Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

elperello wrote: »
    This referendum is a very serious issue and I would urge everyone to pay as much attention as possible to The Sean O'Rourke Show and all other forms of media over the coming months.

Can't oblige you I'm afraid ... any mention of IONA & I'm out the door :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,999 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Debates are the problem, it just descends into shouting matches/etc. I'd be happier with standalone interviews with people from each side to calmly and rationally set out their viewpoints and allow people to make up their minds based on those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

They still seem to have a few ‘pound’ to drink in the middle of the day, in fairness.

10.30 am the drink aisle is busier than the freshly baked bread aisle.

However in fairness there's nothing quiet like a couple of cuts of G.I. bread smothered in butter, a pair of sausages from the Deli and washed down with a nice cool can of Dutch Gold....for breakfast, followed by tea and a Maple pecan trellis around midday to set you up for the day's drinking :-)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

elperello wrote: »
    This referendum is a very serious issue and I would urge everyone to pay as much attention as possible to The Sean O'Rourke Show and all other forms of media over the coming months.

Not a chance.

Shouty borefest with a repetition of the same entranched stances on both sides with a topic that gives little way to nuanced discussion.
    The abortion debate on the radio makes EU treaty referendums feel like a weekend in Alton Towers.

It's a discussion that makes for long, boring and noisy radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,127 ✭✭✭✭neris

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    10.30 am the drink aisle is busier than the freshly baked bread aisle.

However in fairness there's nothing quiet like a couple of cuts of G.I. bread smothered in butter, a pair of sausages from the Deli and washed down with a nice cool can of Dutch Gold....for breakfast, followed by tea a 2 litre bottle of linden village and a Maple pecan trellis baked beans on multi seed toasted loaf around midday to set you up for the rest of the day's drinking :-)

fyp :)

aw sweet jesus that cora sherlock one....... as Simon & Garfunkel said "thats the sound of silence".

22yuim.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

humberklog wrote: »
    Not a chance.

Shouty borefest with a repetition of the same entranched stances on both sides with a topic that gives little way to nuanced discussion.
    The abortion debate on the radio makes EU treaty referendums feel like a weekend in Alton Towers.

It's a discussion that makes for long, boring and noisy radio.

And it’s only starting Humber, start subscribing to podcasts, that’s my antidote.

Roisin Shorthall ill prepared for Richard Curran this morning ... he's a TOUGH & meticulous interviewer.

Callan57 wrote: »
    Roisin Shorthall ill prepared for Richard Curran this morning ... he's a TOUGH & meticulous interviewer.

the unthoughtout victimization of landlords continues

Fintan McNamara from the residential landlords association calling in now to challenge. Roisin is not there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Yeah, I always enjoy Richard when he's on. He's very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Yeah, I always enjoy Richard when he's on. He's very good.

Agree there, gets to the point without the waffle.

Bit monotone to support a two hour show.One hour I could take.

Has he a bit of baggage out in Montrose , was Noel Curran his bro, former top dog out there.

Excellent performer though.

A very English sounding Sinn Feinn senator, use the brits when it suits them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

This one on now talking about her anorexia has the most annoyingly insufferable voice ever.

She's doing the Los Angeles-by-way-of-D4 raised inflection at the end of every sentence and you can tell she absolutely loves talking about herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

lawlolawl wrote: »
    you can tell she absolutely loves talking about herself.

going on and on and on and on..........:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

This guy on about learning is great at stating the obvious - wonder does he get paid well for it?

BarryD2 wrote: »
    This guy on about learning is great at stating the obvious - wonder does he get paid well for it?

he works in UCD of course he does. These academics are great lads, they can tell us everything in life theyve researched is great but in reality and everyday life its not as easy as their papers

do you have to be miserable, grumpy and constantly negative to be in the people before profit socialist party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Brid Smith trying to claim that teachers are paying €3,000 PCM rent in Dublin.

A massive exaggeration that wasn't even commented on by the rest of the panel.

padd b1975 wrote: »

everything with that shower is negative and over exaggerated,

neris wrote: »
    everything with that shower is negative and over exaggerated,

That's the beauty of being permanently ensconced on the opposition benches, running with the hares and hunting with the hounds.

Although with them hovering around the 2% mark in the polls, we should see their representation significantly diminished next time out.
    It can't come soon enough for me.

we should see their representation significantly diminished next time out. It can't come soon enough for me.

makes 2 of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,659 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Well they are paying €3k pm
    Garda Ian Abbey revealed that the penthouse music teacher Daudet shared with his husband and occasional Airbnb guests was rented at €3,000 a month.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/welfare-fraud-case-3803113-Jan2018/

zell12 wrote: »
    Well they are paying €3k pm
    Garda Ian Abbey revealed that the penthouse music teacher Daudet shared with his husband and occasional Airbnb guests was rented at €3,000 a month.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/welfare-fraud-case-3803113-Jan2018/

Oh sorry, I didn't realise penthouses were the first port of call for recently graduated teachers.

Silly me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,659 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Oh sorry, I didn't realise penthouses were the first port of call for recently graduated teachers.
    Silly me.
    Indeed. You must aim higher, you deserve it!

do you have to be miserable, grumpy and constantly negative to be in the people before profit socialist party?

Seem so. That sort of constant negativity would suck the life out of you and do your head in. Best avoided.

No but you'll feel much more at home there if you are especially if you have perfected the "slapped arse" face :D

This is one of the other sides of the social housing story. Is it any wonder that LAs are eventually happy to sell on their properties to tenants, when some people treat social housing stock like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,357 ✭✭✭✭elperello

BarryD2 wrote: »
    This is one of the other sides of the social housing story. Is it any wonder that LAs are eventually happy to sell on their properties to tenants, when some people treat social housing stock like this.

Fake news.
    Local Authority using one guy's sad story to excuse their inadequacies.
    RTE journalism fail.