Solo (young Han Solo film) *spoilers from post 1493*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,164 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Bacchus wrote: »
    I assume you mean the Mark Wahlberg Planet of the Apes reboot. That was awful. The new trilogy is great though, and a big success.

Yes, that's exactly the one I was referring to. Yes, the new one is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭nix

Point Break, the Transporter, Psycho, Ben Hur, Footloose, Planet of the Apes, Nightmare on Elm Street, The Wicker Man, Pink Panther, The Omen...

Point Break - made profit
    the Transporter - made double profit
    Psycho - broke even
    ben hur - broke even
    planet of the apes - made double the profit
    Nightmare on Elm Street - made double the profit
    The Wicker Man - broke a lil under even from what i can find, didnt cost much to make either
    Pink Panther - made double profit
    The Omen - made quadruple in profit

Now i know some of these are **** films (havent seen them all), but unfortunately most of them made a tidy profit :(

EDIT: i missed footloose, cost 24mil, and made 63mil, Yikes

Now imagine star wars profits on a remake

Oh and this is all theatrical box office profit, i didnt include DVD sales or anything like that

Hmm:

Point Break - budget of $105m, gross of $130m. When you count marketing and promotion, that's not much of a profit. It only made $24 million in the States, and only £400k in the UK / Ireland. Big numbers came from China. Star Wars isn't big in China.

the Transporter (refueled) - made $7m in the USA. Biggest profit came from China. Same point as above.

Psycho - cost $60m, but only made $30m. Plus it got some really terrible reviews.

ben hur - cost $100m, only made $90m.

planet of the apes - the point here is that it wasn't good enough to reboot the franchise. They had to start again with the James Franco movie.

Nightmare on Elm Street - it did well financially but has a 15% RT rating.

The Wicker Man - cost $40m, made $38. Factor in cost of promo and that would be a decent loss made. Plus, it's a film no one wanted or needed remade.

Pink Panther - Indeed it made more profit than the original films, but was completely unnecessary and badly reviewed. When people think of the Pink Panther now, they'll either think of the cartoon or the Peter Sellers movies.

The Omen - OK, it made a profit, but again, the original was so good it didn't need to be remade. Plus by all reports it was a much watered down version.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

For me, he WAS bored and grumpy Harrison Ford. Just like he was in The Crystal Skull. Even his voice was too low and gravelly all the time. There was only one "C'mon Chewie!" in the whole movie! :) He spoke to slowly and with very little Solo-sass.

What struck me about TLJ (really more upon second viewing) is how much I'm buying Hamill as an older Luke. Much more than I bought Ford as an older Solo. Hamill inhabits the part so much more, he looks like Luke, he sounds like Luke. He IS Luke.

And I'm sorry, but I just couldn't accept Fisher as an old Leia, again she was just an old woman playing the part rather than "Princess Leia". Couldn't get past the blocked-nose voice. She barely moves in the two new movies, she's always just standing still or sitting.

So I'll echo my earlier post when I said that they should've made the NT in the 90s. That should've come first. Then the prequels.

As for remaking the OT and PT, I doubt that'll happen. Too much money has been spent (and made) and there would be too much investment in the same story. They can't really make a new story out of it. Certainly as a movie; potentially what could happen is a Netflix-style drama series about Anakin's fall from grace. Make it really dark and gritty. But then the kids won't watch it.

Speaking of which, my little kids loved TFA, Rogue One, and TLJ. They haven't seen any prequels (yet, though I see them liking TPM but that's it) and they failed to sit through the OT (I think they saw ANH but switched off during Empire). However they know the whole story and probably don't have any need to see them now; they probably will watch them when they are older. They enjoy playing all the scenarios in Battlefront II however!

From a post *16 years ago* on the very first page of the SW board thread

‘George Lucas has finally ruled out a seventh Star Wars movie, because he doesn't want to spend his final years on earth working on a pensioners-in-space project.

The movie mogul had been considering one final Star Wars project with his original cast, which he would have started after wrapping up the current trilogy of prequels.

He says, "I thought it might be fun to bring CARRIE (FISHER) and MARK (HAMMILL) and HARRISON (FORD) back when they're 65 and make another movie with them.

"But I'm going to be over 60 when I finish this and it takes 10 years to do a trilogy. I'm not going to spend my last 10 years doing Star Wars." "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

For me, he WAS bored and grumpy Harrison Ford. Just like he was in The Crystal Skull. Even his voice was too low and gravelly all the time. There was only one "C'mon Chewie!" in the whole movie! :) He spoke to slowly and with very little Solo-sass.

