Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The idiots behind sulky racing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

b.connors wrote: »
    I'll beat and mistreat my horse if I want, just like my father and his father before him has done. And I'll take your dogs if I feel like it.

Should we contact Pavee Point if you get banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

From a group of people who take so much and give back so little.

A Traveller Family were settled near my Mother in Laws a few years back and the "drama" never stopped till they moved out.

One example:

One day a "bare chested" man covered in blood chased a female with a Sword down the road.

Gardai turned up after a while, answer was "its a feud"..... mmmmm sooo thats ok then.

Anyone who defends them should try living with them, see how that works out for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

nullzero wrote: »
    What are you on about?

They are not in any way drastically different to the average Irish person in terms of ethnicity. They are a social or cultural group, not an ethnic group. They are Irish people, not a outlying ethnic group of any type at all,

Err, ethnicity refers to culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭turbbo

I've heard a story where a garda at a insurance/tax road checkpoint asked a traveller if he realised "he was breaking the law by not having insurance or tax" his reply was "Thems are your laws, not ours" guess he was telling it like it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭piplip87

Awaiting Pavee Point to issue a statement condemning racing on main roads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    You really reckon they have licences?

I'd be doubtful, but I'm not going to make assumptions.

Lack of a license, tax or insurance are breaches of the law, with their own punishments. Ethnicity shouldn't be a factor in enforcement of those laws.

I'll happily slate the slack-jawed yokels that created this situation. But I'll await the legal outcome before criticising the state's reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

piplip87 wrote: »
    Awaiting Pavee Point to issue a statement condemning racing on main roads

You’ll have a long wait. They’ll probably come out and say that cars shouldn’t be using the roads. It’s not in their interest to say anything negative about their clients, too much funding at stake. Same goes for solicitors who provide free legal aid to them, that us taxpayers fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Wheety wrote: »
    Maybe dangerous driving seeing as they had 2 banks of vehicles driving in a V formation taking up the whole road? That's why the pregnant woman had to take evasive action.

Good point.
    The question then arises what kind of appetite is there within AGS to prosecute road offences against this cohort of people?
    I don't have the answer, I am just raising the thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

b.connors wrote: »
    The rules of the road and the laws of the land don't apply to us, boss. Thought that was obvious at this stage?

I have to say, fair play on the reading and writing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,430 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

This lethal behaviour needs special legislation within the Road Traffic Act.

It needn't specify illegal cart racing (the term sulky racing is bandied about as some kind of "traditional so its alright" term, whereas its just criminal behaviour, so I wont use it), but it should include boy-racer gatherings too(donuts, drag races, processions etc)

The simple solution to both is to legislate to extend the remit of the mobile armed Garda patrols of Operation Thor, and on encountering or being tasked to an illegal race or road activity of any kind, their senior officer on the day should be able to direct the impounding and destruction of all kit on the spot. Whether its race carts, vehicles running interference for them, modified cars, or indeed the poor brute horses forced to pull the carts, the whole lot should be destroyed on site by a vet or mobile crusher truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭Infini

You know I wonder, they gloat and laugh at forcing cars into accidents but would we be all laughing if their opponent was a multiton truck that plowed into these wasters instead and removed their stupidy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Infini wrote: »
    You know I wonder, they gloat and laugh at forcing cars into accidents but would we be all laughing if their opponent was a multiton truck that plowed into these wasters instead and removed their stupidy?
    I wouldn't gloat, but I'd feel little to no sympathy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,852 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Know fellows involved in sulky racing (they own stables for point to point horses). It's far from unique to travellers, indeed they admit travellers treat their horses a lot better than others simply because they are such a good source of income for them.

The idea that sulky racing should be banned is silly stuff. But obviously road traffic laws should be enforced.

Should be banned on public roads though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,741 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'd be a bit meh about it really

Know fellows involved in sulky racing (they own stables for point to point horses). It's far from unique to travellers, indeed they admit travellers treat their horses a lot better than others simply because they are such a good source of income for them.

The idea that sulky racing should be banned is silly stuff. But obviously road traffic laws should be enforced.

Here's a picture of a well treated horse from a traveller sulky race.

3jX.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Everyone wants to say what they really think of these "people" but we all know we'd be banned if we told it like it was.
    We have found a use for RPG's! If we throw an RPG at every one of them, as least one of them will play it... :pac:
    Wheety wrote: »
    Who was doing this?
    The usual traveller apologists will be along shortly.
    Would you agree that sulky racing should be banned from all public roads?
    I'd run over with buckets of petrol to help put out the fire...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

Good point.
    The question then arises what kind of appetite is there within AGS to prosecute road offences against this cohort of people?
    I don't have the answer, I am just raising the thought.

