Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Claregaafan18

Results from the respective Munster Post Primary Schools football competitions from a Clare point of view

Under 18.5 C Quarter-Final

Rice College Ennis 3-6 Carrigaline Community School 2-5

Under 16.5 A Quarter-Final

St Flannans College Ennis 6-11 Mercy Mounthawk 2-9

So a good day for Clare underage football. Rice College join Ennistymon CBS in the last 4 of the Munster PPS Under 18.5 C Football. While St Flannans will play the winners of Colaiste Chriost Ri of Cork or High School Clonmel in the U16.5 A Football semi-final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Schools football always seems to have one team giving the other team a hammering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Team anounced to face cavan tomorrow . Cavan seem to be in experiment mode so a huge chance for 2 points against a descent side who were barely relegated last year from division 1 they enjoyed a fine win over mayo in castlebar and a draw with Monahan and drawback vs Kerry at home . Tipp beat them by a narrow margin in the championship .

With no gearoid McKiernan or seanie Johnson this is a huge chance for us . McKiernan scored 2-20 in the league last year plus a further 1-08 in the championship from midfield hence his all star nomination

The full forward line for Clare looks interesting and for the first time in years without David tubridy they have big shoes to fill . Cillian Brennan steps into the full back line for his competitive debut at this level

1. Killian Roche (Cooraclare),
    2 Ciaran Russell (Eire Og),
    3. Cillian Brennan (Clondegad),
    6 Gordon Kelly (Miltown),
    5. Seán Collins (Cratloe),
    6. Pearse lillis cooraclare
    7Jamie Malone (Corofin),
    9 Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen),
    9 Gary Brennan (Clondegad),
    10 Keelan Sexton Kilmurry-Ibrickane),
    11 Alan Sweeney (St Breckans ),
    13 Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown),
    13 Eibhin Courtney (Eire og ),
    14 Gearoid O'Brien (Kilrush),
    15 Connor finnucane (lissycasey),

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭letowski

Clare team v Tipp:

Touhy
    Browne - Cleary - Poc
    Morey - Dmac - Fitz
    Galvin -Kelly
    Malone - Conlon - Reidy
    SOD - P. Duggan - CMcG

Strong team, pretty close to full strength. I think to be fair the management want to target this one, get off to a winning start at home. You lose this things get tricky. Would like more experimentation but i think that will come later hopefully. Looking forward to Duggan bring his form and talent through a this level. Hopefully we see Deasy too at some stage too and Cleary goes well at the edge of the square. One thing, the half back line is very 'offensive', its important they sit deep and protect their full back line first, and only make their runs forward when its on.

letowski wrote: »
    Clare team v Tipp:

Touhy
    Browne - Cleary - Poc
    Morey - Dmac - Fitz
    Galvin -Kelly
    Malone - Conlon - Reidy
    SOD - P. Duggan - CMcG

Strong team, pretty close to full strength. I think to be fair the management want to target this one, get off to a winning start at home. You lose this things get tricky. Would like more experimentation but i think that will come later hopefully. Looking forward to Duggan bring his form and talent through a this level. Hopefully we see Deasy too at some stage too and Cleary goes well at the edge of the square. One thing, the half back line is very 'offensive', its important they sit deep and protect their full back line first, and only make their runs forward when its on.

No Podge Collins. His form has really dipped over the last 12 months. Very strong team though and clearly management are putting a lot of effort into performing well in league.

Team anounced to face cavan tomorrow . Cavan seem to be in experiment mode so a huge chance for 2 points against a descent side who were barely relegated last year from division 1 they enjoyed a fine win over mayo in castlebar and a draw with Monahan and drawback vs Kerry at home . Tipp beat them by a narrow margin in the championship .

With no gearoid McKiernan or seanie Johnson this is a huge chance for us . McKiernan scored 2-20 in the league last year plus a further 1-08 in the championship from midfield hence his all star nomination

The full forward line for Clare looks interesting and for the first time in years without David tubridy they have big shoes to fill . Cillian Brennan steps into the full back line for his competitive debut at this level

1. Killian Roche (Cooraclare),
    2 Ciaran Russell (Eire Og),
    3. Cillian Brennan (Clondegad),
    6 Gordon Kelly (Miltown),
    5. Seán Collins (Cratloe),
    6. Pearse lillis cooraclare
    7Jamie Malone (Corofin),
    9 Cathal O’Connor (Coolmeen),
    9 Gary Brennan (Clondegad),
    10 Keelan Sexton Kilmurry-Ibrickane),
    11 Alan Sweeney (St Breckans ),
    13 Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown),
    13 Eibhin Courtney (Eire og ),
    14 Gearoid O'Brien (Kilrush),
    15 Connor finnucane (lissycasey),

Sean Collins not starting so Cian O'Dea takes his place. Collins injured along with Aaron Fitzgerald and David Tubridy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Crazy team selection from Clare considering this years new calender, still the 15/8 on Clare in Ennis is a gift from god!

danganabu wrote: »
    Crazy team selection from Clare considering this years new calender, still the 15/8 on Clare in Ennis is a gift from god!

