What exactly is Corks problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

Gatts is universal....I went last night...I'm in the horrors sham

Ah stop now boi, did ya get the gawks from it?

I heard the bois like solkin civics

(Yes solk,solked,solkin are words used around here,the “L” isn’t silent)

Do some people not realise that the only time the 'real capital' thing is actually ever said, is when there's a Dub around to wind up?!

Most Dubs get it, and have the craic.

Some don't it seems.

I love winding up the jackeens about that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Deer

Usually when I go to a party in Dublin and am introduced to a new person this whole Cork Dublin thing is brought up in a jokey but snide way about me thinking that Cork is the real capitol or that I am on enemy territory or some such nonsense.

I have to look at the person like they have two heads and tell them that no, we generally do not believe that we are the real capital or we don't actually hate Dublin people that it's all a myth. Which it is.

I don't know where people get that impression and its a little tiresome.

So speaking for a lot of Cork people, we really dont' give a **** about Dublin. It's not exactly on our minds. We have our own problems down here!

Here’s one or two sayings around here

And it all makes perfect sense to us.

Coola boola

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Id associate 'sssht' with Galway / Mayo

Great. Now I feel like a total rube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Limerick, now there's a city I love.

You can ram Cork, hate the kip and everyone thing and everyone in and from it.

Galvone is a fine place as is roxborough.

I’d live there myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Galvone is a fine place as is roxborough.

I’d live there myself.

Never in them, I'm a Dub :D

Lived in Kildonan Road for a while years ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Deer wrote: »
    Usually when I go to a party in Dublin and am introduced to a new person this whole Cork Dublin thing is brought up in a jokey but snide way about me thinking that Cork is the real capitol or that I am on enemy territory or some such nonsense.

I have to look at the person like they have two heads and tell them that no, we generally do not believe that we are the real capital or we don't actually hate Dublin people that it's all a myth.
    The only time I mention Cork being the real capital or talk about being in enemy territory IS at parties in Dublin... Accent thickens by a factor of 10 as well. Sorree bai!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Hold on,are you not a middle-aged man.This is the kind of rubbish a ten year old would spout.Btw,if you read the thread from the start the OP should not have been attacking Cork because the person in the Twitter link was from Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Ted Plain wrote: »
    I only recently discovered that Cork once had a tram network and the glorious Free State decided to scrap it.

As a Dubliner, if there is one thing that boils my ****ing piss is that a shower of useless wasters let our tram system fall into utter disrepair and then finally scrapped it.

If I were King of Ireland, I would dig up up every last arsehole who had a hand in the disembodiment of the Dublin tram network and declare them as enemies of the state and hang the ****ers posthumously.

If I were a Corkman feeling deprived of my tram I would - with justification - vent my hatred at the Dublin shower for having visited this deprivation upon my town.

Any hatred Cork people have or resentment i feel i have towards Dublin comes from the lack of investment in the county.We have the highest GDP in Ireland and our roards are in bits and public transport is non existant.not even a motorway joining us and Limerick ffs.Then we have to hear the Dubs complain about trivial things like whinging that their new council flower pots aren't pretty enough.It boils my piss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

smurgen wrote: »
    Any hatred Cork people have or resentment i feel i have towards Dublin comes from the lack of investment in the county.We have the highest GDP in Ireland and our roards are in bits and public transport is non existant.not even a motorway joining us and Limerick ffs.Then we have to hear the Dubs complain about trivial things like whinging that their new council flower pots aren't pretty enough.It boils my piss!

So what you're saying is we could get a good price for Cork on the market, sell it off and get some nicer flower pots for the Northsiders?

Not a bad idea! Kudos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Here watching the local U5 girls hurling training.
    The start warming up on dummies dressed in Tipperary jeresys- gentle pulling accross the neck and face etc.
    Then they change the dummies for Kilkenny ones- hurleys dropped, helmets off. Kids tear in biting and pulling, scratching and clawing. Arms ripped off pure carnage. Pure hate.

Dublin? These kids never heard of it. Dont flatter yourself Jackeen boi. We couldnt give a sh1t about the place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Dublin? These kids never heard of it. Dont flatter yourself Jackeen boi. We couldnt give a sh1t about the place!

Umh...

Photo taken on Tuesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Do people not realise that it's only a pisstake for most Cork people? There's a small minority who actually believe Cork is the best place on Earth. For the rest it's just a way of being positive about your hometown and community. Generally there's a great bond amongst Cork people, I think this sort of thing only strengthens it. It's just a bit of fun...

I love winding up the jackeens about that :pac:

The day the Union Flag was flown in the "Rebel" county was the day you lot gave up the right to say jackeen.

Queen+Elizabeth+II+Historic+Visit+Ireland+NCKroKa8nk7l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Omackeral wrote: »
    The day the Union Flag was flown in the "Rebel" county was the day you lot gave up the right to say jackeen.

Queen+Elizabeth+II+Historic+Visit+Ireland+NCKroKa8nk7l.jpg

The only rebel they had they shot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

mad muffin wrote: »
    Great. Now I feel like a total rube

I was watching those guys from Mallow who won the Olympic rowing, and they were talking about shhhhteak and shhhhpuds. So you were right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

I was watching those guys from Mallow who won the Olympic rowing, and they were talking about shhhhteak and shhhhpuds. So you were right

Mallow?

ford2600 wrote: »
    The only rebel they had they shot

How much of a hand did Dev and co. have in the assassination?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Mallow?

And they didn't win it unless Silver is the Real Gold :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

So what you're saying is we could get a good price for Cork on the market, sell it off and get some nicer flower pots for the Northsiders?

Not a bad idea! Kudos.

Ye'd have no one to pay the dole and the heroin use in dublin would plummet.win win for all!i'll sign up the legal documents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

They're from Skibbereen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Sonics2k wrote: »
    They're from Skibbereen.

Think you mean Skibb.

Not a bad idea! Kudos.

We like our hanging baskets around here actually :cool:

A relative had a 50c one stolen a few years ago :pac:

Sonics2k wrote: »
    They're from Skibbereen.

Cheers, I was too lazy to Google it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

JCX BXC wrote: »
    The worst I've seen is the Dublin airport takes all mentality. While not terrible on this Boards.ie, it's brutal and hilarious on Facebook!

I actually quite like Dublin airport. Am I the only one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I'm from Dublin and can't wait to get a few quid together for a gaff in West Cork. Nowhere beats it.

Thats a different county to Cork.