Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Brilliant, thanks.

Periscope didn't seem to want to work for me for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Thought the coverage of the Martin O Neil story last night got extremely tedious, they had about 5 guests on to talk about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Patww79 wrote: »

The Football Show with Nathan and Dan was absolutely ridiculous, I actually think Richard Dunne was delayed because it felt very much like they were filling time until he came on. (I had turned it off by the time he came on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

yeah they really over egged it last night, heard it at 7-7;45 and 9-9:30 and that pretty much all they discussed

I was in the car after 8.30 and I swear they said all they'd be talking about for the rest of the show was Martin O'Neill (semi jokingly referred to as the most important person in Ireland).

Thought there must be something real big going down. It's barely mentioned on any of the other football media I read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

threein99 wrote: »
    Thought the coverage of the Martin O Neil story last night got extremely tedious, they had about 5 guests on to talk about it

Mate of mine said exactly the same to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,954 ✭✭✭Raoul

Mate of mine said exactly the same to me.

It was absolutely ridiculous. Very slow news day. Had to skip it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭RugbyLover123

Jesus Off The Ball are going over the top on their coverage of things lately.
    First the Martin O'Neill saga, where as many have pointed out spent the guts of 2 hours discussing during one show. Now I see a tweet they have up asking should the FAI be embarrassed about the whole situation? Fair enough O'Neill was linked to the Stoke job but as far as I could see it was only really Off The Ball spreading it all over the press. Very little on SSN or anywhere else about it.
    Now they seemed to have moved on to the Munster player who was found guilty of using steroids. Fair enough I agree that the IRFU are contradicting themselves about the situation and I think it sends out the completely wrong message to young players and 2 years isn't enough of a ban. But, it seems OTB are determined to get the player kicked out of the country and to turn everyone against him. He's been the topic of conversation of the last 2 rugby shows and tonight they spent the first 10/15 mins discussing him before I had to turn it off.
    Usually I don't get people giving out about the presenters/content of OTB but these two subjects are just being extremely drawn out and over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Got the sense Keith Wood was getting fairly pissed off with Joe this evening.

He’s like a dog with a bone about this Groblar issue and it seems regardless of what Keith or anyone says, Joe is going to occupy the moral high ground and look down on all of us mere mortals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

He’s like a dog with a bone about this Groblar issue and it seems regardless of what Keith or anyone says, Joe is going to occupy the moral high ground and look down on all of us mere mortals.

That’s probably because Keith himself was most likely juiced up to the gills like the rest of his colleagues then and now in that sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

sightband wrote: »

That’s probably because Keith himself was most likely juiced up to the gills like the rest of his colleagues then and now in that sport

Yes woody with his incredible physique and energy levels while playing.

Jesus Off The Ball are going over the top on their coverage of things lately.
    First the Martin O'Neill saga, where as many have pointed out spent the guts of 2 hours discussing during one show. Now I see a tweet they have up asking should the FAI be embarrassed about the whole situation? Fair enough O'Neill was linked to the Stoke job but as far as I could see it was only really Off The Ball spreading it all over the press. Very little on SSN or anywhere else about it.
    Now they seemed to have moved on to the Munster player who was found guilty of using steroids. Fair enough I agree that the IRFU are contradicting themselves about the situation and I think it sends out the completely wrong message to young players and 2 years isn't enough of a ban. But, it seems OTB are determined to get the player kicked out of the country and to turn everyone against him. He's been the topic of conversation of the last 2 rugby shows and tonight they spent the first 10/15 mins discussing him before I had to turn it off.
    Usually I don't get people giving out about the presenters/content of OTB but these two subjects are just being extremely drawn out and over the top.

Thanks for posting this, saved me trying to articulate the point. It's just so hard to listen to these days. Just a permanent search for things to get all high and mighty about. It must have been 20 mins into the newsround before they mentioned the actual games of football that are on tonight.

The O'Neill stuff is remarkable. A fella looked at his employment options, but decided there was no need to change anything. It's barely even a story.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I think they spent so long on it today as they had comments from Munster and an interview with Peter Browne to work with.

sightband wrote: »

Maybe instead of preaching all the time they should look at actually investigating these things. Like how rugby players used to be human size, but somehow sped up evolution over the past 20 years to the point where they are way, way bigger than normal humans. Zero tolerance, and all that.

The Grobelar outrage looks to be a completely media made thing, you look at the retweets and engagement on twitter on the story...no one gives a flying fcuk.

The O’Neill thing was a story for sure but its not a story now. This nonsense about it damaging the management team or relationship and trust with fans or players....we don’t have a serious game for over a year and we haven’t a notion who we will be playing in that game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Dots1982 wrote: »
    The Grobelar outrage looks to be a completely media made thing, you look at the retweets and engagement on twitter on the story...no one gives a flying fcuk.