Litterly wouldn't be surprised if Jack Browne is the only change from our starting championship team. Would be very cautious of picking a team like that at this time of the year considering the amount of games in the new calendar year. Maybe the management want to win a couple of games early on to be comfortable and then experiment later in the league. But 1A has always been so up and down in terms of form lines.

letowski wrote: »
    Litterly wouldn't be surprised if Jack Browne is the only change from our starting championship team.

Funnily enough he was the only one I am hoping will be there come championship :D

danganabu wrote: »

Tipp team named, just doubled my bet. 6 debutants and about another 6 out of position.

Very disappointing Clare display today I'm afraid. Firstly once again we failed to stop the Cavan runners from running hard at the Clare defense. We need to be more ruthless in those areas as this is becoming to be a huge area of concern. The short kick-outs mixed the good with the bad. The bad obviously the concession of Cavan 2nd goal. Kevin Hartnett's loss cannot be underestimated along with the retired goalie Joe Hayes. Big losses.

Gary Brennan got a black card during a melee. He was clearly seething with the decision.

Gearoid O'Brien, Conor Finnucane and Keelan Sexton showed good composure in attack. While in defense I though Cian O'Dea looked most promising. Other than that we played well below average with the likes of Eoin Cleary missing a few frees (David Tubridy another huge loss in the free-taking department). The subs bench is going to be a major area of concern once again. Where are the likes of Jack Morrissey and Cormac Murray?

A bitterly disappointing result for Clare then. Very much one point dropped rather than gained I'm afraid. Next stop Meath on Sunday week.

Very disappointing Clare display today I'm afraid. Firstly once again we failed to stop the Cavan runners from running hard at the Clare defense. We need to be more ruthless in those areas as this is becoming to be a huge area of concern. The short kick-outs mixed the good with the bad. The bad obviously the concession of Cavan 2nd goal. Kevin Hartnett's loss cannot be underestimated along with the retired goalie Joe Hayes. Big losses.

Gary Brennan got a black card during a melee. He was clearly seething with the decision.

Gearoid O'Brien, Conor Finnucane and Keelan Sexton showed good composure in attack. While in defense I though Cian O'Dea looked most promising. Other than that we played well below average with the likes of Eoin Cleary missing a few frees (David Tubridy another huge loss in the free-taking department). The subs bench is going to be a major area of concern once again. Where are the likes of Jack Morrissey and Cormac Murray?

A bitterly disappointing result for Clare then. Very much one point dropped rather than gained I'm afraid. Next stop Meath on Sunday week.

not sure is it as bad a result , we started with a new goal keeper new full back two new half forwards and two new corner forwards

everything was going to plan , we forced cavan to bring on there big guns early either before half time or at half time , the introduction of cian mackey was the turning point of the game , he scored 2 points set up the second goal and was involved in several scores in the last 17 minutes

a spell of dominance over 5 minutes from the 50 to the 55 minute where cavan scored 1-2 to 0-0 cut our 6 point lead down to one all helped by mackey and dara mcvitys influence

from our own point of view the new players played well , all making errors or showing lack of experience but recovering well, my main gripe was with sexton today who i taught was very poor on the ball and but for his late point his shooting was poor too by his own standard

cleary , cathal o connor and cian o dea were probably our best performers but cillian brennan playing out of position at full back did well for a lad starting out at this level , evan courtney baged a goal and two points along with good scores from gearoid obrien and conor finnucane ,

11 of the starting panel today were under 23 , gordan kelly is the only player over 30 and the players that came off the bench were all under the 24 bracket , there is tons of talent to work with on the panel ,today was a lesson i hope in which we can learn from fast but with so many key players missing or retired i taught today was a good effort bar the 5 minute period halfway through the second half where we lost brennan and conceded a goal and 2 points without reply , disappointing not to win the game but plenty of possitives

on the negative you are spot on , our half back line is letting through too much and probably too attacking lillis , malone both are very attacking while ciaran russell is out of possition at 6 kevin hartnet dean ryan and marty mcmahon were huge losses today

clare scorers

E Courtney 1-2
    E cleary 0-4
    G o'brien 0-2
    K Sexton 0-1
    C o'connor 0-1
    G Brennan 0-1
    C Finnucane 0-1

Really worried that Clare are to play Meath and Tipperary in their next 2 matches in the NFL and could be set for two hammerings. Tipperary were most impressive tonight and Meath are improving under McEntee so I fear the worst.

