Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

whelan2 wrote: »
    Cleaned the in plate cooler today. Hateful job.

Have never cleaned ours, tis there with 20 years anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,775 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mooooo wrote: »
    Have never cleaned ours, tis there with 20 years anyway

It's about a year since I did mine. Was dirty enough

When we put in new parlour they opened it up as jar wasn't emptying and yer man said he was surprised how clean it was. It was my first time seeing it open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

have never opened it here either ,ambic filter will not leave anything thru it. great job.

leg wax wrote: »
    have never opened it here either ,ambic filter will not leave anything thru it. great job.
    It wasnt blocked, there was a build up on the plates

Calf no 2 and the first child of the season, 9 days early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Bull or heifer;)?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

do you wash with the filter sock in place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Whatcha mean first?
    How many more will there be?

Congrats btw.:p

do you wash with the filter sock in place
    no, but the hole wasnt blocked . It was dirt on the actual plates. The air line normally keeps the hole clear. Hopefully wont have this problem on new parlour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Whatcha mean first?
    How many more will there be?

Congrats btw.:p

Irish twins :pac:

Congratulations to yourself and Mrs Moo

Ah Lads, were ye ever asked if the cow had a boy or a child??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Anyone using any other system to heat water for a milking parlour other than electric, I have had no luck with electric heaters over the last few years. Was thinking about going with gas, anyone using it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

yewtree wrote: »
    Anyone using any other system to heat water for a milking parlour other than electric, I have had no luck with electric heaters over the last few years. Was thinking about going with gas, anyone using it?

Neighbour has gas and reckons it's the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,417 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Ah Lads, were ye ever asked if the cow had a boy or a child??

What did you serve the cows with?

Is this a Cork practice?

dolanbaker wrote: »
    A farmer was sitting in the neighborhood bar getting drunk. A man came in and asked the farmer,
    “Hey, why are you sitting here on this beautiful day, getting drunk?”
    The farmer shook his head and replied,
    “Some things you just can’t explain.”
    “So what happened that’s so horrible?” the man asked as he sat down next to the farmer.
    “Well,” the farmer said, “today I was sitting by my cow, milking her. Just as I got the bucket full, she lifted her left leg and kicked over the bucket.”
    “Okay,” said the man, “but that’s not so bad.” “Some things you just can’t explain,” the farmer replied. “So what happened then?” the man asked. The farmer said, “I took her left leg and tied it to the post on the left.”
    “And then?”
    “Well, I sat back down and continued to milk her. Just as I got the bucket full, she took her right leg and kicked over the bucket.”
    The man laughed and said, “Again?” The farmer replied, “Some things you just can’t explain.” “So, what did you do then?” the man asked.
    “I took her right leg this time and tied it to the post on the right.”
    “And then?”
    “Well, I sat back down and began milking her again. Just as I got the bucket full, the stupid cow knocked over the bucket with her tail.”
    “Hmmm,” the man said and nodded his head. “Some things you just can’t explain,” the farmer said.
    “So, what did you do?” the man asked.
    “Well,” the farmer said, “I didn’t have any more rope, so I took off my belt and tied her tail to the rafter. In that moment, my pants fell down and my wife walked in… Some things you just can’t explain.”

Is this a Cork practice?

Maybe it's just my crowd are strange. To clarify heifer calf, no baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Have it in a year now and it was money well spent, wish I'd installed it years ago. Was going through a few heaters due to water issues so made the switch. As much hot water as you want whenever you need it, any day of the year.

no, but the hole wasnt blocked . It was dirt on the actual plates. The air line normally keeps the hole clear. Hopefully wont have this problem on new parlour

Was warned to keep filter in place when put in my new plate cooler.
    Slip out filter after milking ,rinse off ,and put back in .
    Put new one in after first rinse cos I'll be finished washing down parlour and heading off.
    You'd be surprised what dirt is on after first rinse .

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    Have it in a year now and it was money well spent, wish I'd installed it years ago. Was going through a few heaters due to water issues so made the switch. As much hot water as you want whenever you need it, any day of the year.

Do you use gas cylinders or the big flogas tank?

Going to install one here also.
    Was it hard water causing problems with the electric heaters .
    Do you use a softener for heater .

Do you use gas cylinders or the big flogas tank?

Neither. A big Calor gas tank:) 1000L tank that remains property of Calor and has a gauge that can be monitored by Gas company remotely so they just top up when 75% is used. Lorry just showed up one day to top it up.

Going to install one here also.
    Was it hard water causing problems with the electric heaters .
    Do you use a softener for heater .

Low pH so yeah had to install a pH correction unit. Calor said they wouldn't stand over warranty on burners otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Neither. A big Calor gas tank:) 1000L tank that remains property of Calor and has a gauge that can be monitored by Gas company remotely so they just top up when 75% is used. Lorry just showed up one day to top it up.

Thanks for the info
    Has your system a cylinder for storing/heating the hot water or is does it operator like a combi boiler in a house?
    Also do you mind me asking a figure on installation? you can DM if you want I got a quote and from calor approved guy and it was over twice the price of a 300l electric heater

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭alps

How is it even remotely possible to educate farmers about health and safety when this is how our educational facilities carry on.....picture on the farmers journal of calves being put out go grass at Kildalton College....

And the Journal are no better....

Thanks for the info
    Has your system a cylinder for storing/heating the hot water or is does it operator like a combi boiler in a house?
    Also do you mind me asking a figure on installation? you can DM if you want I got a quote and from calor approved guy and it was over twice the price of a 300l electric heater

The burners heat the water instantly so no storage required. I put in 2 burners for 20 unit parlour which cost €1200 each+vat so total was about 3K and water treatment unit was about another €800. Free 1000L gas with purchase not sure if that offer is still there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Quick question, I have to upgrade transformer and underground cable to milking parlour. Can I claim the vat back??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Quick question, I have to upgrade transformer and underground cable to milking parlour. Can I claim the vat back??

Think so. Ours is in for an upgrade to. Waiting 2 months now

At a vet presentation tonight. If you get 2 positive tests for residues in a month, you will get a dept medications inspection. 2 milk positives, 2 meat positives or one of each.

First 3 friesians all fr4019, all 10 days early. Hardy little bucks drink like there is no 2moro anyway