Fair City [News, Spoilers and Discussion v8] Read Post #1 Before Contributing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭MsWesterosi

Be careful, that could cause a huge reaction here.

That actually upset me quite a bit, as that storyline, daft as FC usually is has a personal effect on me for a particular reason..

No means NO. Drunken people don't have the best judgement. But when something like that happens it has a sobering effect. Once a woman - or, in some cases, a man, says no - then the other person should stop. Dan is a rapist, plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Me too, especially as we're all expecting it to be Mondo's - it would be a nice twist..... But knowing FC, it probably will be bloody Mondo's.... :(

God! I hate KA (now that Ama is gone she's my most loathed character), can't believe she hasn't joined the group as she'd be the ideal candidate, gullible, naive, stupid, has dreams of riding unicorns along beaches (she probably believes in them too). I think even the calm, collected ''violence is not the answer'' Miriam would flip and beat her to a pulp with the baseball bat Emmet used to batter Doug and Pete with!

It’s definitely Mondos because it’s a soap and most babies are concieved as the result of a one night stand or affair/fling. Why isn’t Kerrianne booking herself in for a std test, she had unprotected sex.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Feck that. I'm off to the pub after FC. Last thing I need on my birthday is a double dose of misery.

Belated happy Birthday, Joe! xxx

fin12 wrote: »
    It’s definitely Mondos because it’s a soap and most babies are concieved as the result of a one night stand or affair/fling. Why isn’t Kerrianne booking herself in for a std test, she had unprotected sex.

Because she's a stupid mare.... She must be the first woman in history to have conceived a child whislt wearing tights.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Because she's a stupid mare.... She must be the first woman in history to have conceived a child whislt wearing tights.... :D

Maybe she thought the tights would act as a condom. I can’t stand the biatch. I thought the doctor said she would have difficulty conceiving but ha presto, one night with Mondo and she’s pregnant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭pl4ichjgy17zwd

Because she's a stupid mare.... She must be the first woman in history to have conceived a child whislt wearing tights....

It just sums up the Fair City approach to continuity doesn't it? That and characters who forget who their nieces are.

fin12 wrote: »
    Maybe she thought the tights would act as a condom. I can’t stand the biatch. I thought the doctor said she would have difficulty conceiving but ha presto, one night with Mondo and she’s pregnant.

You and me both - I'd love if she effed off to Zambia with Ama or failing that got run over, ironically, by one of Decco's courier vans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

coolhull wrote: »
    Oops, I didn't mean to start a controversy. It's a subject I'd prefer not to get involved in.
    Colly, I hope things worked out ok for you.....

It's not an issue for me, Coolhull, I didn't take my boyfriend's best friend army mate back to me bed, nothing like that.

It just sums up the Fair City approach to continuity doesn't it? That and characters who forget who their nieces are.

Exactly. And where the hell is the other Cassidy sister? And why does no one ever mention her? Not Juliet's mother - the youngest one. I think she was called Catriona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭pl4ichjgy17zwd

Exactly. And where the hell is the other Cassidy sister? And why does no one ever mention her? Not Juliet's mother - the youngest one. I think she was called Catriona.

Wiki says she went off to Liverpool to live with Kira but I barely remember her at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Does Cass and Sean know Niamh is gone for good without Ruthie but with Marcus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Does Cass and Sean know Niamh is gone for good without Ruthie but with Marcus?

They'll saunter back next week and there won't be a word about it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

coolhull wrote: »
    I'm imagining the conversation that Wheelie Dan

I'm honored that you're using my name for Dan :D :pac:.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Who :confused:? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,771 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Lads, I honestly don't think I can watch Decco for the next 9 months treating KA like shes going to break, he won't let her lift a finger etc.
    I'm going to fcuk something at the TV.

Happy new year fellow sufferers!!

He was never in the slightest bit attentive to her before she got with Mondo, preferring to spend all his time with Cathal. It seems a convenient plot device that he's all over her like a rash now.