What struck me about TLJ (really more upon second viewing) is how much I'm buying Hamill as an older Luke. Much more than I bought Ford as an older Solo. Hamill inhabits the part so much more, he looks like Luke, he sounds like Luke. He IS Luke.

And I'm sorry, but I just couldn't accept Fisher as an old Leia, again she was just an old woman playing the part rather than "Princess Leia". Couldn't get past the blocked-nose voice. She barely moves in the two new movies, she's always just standing still or sitting.

Sorry but there are parts of this post that just come across like you're disappointed that the actors didn't age as well as you would have liked. Fair enough, you can say Ford looked bored and grumpy but bear in mind that Han has gone through a lot in between TFA and the OT, including a failed marriage and his only son turning to the dark side.Re the voice, I'm pretty sure that that's just Ford speaks now, I don't think he was putting on a gravelly voice Bale-Batman style. As for the criticisms of Carrie Fischer, she was an old woman playing Leia, who is also an old woman and who had gone through the same things Han has, she's also now a leader in the resistance, so she was never going to be out in the front lines shooting pistols. I suspect her own health played a part as well, certainly in Catastrophe I think she was usually filmed sitting down (could be wrong though). I do understand your complaints, personally I find it very hard to get to grips with the fact that John McClane went bald, it's a natural reaction when your perception of a character is based on one moment in their life, but I think it's not really fair to hold that against the actors or the films themselves.

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Sorry but there are parts of this post that just come across like you're disappointed that the actors didn't age as well as you would have liked. Fair enough, you can say Ford looked bored and grumpy but bear in mind that Han has gone through a lot in between TFA and the OT, including a failed marriage and his only son turning to the dark side.Re the voice, I'm pretty sure that that's just Ford speaks now, I don't think he was putting on a gravelly voice Bale-Batman style. As for the criticisms of Carrie Fischer, she was an old woman playing Leia, who is also an old woman and who had gone through the same things Han has, she's also now a leader in the resistance, so she was never going to be out in the front lines shooting pistols. I suspect her own health played a part as well, certainly in Catastrophe I think she was usually filmed sitting down (could be wrong though). I do understand your complaints, personally I find it very hard to get to grips with the fact that John McClane went bald, it's a natural reaction when your perception of a character is based on one moment in their life, but I think it's not really fair to hold that against the actors or the films themselves.

It’s one of the stranger complaints about the new films for sure. But people seem to wanna kick the new ones any way they can sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Andrew Beef

Am I the only one who’s a tad annoyed that the dead former drug addict who could hardly speak or stand during the last two movies is the one who they kept, whilst the two fit and healthy male leads were killed off?!

i.e. The dead one’s still in it and the two lads who are grand have been killed off...seriously?!

Am I the only one who’s a tad annoyed that the dead former drug addict who could hardly speak or stand during the last two movies is the one who they kept, whilst the two fit and healthy male leads were killed off?!

The dead one’s still in it and the two lads who are grand have been killed off...seriously?!

Can someone translate this please? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Don't worry David, it's a complaint so you probably would have responded anyway..

david75 wrote: »
    Can someone translate this please? ;)

How do you mean?

Watching TFA, it was hard not to think that Carrie Fisher’s hard living had caught up with her. Harrison Ford and Mark Hamill look fine and as you’d expect for people that age. But Carrie Fisher’s voice and face were a mess to be brutally honest.

And the writers’/producers’ grand plan was to kill Han and Luke off and keep Leia in it!

Bizarre in my view.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭irishman86

i.e. The dead one’s still in it and the two lads who are grand have been killed off...seriously?!

Dude shes like one of six females in the galaxy, they needed her

Don't worry David, it's a complaint so you probably would have responded anyway..

Is it? I don’t know who he’s on about. Woody harrelson?

*ps personally I just like a post that’s well made even if I don’t agreee with it. I don’t see the need to argue with it every time. See Tonys posts. He knows what he’s talking about and I enjoy reading them and don’t always have to make a reply to it for the sake of it.

How do you mean?

Watching TFA, it was hard not to think that Carrie Fisher’s hard living had caught up with her. Harrison Ford and Mark Hamill look fine and as you’d expect for people that age. But Carrie Fisher’s voice and face were a mess to be brutally honest.

And the writers’/producers’ grand plan was to kill Han and Luke off and keep Leia in it!

Bizarre in my view.

Oh that. Well nobody knew what was gonna happen with her. She had serious issues with bipolar disorder and problems with addiction.
    We really gonna attack her for that?
    That’s beyond her control.

Harrison ford after 30 years vocally complaining and hating the thing that gave him a career and a blessed life, coming back for a MASSIVE paycheck is far more disgusting to me than someone with mental health and addiction problems.