Great to see on a side note that Offaly are back being competitive again in hurling and scored 2-25 albeit against a Dublin team that are worse than they were under Cunningham. That's some low for the Dubs. I loved Offaly hurling when I was a child. Great that Kevin Martin is getting the absolute maximum from his players and them buying into what Martin is trying to instill to his troops.

Really worried that Clare are to play Meath and Tipperary in their next 2 matches in the NFL and could be set for two hammerings. Tipperary were most impressive tonight and Meath are improving under McEntee so I fear the worst.

Great to see on a side note that Offaly are back being competitive again in hurling and scored 2-25 albeit against a Dublin team that are worse than they were under Cunningham. That's some low for the Dubs. I loved Offaly hurling when I was a child. Great that Kevin Martin is getting the absolute maximum from his players and them buying into what Martin is trying to instill to his troops.

i think the hammering we got off meath was down to a number of things , i certainly dont think they are that much better then us , tipperary on the other hand are very impressive and have serious strength in depth , another menber of the mcgrath famaliy from loughmore has raised his head tonight step aside noel and john , liam looks like a serious prospect at the football , excellent hurler too

yeah offaly played well against kilkenny also 2 weeks ago , atleast there fitness levels resemble a intercounty team , they have the hurlers up there just not the structures plus the county board has done little to help , very interesting campaign 1B is going to be now by the looks of things

its been covered already but as said above its obvious the aim from the management is to avoid the relegation play/off like last year and go strong early , most of the training has been done at UL in limerick and mainly all hurling based , there hasnt been many flogging sessions like under the fitz era and the only reason i can think of is that management want to incress the sharpness in the players earlier then later this year

massive improvement needed on the game against limerick two weeks ago where 17 wides came back to haunt us like it did in cork in the all ireland 1/4 finals , i hope to see the likes of tott's o'connell mikey o'neill , mikey o'mally and niall deasy get runs out as all have been squad members fro some time and deserve plenty of game time for there efforts at this time of the year anyway

https://twitter.com/ClareSenHurlers/status/956968987736334337

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Slipperydodger

Why weren't the football and hurling league games made a doubleheader?

Clare v Cavan 2nd half coverage

Why weren't the football and hurling league games made a doubleheader?

No floodlights in cusack park . We would have had to play the first game at 12 o clock tomorrow for that to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,055 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

No floodlights in cusack park . We would have had to play the first game at 12 o clock tomorrow for that to happen

It amazes me all those local community GAA grounds around the country with floodlights and yet the County grounds have none. Its really time the like of Clare, Galway etc get their act together.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    It amazes me all those local community GAA grounds around the country with floodlights and yet the County grounds have none. Its really time the like of Clare, Galway etc get their act together.

Its an embarrassment that the county grounds cant match the rest of the county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Fann Linn wrote:

Great point - money going on board lunches / dinners

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

My understanding is that because of TV requirements that normal floodlights wouldn't be good enough and there's a need for a massive amount of light, thanks to the lack of space around Cusack Park I'd say there'd never be floodlights there, not to mention I wouldn't fancy a big crowd getting out of there in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Cracking win today. Hectic stuff for last 10 mins, but a very valuable 2 pts to start with.

A good win today for the Clare hurlers today.

Donal Tuohy mixed the good with the bad. In the 1st half, he tried to go short, when it was clearly not on and was gobbled up by Tipp. It costed us back to back points within 20 seconds in a 1st half period. In the second half though he was very commanding though and won a frees for us. I'll keep persisting with him.

The full back line were very solid and had good defensive structure. Jack Browne played well while Patrick O'Connor was solid as a rock. Conor Cleary was very solid also when tipp went long.

The half back line were also good. Seadna Morey put in a decent shift while David McInerney and David Fitzgerald also had their moments. From David Fitzgerald's point of view I think he should try and run more with the ball as he is only Clare player that can break away from the tackle in defense.

In midfield Tony Kelly was poor again. Colm Galvin did plenty of running and I think management made a mistake by taking off the Clonlara man instead of Kelly. Personally Kelly despite scoring 2 points (I think) needs a small break after quite litterly running himself to the ground for Ballyea in 2016-17.