Who :confused:? :pac:

I only started watching FC properly when I was in my late teens - before that it was just H&A and - because for some reason it's still my favourite because even as a primary school kid I found it funny and cosy to watch - Corrie. There was another Cassidy sister, I think she might have been older than Sean. Can't really remember who she hung around with, but she was dark haired, a bit b****y and was a trainee hairdresser/MUA. I think she was called Catriona.

Speaking of the lack of continuity and revisionism in FC. My mam has been watching it from the start, and she told me that Frank the painter/decorator who had the affair with Dolores first made an appearance with Damian in order to do up Rita Doyle's shop - now Spar. When FC first started, she said Doyles' was just a typical little old fashioned corner shop (and Bela wasn't in that first series, that it used to go off air at a particular time of the year, that he was a long distance truck driver based in England and only made his first appearance in the second series), but Rita had it revamped and had a curved red counter put in and it (the shop) extended and painted blue. She said Damian had highlights in his hair at the time and was supposed to be late teens/early twenties. She told me that when Damian first turned up with Frank wearing the painters' whites and a big sulky head on him that Rita asked Frank, words to this effect, ''and who is your helper today'' and that Frank replied. ''This is Damian, the sister's lad'' and told her that Damo was his apprentice. Later Damo and Suzanne tried to run away to Limerick.... :D Anyway, when the Halpin family turned up, she said there was no mention whatsoever of Frank being Damian's mother's brother, that he was just a family friend, when it had clearly been stated that he was Tess's brother. She swears to that to this day and it's a major peeve with her! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

I remember that other cassidy sister well, she used to hang out with a lad named Duncan Stonehouse, she was just kind of written out of existence

I only started watching FC properly when I was in my late teens - before that it was just H&A and - because for some reason it's still my favourite because even as a primary school kid I found it funny and cosy to watch - Corrie. There was another Cassidy sister, I think she might have been older than Sean. Can't really remember who she hung around with, but she was dark haired, a bit b****y and was a trainee hairdresser/MUA. I think she was called Catriona.

Was she you're wan that was with Joshua? and his dad died in the fire some racist thugs murdered him?

No it was the old louise doyle who was with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Cult Spoilers for the next 2 weeks!
    Oakley convinces Emmet that Manson has to go...permanently, but when Emmet sees Oakley with explosives in the attic of the cult house he tells the Gardaí. A "tragic event" ensues. :eek:
    Damien kidnaps baby Saoirse when he hears that Caoimhe plans to take her to Germany, he hands the baby to Manson for "protection" and Caoimhe puts herself in the line of danger with ensuing events
    Charlotte tries to convince Katy and Debbie that the cult is evil and they all try to tell Eoghan and Emmet to get out but they are too brainwashed to see the truth

Wow, looks like we are in for an entertaining 2 weeks ahead! :eek::eek: If they pull off that first spoiler that will be a brave move for FC. I know they are aware not to drag out storylines after the Katy thing but this is a really interesting and different story and it will be disappointing to see it wrapped off really quickly. Hopefully they can continue the effects for months to come...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Cult Spoilers for the next 2 weeks!
    Oakley convinces Emmet that Manson has to go...permanently, but when Emmet sees Oakley with explosives in the attic of the cult house he tells the Gardaí. A "tragic event" ensues. :eek:
    Damien kidnaps baby Saoirse when he hears that Caoimhe plans to take her to Germany, he hands the baby to Manson for "protection" and Caoimhe puts herself in the line of danger with ensuing events
    Charlotte tries to convince Katy and Debbie that the cult is evil and they all try to tell Eoghan and Emmet to get out but they are too brainwashed to see the truth

Wow, looks like we are in for an entertaining 2 weeks ahead! :eek::eek: If they pull off that first spoiler that will be a brave move for FC. I know they are aware not to drag out storylines after the Katy thing but this is a really interesting and different story and it will be disappointing to see it wrapped off really quickly. Hopefully they can continue the effects for months to come...

An evil GP story line could have being great!