Oh that. Well nobody knew what was gonna happen with her. She had serious issues with bipolar disorder and problems with addiction.
    We really gonna attack her for that?
    That’s beyond her control.

Harrison ford after 30 years vocally complaining and hating the thing that gave him a career and a blessed life, coming back for a MASSIVE paycheck is far more disgusting to me than someone with mental health and addiction problems.

Perhaps, but I think it was naive to try to build anything around someone with mental health and addiction problems.

The probability of Carrie Fisher dying was always high.

Personally I would have made it impossible for Harrison Ford to want out...killing him off was a mistake. Han Solo IS Star Wars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,129 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Regardless of Fisher's struggles, I do find it odd that Disney chose to keep Leia alive, when the logical thing to do was to kill her off, considering the real life situation.

Now, they've really buggered themselves as it doesn't matter what they do for IX, it'll be sure to displease a large proportion of fans. Have her die offscreen (the preferable method) and people will give out. Have CGI's and others will start banging on about uncanny valleys and all that.

The sensible thing would have been to have her killed in the bridge attack and reshoot a few scenes. She actually doesn't play much of a role after the half way mark anyway.

Sure, we lose the (fake) reunion. But, frankly, so what? It's not real one anyway.

Perhaps, but I think it was naive to try to build anything around someone with mental health and addiction problems.

The probability of Carrie Fisher dying was always high.

Personally I would have made it impossible for Harrison Ford to want out...killing him off was a mistake. Han Solo IS Star Wars.

Ford crashed one plane on a golf course and in a separate incident in almost caused a serious crash with a passenger craft by landing on the totally wrong place at a major airport.
    Are we really going to do this?

In case you missed it. It’s quite funny given nobody died. But Carrie is a problem for having problems but Harrison ford gets off cos he’s Harrison ford? Seriously?

I don't think anyone's letting him off with anything. But, at least Ford is holding his hand up and saying he fucked up.

That's kinda funny actually.

The ATC missed his opportunity for some funny lines about Han Solo, flying etc.

Now that would have been hilarious.

Ford crashed one plane on a golf course and in a separate incident in almost caused a serious crash with a passenger craft by landing on the totally wrong place at a major airport.
    Are we really going to do this?

He’s clearly the full shilling in Force Awakens...crashing a couple of light aircraft is hardly a heinous crime.

I’m just surprised that they’ve kept Leia alive and killed the other two given the relative health of Hamill and Ford.

That’s notwithstanding the fact that Ford has always wanted out. But as with most things, had enough money been thrown at him, no doubt Ford would have stayed on.

Tony EH wrote: »
    I don't think anyone's letting him off with anything. But, at least Ford is holding his hand up and saying he fucked up.

Hey down there!

Can you give us a hand with this?

It’s one of the stranger complaints about the new films for sure. But people seem to wanna kick the new ones any way they can sometimes.

All I was saying was I thought the actors were too old for the movie. Not the characters and "what they went through" etc. The actors were just too old to be in Star Wars.

I'm a big fan of TFA and TLJ by the way.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

All I was saying was I thought the actors were too old for the movie. Not the characters and "what they went through" etc. The actors were just too old to be in Star Wars.

I'm a big fan of TFA and TLJ by the way.

The new movies had a great opportunity to bridge the gap between the OT and the universe, have
    Han die for his family, Luke for the force and have Leia die for the rebellion by having her sacrifice herself at the end, maybe even have a little speech "it's your rebellion now, I'm old, miss Han etc. etc. etc."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Tony EH wrote: »

Carrie Fischer has written several books talking about her life and troubles, I haven't read them but from what I gather she's pretty honest about how catastrophically she ****ed up her life. I think we've all been influenced by society to judge women a lot harsher than men re their life choices, let's not pretend Harrison Ford has never done drugs.

The thing with Princess Leia is that she was a feminist figure for women, being one of very few women in a galaxy of men, Fighting a rebellion against a men-led fascist empire BUT she was also a sex symbol for men. Most of the complaints that I've seen about Fischer in the new trilogy are from men and I wonder if a lot of it has got to do (subconsciously) with them struggling with the idea that the Princess Leia in the gold bikini they fantasised about is now a hunched over old lady - and that's not an attack on anyone in this forum, just a observation I'm making based on things I've seen here and on other sites.

Carrie Fischer has written several books talking about her life and troubles, I haven't read them but from what I gather she's pretty honest about how catastrophically she ****ed up her life. I think we've all been influenced by society to judge women a lot harsher than men re their life choices, let's not pretend Harrison Ford has never done drugs.

