Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Jeezus Hilary Clinton now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

quintana76 wrote: »
    Trumpmania on Marian right now. He has just been called a tyrant. (Mind you by the Irish Times so it doesn't count as it is a publication not know for its objectivity) Sad but true.
    The Times's reputation as the 'paper of record' is long gone.

"he didn't have policies "??, I Think " w'ere gonna build a wall to stop mexicans getting in " is as clear a policy as you can get without the usual reams of text .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Could you imagine if Ricky Gervais had been presenting the Golden Globes this year. They would have had to have a 24 hour delay on the airing of it.

Ian O'Doherty had a right go at Finucane during the week on Ciara Kelly's Lunchtime program. Worth a listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Oops69 wrote: »
    this Wolff book/ fiction about Trump is manna from heaven for the chattering morons in Marion's coterie, Wolff has great pedigree/ plausability as a regular contributor to the hollywood reporter and GQ Magazine and USA today......mmmmmm!, yet the dopes around the table have lapped it up.

Possibly ... but it doesn't seem at all unlikely in the opinion of most people who have been watching Trump or reading his twitterings. In point of fact highly likely it is ture - or a lot of it anyway.
    Isn't it amazing how swiftly the great champion of the 1st Amendment went scurrying to the lawyers to try a stop the book. Very much the "you can say anything you like about anyone as long as its not about me" school of free speech. Kind of laughable when you think of all the name calling, insults and demeaning waffle he has spouted about others. If you can't take it don't dish it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Callan57 wrote: »
    If you can't take it don't dish it :rolleyes:
    That's about the size of it, and it betrays his total lack of political nous, by not simply letting the dirt slide off his back. Minor jibes become major thorns in the side. For all his Twittering and internet savvy, I'm surprised he's never come across the Streisand Effect. He has now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,993 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

This pulse system sounds a mess.

This guy is laying out the Garda wish list. Even Marian is confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭boombang

This GRA spokesman is absolutely incredible. I've heard him before and he's got some brassneck. Did the uncomfortable boots make the guards fake the stats?

The GRA should get rid of him. He's worse than having no spokesman at all. I'd be fuming if I was a garda with this twit being paid 6 figures.

Im agreeing with Marian here in her confusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,131 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

She's giving him a good grilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,669 ✭✭✭touts

This interview is fast turning into a disaster for the rank and file Gardai. It's clear they believe they are above the law as long as there is a superior officer they can blame.

She's giving him a good grilling.

I'm surprised and it seems her father was a guard so that probably part of it.

boombang wrote: »
    This GRA spokesman is absolutely incredible. I've heard him before and he's got some brassneck. Did the uncomfortable boots make the guards fake the stats?

The GRA should get rid of him. He's worse than having no spokesman at all. I'd be fuming if I was a garda with this twit being paid 6 figures.
    he might seem like a twit to us but the Gardai listening in this morning will perceive him as doing a great job.

Strike/withdraw labour. Jesus help us this guy has a different word for unpleasant terms.

Mary doesn't need to talk to a guard anymore. A camera phone and the internet and she can do it online now.

This guy is probably wishing he stayed in bed this morning. Marian is actually doing a good interview.

he might seem like a twit to us but the Gardai listening in this morning will perceive him as doing a great job.

I would be mortified if I was a guard to hear this guy spouting BS on my behalf. His lies are so patent.

Marian might be giving him a hard time, but a really good presenter would take him to pieces and she hasn't. Sean O'Rouke would decimate him.

Has the age of guards gone down below 18 recently ? This lad is making out front line guards are children. You'd swear the local super held a gu.. non lethal device at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Strike/withdraw labour. Jesus help us this guy has a different word for unpleasant terms.

has ta.

ones a crime, the other is "bluflu"

That religious order he was in are probably gutted he left. This lad would get a gold medal is mental gymnastics.

Jean Paul Sartre wrote that quote just for Maureen , I bet she's never read one of his books and got that from one of those twee books of quotes .

boombang wrote: »
    I would be mortified if I was a guard to hear this guy spouting BS on my behalf. His lies are so patent.

Marian might be giving him a hard time, but a really good presenter would take him to pieces and she hasn't. Sean O'Rouke would decimate him.
    But you're not a Garda so you don't see it from a Garda's perspective.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,824 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

The radio was lucky not to be hockeyed off the wall this morning.

What makes the guy even more maddening is I get the impression he's leaving montrose grinning cheek to cheek going "job jobbed- I kept on message, a few swings by Marian but no real whacks and thankfully my opponent didn't follow up on the swings she made".

And was I too mad with rage that I mis-heard him say something to the effect re the Paul Reynold's interview: "He's entitled to ask the questions he wants as it's for TV and I can give the answers I want."?

But you're not a Garda so you don't see it from a Garda's perspective.

Not being sarcastic, but I don't see how the Gardai could be happy with that performance. You'd honestly have to enlighten me as to the AGS perspective on this and how O'Keefe is helping.

Nobody for a minute thinks that a lack of laptops or well-fitting stab vests justifies cooking the books. If I were a Garda I would be: A. embarrassed about the fraud; B. dismayed by this guy making matters worse by trying to blatantly BS AGS's way out of blame. I think O'Keefe's appointment and performance makes the GRA look like complete buffoons if they think he's helping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

Fair dues to O'Tobeen. He took that well considering Marian tore him a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

"Will Martin O'Neil take the Stoke job now that, uh um, ......... the other man has turned it down?"

Stop making this old woman talk about stuff she doesn't know or care about.

Honestly, what is the point in educating Marian Finucane about what a Stoke is? Could they not just let this sit until the program this afternoon.

She's just embarrassing. Could she not have at least read one news story to educate herself before this item? Isn't this the woman who justifies her wages based on the whole week of research that she does before the show?

could they leave this football fiasco to the 4 hrs of sport in the afternoon programme?, nothing will change with the Soccer team's success until the guy at the top of the FAI goes and the only way he will go is if the fans withdraw support from the so-called 'national team '.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

She's just embarrassing. Could she not have at least read one news story to educate herself before this item? Isn't this the woman who justifies her wages based on the whole week of research that she does before the show?

The only thing that she seems to be interested in herself is ragging on Trump. Literally the first thing that she spoke about today was something Trump said that she didn't like and it was the only thing she showed any enthusiasm about.

The rest has been the standard cruise control through the topics her researchers handed her.

I had to laugh at her saying that this morning was the first really cold morning of this winter because it was the first time she defrosted her car windscreen. There's been plenty of cold ones love, you only work 2 days a week so you haven't seen any of the other ones.

I think the fact that she can't produce the names of the staff working on the team is indicative of the amount of time that she spends in preparation for the thing. I mean, even as a sign of respect for the staff member, would you not at least make sure you pronounced their name right in the credits.