The half forward line was the most impressive part of Clare today. David Reidy got 1-7. Cathal Malone chipped in with 4 points and John Conlon got a few scores also. Reidy was outstanding along with Malone and they were key to Clare's victory today.

Conor McGrath and Shane O'Donnell were very poor but to be fair the ball was not delivered to them fast and quality of the ball to them was also poor. Peter Duggan missed a fair few frees.

Overall I am happy with the win. However some of our leading players i.e. Kelly, McGrath, O'Donnell and Collins to name but a few, are still not performing to the high standards of what they were in 2013. The hope is with these players is that with the improving weather in the coming months that they will have a spring in their steps once again come championship time in May. Next stop, Nowlan Park and Kilkenny next Sunday.

Cracking win today. Hectic stuff for last 10 mins, but a very valuable 2 pts to start with.

excellent 2nd half performance against such a stiff breeze, when tipp out scored us by 0-5 to 0-1 midway through the second i taught we were goosed

granted we were stronger then tipp as as far as line ups are concerned but with only 2 home games we need the points , kilkenny will be tough next week but if we can pick up another win there we will be away from the relegation threat which has haunted us for a few years now

on the game its self , delighted for duggen malone and reidy , 3 honest lads that put in another excellent shift today , would like to see the management be quicker in taking kelly off wen he is having bad days , he was poor at times today and with jason mccarthy or deasy on the bench we should have made changes earlier , kelly did redeem himself slightly late in the game but not one of his better outings

the half back line that started today should be our starting 3 for the championship while cleary and jack browne did enough to keep themselves in contention at the back , browne is only warming a place for oisin o'brien in my opinion

but it was the performances of reidy duggen and malone that impressed me today while galvin john conlon and senda morey did well also

management need to be quicker in making changes though , granted they made one change at half time ,but deasy and gudgy only got 5 or 6 minutes , we know what the bigger names can offer we need to be given the fringe players more time off the bench

thankfully the wides tally dropped from the limerick game two weeks ago , 10 in total 7 of which with the wind before half time , but 1-21 scored 1-13 of which from play can only sum up a good day at the office

David Reidy 1-08, 6f
    Cathal Malone 0-04,
    Peter Duggan 0-04 2f,
    Tony Kelly 0-02,
    John Conlon 0-02,
    Colm Galvin 0-01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Townie212

not sure is it as bad a result , we started with a new goal keeper new full back two new half forwards and two new corner forwards

everything was going to plan , we forced cavan to bring on there big guns early either before half time or at half time , the introduction of cian mackey was the turning point of the game , he scored 2 points set up the second goal and was involved in several scores in the last 17 minutes

a spell of dominance over 5 minutes from the 50 to the 55 minute where cavan scored 1-2 to 0-0 cut our 6 point lead down to one all helped by mackey and dara mcvitys influence

from our own point of view the new players played well , all making errors or showing lack of experience but recovering well, my main gripe was with sexton today who i taught was very poor on the ball and but for his late point his shooting was poor too by his own standard

cleary , cathal o connor and cian o dea were probably our best performers but cillian brennan playing out of position at full back did well for a lad starting out at this level , evan courtney baged a goal and two points along with good scores from gearoid obrien and conor finnucane ,

11 of the starting panel today were under 23 , gordan kelly is the only player over 30 and the players that came off the bench were all under the 24 bracket , there is tons of talent to work with on the panel ,today was a lesson i hope in which we can learn from fast but with so many key players missing or retired i taught today was a good effort bar the 5 minute period halfway through the second half where we lost brennan and conceded a goal and 2 points without reply , disappointing not to win the game but plenty of possitives

on the negative you are spot on , our half back line is letting through too much and probably too attacking lillis , malone both are very attacking while ciaran russell is out of possition at 6 kevin hartnet dean ryan and marty mcmahon were huge losses today

clare scorers

E Courtney 1-2
    E cleary 0-4
    G o'brien 0-2
    K Sexton 0-1
    C o'connor 0-1
    G Brennan 0-1
    C Finnucane 0-1

I’d love to know what game you were at because it wasn’t the one I was at, Cleary was poor needs to learn to pass the ball, Sexton had a poor wide but other than that showed well and kicked 2 good scores and made the goal also.
    Cathal O Connor would get the nod from me as our best player on the day.
    Your scorers account is also wrong Courtney scored one goal and both Conor Finucane and Keelan Sexton scored two points each
    We need a new no 1 and 3 (while hartnett is out) If we have any hope. Marty MC is not supposed to be returning.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Good win for the hurlers today, to me it looked like Clare's first team against half of Tipp's first, this year will have a lot of team management and I'd say whichever team manages their workload the best will prevail, between now and the 17th of June we'll be playing Tipp, Cork & Waterford twice as well as Wexford and Kilkenny, that roughly a game against top class opposition every 2 weeks, throw in the possibility of a league playoff game that's 9 top class games, the same players can't play every week so there will be a lot of rotation, once we can stay up in 1A that's the important thing.