Probably none, their name would get out as the arresting officer....the whole "defense" would rest on finding that piece of info...and then just find his/her house and either intimidation or flat out assault/murder for daring to impose laws on them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Vermin the lot of them.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    ......their senior officer on the day should be able to direct the impounding and destruction of all kit on the spot. Whether its race carts, vehicles running interference for them, modified cars, or indeed the poor brute horses forced to pull the carts, the whole lot should be destroyed on site by a vet or mobile crusher truck.

I was with ya right up to the point you suggested putting the poor horses down, I think perhaps rehoming them might be a better and somewhat less drastic solution no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

A far far worse problem on roads around here than travellers will ever be. Blocking roads while they do their doughnuts and diffing.

Why are you seemingly going out of your way to defend this behaviour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,309 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Sulky races should be completely banned from all roads. If people want to race them, do so in a field or on a track, you know like most other sports, like horse racing, greyhound racing, car racing.

The roads are there for transportation. If they want to race on the roads, do what everyone else has to do. Apply for permission and have the appropriate safeguards, insurance and medical standby like everyone else.

This is not about them v us. It is about mutual respect and them having to go by the same rules and laws as everyone else.

Lastly, what about the horses in this? The ISPCA have called for a total ban on this sport, and its hard to disagree with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Klinkhammer

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Why are you seemingly going out of your way to defend this behaviour?

Not everyone hates travellers. I grew up between 2 halting sites in South Dublin and I've had far more positive experiences with them than negative. It might be different out the country but I've never had a serious issue.

That's rally drivers and petrolheads for you.

A far far worse problem on roads around here than travellers will ever be. Blocking roads while they do their doughnuts and diffing.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Attempted deflection.

This has absolutely nothing to do with travellers racing sulkies dangerously on a main road with other travellers driving dangerously and causing accidents.

By the way, the above statement also applies to non-travellers racing sulkies and behaving similarly.

Not everyone hates travellers. I grew up between 2 halting sites in South Dublin and I've had far more positive experiences with them than negative. It might be different out the country but I've never had a serious issue.

I've never ever had a positive experience with them. They are responsible for most of the problems/crime where I live even though they are probably less than 1% of the local population.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

How in gods name can someone defend their actions!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Interesting phrasing, nicely avoided condemning them...

road traffic laws should be obeyed by citizens, particularly the ones about dangerous driving, and consideration for other users, alonf with not engaging in reckless endangerment etc.
    The onus is on citizen to abide by the law, not on AGS to catch transgressors.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^

By the way, the above statement also applies to non-travellers racing sulkies and behaving similarly.

That just doesn't seem to happen quite so regularly though does it?

Would nearly make it easier if it did cause it'd make a ban more likely, if everybody is doing it the 'racist card' can't get played.....

wexie wrote: »
    That just doesn't seem to happen quite so regularly though does it?

Would nearly make it easier if it did cause it'd make a ban more likely, if everybody is doing it the 'racist card' can't get played.....

I have had two bans already and have a permanent ban hanging over my head if I go overboard telling the truth according to my observations criticising travellers so I decided it was an appropriate sentence to write.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

had the pleasure one sunday morning of driving up carnmore road near galway airport about 11am, 'whats that yoke up ahead' i says to myself .. could not believe what i was seeing .. both lanes had lads in cars and jeeps in a line across,lads standing in pickups,lads with cameras hanging from every window.. all moving towards me,no hazard lights, no notice to slow down ..nothing.. all i could do was stop in my lane whilst they jeered at me for not pulling into the verge out of their way.. two sulkys racing.. more lads in vans and cars behind them .

the sheer fcking nerve of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

You don't have to dislike travellers to not make excuses for dangerous, antisocial behaviour. There is clearly problems in their culture - this is not a racist statement, it is objective fact backed up by prisoner ratios, crime statistics, educational attainment (including basic literacy skills), teen pregnancy and suicide rates compared to the rest of the population. Pavee Point would point to "structural racism" as the cause of this, but nobody really believes that this is the sort of one-sided, "travellers are blameless" thing that they make it out to be - something is seriously wrong here and only the foolish or the blinkered cannot see this, and it does neither them nor society any favors to allow what is currently going on to continue and allow them to essentially be a law unto themselves. Laws and societal expectations need to apply to everyone in that society or they mean nothing.

Ironically, by making excuses for them the implication is that they are somehow incapable of behaving in a safe, respectful manner like everyone else is expected to, and that accommodations must be made for it as a result - which is incredibly insulting to their intelligence.

The people complaining about it on the other hand assert that they are absolutely capable of behaving in an acceptable manner, and that this should be expected of them in the same way as it is for everyone else. WE are the ones validating their intelligence and abilities and expecting better, the apologists are them ones patronizing them and have resigned themselves to the idea that the status quo is the way it has to be.