Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,779 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Wailin wrote: »
    Probably contentious one but feck it. Anyone driving the military rd up the Sally Gap will know that some sections have barely enough room for one car. These two fellas cycling abreast gesture for me to move over.....to where?! The ditch? No common sense where they see the car coming their way and move into single file...no that would be the courteous thing to do... After I beep the horn I get flipped the bird too.....lovely lads ;)

Not helping yourself speeding up as you approach and pass

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

SuperS54 wrote: »
    Is that an audio book playing or did you actually call someone a "nitwit"?!

That was me in a delayed passive aggressive outburst :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

josip wrote: »
    Yep contentious alright.
    Why contentious though? The driver is just showing what he sees as bad road behaviour and he shouldn't be scared to post about any road user taking the "not an inch" stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Wailin

fritzelly wrote: »
    Not helping yourself speeding up as you approach and pass

47Kmph to 50Kmph is hardly face melting acceleration.

jive wrote: »
    Regardless of what they should or shouldn't have done, going by a cyclist that close at 50 in wet conditions is bad driving. You and the cyclists should be more courteous (2 abreast is legal albeit not courteous here), it might have taken 5 extra seconds for both of you to pass each other safely instead of all sides acting like 4 year olds.

Agree on some points...but....I was doing 50km. Someone else could have been doing 80 coming around that bend where they come into view. Would have been a bit more hairy. Point is, they would have heard the car approaching long before I saw them and could have acted accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Deleted and given a ban for derailing the thread with cyclist talk.

josip wrote: »
    Contentious doesn't mean that the poster should be scared to post and anyone who takes the not inconsiderable time to put a vid up here should get credit for it.
    The content in the video however is likely to be viewed differently by people on this forum, since it's a car vs cyclist situation.
    That's why I thought it was going to be contentious.

Exactly the reason why I said it will be contentious. I wasn't going to bother posting because I knew I'd get slated from some sides. But why not? I think it shows a valid reason why cyclists, who are perfectly within their right btw to cycle abreast, should have more common sense on these type of roads. I passed a bigger group of cyclists afterwards who used common sense to cycle single file once they saw a car approaching on a narrow road. Car can't go anywhere else.

Lets stick to videos...
    Someone not paying attention!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lets stick to videos...

Modern cars really are amazing for crash protection. But look at that alloy that disintegrated on the fiesta. What a muppet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭tedpan

Can't stand idiots like this, so many of them out there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

Lets stick to videos...

That’s pretty amazing, talk about a ring side seat!

There’s a reason why the middle of the road is called the kill zone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,533 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Rackstar wrote: »
    Come across this sh1te quite often myself. Muppets two a breast on roads that aren't wide enough. Meet them on bends and they are literally in the middle of the road.

All the more reason to drive slower on these type of roads. Cyclists can cycle two abreast and if needed, they can move into single file, but if you meet a SUV coming in the opposite direction, one of you is going to have to give way.

All I see in this video is a driver who should have slowed down as soon as the cyclists came into view. By slowing down, that would give the cyclists the time they need to move over to the left.

ABC101 wrote: »
    That’s pretty amazing, talk about a ring side seat!

There’s a reason why the middle of the road is called the kill zone!
    If someone was waiting to turn right there, they would have been slammed full in the back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭ABC101

If someone was waiting to turn right there, they would have been slammed full in the back!

In that scenario (getting rear ended) do the front airbags go off, or is it only in the event of a head on collision?

ABC101 wrote: »
    In that scenario (getting rear ended) do the front airbags go off, or is it only in the event of a head on collision?
    My understanding is that a shock in any direction will set them off, but open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,533 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

My understanding is that a shock in any direction will set them off, but open to correction.

No they will only go off if the impact is in a certain direction.

E.g. Front airbags go off in the event of a head on impact, where as side airbags only go off in the event of a side impact. Even then, the impact has to be significant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Can people stop quoting videos please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

Corner well and truly cut. Closer than it looks, yadda yadda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Was driving a vectra years ago hit black ice plus Chinese ditch finders.....

It found the ditch alright went in at flight and rearwards into a tree plus smashed the roof in on drivers side...

Out of 8 air bags 0 went off.

Car ruined....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

7.10am this morning. Dark, light drizzle. See if you can spot it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,779 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Think I spotted Wally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭Isambard

fritzelly wrote: »
    Think I spotted Wally

think I am Wally...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Nothing wrong with that maneuver. The turn was well sighted and the driver had better visibility being higher up. Plus he made it easier for himself to take the bend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Apologies now for this off topic Dash cam Video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Truckermal wrote: »

Apologies now for this off topic Dash cam Video.

Post reported, take that rubbish to another thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Unintentionally went slightly sideways this morning. Turkey was in the oven, couldn't be late ;)