From today's game I think Kelly and O'Donnell are living off reputations at this stage, I don't know what role Kelly is trying/supposed to be playing and O'Donnell seems more interested in fouling while trying to make that he's being fouled. I was also disappointed with McGrath today, I though Podge really helped when he came on.

Yesterdays game was a case of a dropped point, I can't see us staying up unfortunately and with Brennan (who had a poor game I thought) on a black card already in the season he's going to be missing a game at some stage

Clare v Tipperary Hurling Highlights - Buff Egan

Townie212 wrote: »
    I’d love to know what game you were at because it wasn’t the one I was at, Cleary was poor needs to learn to pass the ball, Sexton had a poor wide but other than that showed well and kicked 2 good scores and made the goal also.
    Cathal O Connor would get the nod from me as our best player on the day.
    Your scorers account is also wrong Courtney scored one goal and both Conor Finucane and Keelan Sexton scored two points each
    We need a new no 1 and 3 (while hartnett is out) If we have any hope. Marty MC is not supposed to be returning.

Nonsense . Sexton is played nowhere near his best he might have shown for ball but he didn't have a good game by his standard

Cleary is wasted on the 40 and a far better inside forward but he got on loads of ball and launched several attacks especially in the second half

The entire full back line are all playing out of possition because our original full back line is unavailable . While that was killian Roche's first game at senior level is he not entitled to make a mistake . Good knows how many joe hayes made in his time in goal from kick outs

I have no idea where you are going to get all these players from as these are the only players making themselves available for the county

I don't blame any of the younger lads makeing debuts and a few mistakes I blame the older guys or more experienced players for not doing enough yesterday

Was away this afternoon, just watched the full game on the TG4 player.

Just looking through the comments, one thing for me I disagree on was Shane O'Donnell's performance. I thought he played a key part to our win, and while he didn't score, he laid off numerous passes to scores. Ones off the top of my head Malone's first point and the first score of the second half, and he laid off passes for the last two scores also, one to Reidy and another one to Ian Galvin who was fouled. Thought he was out in front off Donagh Maher all day, yes SOD needs to bring more of a scoring return himself but he played well for me.

Touhy was solid in goal, two puckouts went straight back over his head, but definitely Kelly should have caught one of those puckouts.

In the backs the full back line were solid also, but Tipp didn't start J. McGrath, Callinan and Bubbles, so bigger tests lie ahead. Happy enough though, I think if Cleary can hold full back, along with POC with OOB back fit, hopefully we can be solid here in the summer. I actually liked that Davy Mc was set commited in holding the center in front of them, and gave them good protection. I have been a big advocate of that role on these boards, its been used so often in recent past AI winners with the likes of Brian Hogan, Conor Mahony, and more recently Ronan Maher and Gearoid McInerney. Ok Noel McGrath got 4 from play, that's a communication and awareness issue between Davy Mc and the midfielders, but overall for me we got more benefit as we held our structure at the back, didn't let Tipp get runners through the center and gave away no goal chances. One thing for sure is discipline needs to be improved. Fitz played excellent, he is a very good all round hurler.

Midfield was not so good. Kelly is very rusty for sure, and while Galvin had some good play, we need him more influential. There's question marks from last year about pairing the two because they aren't going to win much balls in the trenches or in the air. In attack, obviously both are brilliant.

Up front, I mention SOD above. Thought CMcG was out of it and the management need to look at the VT and come up how best to get good and regular ball into him. Reidy was very good, worked hard and scored 1-3 fp. One has to think he is an important starter because he is the best guy we have at taking on his man and carrying the ball forward. He always makes a good contribution. Malone, Conlon and Duggan all worked hard, great to see improvements in Malone's shooting. I think the management though should try lining them up different the next day. I think Conlon is more effective at 14 while I would have Duggan on the wing like CQ, as his aerial ability can be utilized more. He can be very dangerous on the edge of the square also.

Good to get the result but I wouldnt be too excited given the Tipp team selected. To be fair with 2 home games the management were right to target this one. Loads of room to improve over the spring.