Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The idiots behind sulky racing

• 23-01-2018 11:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

Just read the below article in the independent. These people really are sub human, they lack intelligence, compassion, empathy and just basic common sense.

Sulky racing is bad enough without the added obstruction of cars/white vans "protecting the race".

I hope this woman and her unborn child are ok and for the the cretins involved in the race, well I can't really say what I'd like to see happen them.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/pregnant-driver-forced-off-road-in-crash-caused-by-sulky-race-36519831.html

I wonder will any arrests be made.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Careful now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Are we all racists now Father?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,848 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Z8O50iw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The shocked motorists were left even more distressed when the procession of cars returned to the scene, recording the damage they had caused on mobile phones and jeering at the scene of the accident.
    How not to stay friends with the main population..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Are we all racists now Father?

anything to say about sulky racing on public roads?

lawred2 wrote: »
    anything to say about sulky racing on public roads?

Nothing that hasn't been said already?

What about yourself???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It's their culture, their fathers father and his father before him raced sulkys on motorways and chased them in Landcruisers and Hiaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

is culture their It .

Rearrange as needed.

Nothing that hasn't been said already?

What about yourself???

It wouldn't be for me.

biko wrote: »
    How not to stay friends with the main population..

How to be a scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Boy (12) killed when thrown under truck in sulky car accident.

Sorry, but ballcocks to it being their or anyone's culture, they are dangerous and should not be on a public road.

lawred2 wrote: »
    It wouldn't be for me.

It's not for you. It's for 'them'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Everyone wants to say what they really think of these "people" but we all know we'd be banned if we told it like it was.

K.Flyer wrote: »

Sorry, but ballcocks to it being their or anyone's culture, they are dangerous and should not be on a public road.

Nobody's seriously saying that. We just can't say much more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭Wheety

Yup, it's their culture. Nothing we can do about it. You'd be sued for even trying to stop it. Ethnic minority don't ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭wildlifeboy

knackers being knackers shock horrror

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Grahamer666

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Everyone wants to say what they really think of these "people" but we all know we'd be banned if we told it like it was.

Exactly. Disgraceful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

If you think a pregnant woman’s safety is more important than the rights of a community to be cruel to defenseless animals then you are a racist.
    Welcome to modern Ireland .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I'd encourage anyone that is genuinely concerned to send off a mail to the relevant ministers in this area. Absolutely crazy that we have this kind of activity in 2018

shane.ross@oireachtas.ie - Transport
    charles.flanagan@oir.ie - Justice

Apparently they were jeering the accident afterwards. Arseholes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Selfish bast*rds. Scumbag behaviour.

I know if you or me raced a sulky up a main road we'd be arrested (and rightly so).

Yet for some it is allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

They came back to jeer a pregnant lady in a car crash?

Lower than snake ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

The people giving out about the people giving out about sulky racers have most likely never had to deal with these apes on a daily basis outside of photo opps or placard waving outside Lenister house.
    If they like them so much, have them race up and down their roads outside their houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Selfish bast*rds. Scumbag behaviour.
    What pavee point are you trying to make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Gardaí attended the scene but it is not clear what action was taken.

I think we annknow what action was taken...NONE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

Sulky racing is deserving of attention from the state. But the real danger and damage was caused by the motor procession around it. Those guys were purposely running traffic off the road, with no concern for anybody else's safety. They should lose their licenses for good, and see the inside of a cell. Ethnic background has nothing to do with it.

I'll be interested to see whether or not there are court cases arising from this, and what the outcome is. But I won't be surprised if the state just shrugs its shoulders and says "what can we do?".

Talk to Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

animaal wrote: »
    Sulky racing is deserving of attention from the state. But the real danger and damage was caused by the motor procession around it. Those guys were purposely running traffic off the road, with no concern for anybody else's safety. They should lose their licenses for good, and see the inside of a cell. Ethnic background has nothing to do with it.

I'll be interested to see whether or not there are court cases arising from this, and what the outcome is. But I won't be surprised if the state just shrugs its shoulders and says "what can we do?".

