Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Big Brother 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

MelanieC wrote: »
    Absolutely kittensmittens, I'm not a bit bothered by it personally. I suppose I'm just making a comment on the inconsistencies of the BB producers decisions really.

I def wasnt making a reply to anyone in specific Mel (havent got the mental capacity atm to be even the sighthest bit specific cos Im so tired but wired :o)

But its a bit mad to see what they we doing as anything other than to lads messing with drink (only one is gay and one is straight)

They are just LADS messing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭JenovaProject

I def wasnt making a reply to anyone in specific Mel (havent got the mental capacity atm to be even the sighthest bit specific cos Im so tired but wired :o)

But its a bit mad to see what they we doing as anything other than to lads messing with drink (only one is gay and one is straight)

They are just LADS messing

Agree....as long as both of them havent a problem then there is no problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

iamwhoiam wrote:
    No need to apologise at all . I wasn't at all offeneded but making a point that we are not all so . Maybe it's because I grew with my own kids attitudes and their openess

That's probably it you know. We have to remember Ann has no kids. Having children keeps one up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Still have 2 episodes to catch up on. Some bizarre gifs last night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

But just seeing it from bb's side, they seem to change the rules from housemate to housemate which is fundamentally wrong imo, it should surely be across the board.

I disagree with this. I think every situation should be looked at in context because every situation is different. In other situations one person may have felt intimidated or uncomfortable or victimised. I don't think this was the case here and I think it was very clear that it was playful messing around.

BB, if they want to be careful, should call Andrew into the DR and make sure he's ok about the whole thing, and then call Shane in and give him a mild talking to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Personally I found Ginuwiines comment to Ashley more icky . Mind you Ashley should have addressed it right there and then and not gone whinging like a 12 year old to others
    Wayne flashing his willy also made me uncomfortable if I am honest . Then no one asked to see his bits so why was he exposing himself ?
    Shane and Andrew were having a laugh and ok Shane shouldn't have done it but it was harmless craic in my opinion .
    I was more worried about the piling of pillows over his face to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I'm actually scared to post this........ Right, don't kill me but I'm getting kind of sick of Shortney.

I think it's because he/she has monopolised the show for the last few episodes. And if he doesn't get told off for his behaviour tonight, that's so not right. Remember when the guy from baywatch got straight kicked off coz he pulled on some girl's dressing gown or something?

Also, was reading the posts about Andrew & Daniel's comments that had put people off and when I think about it, Shortney has been just as crude but I think it's because he/she sounds so eloquent doing it, it's forgiven!

I miss the whole India "misgendering" drama, they're all too nice nicey now.

OK, I'm ready for the onslaught of shortney love. Am I going to be forced to resign from the clique? :-(

I haven't watched every night, but last night when Shortney started to explain/ give advice -I think it was to Ashley- I just thought, you know, you don't have to explain everything/ appear to have the answers for everyone. I think that evolved from him explaining stuff to the guys and now he feels he should be the oracle. And it is tiresome.

TL/DR I'm a bit sick of Shortney too. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

Hmmmm, methinks we have all been blinded by Shortney's beauty and have allowed it to cloud our judgement.

Don't get me wrong, I'm also a fan but taking a step back and looking objectively, I think we are willing to overlook talk and actions which we wouldn't in others simply because he/she is so beautiful, insightful and well spoken.

Hence the "oh, I'd hate for him to feel too bad about himself coz he's such a nice person" when it would be "what a perv, makes me sick" were it Daniel. Which is not right on reflection. The same actions should warrant the same response really.

Just playing devil's advocate here. Should go to bed really, I'll be seeing double in a minute!

Hmm I get what you're saying. When I step back and look at it objectively though I ginuwinely do think, like I said earlier, if andrew had done it to johnny or vice versa we wouldnt bat an eyelid, itd just be lads being lads. Being honest with myself if it were daniel to anybody I'd prob have an issue with it but that's because I hate him so I'm just a mad hypocrite when it comes to daniel.

I do think he should be told by bb "look we understand there was no malice in this case and we get that it's banter but it's overstepping boundaries" but not a big dramatic warning.

I do also think Courtney should go all "split" in the diary room and be like "that was (patricia) shane" :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Look they let Ellie away with sticking her fingers up the little fellas hole even though he didn't like it so they'll definitely let this one fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

It's kind of funny how at the beginning everyone was praising the intellectual conversations and overall manners of the house, and now a lot, including myself, are just waiting for a full kick-off.

