Shane McGowan on the Ray D'Arcy show

• 21-01-2018 12:03AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭

What's the point of wheeling somebody obviously deeply under the influence of some substance, barely capable of coherent speech, out on stage?

I've never said "it's a disgrace Joe" before, but it's an absolute disgrace Joe.

I also don't say it much, but I actually feel sorry for D'Arcy having to try to show something like his. They should have kept Mary O'Rourke on for longer when they realised the condition he's in. It's as bad as Ali's last fight.

The only logical explanation is that he's been used as an anti-drugs advertisement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I'd blame the green room, i bet he was fine entering the building.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I'd blame the green room, i bet he was fine entering the building.

It happened Oliver Reid more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

He had to numb the agony of a Ray D'arcy interview with something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I don't watch RTE anymore...it is tabloid TV station riddled with talentless well connected presenters....it is crass...

I find it hard to believe that in a country with a good spread of articulate, intelligent, funny people Tubridy and Darcy get to be our national (I say national in jest) television stations Primetime presenters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Jaysus I didn’t know where to look, car crash tv at its worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

A "barely coherent" Shane is still more interesting than Ray's typical coherent guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

A "barely coherent" Shane is still more interesting than Ray's typical coherent guest.

As a human wreck? Christ, I'd rather be put down than be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

They invited him on so they knew that's how he'd probably show up.

People were saying Shane done well to make 60, I think he looks closer to 80. It's sad that's how his life ended up and showing up to TV shows in that state down through the years is no laughing matter really.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I haven't seen it.

But it's not a secret that Shane is known to be fond of the gargle.

And yes in most of the interviews of him I've seen he hasn't been sober.

On a good day he's a songwriting genius and has contributed more to the human race than tubs has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The sad thing about it is I don't think the alcohol he consumed tonight played any part in how he appeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,401 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The interview was unbarebly awkward at times, well, almost all of the time, but, despite his obvious physical frailty and slowness of speech, what Shane had to say was far from incoherent - some of it was quite funny and his off the cuff remarks about death were, for me, genuinely affecting.

I thought oh no when they wheeled him on, but in the end I was glad to have watched it. And he was always two steps ahead of Ray throughout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I doubt he was under the influence of any drugs or drink tonight. He just takes an age to reply and to make semi coherent remarks.

He was sober enough when talking but it’s clear his brain has taken severe, severe punishment over the years and the consequences of that are sadly manifesting now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Haven't seen it, but I was under the impression (you're gonna shatter my belief OP) that Shane was off the gargle these days.

I would have put it down to him having a "wet brain" , but maybe he's back on it?

Still, feel sorry for the man. Song writing genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I enjoyed the awkward silences that Ray tried to fill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

He's nothing without Zig and Zag (Zuppy... and Dustin... Socky... Snotser)... They were all carrying him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭south

Haven't seen it, but I was under the impression (you're gonna shatter my belief OP) that Shane was off the gargle these days.

I would have put it down to him having a "wet brain" , but maybe he's back on it?

Off the spirits but still on the wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

me_irl wrote: »
    He's nothing without Zig and Zag (Zuppy... and Dustin... Socky... Snotser)... They were all carrying him.

Ah come on Shane has been off the LSD a long time, they were his mates in the 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

If Ozzy Osbourne can still function as some semblance of a human and he's had a lifetime of rock and roll drink and drugs, what must he have taken in his time to end up like that at his age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 Dj Tom

Legend so he is.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

He failed miserably at filling them too.

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

He failed miserably at filling them too.

Yeah, he'd have been better off just leaving it, SMcG's long pauses were kinda full of suspense because you weren't sure if he had suddenly started thinking 'where the fuck am I' but poor ol' Ray felt that he had to prompt him and/or complete his sentences.

Reminds me of a few years back at a house party when a guy who was off his head was telling a fairly interesting story that had got people's attention, he paused in the middle of it and kinda rolled his head back, then he looked around the room and said 'what the fuck are ye all looking at me for'? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

Yeah, he'd have been better off just leaving it, SMcG's long pauses were kinda full of suspense because you weren't sure if he had suddenly started thinking 'where the fuck am I' but poor ol' Ray felt that he had to prompt him and/or complete his sentences.

Reminds me of a few years back at a house party when a guy who was off his head was telling a fairly interesting story that had got people's attention, he paused in the middle of it and kinda rolled his head back, then he looked around the room and said 'what the fuck are ye all looking at me for'? :pac:

Been there :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I don't watch RTE anymore...it is tabloid TV station riddled with talentless well connected presenters....it is crass...

I find it hard to believe that in a country with a good spread of articulate, intelligent, funny people Tubridy and Darcy get to be our national (I say national in jest) television stations Primetime presenters...

The nepotism in RTE would make even the Healy-Raes sick. It's no secret. Fantastic independent stuff coming out atm, and TG4/RnaG are doing brilliant work too, but it's such a shame and incredibly frustrating that so much potential is being wasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Never rated the Pogues at all.
    I think we all may have had one friend among our pals who liked The Pogues!?
    Anyway I have never seen Shane do anything but a half hearted attempt at being happy to be interviewed or appear interested in peoples interest in him.
    Also I think Ray deserves a medal.
    ENOUGH SAID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

The nepotism in RTE would make even the Healy-Raes sick. It's no secret. Fantastic independent stuff coming out atm, and TG4/RnaG are doing brilliant work too, but it's such a shame and incredibly frustrating that so much potential is being wasted.

The Healy-Raes are democratically elected by the people of Kerry in the first place.

Who in RTE was democratically elected?

Bloated waste of taxpayer money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I don't get this attitude....the boards attitude to drug addicts is hang 'em high and i'm part of this rabble.
    this man is an alco and was a heavy user of heroin yet cause he wrote a few decent songs we celebrate him but nobody else in his situation gets such pass. few tunes be grand , me hole.
    He is a dire role model and one that shouldn't be feted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,351 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

So I take it there's no likelihood this interview is going to be on the RTE Player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭RichT

Here's 73 seconds of it........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,286 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

He was right about Bono's version of A Rainy night in Soho though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Shane MacGowan is a legend, he has written some of the greatest songs ever written and has been a massive influence to many artists, but he’s never been good in interviews. He’s always been quiet and shy, and thinks before he speaks. Before you judge him on last nights interview, Due to breaking his pelvis Shane is now in a wheel chair and heavily medicated. Add D’Arcys terrible questions to the mix, we get what we got. Shane didn’t have much to say, so he didn’t say it. But when he did speak, he was funny and quick witted.

If you wanna know what Shane really thinks... listen to his songs.