The O’Neill thing was a story for sure but its not a story now. This nonsense about it damaging the management team or relationship and trust with fans or players....we don’t have a serious game for over a year and we haven’t a notion who we will be playing in that game.
    Or maybe it's that the Irish media adapt a more lenient set of standards to the rugby goys than their soccer or gaa counterparts.

Irish media more lenient to rugby? What has caused you to think that given they are trying to blow up the Grobelar thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

Irish media more lenient to rugby? What has caused you to think that given they are trying to blow up the Grobelar thing.

Yes, that is so contradictory. Like in most sports, people just want to watch and enjoy. Some take it seriously and support their team with everything they've got, others are more casual but almost universally, I'm yet to meet somebody in the flesh who has been truly outraged in the manner of OTB and Today FM on such an issue like this Grobler one. Then they turn the gun on the fans who tell them to just shut up and enjoy the sport and acuse them of being ignorant Neanderthals. Grobler broke a rule that many others in rugby currently are, but got caught for it. He was then punished and is trying to make his way back in the game. He did not kill, rape or torture anybody but based on the reaction of the OTB ball bags and Kimmage, yours think he had. This is a shameful witch hunt and I wish the IRFU would stop dodging the issue and tell the truth: "We signed him because we needed him and we don't give a fcuk about his past because it's irrelevant".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Ger Gilroy interviewing the head of IRFU was sickening. "Why did you hire this cheat" with his morally outraged tone.

I'm guessing it's because he comes with a heavily reduced price tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Insufferable at this stage. They are supposed to be reporting the news, not making the news. Fake News comes to mind.

This is the thing.

If they get outraged and upset by everything, nothing is outrageous anymore and it all becomes tiring and worthless.

I tend to agree with where they stand on most things (not all, that Cork rebel flag thing was embarassing), but the story selection process seems to be: First, Is there something to get on our high horse about? Second, is there some sport being played?

I was trying to remember what the straw that broke the camel's back for me with them was.

It was on Monday's breakfast show. You know the way they insist on forcing brand OTB into every sports story on Newstalk? They reported on The Pool beating City. Possibly the best match of the season, City's amazing unbeaten run coming to an end, all players and managers behaving with dignity and sportsmanship towards each other, a stack of incredible goals.

How did they cover it? A couple of sentences on the match, an equal amount of time (or thereabouts) given over to Klopp using the f-word afterwards.

Absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

For lads who are always going on about mental health issues and social injustices, they really went to town on the Grobler lad. He done his time, u can argue until ur blue in the face whether it should be a life time ban or not, but the fact is he got 2 years, so perfectly entitled to play again and Munster were within their rights to hire him. U can't have a mandatory sentence for doping, each case differs. As Johnny Giles would say "take every game on it's merits" life time bans won't stop doping, just like the death penalty isn't a deterrent for murder. Yes the lads have to cover the story, but they're like hounds on a hunt.This lads career with Munster could be over before it starts. I'm not condoning doping, but it's very difficult to deal with, and what do u do with cheats after ban ends, second chance, redemption and all that.
    Hope the Munster supporters don't boo him at the weekend, as I've said he's done his time, and believe he deserves a second chance.
    Sports journalist love a juicy story, for me this is gone beyond doping and is more about sports hacks getting on the front page rather than the back page, they crave been taken serious by fellow current affairs hacks. Can u imagine been in the same building as a heavy hitter like Pat Kenny, watching him cover all the issues they secretly would love to do. This doping thing is partly about getting a slap on the back from colleagues, fighting the good fight and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Quintis

I just wonder what the end goal here is for the OTB team and media in generally, they have all said their peace, showed their indignation, what they want next, to ensure he doesn't play for Munster? Nobody piped up when was signed or got injured in a pre-season game, the sudden faux outrage seems extremely contrived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I doubt there has been much LOI talk of late but did the lads cover Waterford United signing a convicted gang rapist? Or are they letting that one slide?

They treat Gobbler like he committed war crimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

They need to rename the show Off The Cross as in "get down off the cross". It's become more of a preachy morality and equal rights show at this stage. Every discussion of any women's sport invariably breaks down to a discussion of how "downtrodden, underfunded, oppressed" women's sports are. Predictable, liberal bullsh1t.

I doubt there has been much LOI talk of late but did the lads cover Waterford United signing a convicted gang rapist? Or are they letting that one slide?

Remember how they kept going on and on and on about Martin O'Neill's "queer" remark weeks after he'd apologised. Even had Donal Óg in studio to talk about terrible it was. They weren't so quick to bring Donal Óg back on to explain why he had written a character reference for a sex offender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

They treat Gobbler like he committed war crimes

Is that true? If so, it is symptomatic of OTB's pomposity

Newstalk Breakfast going to be talking about the Munster Grobelar chap now in a few minutes. Cos we all want to know what Paul Williams thinks don't we.