Hmmmm, I don't know about that. I think there are circumstances where women can get away with a lot more than men. There's still a tendency to view women as innocent ingenues that are led astray.

As for drugs, anybody lambasting a Hollywood actor for drug use (especially coke), knows nothing about Hollywood.
    The thing with Princess Leia is that she was a feminist figure for women, being one of very few women in a galaxy of men, Fighting a rebellion against a men-led fascist empire BUT she was also a sex symbol for men. Most of the complaints that I've seen about Fischer in the new trilogy are from men and I wonder if a lot of it has got to do (subconsciously) with them struggling with the idea that the Princess Leia in the gold bikini they fantasised about is now a hunched over old lady - and that's not an attack on anyone in this forum, just a observation I'm making based on things I've seen here and on other sites.

I never view things with such brackets in mind. To me, Leia was a strongheaded bit of a bitch actually in the original film. But, she knew what she was doing, even if it was in an arrogant way. Imagine the role where it was a man. It would be a thoroughly unlikable character.

The thing about Leia is that she does grow, even by the end of the film, and by film 3 is relatively rounded. In fact, all the central characters grow. Something that's largely absent in the Disney sequels I find.

If she's a "feminist" icon for some people, whatever. I don't really care about that TBH. I just find her a good Star Wars character. I also never saw her as a sex symbol (what's the difference between a sex "symbol" and a sex "object"?) either, even in that gold bikini.

I'm not sure that I've seen too many complaints about her, from men or otherwise, among the sea of complaints about the sequels. But, in saying that, her performances in both 'The Force Awakens' and 'The Last Jedi' are...uneven...to be kind about it. However, she's being lauded in no uncertain terms because of her death. She was never that great an actress, let's be honest. But, she had a certain charisma, a wicked sense of humour and can hold her own. It's a pity she could never handle her demons, whatever they manifested themselves as.

I've have seen some people writing about how she looked. But that was more to do with wondering about her physical health, the sound of her voice, etc, for a person who was just 60 (not that old these days). Personally, I think she'd had a stroke, or two, and more than a few facelifts. Plus, years of smoking had distorted her voice almost beyond recognition. Her lifestyle had not been kind to her body in any way.

Lastly, it's always been my suspicion that the preparation for the new Star Wars films (especially the rapid weight loss) was a contributory factor to her untimely death. That kind of thing is hard on a body of a person half her age and without the mileage. Strange that nobody has ever really talked about that, not that I've seen anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,716 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Complaints about Leia are nothing new. Here's an interesting except from one of the making of books about the change in her character in ROTJ. This is usually blamed on Lucas's divorce or Fisher's drug use (which she admits affected her performance), but it seems audience reaction and Marquand's dislike of Leia's character was also a factor.
    “Marquand also flew down to LA that summer, to meet with his stars: Ford, Hamill, and Fisher. “I wanted to, and I was very much encouraged to get together with the actors,” he says. “So I spent quite a bit of time with them, talking about their characters and where they thought they were going. Carrie expressed a concern that Leia had come off as this sort of boy in girl’s clothing who marches up and down and shouts at everybody, and that maybe she could just mellow a little and have moments of despair.”

“There are a lot of people who don’t like my character in these movies,” Carrie Fisher says. “They think I’m some kind of space bitch.”

“I said that happened to coincide exactly with my feelings,” Marquand continues. “In the last movie, the princess became such a bitch, she really was a drag. It became very boring. I was sure there was a lot more depth there we could use and more comedy, too. Turn her into more of a woman. Carrie said, ‘Oh yes, if only I could just break down …’ There were tears for a moment!”

So the planet Mimban is a location on the old EU book splinter of the minds eye. Looks like it’s making an appearance in Solo. One of the toys is called Mimban guard.

It’s been decades since I read that book. Anyone remember what Mimban was about?

Synopsis for Solo

Board the Millennium Falcon and journey to a galaxy far, far away in Solo: A Star Wars Story, an all-new adventure with the most beloved scoundrel in the galaxy. Through a series of daring escapades deep within a dark and dangerous criminal underworld, Han Solo meets his mighty future copilot Chewbacca and encounters the notorious gambler Lando Calrissian, in a journey that will set the course of one of the Star Wars saga's most unlikely heroes.
    Solo: A Star Wars Story releases in U.S. theaters on May 25, 2018.

http://bigshinyrobot.com/60248/solo-star-wars-story-first-synopsis/

THis is from a media press kit that have just sent out so a trailer has got to be about to drop no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭radonicus

Hopefully.

Good news but who even likes that. Spoiler alert

https://twitter.com/yeahclarke/status/953660320039493632