You know what will happen, the car that rear ended the pregnant ladies car will end up paying out for any and all damages.

the van drivers and their spawn will continue to cause havoc and laugh at the videos they took.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

I'd encourage anyone that is genuinely concerned to send off a mail to the relevant ministers in this area. Absolutely crazy that we have this kind of activity in 2018

shane.ross@oireachtas.ie - Transport
    charles.flanagan@oir.ie - Justice

Thanks I'll be contacting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Somehow I don’t think taking their ”licences” off them will make much of a difference.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Talk to Joe.

I doubt Joe is likely to want a load of traveller bashing on the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭Wheety

They should lose their licenses for good, and see the inside of a cell.

I would be very surprised if they had licenses.
    seachto7 wrote: »
    The people giving out about the people giving out about sulky racers have most likely never had to deal with these apes on a daily basis outside of photo opps or placard waving outside Lenister house.
    If they like them so much, have them race up and down their roads outside their houses.
    Who was doing this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

I doubt Joe is likely to want a load of traveller bashing on the show?

You know what's just as bad as traveller bashing? Brushing dangerous criminal behaviour under the carpet just because the perpetrators are travellers. There's a happy medium somewhere in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hardly surprising.

They push the boundaries time after time and get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nobody's seriously saying that. We just can't say much more.

Plenty of people are saying that: anyone who indulges in this activity should be arrested and trie for public endangerment as well as any other crimes committed along the way regardless of their background or cultural beliefs - what more needs to be said, exactly? Or are you hinting at the unfairness of not boards.ie not allowing you to be bigoted?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

First Darwin Award of 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭phelant

Wrong, the assistant commission has advised that we take the sensible approach of lodging a complaint with the individuals in question while we are in the local markets trying to identify our property ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chrongen

Personally I would like to see the knobheads responsible for this prosecuted and punished for their reckless disregard for the law and other peoples' safety.

Do you have something more to add when you refer to these "people"? Why did you put people in quotation marks? Is there something ulterior in your post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    First Darwin Award of 2018

Harsh on an 11 year old,

And I'm not pro pikey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

"Inquest jury recommends introduction of laws to regulate sulky use after Dublin incident "

Ehm, 'ban' is the word you're looking for, not 'regulate'.

As if disorganised racing on a public road not closed for the purposes of a race with stewards, etc. is a normal thing... that's before we even look at animal welfare.

lol

as if they have licences

Hardly surprising.

They push the boundaries time after time and get away with it.

These folk don't have boundaries.
    They can do as they please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭irishproduce

To be fair to Gardai, there are no relevant laws to prosecute in this area.
    Sulky racing is not illegal. Guards would have to go after some other action of those involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

joecass123 wrote: »
    Harsh on an 11 year old,

And I'm not pro pikey

Sulky racing poses a danger a everyone who uses the road, drivers, pedestrian's, cyclists and the person on the sulky...Should be illegal

joecass123 wrote: »
    Harsh on an 11 year old,

And I'm not pro pikey

you think a 12 year old lad doesn't have a mind of his own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Remember its their culture we cant be telling them off for breaking the law now can we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Chrongen wrote: »

Personally I would like to see the knobheads responsible for this prosecuted and punished for their reckless disregard for the law and other peoples' safety.

Do you have something more to add when you refer to these "people"? Why did you put people in quotation marks? Is there something ulterior in your post?

You know exactly what he means!! You are trying to come off as a do-gooder here... every single person on this thread knows what type of sub human these " people" are. Tool robbing, conning the elderly , no regard for law whatsoever but let's just brush that all under the carpet cause it's their culture. Give over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭El Vino

I live in an area of England with plenty of Irish Travellers, many with horses, recently they moved onto a site I manage and we had the usual mess to clean up after they left. I have never seen them use sulkys on the public roads though, don't know if laws are different or attitudes of police. There must be some laws the Guards can use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭El Vino

I live in an area of England with plenty of Irish Travellers, many with horses, recently they moved onto a site I manage and we had the usual mess to clean up after they left. I have never seen them use sulkys on the public roads though, don't know if laws are different or attitudes of police. There must be some laws the Guards can use.