    We're going to absolutely thump the sense out of these lads.

Ireland 36 France 11

Are ye mad??? Where are France gonna get that 11 points from?

Isabelle Ithurburu
    Are ye mad??? Where are France gonna get that 11 points from?

One either intercept try or a random bounce that goes their way early in the second half.

Two penalties one from Healy and one from Stander to give them 11.

I'm telling ye lads, you heard it here first.

Ireland will maul one in and will get a penalty try also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,667 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Isabelle Ithurburu
    You did in 2007. .

I can never think of that years 6 Nations without thinking of Vincent-bloody-Clerc....

• Subscribers Posts: 43,036 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Paul K*mmage

Im not sure where you checked the rankings, but before rwc 07 France were ranked 3rd and us 5th.

I agree with the main body of your post though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Isabelle Ithurburu
    sydthebeat wrote: »
    Im not sure where you checked the rankings, but before rwc 07 France were ranked 3rd and us 5th.

Glad someone picked up that I was referring to the RWC and not the 6N :D

I always thought Ireland was ranked 3rd in the world going into the 07 RWC. I would have bet the house on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,482 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Paul K*mmage
    MK thinks Conway mightn't make it and Ferg will be on the bench.

Just thought I'd share that little nugget. ;)

Remote possibility Larmour gets the nod ahead of Ferg, but Ferg is named in his possible 23.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,214 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Conway with another ill timed injury in Ireland camp.
    He’s playing great stuff and is a loss.
    Mr Dependable Ferg would be a good replacement but I think Larmour should be given his wings in these circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Paul K*mmage
    prawnsambo wrote: »
    MK thinks Conway mightn't make it and Ferg will be on the bench.

Just thought I'd share that little nugget. ;)

Remote possibility Larmour gets the nod ahead of Ferg, but Ferg is named in his possible 23.
    Disaster! he is "noticeably slower" than conway.  :P
    Seriously though, France consistently have good u-20s, have 2 leagues of professional clubs and they are playing at home. No matter the mismanagement, lack of cohesion and management, I think it will be a one score game. I think it will be a slugfest.

An early mauled try will go a long way toward an ireland win, to dent the french confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,482 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Paul K*mmage
    Conway with another ill timed injury in Ireland camp.
    He’s playing great stuff and is a loss.
    Mr Dependable Ferg would be a good replacement but I think Larmour should be given his wings in these circumstances
    I think I'd be equal parts excited and frightened if it was Larmour on the bench. Not sure which I'd prefer tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,547 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Heard that the IRFU's plan to print the team-sheet for Saturday ran into a hitch when there was no toner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

swiwi_ wrote: »
    Heard that the IRFU's plan to print the team-sheet for Saturday ran into a hitch when there was no toner.

Heard they were cryan out for an express delivery of some replacement all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Heading for Paris on Friday and will be up in "Le Tribune Inter Nord" for it. Can't wait. Been going to the Paris fixture since March 2000 when BO'D got the three tries. Slim enough pickings in recent years, an awful one point defeat in the p1ssing rain two years ago....we travelled with optimism that time too.

Im probably as optimistic as I've ever been about this one but there's something about playing France in Paris and the history books show it's an über difficult place to grind out a result. I know they appear to be in disarray but you just never know with them.

Always a great weekend. Should be a cracker. Great city, great people. Safe travels to all making the journey

Aux armes....

Isabelle Ithurburu
    swiwi_ wrote: »

Excellent
    Heard they were cryan out for an express delivery of some replacement all right.

C C C C C Ombo BRRRREAKERR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Isabelle Ithurburu
    Well, Gerry Thornley has given us his "possible" team, in line with other predictions really.

R Kearney; K Earls, R Henshaw, B Aki, J Stockdale; J Sexton, C Murray; C Healy, R Best (capt), T Furlong; James Ryan, I Henderson; P O’Mahony, J van der Flier, CJ Stander.

Replacements: S Cronin, J McGrath, John Ryan, D Toner, D Leavy, K Marmion, J Carbery, F McFadden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Who's covering centre from the bench? Would it be Ferg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭andymx11

Synode wrote: »

McFadden to wing and Earls *shudder* to centre..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,009 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Paul K*mmage

Earls as centre cover? Stockdale hasn't played there for Ireland but has for Ulster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Isabelle Ithurburu

More likely Ferg to the wing and Earls into centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

garbanzo wrote: »
    Heading for Paris on Friday and will be up in "Le Tribune Inter Nord" for it. Can't wait. Been going to the Paris fixture since March 2000 when BO'D got the three tries. Slim enough pickings in recent years, an awful one point defeat in the p1ssing rain two years ago....we travelled with optimism that time too.

Im probably as optimistic as I've ever been about this one but there's something about playing France in Paris and the history books show it's an über difficult place to grind out a result. I know they appear to be in disarray but you just never know with them.

Always a great weekend. Should be a cracker. Great city, great people. Safe travels to all making the journey

Aux armes....

Heading over myself ; first time for the French Fixture, hope its as good as your post promises !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Jack Kanoff

Isabelle Ithurburu
    Very likely Conway is out now, so Ferg most likely to get his spot on the bench...
    Think he's showing better form this season than quite a while, so no real worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,793 ✭✭✭visatorro

Very likely Conway is out now, so Ferg most likely to get his spot on the bench...
    Think he's showing better form this season than quite a while, so no real worries

Fair play to ferg, written off
    Several times. Took his chance when it came and back in Ireland 23. Would have been easy for him just wobble through the rest of the contract

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,651 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Glad someone picked up that I was referring to the RWC and not the 6N :D

I always thought Ireland was ranked 3rd in the world going into the 07 RWC. I would have bet the house on it.

They were ranked 3rd after the previous autumn internationals but it didn't last long. Think it was our highest ever ranking at the time so a lot was made of it.

I've managed to erase all traces of that RWC from my memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,214 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Forecast is for another rainy Paris fixture.
    I’d prefer Toner for scrum and obvious lineout advantage