I think the lack of proper trash TV celebrities has reduced those chances as while I can see some arguments don't know if we have anyone in there that will go full psycho. But that may change the longer theyre stuck there.

Was watching old ones online, mainly the fights, and while he's an absolute d***head Bear was comedy gold. Would love someone like that thrown into the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Adamocovic wrote: »
    It's kind of funny how at the beginning everyone was praising the intellectual conversations and overall manners of the house, and now a lot, including myself, are just waiting for a full kick-off.

I think the lack of proper trash TV celebrities has reduced those chances as while I can see some arguments don't know if we have anyone in there that will go full psycho. But that may change the longer theyre stuck there.

Was watching old ones online, mainly the fights, and while he's an absolute d***head Bear was comedy gold. Would love someone like that thrown into the mix.

Completely agree, apart from this thread, I watch it for trashy tv that its become to be. I can have classy conversations myself.

#kickoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭MelanieC

neonsofa wrote: »
    Hmm I get what you're saying. When I step back and look at it objectively though I ginuwinely do think, like I said earlier, if andrew had done it to johnny or vice versa we wouldnt bat an eyelid, itd just be lads being lads. Being honest with myself if it were daniel to anybody I'd prob have an issue with it but that's because I hate him so I'm just a mad hypocrite when it comes to daniel.

I do think he should be told by bb "look we understand there was no malice in this case and we get that it's banter but it's overstepping boundaries" but not a big dramatic warning.

I do also think Courtney should go all "split" in the diary room and be like "that was (patricia) shane" :pac:

Totally agree with this post. Like I said already, I'm not offended in the least by the incident and I don't think he should be kicked out or anything.

My point was that I, you, everyone here, the producers, the viewing public - we are all hypocrites like you said! We're OK with a lot more from Shortney than we would be with Daniel coz we lurve Shortney and (for the most part) dislike Daniel.

It's purely human nature of course but I was in pensive mood last night and was just musing on this! Our sensibilities are entirely dependent on how much we like someone.

By the way, I seem to have missed Ginuwine's comment to Ashley that upset her. What did he say?

Totally agree with this post. Like I said already, I'm not offended in the least by the incident and I don't think he should be kicked out or anything.

My point was that I, you, everyone here, the producers, the viewing public - we are all hypocrites like you said! We're OK with a lot more from Shortney than we would be with Daniel coz we lurve Shortney and (for the most part) dislike Daniel.

It's purely human nature of course but I was in pensive mood last night and was just musing on this! Our sensibilities are entirely dependent on how much we like someone.

Ah now im only hypocritical with Daniel!! Not when it comes to courtney. Like i said I'd have no problem with andrew and johnny doing it, and I don't have an opinion on either of them. So it's not down to my love for Courtney that makes me view it The way I do. The hypocricy for me only comes into it when i have an issue with daniel. But thats the opposite of what you're saying really, that people are blinkered by their Love and turn a blind eye to problems,whereas I see problems where there are none cause i hate daniel lol

By the way, I seem to have missed Ginuwine's comment to Ashley that upset her. What did he say?

Something about tonight is the night. And when she asked what he meant he pointed to her crotch area. I think. I just kinda zone out for their segments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Ah now im only hypocritical with Daniel!! Not when it comes to courtney. Like i said I'd have no problem with andrew and johnny doing it, and I don't have an opinion on either of them. So it's not down to my love for Courtney that makes me view it The way I do. The hypocricy for me only comes into it when i have an issue with daniel. But thats the opposite of what you're saying really, that people are blinkered by their Love and turn a blind eye to problems,whereas I see problems where there are none cause i hate daniel lol

#Justice4Daniel :P

2443C49C00000578-2887508-O_Reilly_who_appears_to_be_a_simpering_mess_after_his_appearance-a-34_1419594118646.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,918 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

It is a strange one . Yes we all like Shane/Courtney , he is very articulate , explains everything so eloquently , is fun .

But they should show more of the others in the house , not make it the SAC show , the same way a lot of the editing was focused on India getting defensive , they're doing the same with the two boys .

And if What happened with the boys last night had been with Ginuwine /Ashley , there would have been an uproar in the house .

