I used to be with it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Two little scrotes came up to me last week and said ‘mister have you got a light?’
    I proceeded to try tell them in a big brother friendly kinda way lads you’re too young to be smoking and I caught myself just as they did

Officially no longer with it. Probably happened ages ago and I didn’t even realise
    They called me mister ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Over on the beautiful women trend, i havent heard of half of them.

Some of them are referred to as instagrammers, which seems to be a euphemism for pointing your arse at yourself in the mirror, and taking a photo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,070 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’ve never bothered even trying to understand what “it” was, didn’t make me part of the popular crowd at school, but then i see some of those now that life has moved past them and they are fairly lost looking.
    I’m just plodding among living my own life not caring about “it” or any shiite like that.

People spend far too much time worrying about measuring their self worth against some social standard when they just need to get on and live their lives in a way that makes them happy themselves. Facebook has built a mega corporation on this one shallow fact of life.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Omackeral wrote: »
    How many did you stab?

I forget, was so mad ouvit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Local, personal level, when my younger brother told me "Spud got into the mont" like I should know what the **** he was on about. (Edit: His friend Patrick "Spud" Killehan got into the Claremont Hotel despite being underage.)

More generally, I dunno. Some point between when I gave up arguing with people why Marvel movies were shíte and Snapchat becoming a thing. Oh and seeing "Lol remember this old retro stuff" listicles about the mid 2000s :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

It! that word I cannot say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I used to drive a moped around Dublin city centre (20+ years ago when chung fellas sold newspapers at traffic lights). The chung fellas used to say “herald or press young wan” then they started substituting “missus” for “chung wan” and it was all over for me

splinter65 wrote: »
    I used to drive a moped around Dublin city centre (20+ years ago when chung fellas sold newspapers at traffic lights). The chung fellas used to say “herald or press young wan” then they started substituting “missus” for “chung wan” and it was all over for me

It might have been on here or somewhere else, but I heard or read a woman telling the story of when she got a flat tyre and had no spare. Stranded on the side of the road and a young man in his early twenties stopped and helped her and when she thanked him he said "Oh it's no problem, I'd like to think someone would do the same for my mother" :pac:

Omackeral wrote: »
    But how do you not understand the appeal of a selfie with a doggy ear filter on it? It's the future... but now.

Back in my day, Snapchat didn't have filters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Thinking that the kids born in the year 2000 will be 18 this year and can go to pub drinking/etc.

In that case I guess we're due for the next 'generation label' as Millenials were born from 1982-2000. Time for the millennials to give out about the ...post...lennials?... ruining the world. Being born in 1986 I've been feckin' waiting for this for a while now!! :pac:

Billy86 wrote: »
    In that case I guess we're due for the next 'generation label' as Millenials were born from 1982-2000. Time for the millennials to give out about the ...post...lennials?... ruining the world. Being born in 1986 I've been feckin' waiting for this for a while now!! :pac:

Oh god can you imagine the name feckin millennials will come up with though. It's going to actually be an emoji not a word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When people started referring to these things as either headphones or earbuds.

614Z8gi9YIL._SY355_.jpg

Headphones are speaker-like things you place on your head and if they're any good they stay there. The things in the picture above are earphones and fall out every few minutes and sound like absolute shite. Earbuds sounds like you're talking about a cotton bud you're going to use to scrape wax from your ears with. And fuck off calling earphones 'in ear headphones'. If they don't have a band that attaches them to your head they're not headphones.

Another thing I don't get is using headphones as a fashion statement. There was a thread here a while back about how Beats headphones used to be great but then everyone started wearing them. Who gives a shit? Headphones are for listening to music through, not for other people to look at. If looks are really that important to you, most people aren't looking at you thinking how cool you look. They think you look like a fucking clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,983 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

When I told my nine year old to go into the sitting room and put on a video..
    The look of confusion spoke volumes...

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I was never with it, even when I should have been. So it's really nothing to worry about now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I used to be ' with it'. Only now i cant remember what 'it' was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Last year for me. I teach some modules on a Plc Music course. Last year was the first time I ever came across an aspiring ‘professional musician’ who had never heard of the Beatles, and who had never paid for music. Not a cd. Not a streaming subscription. Not even a download of a single track.

Wonder where she was going to get paid from in her ‘professional musician’ career...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I want to be like Clint Eastwood in gran Torino, sitting out on the porch with a few cans scowling at the young wans but as this is Ireland I don't have a porch and anyway the weather is ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

I want to be like Clint Eastwood in gran Torino, sitting out on the porch with a few cans scowling at the young wans but as this is Ireland I don't have a porch and anyway the weather is ****.

Jesus, the snowflakes would have a stroke if you scowled at young wans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Jesus, the snowflakes would have a stroke if you scowled at young wans!

In fact they’ve probably had a stroke because I mentioned Jesus in a post.

When I went back to college at 35. I mentioned one day the Christmas Eve storm in 1997, and a classmate replied "Mam and dad still talk about that too."

On top of this I recall another incident in college at 35; Biology lecture, and I brought up the death of Leah Betts, which happened when I was a teenager. My lecturer asked what year, and I estimated at 1995, and she said "I was making my first holy communion then".

At age 31 I was very excited to be going to see my favourite band live (again), the Manic Street Preachers. My friends had never heard of them. I mentioned If You Tolerate This, and one friend recognised it. The other didn't. I said "It was a huge hit in 1998?" and he replied "I was five."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

When the DJs/presenters on Spin South West talks about “back in the day”/“Old School” and In fact they mean 2010

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

I was never "with it" either.

I don't even remember the Christmas Eve storm of 1997 you're talking about. Not because I was too young, I was well into adulthood. But I've no memory of it.

I do wonder about the "where were you when" a significant event happened that there are adults alive too young to remember 9/11, and will soon be adults alive who weren't even alive during 9/11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Thinking of former colleagues back when I first started work and realising that most of them will be dead now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭FionnK86

Thinking that the kids born in the year 2000 will be 18 this year and can go to pub drinking/etc.

If it's any consolation, they were probably knacker drinking in a field in 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

He was actually scowling at Koreans I think. You definitely can't do that.

He also had a shotgun that he liked to wave around. DEFINITELY don't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,337 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I think the first time I began to realise I wasn't with "it" anymore was the rise of Snapchat.

Is it not actually SnatchChat?
    No wonder I could never find the app or see random snatch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭davidk1394

When lads my age are either daddies,in jail, coke heads or dead.... I think I'm not in with "it" and hope to keep it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

I think I stopped understanding what was going on when I was about 21 and everyone started wearing skinny jeans, from then on it just got progressively worse. Though I've never really been with it, I hated nightclubs in my teens, I usually do my own thing, not to be alternative or stand out, it's just I enjoy what I enjoy, whether it's in or out of fashion is irrelevant to me. (aside from the fact that it might make things more difficult to buy, like I was glad when the big earmuff-like headphones came into fashion because those little ones that go in your ears drive me mad and always fall out.) I've never used instagram but I gather it's just about pictures? I tried snapchat and hated it. I'm not even entirely sure what pinterest is, I'm definitely losing the battle with technology and social media, and I'm 29 ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,282 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think I stopped understanding what was going on when I was about 21 and everyone started wearing skinny jeans, from then on it just got progressively worse.

I was always fine with skinny jeans but they weren't for me but the one thing I never got was this whole no sock thing and guys going around with their ankles especially tracksuits!