Speaking of the lack of continuity and revisionism in FC. My mam has been watching it from the start, and she told me that Frank the painter/decorator who had the affair with Dolores first made an appearance with Damian in order to do up Rita Doyle's shop - now Spar. When FC first started, she said Doyles' was just a typical little old fashioned corner shop (and Bela wasn't in that first series, that it used to go off air at a particular time of the year, that he was a long distance truck driver based in England and only made his first appearance in the second series), but Rita had it revamped and had a curved red counter put in and it (the shop) extended and painted blue. She said Damian had highlights in his hair at the time and was supposed to be late teens/early twenties. She told me that when Damian first turned up with Frank wearing the painters' whites and a big sulky head on him that Rita asked Frank, words to this effect, ''and who is your helper today'' and that Frank replied. ''This is Damian, the sister's lad'' and told her that Damo was his apprentice. Later Damo and Suzanne tried to run away to Limerick.... :D Anyway, when the Halpin family turned up, she said there was no mention whatsoever of Frank being Damian's mother's brother, that he was just a family friend, when it had clearly been stated that he was Tess's brother. She swears to that to this day and it's a major peeve with her! :D

Your mother is spot on re Damian and Frank.
    For the first couple of years, Fair City stopped broadcasting for the summer.
    Then we got one episode a week during the summer months.
    Bela was only introduced in the second year (1990).
    The recycling of actors is also annoying and unacceptable.
    Dolores #1 and Dr Judith Dillon were played by the same actress.
    Tom Bowen and Eoghan O'Brien also played by the same actor.

There is an old epp on youtube in which Hugie's brothers name is Bernard not Christy.

An evil GP story line could have being great!

When the cult is over they should make him a serial killer

I remember that other cassidy sister well, she used to hang out with a lad named Duncan Stonehouse, she was just kind of written out of existence

Was he a boyfriend/work colleague of Sarah, who was accidentally killed by Barry? The name rings a bell and when I think of him - even though I can't properly recall what he looked like - I always picture Sarah too.

Re the whole Sarah thing; the one thing that still makes me cringe/laugh was Sarah's ''Pal Page'' (FC's version of Facebook) that Barry kept posting updates on in order to convince her friends she was still alive. To this day, for some reason, I refer to it as ''PayPal'' :P :D

You're mother is spot on re Damian and Frank.
    For the first couple of years, Fair City stopped broadcasting for the summer.
    Then we got one episode a week during the summer months.
    Bela was only introduced in the second year (1990).
    The recycling of actors is also annoying and unacceptable.
    Dolores #1 and Dr Judith Dillon were played by the same actress.
    Tom Bowen and Eoghan O'Brien also played by the same actor.

My mam will feel so vindicated when I show her this post! Everyone else kept telling her she was wrong! Yeah, she told me that the ''old Dolores'' (I don't remember one) was played by the Judith actress too, and that Eoghan was in it as a young fella, that used to wear glasses, and had a blonde younger sister called Claire or Karen - she's not too sure on the name. She also said their mam was a doctor who went out with Barry for a while. Is she right? :D

When the cult is over they should make him a serial killer

I hope they keep him in the show to get up to more dastardly deeds, because he's the only decent baddie FC's had in years.

My mam will feel so vindicated when I show her this post! Everyone else kept telling her she was wrong! Yeah, she told me that the ''old Dolores'' (I don't remember one) was played by the Judith actress too, and that Eoghan was in it as a young fella, that used to wear glasses, and had a blonde younger sister called Claire or Karen - she's not too sure on the name. She also said their mam was a doctor who went out with Barry for a while. Is she right? :D

Spot on again :)
    Yes, the Bowens were there in the first year. Dr Jennifer Bowen did go out with Barry. She had short red hair and she also turned up a few years later playing Seamus Mannion's wife Veronica. The actress was Frances Quinn.
    The daughter was Clare Bowen.
    There was also a grandfather - played by the bearded and irritating Kevin Flood.

076_1a8ea550d8715b6e1d280ea2601d728ef2d4bbb5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭amtc

I can't replicate it but got a free copy of the Mail today and it gives the back story of Miriam and Oakley.

My mam is away and my dad doesn't normally watch soaps but is at the moment so I am plagued with phone calls asking me for family trees etc. So this is very useful!