Just show us more of JB , SL and the others please !

Something about tonight is the night. And when she asked what he meant he pointed to her crotch area. I think. I just kinda zone out for their segments.

You're right to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Whoa I'm far too tired to properly articulate my thoughts on this contentious issue but I'm going to give it a bash.

Big Brother most likely feel they have a duty of care to NOT be seen to normalize the behaviour between Shortney and Andy with regards to the pants pulling.

Like when Shauna (Savannah) and Gemma Lucy were brought into the DM and asked if they were okay and they both said 'yeah I'm grand/yeah I'm fine. It was only a bit of messing' That's fine in their cases but it normalizes this type of behaviour in a way that young lads watching are being insidiously shown that doing these things is fine and in general girls are grand with it and know that it's just a bit of craic.

So Johnny BBViewer might be out at Club M at the weekend and think it'd be a bit of fun to pull a girls top down and pretend to grab her boob. Then when she screams at him and her friends come over and start on him and this commotion brings a bouncer over and he gets bounced out, Johnny BBViewer and his mates think 'what's her problem? Gemma/Shauna/etc were okay with stuff like that. Yer wan must just be up herself/stuck up/a lesbian. PC gone bleedin mad, I was only having the craic.'

So BB probably want to be seen to tell people 'This is not an okay thing to do' despite the reality that they actually want drunken sexy antics and actively encourage it and provide limitless booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Annani

I do think they need to show more of the other housemates. Shane L is hardly ever featured and Amanda too apart the sponge bath scene.

Not sure why they didn’t show this on last nights episode :)

https://twitter.com/bbuk/status/952616569397329920

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

I agree that it came across as drunken lads messing and roughhousing. No malice or harm intended at all....But, I do think that it should be addressed. If it was Shane or any male housemate doing that to a woman, I think there would be at least a warning.
    Still <3 Shane though.

Oh, and #BringBackBarnsey :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭drugstore cowboy

Tuned out at half nine last night. Dull as dishwater this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Annani wrote: »
    I do think they need to show more of the other housemates. Shane L is hardly ever featured and Amanda too apart the sponge bath scene.

Not sure why they didn’t show this on last nights episode :)

https://twitter.com/bbuk/status/952616569397329920

" He made me do it ":D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

I think it was just drunken lads messing. That said, I can see if BB were to issue a warning because even though they are friends, it is still classified as the workplace and they do sign up to rules about this kinda thing. I honestly don't think there was any harm meant but I think BB has been cracking down on this kind of stuff, probably due to complaints to Ofcom.

Anyway, I hope there's less of fauxmances and bromances tonight and more Shane Lynch and John Barnes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Maybe Shane L and John just aren’t doing anything worth putting on the telly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I honestly wouldn't care if Daniel did it either. I can see harnless messing for what it is and that isn't clouded by whether or not I like the person! The only thing that would make me feel like the instigator was worthy of being reprimanded is if the other person felt uncomfortable or intimidated, or failing that- because a lot of the time people laugh along and pretend they're okay when they're not- if there was a genuine attempt to intimidate or overpower the other person I would feel BB should step in. There wasn't in this case, it was harmless rough housing and honest to god I'd feel the same if Daniel did it too. No need to throw the baby out with the bath water, and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

Maybe Shane L and John just aren’t doing anything worth putting on the telly?
    See, normally I'd agree with that but if you look on twitter or on youtube, you'll see clips of other people that never make it on to the show but are interesting. Like the one a few posts up. Also, the whole point of tasks is to show off the contestants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

In terms of Shane J getting a warning - I'm no saying that he should get a warning as we can all see it was just two mates messing around as did both of the boys however, big brother have given warnings in similar circumstances before I think.

They might even call them both in and say to Shane "we understand that it was two mate's messing around however, you did it without Andrew's consent if you do it again we will have no choice but to give you a formal warning"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

The Courtney/Andrew Ginu9/Ashley crap needs to be stopped asap though or the series will die a death. Painful to watch. I'd rather watch John and Shane sitting in the sauna for the full show rather than those 4 fvkcing idiots anymore.

Well that's just stupid. I don't particularly like either of them and their showmance makes me cringe but I presume he was joking/flirting. Bit rich her taking such offence when she was watching him undress and kissing the window the night before!